Plug & Range

Best NEMA 6-50 EV Chargers

The welder outlet in the garage is already a 50-amp, 240-volt circuit — the same capacity a NEMA 14-50 gives you. The question is how a charger gets to it without a plug adapter you bought from a stranger.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

Start with the Grizzl-E Mini: it is the only charger we cover that comes with a NEMA 6-50P adapter in the box from the manufacturer, which is the one thing that matters on this page. United Chargers ships the Mini on a NEMA 14-50 plug with four adapters included — 5-15P, TT-30P, 14-30P and 6-50P— so a welder outlet is a supported configuration from the company that built and UL-certified the charger, not a workaround. Everything else here needs a third-party adapter to reach a 6-50, and that is a real difference rather than a shopping preference.

The good news first: electrically, you are in excellent shape. A NEMA 6-50 is a 240-volt, 50-amp receptacle — two hots and a ground, no neutral — which is the same current rating as the NEMA 14-50 that every EV charging guide tells you to install. NEC Article 625 treats EV charging as a continuous load, so a 50-amp circuit supports a charger drawing 40 amps, or 9.6 kW. That is roughly 34 miles of range an hour at our 3.5 miles-per-kWh reference, and about 340 miles across a ten-hour night. You do not need an electrician and you do not need a new circuit. You need the right plug on the end of the cord.

So we ranked on exactly that, in this order: whether the manufacturer supplies the 6-50 connection itself, then whether the charger has a published adjustable current range (which is what lets you match an older welder circuit you are not certain about), then the safety listing, the enclosure rating and the warranty. One caution runs through all of it: a welder outlet was installed for short, intermittent bursts of current, and EV charging asks it for hours of continuous current instead. Have the receptacle and its wiring looked at before you trust it overnight.

How this is funded:we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, charging speed, electrical fit and value. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these chargers — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Grizzl-E Mini 40A Portable Charger (J1772)

Grizzl-E Mini 40A Portable Charger (J1772)

The only charger on our dryer-outlet page that can grow past one. It is a UL-certified 40-amp portable on a NEMA 14-50 plug, and United Chargers puts a NEMA 14-30P adapter in the box alongside 6-50P, TT-30P and 5-15P adapters — so it runs at 24 amps on your dryer outlet today and at 40 the day an electrician fits a 14-50. The catch is the one that matters most here: it ships set to 40 amps, United Chargers' current Mini manual says outright that the charger cannot detect a circuit's amperage limit, and turning it down before the first session is your job.

Best overall: 6-50P adapter in the box
$479.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 5, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
ELEGRP 40A Portable Level 2 Charger (ECP24-40A0-01)

ELEGRP 40A Portable Level 2 Charger (ECP24-40A0-01)

The cheapest charger in this registry that still publishes everything you would want to check: 9.6 kW, five current levels from 16 to 40 amps, an IP67 body with a stated -21°F floor, ETL certification and a 2-year warranty. There is no Wi-Fi and no app — you get a 1-to-12-hour delay timer on the unit instead — and for a lot of households that is the correct amount of charger.

Best value, with five current settings
$209.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 5, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Grizzl-E Classic Connect

Grizzl-E Classic Connect

Grizzl-E retired the old no-app Classic and replaced it with this, and it kept the part that mattered: a metal case rated UL Type 4 for a spot with no shelter, published to keep operating down to -22F. What changed is that the electronics caught up — Wi-Fi, an app, and current you can dial from 40A down to 16A to fit a circuit you already have. It's the rugged pick that no longer asks you to give up scheduling to get it.

Best if it is staying on the wall
$349.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 5, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Lectron Level 2 Tesla (NACS) Portable Charger, 40A

Lectron Level 2 Tesla (NACS) Portable Charger, 40A

The straightforward native-NACS answer for a Tesla owner who wants real Level 2 speed without hardwiring anything. Plug it into a NEMA 14-50, pull a full 40 amps, and unplug it when you move or travel. There is no app and no adjustable current — what you are buying is the Tesla plug on the end of a proper 40-amp portable charger, at a price well under a wall-mounted NACS station.

Best for a Tesla or NACS car
$279.89 · View on Amazon

$319.9913% off

Price as of October 5, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall: 6-50P adapter in the box

Grizzl-E Mini 40A Portable Charger (J1772)

The only charger on our dryer-outlet page that can grow past one. It is a UL-certified 40-amp portable on a NEMA 14-50 plug, and United Chargers puts a NEMA 14-30P adapter in the box alongside 6-50P, TT-30P and 5-15P adapters — so it runs at 24 amps on your dryer outlet today and at 40 the day an electrician fits a 14-50. The catch is the one that matters most here: it ships set to 40 amps, United Chargers' current Mini manual says outright that the charger cannot detect a circuit's amperage limit, and turning it down before the first session is your job.

Strengths

  • Three-year warranty and a UL certification from an established North American brand
  • The NEMA 14-30P adapter comes in the box from the manufacturer, not as a third-party add-on
  • A DIP switch inside can cap it at 24 amps in hardware, and no Wi-Fi setting can exceed that cap
  • Runs at a full 40 amps on a NEMA 14-50 if the outlet is upgraded later

Trade-offs

  • Ships set to 40 amps and cannot detect the circuit — on a 14-30 it must be turned down before first use
  • Setting the hardware cap means unplugging it and removing the front cover to reach the switch
  • By a wide margin the most expensive pick, for capacity a dryer outlet will never let you use
  • The adapter adds a plug-and-socket joint that a native 14-30 cord does not have
  • The Amazon J1772 listing describes browser-based Wi-Fi settings, not the Grizzl-E Connect app the newer Mini Connect uses
Max output40 A
Power9.6 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallNEMA 14-50 plug, with 14-30P, 6-50P, TT-30P and 5-15P adapters included
Cable length24 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL certified (United Chargers UL file E510712)

Our charging-speed math. On a NEMA 14-30 dryer outlet it must run at 24 amps: 24A at 240V is 5.76 kW, which at our 3.5 miles-per-kWh reference is roughly 20 miles of range an hour, or about 200 miles across a ten-hour overnight window. On a NEMA 14-50 at its full 40 amps (9.6 kW), it is roughly 34 miles an hour.

Build note. United Chargers publishes a 40A / 9.6 kW maximum on a 50A circuit with the output adjustable down to 7A at 240V (and 7-12A at 120V, which the charger detects automatically), a NEMA 14-50 input plug on an 18-inch lead, four NEMA 14-50R adapters in the box (5-15P, TT-30P, 14-30P and 6-50P), a UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor rating, a -22°F to 122°F operating range, a 6.9 x 3.1 x 2.4 in body weighing 9.8 lb, built-in GFCI, UL file E510712 and a 3-year warranty. Two lines decide how it belongs on a dryer outlet: both Mini manuals give the factory default maximum as 40A, and the current Mini Connect manual adds that the charger "can not detect the circuit amperage limit" (the automatic detection both manuals describe is of 120V versus 240V, not of the circuit's amperage). The limit can be lowered on the Wi-Fi settings page, or capped in hardware with a four-position DIP switch at 40, 32, 24 or 16A; the Wi-Fi setting can never exceed the DIP switch. On cable length, grizzl-e.com lists 25 ft for the current Mini Connect, while this Amazon J1772 listing and United Chargers' original Mini manual both say 24 ft, so we record the lower figure.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on September 15, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best value, with five current settings

ELEGRP 40A Portable Level 2 Charger (ECP24-40A0-01)

The cheapest charger in this registry that still publishes everything you would want to check: 9.6 kW, five current levels from 16 to 40 amps, an IP67 body with a stated -21°F floor, ETL certification and a 2-year warranty. There is no Wi-Fi and no app — you get a 1-to-12-hour delay timer on the unit instead — and for a lot of households that is the correct amount of charger.

Strengths

  • Five current levels (16/20/24/32/40A) — it fits whatever circuit you have
  • IP67 with a published -21°F to 121°F range, and a carrying case in the box
  • 2-year warranty and full ETL certification at the bottom of the price band

Trade-offs

  • No Wi-Fi, no app and no energy monitoring — just an on-unit delay timer
  • Not ENERGY STAR listed, so it may not qualify for some utility rebates
  • 40 amps is the plug-in ceiling; a 48-amp unit needs hardwiring
Max output40 A
Power9.6 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallNEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length25 ft
Warranty2 years
WiFi + appNo
CertificationsETL certified

Our charging-speed math. Forty amps at 240V is 9.6 kW, and at 3.5 miles per kWh that is roughly 34 miles of range an hour. ELEGRP's own figure is 37 miles an hour, which assumes a slightly more efficient car than our reference.

Build note. ELEGRP publishes 240V, up to 9.6 kW, five selectable current levels of 16, 20, 24, 32 and 40 amps, a NEMA 14-50 plug, a 25 ft cable measured plug-end to connector, a J1772 connector, ETL certification with its PBE overheat protection, an IP67 rating with a -21°F to 121°F range, a 1-12 hour delayed start, a carrying case and a 2-year warranty.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best if it is staying on the wall

Grizzl-E Classic Connect

Grizzl-E retired the old no-app Classic and replaced it with this, and it kept the part that mattered: a metal case rated UL Type 4 for a spot with no shelter, published to keep operating down to -22F. What changed is that the electronics caught up — Wi-Fi, an app, and current you can dial from 40A down to 16A to fit a circuit you already have. It's the rugged pick that no longer asks you to give up scheduling to get it.

Strengths

  • Metal case rated UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor, published from -22F to 122F
  • Current adjusts from 40A down to 16A, so it fits the circuit you already have
  • 25 ft cable — among the longest here — on a simple plug-in NEMA 14-50 install

Trade-offs

  • 40A caps its charging speed below the 48A units
  • Scheduling now runs through Wi-Fi and an account — the old Classic's nothing-to-update simplicity is gone
  • Grizzl-E publishes UL/cUL only for this model, not the ENERGY STAR listing the discontinued Classic carried
Max output40 A
Power9.6 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallNEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL/cUL listed (file E510712)

Our charging-speed math. At 40A (9.6 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh it adds roughly 34 miles of range an hour — more than enough to refill a daily commute overnight. Dial it down to 16A and you're at about 13.

Build note. A metal case rated UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor and published for -30C to +50C (-22F to 122F), with 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and current adjustable from 40A down to 16A.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#4Best for a Tesla or NACS car

Lectron Level 2 Tesla (NACS) Portable Charger, 40A

The straightforward native-NACS answer for a Tesla owner who wants real Level 2 speed without hardwiring anything. Plug it into a NEMA 14-50, pull a full 40 amps, and unplug it when you move or travel. There is no app and no adjustable current — what you are buying is the Tesla plug on the end of a proper 40-amp portable charger, at a price well under a wall-mounted NACS station.

Strengths

  • Native NACS connector — nothing to seat, nothing to lose, no adapter
  • A real 40A / 9.6 kW from an ordinary NEMA 14-50 outlet
  • IP65 control box and IP55 handle, rated by Lectron for outdoor use
  • Plug-in and portable, so it moves with you and travels

Trade-offs

  • No Wi-Fi or app on this SKU — the smart version is a separate, dearer listing
  • No adjustable current, so it cannot be trimmed down for an unverified outlet
  • A J1772 car needs a NACS-to-J1772 adapter — buy a J1772 charger instead
  • Lectron does not publish a warranty term for this model
Max output40 A
Power9.6 kW
ConnectorNACS
InstallNEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length16 ft
WarrantyNot published
WiFi + appNo
CertificationsETL listed (UL 2594 / UL 2231), UL 2251 handle, FCC

Our charging-speed math. At 40A on 240V (9.6 kW) and our 3.5 mi/kWh reference, roughly 34 miles of range an hour. Lectron's own figure is up to 36 miles an hour, which assumes a slightly more efficient car than our reference.

Build note. Lectron publishes 240V, 40 A and 9.6 kW through a NEMA 14-50 plug on a 16 ft cable, a native Tesla (NACS) connector, an IP65-rated control box with an IP55-rated handle tested to 10,000-plus insertions, protection against overvoltage, overcurrent and short circuits, and ETL/FCC certification against UL 2594 and UL 2231 with a UL 2251 handle. This SKU has no Wi-Fi or app.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 21, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

What a NEMA 6-50 actually is, and why it is good news

A NEMA 6-50 receptacle is the three-slot 240-volt outlet you find next to a welder, a plasma cutter or a large shop compressor. Two hot legs and a ground, 50 amps, no neutral. The absence of a neutral is why a 14-50 charger cannot physically go into it — the 14-50 has four pins and expects a neutral slot that a 6-50 does not have — but it is not an electrical problem for EV charging at all. An EV charger draws its power across the two hot legs at 240 volts and does not use a neutral. On the charging side, a 6-50 and a 14-50 are the same outlet.

That means the capacity conversation is simple. Fifty amps of circuit, derated to 80% for a continuous load under NEC Article 625, gives you 40 amps of charging. Forty amps at 240 volts is 9.6 kW. Our how many amps do I need guide walks through the arithmetic, and our NEMA 14-50 roundupis the same page for the four-prong outlet — the picks there are chargers whose factory plug is a 14-50, which is the majority of the market.

Two things to confirm before you plug anything in, both of which apply specifically to a welder circuit rather than to a receptacle installed for a car:

  • Is the breaker really 50 amps, and is the wire sized for it? Shop circuits get added to over the years. A 6-50 receptacle on a 40-amp breaker is a 32-amp charging circuit, not a 40-amp one, and the charger has to be set accordingly. Read the breaker, not the outlet.
  • Is the receptacle in good condition? Welding is intermittent duty — minutes of current with long gaps. Charging is the opposite: hours of steady current, every night. Heat is the failure mode, and it shows up at the connections first. If the receptacle is old, discoloured, loose in its box or the plug feels sloppy in it, replace the receptacle before you use it. Our extension cord guide explains the same duty-cycle problem in more detail, because it is the reason that guide exists.

The adapter question, answered honestly

Most buyers arrive here with a 14-50 charger already in hand and a 6-50 on the wall, and the internet is full of $25 adapters that make them fit. Here is our position, and it is the same one our cheap chargers guide takes: the adapter itself is not the problem. The sourcing is.

An adapter adds a plug-and-socket joint to a circuit that will carry 40 amps continuously for hours. That joint is now the hottest, weakest point in the chain, and nothing about the charger's own safety listing covers it. When the adapter comes from the charger's manufacturer, it was designed and tested as part of that charger's system — United Chargers' four Mini adapters are named in the Mini manual, under the same UL file (E510712) as the charger. When it comes from an unbranded listing that names no lab, you have taken the one connection carrying the most heat and sourced it from whoever is cheapest this week.

So the order of preference is: a charger whose factory plug is a 6-50 (nobody in our registry sells one), then a charger whose manufacturersupplies the 6-50 adapter (the Grizzl-E Mini), then a manufacturer-supplied adapter from a named brand for a charger you already own, then — if none of that is available — have an electrician swap the 6-50 receptacle for a 14-50 and buy any charger you like. That last option is usually a one-hour job on an existing circuit, because the wire and the breaker are already correct. It is often the cheapest honest answer, and it is worth getting a quote before you spend money on adapters.

Why each pick is here

Grizzl-E Mini — the only one that solves this from the box. Forty amps and 9.6 kW on a NEMA 14-50 plug, with 14-30P, 6-50P, TT-30P and 5-15P adapters included by the manufacturer. A UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor rating, a published -22°F to 122°F range, a three-year warranty and UL file E510712. On a verified 50-amp circuit you run it at its full 40 amps, which is the whole point of having found a 6-50.

There is one setting you must change, and it is the same warning we lead the full Mini review with: United Chargers' current Mini manual states that the charger “can not detect the circuit amperage limit”and ships with a factory default maximum of 40 amps. On a true 50-amp circuit, 40 amps is correct and you can leave it. On a 40-amp breaker behind that 6-50 receptacle, it is not — set the internal DIP switch to 32 amps before the first session. The switch offers 40, 32, 24 or 16 amps, it is a hardware cap no Wi-Fi setting can exceed, and reaching it means removing the front cover with the charger unplugged.

ELEGRP 40A — the value pick, and the most adjustable. The cheapest charger in our registry that still publishes everything worth checking: 9.6 kW, five current levels at 16, 20, 24, 32 and 40 amps, a 25 ft cable, an IP67 body with a published -21°F to 121°F range, ETL certification and a two-year warranty. The five levels are what earn it second place here specifically — if you find a 40-amp breaker behind the welder outlet, or the receptacle is old enough that you want to run it gently at 24 amps for a while, this is the pick that lets you. Its plug is a NEMA 14-50, so it needs an adapter to reach a 6-50; our ELEGRP review covers the rest of the unit.

Grizzl-E Classic Connect — if the charger is staying put. The Mini is a cord you can throw in the trunk. The Classic Connect is the same company's wall unit: a 40-amp plug-in with a metal case rated UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor, the same -22°F to 122°F range, a 25 ft cable, 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi with the Grizzl-E Connect app, and current adjustable from 40 amps down to 16. If the welder outlet is in the place the car parks and the charger will live on that wall for years, this is the better buy of the two — the scheduling and the longer cable matter more than portability, and United Chargers lists the warranty as a purchase choice between three and five years. It also plugs into a 14-50, so the adapter note applies. We put the Mini vs Classic question side by side in our Mini vs Classic comparison.

Lectron Level 2 Tesla 40A — for a NACS car. Everything above has a J1772 connector, which fits every non-Tesla EV. If your car takes a Tesla/NACS plug, this is the same 40-amp, 9.6 kW portable with the NACS connector moulded on, so there is no adapter at the carend either. An IP65 control box, an IP55 handle, ETL listing to UL 2594 and UL 2231 with a UL 2251 handle. Two honest limitations: Lectron publishes no warranty term for this SKU, and there is no adjustable current — it is 40 amps or nothing, so it needs a circuit you have actually verified. Our portable Tesla roundup has the alternatives, our adapters and accessories hub covers the car-side connector question in both directions, and our full charger reviews go through each of these units on its own terms.

What we would do

If you are buying the charger and the welder outlet now: buy the Grizzl-E Mini. The manufacturer-supplied 6-50P adapter removes the only genuinely awkward part of this situation, and the unit is UL certified with a three-year warranty behind it. Set the DIP switch to match the breaker you read, not the receptacle you see.

If you already own a 14-50 charger:price a receptacle swap before you buy an adapter. The circuit behind that 6-50 is already sized and breakered for 50 amps, so changing the receptacle to a 14-50 is a short job on existing wiring, and it leaves you with a standard outlet that every charger on the market fits — no extra joint, no adapter to lose. If the swap is not possible, a named-brand adapter from your charger's own manufacturer is the next best thing, and an unbranded one that names no safety lab is where we stop.

And if the breaker turns out to be 40 amps rather than 50, buy the ELEGRP and set it to 32. That is still 7.7 kW, still about 27 miles of range an hour at our reference efficiency, and still more charging than most households use overnight. The number on the breaker decides this, which is the same conclusion our outlet types guide reaches from every other direction.

Frequently asked questions

Can I plug an EV charger into a NEMA 6-50 welder outlet?

Yes, if the charger's plug matches or the manufacturer supplies a 6-50 adapter. A NEMA 6-50 is a 240-volt, 50-amp receptacle, which is the same current rating as the NEMA 14-50 most EV chargers ship with — it just has three pins instead of four because it carries no neutral, which an EV charger does not use. The electrical capacity is correct for 40 amps of charging. The practical obstacle is the plug shape, and the Grizzl-E Mini is the one charger we cover that includes a NEMA 6-50P adapter from its own manufacturer.

How many amps can I charge at on a NEMA 6-50 outlet?

Forty amps, on a verified 50-amp circuit. NEC Article 625 treats EV charging as a continuous load, so the charger is limited to 80% of the circuit rating — 40 amps on a 50-amp breaker. That is 9.6 kW, or roughly 34 miles of range an hour at our 3.5 miles-per-kWh reference. If the breaker behind the receptacle turns out to be 40 amps rather than 50, your limit is 32 amps instead, and you need a charger whose current you can actually set.

Is a NEMA 6-50 the same as a NEMA 14-50 for EV charging?

Electrically, for charging purposes, yes. Both are 240 volts at 50 amps. The 14-50 adds a neutral conductor, which an RV uses for its 120-volt circuits and which an EV charger does not use at all. The only real difference is the plug geometry, and that is why a 14-50 charger needs an adapter — or a receptacle swap — to use a 6-50.

Is it safe to use a 14-50 to 6-50 adapter with an EV charger?

It depends entirely on where the adapter came from. The adapter becomes a plug-and-socket joint carrying 40 amps continuously for hours, which makes it the hottest point in the chain, and the charger's own safety listing does not cover it. An adapter supplied by the charger's manufacturer was designed and tested as part of that charger's system. An unbranded listing that names no safety lab was not. If you cannot get a manufacturer-supplied adapter, having an electrician swap the receptacle for a 14-50 is usually a short job on existing wiring and is often the cheaper answer.

Does a welder outlet need rewiring before I charge an EV from it?

Not usually rewiring, but it does need inspecting. Welding is intermittent duty — short bursts with long gaps — while charging asks the same circuit for hours of steady current every night, and heat at the connections is the failure mode. Confirm the breaker rating, confirm the wire gauge matches it, and replace the receptacle if it is old, discoloured, loose in its box, or if a plug feels sloppy in it. None of that is expensive, and all of it is cheaper than finding out the hard way.

Why does no charger come with a NEMA 6-50 plug already fitted?

Because the market standardised on the NEMA 14-50, which is the receptacle the RV industry made common and the one electricians install for EV charging by default. Manufacturers fit the 14-50 and then supply adapters for everything else — which is exactly what United Chargers does with the Grizzl-E Mini's four included adapters. No charger in our registry ships with a 6-50 as its factory plug, and we will not list one that does not exist.

Can I charge a Tesla from a NEMA 6-50 outlet?

Yes. A Tesla or other NACS car needs a charger with a NACS connector on the car end, or a J1772 charger plus a J1772-to-Tesla adapter. The outlet end is the same problem as for any other car: either the charger's plug fits the 6-50, or you need a manufacturer-supplied adapter, or you swap the receptacle. The Lectron Level 2 Tesla 40A above is the native-NACS option, and our adapters page covers the car-side half.

Sources

  • United Chargers — Grizzl-E Mini product page — Manufacturer page (now listing the Mini Connect): up to 40 A / 9.6 kW, adjustable 7-40 A, NEMA 14-50 plug with four adapters included, Type 4 indoor/outdoor rating, -30 C to +50 C (-22 F to 122 F) operating range, 6.9 x 3.1 x 2.4 in enclosure, UL E510712, Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz) with the Grizzl-E Connect mobile app, 3-year default warranty, made in Canada; lists a 25 ft output cable where the Amazon J1772 listing states 24 ft (accessed September 20, 2026)
  • United Chargers — Grizzl-E Mini / Mini Connect User Manual and Installation Guide (Rev. 2.0, April 30, 2026) — Manufacturer manual: ships four NEMA 14-50R adapters (5-15P, TT-30P, 14-30P, 6-50P); the factory default maximum current is 40A; the Wi-Fi current slider runs from 7A up to the DIP switch setting, the DIP switch sets 40, 32, 24 or 16A, and "the charger can not detect the circuit amperage limit"; only 80% of the circuit rating may be used (accessed September 15, 2026)
  • United Chargers — Grizzl-E Classic Connect product page — Manufacturer page, fetched 2026-10-05: a 40 A plug-in Level 2 EVSE, “Max power 40A 10kW”, a NEMA 14-50 plug, adjustable current stated as “40A - 16A”, a 25 ft (7.6 m) output cable, UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor protection, certification “UL/cUL E510712”, Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz) with the Grizzl-E Connect mobile application, an operating temperature of -30 °C to +50 °C (-22 °F to 122 °F) and a 10.25 x 6.25 x 3.75 in enclosure. Available with a J1772 or a NACS output cable, and the warranty is a purchase option on the page — 3 year or 5 year. Listed at $349.99 direct on the date fetched. The page also advertises Demand/Response utility-program participation through the app (accessed October 5, 2026)
  • ELEGRP — 40 A Level 2 EV Charger (NEMA 14-50) product page — Manufacturer page, fetched 2026-10-05: a NEMA 14-50 plug delivering up to 9.6 kW with “5 adjustable current levels (16/20/24/32/40A) to match your home capacity”, a 25 ft cable, a 1-12 hour delay timer, an IP67 charging station with an IP54 connector, a published range of -21 °F to 121 °F, ETL certification with ELEGRP's PBE overheat protection, a carrying case, and “up to a 2-year warranty”. The page states Tesla vehicles are compatible “using a NACS adapter (sold separately)”, and its own comparison table lists a separate 16 A sibling model on NEMA 6-20 (240 V) / NEMA 5-15 or 5-20 (120 V) plugs — the 32 A and 40 A models are both NEMA 14-50 only. ELEGRP's marketing figure is “up to 37 miles/h”, which assumes a more efficient car than our 3.5 mi/kWh reference (accessed October 5, 2026)
  • NFPA — Using the Latest NEC for EV Charger Installations — NFPA on NEC (NFPA 70) Article 625: EV charging is a continuous load, so circuits are sized to 125% of load (the 80% rule) (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • U.S. DOE Alternative Fuels Data Center — Electric Vehicles for Consumers — US DOE on connector types: J1772 for Level 1/2, and CCS, CHAdeMO or NACS (J3400) for DC fast charging (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • U.S. DOE Alternative Fuels Data Center — Charging Electric Vehicles at Home — US DOE on home EV charging: most owners charge overnight on Level 1 or Level 2, installs follow NEC Article 625, with example home-charging costs (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • UL Solutions — EV Charging Infrastructure Services — UL on EVSE safety certification: ANSI/UL 2594 is the Standard for Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (accessed July 19, 2026)

Keep reading