Plug & Range

Lectron Level 2 Tesla (NACS) 40A Charger Review

A native Tesla plug on the end of a proper 40-amp portable charger. Plug it into a 14-50, pull the full 9.6 kW, unplug it when you move — and accept that there is no app and no dial.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

There are two ways to give a Tesla or another NACS car real Level 2 charging from a portable unit. You can buy a J1772 charger and keep a NACS adapter permanently on the end of it, or you can buy a charger that already has the right plug. This is the second one: Lectron builds the same 40-amp portable body it sells with a J1772 cable, and terminates it in a native NACS connector instead.

What you get for that is simplicity rather than speed — the charging rate is identical either way. What you give up is everything on the software side. This SKU has no Wi-Fi, no app and no adjustable current: it is 40 amps into whatever outlet you plug it into, or nothing. Below: what 40 amps actually buys you, why the missing dial matters more than the missing app, and the specific case where the J1772-plus-adapter route is the better buy.

How this is funded:we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

#1Best native NACS portable

Lectron Level 2 Tesla (NACS) Portable Charger, 40A

The straightforward native-NACS answer for a Tesla owner who wants real Level 2 speed without hardwiring anything. Plug it into a NEMA 14-50, pull a full 40 amps, and unplug it when you move or travel. There is no app and no adjustable current — what you are buying is the Tesla plug on the end of a proper 40-amp portable charger, at a price well under a wall-mounted NACS station.

Strengths

  • Native NACS connector — nothing to seat, nothing to lose, no adapter
  • A real 40A / 9.6 kW from an ordinary NEMA 14-50 outlet
  • IP65 control box and IP55 handle, rated by Lectron for outdoor use
  • Plug-in and portable, so it moves with you and travels

Trade-offs

  • No Wi-Fi or app on this SKU — the smart version is a separate, dearer listing
  • No adjustable current, so it cannot be trimmed down for an unverified outlet
  • A J1772 car needs a NACS-to-J1772 adapter — buy a J1772 charger instead
  • Lectron does not publish a warranty term for this model
Max output40 A
Power9.6 kW
ConnectorNACS
InstallNEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length16 ft
WarrantyNot published
WiFi + appNo
CertificationsETL listed (UL 2594 / UL 2231), UL 2251 handle, FCC

Our charging-speed math. At 40A on 240V (9.6 kW) and our 3.5 mi/kWh reference, roughly 34 miles of range an hour. Lectron's own figure is up to 36 miles an hour, which assumes a slightly more efficient car than our reference.

Build note. Lectron publishes 240V, 40 A and 9.6 kW through a NEMA 14-50 plug on a 16 ft cable, a native Tesla (NACS) connector, an IP65-rated control box with an IP55-rated handle tested to 10,000-plus insertions, protection against overvoltage, overcurrent and short circuits, and ETL/FCC certification against UL 2594 and UL 2231 with a UL 2251 handle. This SKU has no Wi-Fi or app.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 21, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

Forty amps, and what that is actually worth

Lectron publishes 240 volts, 40 amps and 9.6 kW through a NEMA 14-50 plug. At our standard reference of roughly 3.5 miles per kWh that is about 34 miles of range per hour.

That number is worth sitting with, because it is the point at which charging stops being something you plan around. The average American drives well under forty miles a day. This charger replaces that in a little over an hour, which means any overnight window — or, frankly, an evening — is more than enough. Going faster than this is possible, but it requires hardwiring to a 60-amp circuit, and our 40A versus 48A comparisonworks through how rarely that actually changes anyone’s morning.

Forty amps is also the ceiling for anything that plugs in. A NEMA 14-50 is a 50-amp receptacle, and the NEC’s 125% continuous-load rule caps a continuous draw on it at 40 amps. So this is not Lectron being conservative — it is the maximum a plug-in charger of any brand can legitimately deliver. Our outlet types guide sets out what each receptacle is good for.

The native plug is the whole product

The connector is NACS — the Tesla-style plug, standardized as SAE J3400 and now being adopted across the industry. On a Tesla or a newer NACS-native EV it goes straight into the car: no adapter to seat properly, none to leave at a campsite, and one fewer connection point in a circuit carrying 40 amps for hours at a time.

Be honest about the size of that benefit, though. A J1772 charger with a good NACS adapter charges at exactly the same rate, and a UL 2252 adapter is not a safety compromise. What the native plug buys is the removal of a small, recurring annoyance and one more thing to lose — which is worth something, but it is convenience rather than performance. Our J1772 vs NACS explainer covers which way the adapters run and which certifications matter on them.

The corollary is firm: if your car is J1772, this is the wrong purchase. The Lectron 40A is the same charger with a J1772 cable already fitted. Buy that instead and skip the adapter entirely.

No dial, and why that matters more than the missing app

Lectron does not publish an adjustable current range for this model. It charges at 40 amps, and that is the only setting there is.

For a charger that lives on one known circuit in your own garage, this costs you nothing. For a charger that travels — which is the whole reason to buy a portable unit — it moves a judgment onto you. A 14-50 plug tells you the shape of the receptacle. It does not tell you what is behind the wall, and plenty of 14-50 outlets were installed for an occasional dryer or welder cycle on wiring that has never been asked to carry 40 amps for six straight hours.

A charger with a selectable 16 or 24 amp setting lets you answer that by charging conservatively. This one does not, so the honest rule is binary: plug it in only where you can be reasonably confident of the circuit— breaker size known, receptacle sound, no heat or discoloration around it. If you want the dial, the ELEGRP 40A publishes five current levels and the Grizzl-E Classic Connectpublishes 40 down to 16 — both are J1772, so a NACS car would need an adapter to use either. Our RV park guide covers the pedestal case specifically, including the common trap of a 30-amp pedestal that will not take a 14-50 plug at all.

The missing app is the smaller loss.There is no Wi-Fi and no account — you get status indication on the unit and your car’s own scheduling. On a Tesla that genuinely does not matter much: the car handles scheduled charging, charge limits and off-peak timing better than most charger apps do, and it travels with the vehicle rather than with the parking spot. Lectron does sell a Wi-Fi version of this charger as a separate, dearer listing if you want the charger itself to do the scheduling.

Build, certification and the one blank spec

Lectron publishes an IP65-rated control box and an IP55-rated charging handle, tested to more than 10,000 insertions, with protection against overvoltage, overcurrent and short circuits. It is ETL and FCC certified against the UL 2594 and UL 2231 standards, with a UL 2251 handle. That certification bar is the one that genuinely matters and is unrelated to price — see our guide on whether cheap EV chargers are safe.

The cable is 16 feet. That is shorter than the 25-foot runs on several chargers we cover, and it is the spec most likely to catch you out: measure from the outlet to your car’s charge port, on the side the port is actually on, before you buy.

The blank on the spec sheet is the warranty. Lectron does not publish a term for this model, so our table records “Not published” rather than guessing at one. That is a finding rather than a gap in our research — a brand that does not state a warranty length is telling you something — and it is worth weighing against units that publish two or three years.

Who should buy it — and who should skip it

Buy itif you drive a Tesla or NACS car, you have or can get a NEMA 14-50 outlet, and you want real Level 2 charging without hardwiring anything into a building. It is a particularly good answer for a renter, because there is nothing to install and it moves out with you — see our renter picks. It is equally sensible as a travel charger for a household that already has something on the wall.

Skip it if your car is J1772 — buy the Lectron 40A and skip the adapter. Skip it if you need to charge at less than 40 amps on circuits you cannot verify, because there is no setting below the maximum. Skip it if you want the charger itself to schedule and meter your charging, because this SKU has no app. And skip it if the charger will never leave your garage and you have a 60-amp circuit available: the Lectron Nexus NACS gives you 48 amps hardwired, and you are not paying for portability you will not use.

Frequently asked questions

How fast does the Lectron Level 2 Tesla charger charge?

Lectron publishes 240V, 40 amps and 9.6 kW. At our standard reference of roughly 3.5 miles of range per kWh that is about 34 miles of range per hour — so a normal day's driving comes back in a little over an hour, and an overnight window refills almost anything. Lectron's own figure is up to 36 miles an hour, which assumes a slightly more efficient car than our reference does.

Do I need an adapter for my Tesla?

No — that is the entire point of this SKU. The connector is native NACS, the same plug your car already has, so it goes straight into the charge port with nothing in between. That means one less connection carrying 40 amps for hours, and nothing to lose out of the frunk.

Will it work with a J1772 car?

Only with a NACS-to-J1772 adapter, and we would not buy it for that. If your car is J1772 — which is every non-Tesla EV of the last decade — the Lectron 40A is the same charger with the correct plug already fitted, at a similar price and with no extra part in the chain. Buy the connector your car actually has.

Can I turn the current down for an outlet I do not trust?

No. Lectron does not publish an adjustable current range for this model, so it draws its full 40 amps whenever it is charging. On a NEMA 14-50 whose breaker size you cannot confirm, or one that looks old, worn or warm, that is a real limitation — a charger with a selectable 16 or 24 amp setting would let you charge conservatively instead. Our outlet types guide covers how to read a receptacle before you plug into it.

Can I leave it outdoors?

Lectron publishes an IP65 rating for the control box and IP55 for the charging handle, and describes the unit as suitable for outdoor use, with the handle tested to more than 10,000 insertions. That is a genuine outdoor rating for a portable charger. What Lectron does not publish for this model is a warranty term, which our spec table records as "Not published" rather than guessing.

What happened to Lectron's dual-level NACS charger?

Amazon stopped carrying it in August 2026. Lectron still sells a dual-level NACS portable direct, but there is no live Amazon listing for it, so we no longer recommend it here — every buy link on this site resolves to Amazon. Our review of it stays online for reference. If you specifically want Level 1 capability on a NACS car, the Lectron Level 1 Tesla charger covers that half at 15 amps.

Sources

Keep reading