Plug & Range

Best Budget EV Chargers

A cheaper charger doesn't mean a slower one — the amps are the amps. It means a shorter list of extras. Here's exactly which extras each of these skips, and which ones we'd actually miss.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

The good news about a budget EV charger is that the part you’re actually paying for — getting real current from the wall to your car — doesn’t get cheaper-feeling at a lower price. A 40-amp charger delivers 40 amps whether it cost a little or a lot; the electricity doesn’t know the price tag. What a lower price buys less of is everything around that core job: the app, the cable, the warranty term, and sometimes a spec the brand simply doesn’t bother publishing.

The three picks below are the ones we’d actually put money on at the value end of this category — not the absolute lowest number we could find, but the ones where the corners cut are corners you probably won’t miss. We say plainly where each one asks you to give something up, so you’re deciding on purpose instead of by accident.

How this is funded:we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, charging speed, electrical fit and value. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these chargers — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Lectron 40A Portable Level 2 Charger

Lectron 40A Portable Level 2 Charger

The least-expensive honest route into real Level 2 charging. Plug it into a NEMA 14-50 outlet, pull a true 40A / 9.6 kW, and unplug it to throw in the trunk for a trip. The trade-offs for the price are no app and a shorter warranty — both fair at this cost.

Best overall budget
$269.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Grizzl-E Classic Connect

Grizzl-E Classic Connect

Grizzl-E retired the old no-app Classic and replaced it with this, and it kept the part that mattered: a metal case rated UL Type 4 for a spot with no shelter, published to keep operating down to -22F. What changed is that the electronics caught up — Wi-Fi, an app, and current you can dial from 40A down to 16A to fit a circuit you already have. It's the rugged pick that no longer asks you to give up scheduling to get it.

Best budget you'll keep for years
$349.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger

EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger

A lot of charger for the money. You get 48 amps, Wi-Fi scheduling, ENERGY STAR, and the longest usable reach in this group thanks to a 25 ft cable plus a 40-inch input lead. If Emporia is sold out or you want maximum cable, this is the value alternative to have in mind.

Best budget 48A
$428.98 · View on Amazon

$479.0010% off

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall budget

Lectron 40A Portable Level 2 Charger

The least-expensive honest route into real Level 2 charging. Plug it into a NEMA 14-50 outlet, pull a true 40A / 9.6 kW, and unplug it to throw in the trunk for a trip. The trade-offs for the price are no app and a shorter warranty — both fair at this cost.

Strengths

  • A real 40A / 9.6 kW at a budget price
  • Plug-in and portable — no hardwiring, and it travels
  • ETL listed to the UL 2594 / UL 2231 safety standards

Trade-offs

  • No Wi-Fi or app on the base model — the smart version is a separate SKU
  • Shorter 16 ft cable and a 2-year warranty
  • The brand doesn't publish an outdoor/IP enclosure rating
Max output40 A
Power9.6 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallNEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length16 ft
Warranty2 years
WiFi + appNo
CertificationsETL listed (UL 2594 / UL 2231)

Our charging-speed math. At 40A (9.6 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh it adds roughly 34 miles of range an hour.

Build note. A portable plug-in unit — no hardwiring — and the base model carries no Wi-Fi or app.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best budget you'll keep for years

Grizzl-E Classic Connect

Grizzl-E retired the old no-app Classic and replaced it with this, and it kept the part that mattered: a metal case rated UL Type 4 for a spot with no shelter, published to keep operating down to -22F. What changed is that the electronics caught up — Wi-Fi, an app, and current you can dial from 40A down to 16A to fit a circuit you already have. It's the rugged pick that no longer asks you to give up scheduling to get it.

Strengths

  • Metal case rated UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor, published from -22F to 122F
  • Current adjusts from 40A down to 16A, so it fits the circuit you already have
  • 25 ft cable — among the longest here — on a simple plug-in NEMA 14-50 install

Trade-offs

  • 40A caps its charging speed below the 48A units
  • Scheduling now runs through Wi-Fi and an account — the old Classic's nothing-to-update simplicity is gone
  • Grizzl-E publishes UL/cUL only for this model, not the ENERGY STAR listing the discontinued Classic carried
Max output40 A
Power9.6 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallNEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL/cUL listed (file E510712)

Our charging-speed math. At 40A (9.6 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh it adds roughly 34 miles of range an hour — more than enough to refill a daily commute overnight. Dial it down to 16A and you're at about 13.

Build note. A metal case rated UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor and published for -30C to +50C (-22F to 122F), with 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and current adjustable from 40A down to 16A.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best budget 48A

EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger

A lot of charger for the money. You get 48 amps, Wi-Fi scheduling, ENERGY STAR, and the longest usable reach in this group thanks to a 25 ft cable plus a 40-inch input lead. If Emporia is sold out or you want maximum cable, this is the value alternative to have in mind.

Strengths

  • 48A output with Wi-Fi scheduling at a value price
  • 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input lead — excellent reach
  • UL, ETL, FCC and ENERGY STAR listings

Trade-offs

  • The hardwired version needs a 60A circuit and an electrician
  • A smaller brand with a shorter track record than ChargePoint or Wallbox
Max output48 A
Power11.5 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL, ETL, FCC, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh, about 40 miles of range an hour.

Build note. Ships with a 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input cable — among the longest total reach in class.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

Where budget is a smart trade — and where it isn’t

Not every dollar saved costs you the same thing. Some trade-offs on this page are genuinely free; others are worth knowing before you click buy.

The trade that costs you nothing: raw amps

The Lectron 40A and the Grizzl-E Classic Connect both deliver a real, code-certified 40 amps — the exact same current a much pricier charger puts out at the same amperage setting. Amperage is a hard number set by the internal contactor and wiring, not a marketing lever, so paying more for the identical 40A doesn’t buy you a faster charge. If raw charging speed is the only thing you care about, the budget end of this list already gets you there.

The trades that do cost you something: app, cable and warranty

What a lower price does trim is everything downstream of the plug. The Lectron 40A has no Wi-Fi app, so scheduling around cheap overnight electricity rates falls to your car instead of the charger — a real feature to live without if you were hoping to compare usage data over time. It also ships a shorter 16-foot cable against the 23-25 feet common elsewhere, and its 2-year warranty is a year short of the 3-year norm on this page. The Grizzl-E costs more and buys those back: an app, 25 feet of cable and three years. None of that is hidden; it’s the honest shape of the price gap, and for a lot of driveways the cheaper end is a fair call.

The one to actually watch: an unpublished enclosure rating

The Lectron 40A is the one spec gap worth flagging on its own: the brand doesn’t publish an outdoor or IP enclosure rating at all. That’s not the same as saying it fails outdoors — it means we can’t point you to a number, which matters if your charger will be fully exposed. If your install is sheltered, it’s a non-issue. If it isn’t, the Grizzl-E’s published UL Type 4 rating (see our full Grizzl-E review) is the safer budget call, and our portable charger picks cover the trade-offs between the two in more depth.

Frequently asked questions

What do you actually give up with a budget EV charger?

Usually not amperage — a 40A budget charger delivers the same 40A as a pricier one. What you typically give up is a Wi-Fi app, a shorter cable, a shorter warranty, or (as with the Lectron 40A) a published outdoor enclosure rating. Check the specific spec sheet rather than assuming which corner was cut.

Is there still a budget EV charger with no app at all?

The Lectron 40A, yes — no Wi-Fi, no account, scheduling happens in the car. The Grizzl-E Classic no longer fills that role: Grizzl-E discontinued it and replaced it with the Classic Connect, which adds Wi-Fi and an app. If a no-software charger is specifically what you want, the Lectron is the pick on this page.

Is a cheaper EV charger less safe?

Not among the picks here — all three carry UL or ETL safety certification to the same EVSE standard (UL 2594) as premium chargers. Safety certification and price are separate things; a budget charger that's properly listed is just as safe electrically as a premium one.

Why doesn't the Lectron 40A list an outdoor rating?

The brand simply doesn't publish an IP or NEMA enclosure figure for it, which we treat as a finding, not an assumption either way. If your install will be fully exposed to weather, the Grizzl-E Classic Connect's published UL Type 4 rating is the more transparent budget choice.

Is a shorter warranty a dealbreaker on a budget charger?

It depends on your risk tolerance. The Lectron's 2-year warranty is shorter than the 3-year standard most chargers here carry, which is a real trade for the lower price — reasonable if you want the cheapest honest way in, less so if you'd rather not think about it again for years.

Do budget chargers charge slower than expensive ones?

Only if they're rated for fewer amps. A budget 40A charger and a premium 40A charger add range at the same rate — roughly 34 miles per hour at a 3.5 mi/kWh reference efficiency. Premium chargers tend to offer higher amp ceilings (48-50A) rather than a faster rate at the same amperage.

Sources

Keep reading