Plug & Range

EVDANCE vs Lectron Portable EV Chargers

This looks like a brand question and it is really an outlet question. One of these brands builds for the dryer socket and limits itself in hardware; the other builds for the range socket and is fixed at 40 amps. Which is right depends on what is already on your wall.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

If the outlet you will charge from is a four-prong NEMA 14-30 dryer socket, buy the EVDANCE. If it is a NEMA 14-50 range or RV socket, buy the Lectron 40A. That is not a dodge — it is the actual answer, because these two brands have chosen different receptacles and neither can safely pretend to be the other. The EVDANCE 24A publishes a native 14-30 plug with a 24-amp hardware ceiling, which is exactly 80% of a 30-amp circuit, so the most common dryer-outlet mistake is impossible to make with it. The Lectron 40A publishes a NEMA 14-50 plug and a fixed 40 amps with no adjustable range, which is correct on a 50-amp circuit and wrong on anything smaller.

Both are genuinely budget products from brands with real documentation, and both are ETL listed to the UL 2594 / UL 2231 family — which is the bar our cheap-charger safety guide sets and which most of the no-name 14-30 listings on Amazon do not clear. Where they differ, past the plug, is in what each one publishes and how well its own paperwork agrees with itself.

We ranked on the published spec that decides the install, in this order: the plug and the current ceiling it implies, whether the current can be stepped down and where that setting lives, cable length honestly stated, the safety listing and who issued it, the warranty term, and whether the manufacturer’s own documents agree. On that last criterion, one of these brands has a problem we have to describe in detail.

How this is funded:we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, charging speed, electrical fit and value. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these chargers — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Lectron 40A Portable Level 2 Charger

Lectron 40A Portable Level 2 Charger

The least-expensive honest route into real Level 2 charging. Plug it into a NEMA 14-50 outlet, pull a true 40A / 9.6 kW, and unplug it to throw in the trunk for a trip. The trade-offs for the price are no app and a shorter warranty — both fair at this cost.

Best on a NEMA 14-50: real 40 amps, least money
$269.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 10, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
EVDANCE 24A NEMA 14-30 Portable Charger (EV-ACS2405U)

EVDANCE 24A NEMA 14-30 Portable Charger (EV-ACS2405U)

The charger a dryer outlet actually wants. The plug on the end is a NEMA 14-30, so it goes straight into a four-prong dryer receptacle with no adapter, and its maximum is 24 amps — exactly what a 30-amp circuit allows — so there is no setting that can ask that circuit for more. Its manual carries an Intertek ETL mark to UL 2594, and it steps down to 10 amps for a circuit you are unsure of. What the low price costs you is a one-year warranty and documentation that disagrees with itself in places worth reading carefully.

Best on a dryer outlet, with no adapter
$269.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 10, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
EVDANCE 24A NEMA 14-30 Portable Charger, NACS (EV-ACS2405T)

EVDANCE 24A NEMA 14-30 Portable Charger, NACS (EV-ACS2405T)

The same 24-amp, native NEMA 14-30 charger with a Tesla (NACS) connector on the end, which removes the adapter a Tesla owner would otherwise hang off a J1772 cord. The manual carries the same Intertek ETL mark and the same five current steps, and the handle has a button that opens a Tesla's charge-port door. It inherits the same one-year warranty and the same inconsistent paperwork, and it is the wrong buy for a household that also has a J1772 car.

Best for a Tesla on a dryer outlet
$279.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 10, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Lectron Level 1 Charger, 12A (Wi-Fi)

Lectron Level 1 Charger, 12A (Wi-Fi)

Level 1 charging with a brain. It gives up three amps against the plain 15A version and gets back the Lectron app — live charging status, scheduled sessions, and a kWh cap so you can stop a charge at a set amount. On Level 1 that scheduling matters more than it sounds: a trickle charge runs for most of the night anyway, so being able to start it when your off-peak rate does is worth more than the amps you traded away.

Best when there is no 240V outlet at all
$169.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 10, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best on a NEMA 14-50: real 40 amps, least money

Lectron 40A Portable Level 2 Charger

The least-expensive honest route into real Level 2 charging. Plug it into a NEMA 14-50 outlet, pull a true 40A / 9.6 kW, and unplug it to throw in the trunk for a trip. The trade-offs for the price are no app and a shorter warranty — both fair at this cost.

Strengths

  • A real 40A / 9.6 kW at a budget price
  • Plug-in and portable — no hardwiring, and it travels
  • ETL listed to the UL 2594 / UL 2231 safety standards

Trade-offs

  • No Wi-Fi or app on the base model — the smart version is a separate SKU
  • Shorter 16 ft cable and a 2-year warranty
  • The brand doesn't publish an outdoor/IP enclosure rating
Max output40 A
Power9.6 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallNEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length16 ft
Warranty2 years
WiFi + appNo
CertificationsETL listed (UL 2594 / UL 2231)

Our charging-speed math. At 40A (9.6 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh it adds roughly 34 miles of range an hour.

Build note. A portable plug-in unit — no hardwiring — and the base model carries no Wi-Fi or app.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best on a dryer outlet, with no adapter

EVDANCE 24A NEMA 14-30 Portable Charger (EV-ACS2405U)

The charger a dryer outlet actually wants. The plug on the end is a NEMA 14-30, so it goes straight into a four-prong dryer receptacle with no adapter, and its maximum is 24 amps — exactly what a 30-amp circuit allows — so there is no setting that can ask that circuit for more. Its manual carries an Intertek ETL mark to UL 2594, and it steps down to 10 amps for a circuit you are unsure of. What the low price costs you is a one-year warranty and documentation that disagrees with itself in places worth reading carefully.

Strengths

  • Native NEMA 14-30 plug with a 24-amp maximum — it cannot be set above what the circuit allows
  • ETL listed (Intertek control number 5034626) to UL 2594 and UL 2231-2, per its user manual
  • Five current steps (10/12/16/20/24A) for an older or unverified dryer circuit
  • On-unit display of current, voltage, kWh and session time, plus a 1-12 hour delay timer

Trade-offs

  • One-year warranty, the shortest of the picks on our dryer-outlet page
  • EVDANCE's own pages disagree on the circuit it needs (a "20A circuit" on the store page, a "32A breaker" in the manual) — a 14-30 is a 30-amp receptacle
  • The 25 ft is total length: about 21.9 ft from control box to car and 3.1 ft from box to outlet, per the Amazon listing
  • EVDANCE says the plug-and-socket joint is not waterproof, and the connector needs its cap when stored
Max output24 A
Power5.76 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallNEMA 14-30 plug (four-prong dryer outlet)
Cable length25 ft
Warranty1 year
WiFi + appNot published
CertificationsETL listed (Intertek 5034626) to UL 2594, UL 2231-2 and CSA C22.2

Our charging-speed math. At its 24-amp maximum and 240V it delivers 5.76 kW, roughly 20 miles of range an hour at our 3.5 miles-per-kWh reference, or about 200 miles across a ten-hour overnight window. Dropped to 16 amps for an older circuit, it is about 13 miles an hour.

Build note. From EVDANCE's user manual for model EV-ACS2405U: 24A maximum at 240V (5.76 kW); current chosen before plugging into the car by holding the A button and stepping through 10, 12, 16, 20 or 24A; a 1.77-inch display showing real-time current, voltage, power, kWh, session time and temperature; a 1-12 hour delayed start; a Type 4 enclosure; a -22°F to 122°F operating range; 25 ft total length; an SAE J1772 connector; certification to UL 2231-2, UL 2594 and CSA C22.2 under an Intertek ETL mark (control number 5034626); and a 12-month warranty. The documentation is inconsistent, and we record the manual over the store page: the evdances.com spec table for this same product lists a "6-32A" adjustable range, a "Dedicated 20A Circuit" and a "J1772/CCS" connector, and the site banner advertises a 3-year warranty that the product page, the manual and the Amazon listing all put at one year. The manual pictures Wi-Fi and Bluetooth icons and EVDANCE sells a Wi-Fi version on its own store, but the Amazon listing we link does not state an app, so Wi-Fi is recorded as not published.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on September 15, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best for a Tesla on a dryer outlet

EVDANCE 24A NEMA 14-30 Portable Charger, NACS (EV-ACS2405T)

The same 24-amp, native NEMA 14-30 charger with a Tesla (NACS) connector on the end, which removes the adapter a Tesla owner would otherwise hang off a J1772 cord. The manual carries the same Intertek ETL mark and the same five current steps, and the handle has a button that opens a Tesla's charge-port door. It inherits the same one-year warranty and the same inconsistent paperwork, and it is the wrong buy for a household that also has a J1772 car.

Strengths

  • Native NEMA 14-30 plug and native NACS connector — no adapter at either end
  • 24-amp maximum matches a 30-amp circuit, with 10/12/16/20/24A steps below it
  • ETL listed (Intertek control number 5034626) to UL 2594 and UL 2231-2, per its user manual
  • A button on the handle opens a Tesla's charge-port door

Trade-offs

  • One-year warranty
  • A J1772 car cannot use it without a NACS-to-J1772 adapter — the wrong pick for a mixed household
  • Same documentation conflicts as the J1772 version, including store-page copy that tells Tesla owners they need a J1772 adapter
  • The 25 ft is total length, about 21.9 ft of it between control box and car
Max output24 A
Power5.76 kW
ConnectorNACS
InstallNEMA 14-30 plug (four-prong dryer outlet)
Cable length25 ft
Warranty1 year
WiFi + appNot published
CertificationsETL listed (Intertek 5034626) to UL 2594, UL 2231-2 and CSA C22.2

Our charging-speed math. At 24A and 240V (5.76 kW) and our 3.5 miles-per-kWh reference, roughly 20 miles of range an hour into a Tesla or other NACS car, or about 200 miles across a ten-hour overnight window.

Build note. From EVDANCE's user manual for model EV-ACS2405T: 24A maximum at 240V (5.76 kW); an SAE J3400 / NACS connector; current chosen with the A button before plugging in, in steps of 10, 12, 16, 20 or 24A; a display of current, voltage, power, kWh, session time and temperature; a 1-12 hour delayed start; a Type 4 enclosure; a -22°F to 122°F operating range; 25 ft total length; certification to UL 2231-2, UL 2594 and CSA C22.2 under an Intertek ETL mark (control number 5034626); and a 12-month warranty. The manual cover describes it as a non-OEM replacement for Tesla. EVDANCE's product page for this SKU lists a "6-32A" range and a "Dedicated 20A Circuit", and its description tells buyers a Tesla needs a J1772 adapter — text evidently carried over from the J1772 version. We record the manual. The Amazon listing does not state an app, so Wi-Fi is recorded as not published.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on September 15, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#4Best when there is no 240V outlet at all

Lectron Level 1 Charger, 12A (Wi-Fi)

Level 1 charging with a brain. It gives up three amps against the plain 15A version and gets back the Lectron app — live charging status, scheduled sessions, and a kWh cap so you can stop a charge at a set amount. On Level 1 that scheduling matters more than it sounds: a trickle charge runs for most of the night anyway, so being able to start it when your off-peak rate does is worth more than the amps you traded away.

Strengths

  • App gives real-time status, scheduling and a kWh charge limit
  • Same no-install 120V convenience as the plain model
  • ETL listing to the same UL 2594 / UL 2231 standards

Trade-offs

  • 12A instead of 15A — slower again than an already slow charging level
  • You're paying for an app on a charger that mostly runs unattended overnight
  • No published warranty term
Max output12 A
Power1.44 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallNEMA 5-15 plug (standard 120V outlet)
Cable length16 ft
WarrantyNot published
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsETL listed (UL 2594 / UL 2231)

Our charging-speed math. 12A at 120V is about 1.44 kW, so at 3.5 mi/kWh that's roughly 5 miles of range an hour — about 50 miles across a 10-hour overnight, before losses.

Build note. Lectron publishes 120V / 12A / up to 1.44 kW, a 16 ft cable, an IP65-rated control box, and a Lectron app that schedules sessions and caps a charge at a chosen number of kWh.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

The published specs, side by side

 EVDANCE 24A (EV-ACS2405U)Lectron 40A portable
PlugNEMA 14-30 (four-prong dryer)NEMA 14-50 (range / RV)
Max output24 A / 5.76 kW40 A / 9.6 kW
Current steps10 / 12 / 16 / 20 / 24 A, set on the unitNone — fixed 40 A
Range added (3.5 mi/kWh)~20 miles an hour~34 miles an hour
Cable25 ft total (~21.9 ft box to car)16 ft
EnclosureType 4, −22 to 122 °FNot published
Display / timer1.77 in display, 1–12 h delayed startNot published (the Wi-Fi model is a separate SKU)
Safety listingIntertek ETL 5034626 — UL 2594, UL 2231-2, CSA C22.2ETL listed to UL 2594 / UL 2231
Warranty1 year2 years
Connector optionsJ1772 or native NACS (separate SKU)J1772

Why the EVDANCE’s limitation is its best feature

A 24-amp ceiling sounds like a compromise and is the opposite. A four-prong NEMA 14-30 dryer receptacle sits on a 30-amp circuit, and NEC Article 625 treats EV charging as a continuous load, so the maximum legal charging current on it is 80% of 30 — 24 amps. The EVDANCE cannot exceed that figure because its hardware stops there, which means the single most common dryer-outlet error, running a 40-amp charger through an adapter onto a 30-amp circuit, is not available to you.

Compare that with the alternative. Put a 14-50-to-14-30 adapter on a Lectron 40A and you now have a fixed 40-amp charger drawing 40 amps through a 30-amp circuit, with nothing anywhere in the chain to object. The charger does not know what it is plugged into — United Chargers states that outright about its own portable: it “can not detect the circuit amperage limit”. Our adapter guideis entirely about this failure mode, and the reason we accept the Grizzl-E Mini’s adapter setup and not a fixed-output charger’s is that the Mini has a DIP switch to cap the current in hardware. The Lectron 40A has no setting at all.

The EVDANCE also gives you five steps below24 amps — 10, 12, 16, 20 and 24, chosen on the unit before the connector goes into the car — which is the right shape for an old receptacle you are not confident about. See our NEMA 14-30 roundup for the whole dryer-outlet field, and the full EVDANCE review for the detail.

Why the Lectron is still the one to buy on a 14-50

On a proper 50-amp circuit the EVDANCE’s virtue becomes a ceiling. Twenty-four amps is about 20 miles of range an hour at our 3.5 miles-per-kWh reference; 40 amps is about 34. Over a ten-hour night that is roughly 200 miles against 340, and if the circuit can carry 40 amps there is no reason to take 24.

The Lectron 40A is the cheapest honest route to a real 40 amps that we cover. It is ETL listed to the UL 2594 / UL 2231 standards, it is a portable you can unplug and throw in the trunk, and it does not ask you to configure anything. The trade-offs are real and we would not hide them: a 16 ft cable, which is the shortest in this comparison by nine feet; no published enclosure rating or operating temperature range at all, which is a blank field and therefore a finding; and no app on the base model, since Lectron sells the Wi-Fi build as a separate SKU. Our Lectron 40A review covers it in full, and our NEMA 14-50 roundup ranks it against the rest of that field.

The documentation problem, named

EVDANCE’s own paperwork contradicts itself in four places, and we think you should know before you buy rather than after. Taking the user manual for the exact model number as authoritative:

  • The manual specifies a “32A breaker”. EVDANCE’s store page for the same product says a “Dedicated 20A Circuit”. Neither matches the 30-amp receptacle the charger’s own plug is built for.
  • The store page advertises a “6-32A” adjustable range. The manual gives five steps topping out at 24 A.
  • The store page lists a three-year warranty on a banner. The manual, the product page body and the Amazon listing all say one year.
  • On the NACS version, the store-page description tells buyers that a Tesla needs a J1772 adapter — text evidently carried over from the J1772 model, and wrong for a charger with a native Tesla connector on it.

We record the manual in every case and the conflicts alongside it. None of these is a safety finding on its own — the ETL mark and control number are real and the hardware ceiling is real — but a brand whose documents disagree about the warranty term is a brand whose warranty you should expect to argue about. Lectron’s documentation, for what it is worth, is terse and consistent: it publishes less, and what it publishes agrees with itself.

If there is no 240-volt outlet at all

Worth saying, because a lot of people arrive at this comparison and discover the answer is neither. If there is no 240-volt receptacle anywhere useful, you have two options: pay an electrician to fit one, or charge at Level 1 from an ordinary 120-volt socket. Lectron is the stronger brand for the second, and the Wi-Fi version of its Level 1 charger is the one we would pick — 12 amps at 120 volts is about 1.44 kW, or roughly 5 miles of range an hour, and an overnight trickle is going to run for most of the night anyway, so the app’s scheduling and kWh cap are worth more than the three amps it trades away against the plain 15-amp model. Our Level 1 roundup and our “do you need Level 2?” guide cover whether that is enough for your driving.

The verdict

NEMA 14-50 on the wall: the Lectron 40A. A real 40 amps, ETL listed, portable, and the least money in this comparison. Measure from the receptacle to the charge port first, because 16 ft is genuinely short, and do not use it with an adapter onto a smaller outlet — it has no way to be turned down.

Four-prong NEMA 14-30 dryer outlet: the EVDANCE 24A. A native plug, a hardware ceiling at exactly the right number, five steps below it, a 25 ft total length, a Type 4 body published at −22°F to 122°F, an on-unit display and a delay timer, and an ETL mark with a control number you can check. Accept the one-year warranty and the inconsistent store copy as the price.

A Tesla on a dryer outlet: the EVDANCE 24A NACS version. The same charger with a native NACS connector, so there is no adapter at either end, and a button on the handle that opens the charge-port door. Not the right buy for a household that also has a J1772 car — that household wants the J1772 version and the adapter that came with the Tesla.

Frequently asked questions

Is EVDANCE or Lectron the better EV charger brand?

Neither, in the abstract — they build for different outlets. EVDANCE's 24-amp model has a native NEMA 14-30 plug and a hardware ceiling at 24 amps, which is exactly the legal maximum on a 30-amp dryer circuit. Lectron's 40-amp portable has a NEMA 14-50 plug and a fixed 40-amp output, which is correct on a 50-amp circuit and unsafe on anything smaller. Match the charger to the receptacle you have and the brand question answers itself.

Can I use the Lectron 40A on a dryer outlet with an adapter?

We would not. The Lectron 40A publishes no adjustable current range, so with a 14-50-to-14-30 adapter you would be drawing 40 amps through a 30-amp circuit with nothing in the chain able to object — a charger cannot detect what circuit it is plugged into. If you want to charge from a dryer outlet, buy a charger that is either native to it, like the EVDANCE, or capable of being capped in hardware, like the Grizzl-E Mini. Our adapter guide covers the mandatory step in detail.

Is 24 amps enough to charge an EV overnight?

For most drivers, comfortably. Twenty-four amps at 240 volts is 5.76 kW, which at our 3.5 miles-per-kWh reference is roughly 20 miles of range an hour — about 200 miles across a ten-hour night. That is well beyond typical daily US driving. It stops being enough if you drive several hundred miles a day, share one charger between two EVs, or regularly have only two or three hours plugged in.

Are EVDANCE chargers safe?

On the evidence their own manual provides, yes: EVDANCE's user manual for the model we link carries an Intertek ETL mark with control number 5034626 and names UL 2594, UL 2231-2 and CSA C22.2. That is a real third-party listing from a named laboratory, which is the bar most no-name 14-30 listings fail. Separately, EVDANCE's store page contradicts its own manual on circuit size, adjustable range and warranty term — a documentation problem rather than a safety one, but one we record on the page rather than smoothing over.

What is the warranty on an EVDANCE charger?

One year, on the evidence that matters. The user manual, the product page body and the Amazon listing all state 12 months; a banner on EVDANCE's store advertises three years. We record the one-year figure because three independent documents agree on it. Lectron's 40A portable publishes two years. If the warranty term is decisive for you, that gap is the cleanest reason to choose the Lectron where the outlet allows it.

Does either brand make a Tesla version?

EVDANCE does, as a separate SKU: the same 24-amp NEMA 14-30 charger with a native NACS connector and a button on the handle that opens a Tesla's charge-port door. Lectron sells NACS chargers too, including a 40-amp portable and hardwired NEXUS models, though not as a variant of the 40A J1772 portable on this page. Our portable-for-Tesla roundup and our NACS home-charger roundup cover both brands' Tesla-connector options.

Which has the longer cable?

The EVDANCE, by a wide margin — but read the figure carefully. EVDANCE publishes 25 ft as the total length, of which about 21.9 ft sits between the control box and the car; the rest is the input lead to the plug. The Lectron 40A is 16 ft. If the receptacle is not within a few feet of where the car parks, that nine-foot difference will matter more than any other spec on this page. Measure the route around the car, not through it.

Sources

  • EVDANCE — EV-ACS2405U portable 24 A NEMA 14-30 charger user manual — Manufacturer manual for the exact model we link, read 2026-09-15 and re-fetched live 2026-10-05 (HTTP 200): 24 A maximum at 240 V (5.76 kW); current chosen before the connector is plugged into the car by holding the A button through 10, 12, 16, 20 or 24 A; a 1.77 in display of current, voltage, power, kWh, session time and temperature; a 1-12 hour delayed start; a Type 4 enclosure; a -22 °F to 122 °F operating range; 25 ft total length; an SAE J1772 connector; certification to UL 2594, UL 2231-2 and CSA C22.2 under an Intertek ETL mark (control number 5034626); and a 12-month warranty. Recorded for the conflicts as well as the specs: the manual states a “32A breaker” where EVDANCE's own store page says a “Dedicated 20A Circuit” and a “6-32A” range, and the manual pictures Wi-Fi and Bluetooth icons the Amazon listing we link does not claim (accessed October 5, 2026)
  • NFPA — Using the Latest NEC for EV Charger Installations — NFPA on NEC (NFPA 70) Article 625: EV charging is a continuous load, so circuits are sized to 125% of load (the 80% rule) (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • United Chargers — Grizzl-E Mini / Mini Connect User Manual and Installation Guide (Rev. 2.0, April 30, 2026) — Manufacturer manual: ships four NEMA 14-50R adapters (5-15P, TT-30P, 14-30P, 6-50P); the factory default maximum current is 40A; the Wi-Fi current slider runs from 7A up to the DIP switch setting, the DIP switch sets 40, 32, 24 or 16A, and "the charger can not detect the circuit amperage limit"; only 80% of the circuit rating may be used (accessed September 15, 2026)
  • UL Solutions — EV Charging Infrastructure Services — UL on EVSE safety certification: ANSI/UL 2594 is the Standard for Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • SAE International — J1772 Conductive Charge Coupler — The SAE J1772 connector standard for AC Level 1 and Level 2 charging in North America (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • SAE International — J3400 North American Charging System (NACS) — The SAE J3400 / NACS standard (the Tesla-derived connector) now being adopted industry-wide (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • FuelEconomy.gov — Electric Vehicles: Learn More About the Label — DOE/EPA on EV efficiency: kWh per 100 miles and MPGe, accounting for AC charging losses (accessed July 19, 2026)

Keep reading