Plug & Range

Best Level 1 (120V) EV Chargers

An ordinary household outlet, no electrician, no permit, no install cost. Genuinely slow — and for a plug-in hybrid, a short commute or a rented parking spot, genuinely the right answer.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

Level 1 charging is what happens when you plug an EV into a standard 120-volt household outlet. There is no circuit to install, no permit to pull, no electrician to schedule and no hole in anyone’s wall. That is the entire appeal, and for a large group of drivers it is enough: the US DOE notes that most EV owners charge overnight at home on Level 1 or Level 2, and a full overnight window on Level 1 covers a normal commuting day for many cars.

It is also, unambiguously, slow — roughly 5 to 6 miles of range per hour at our standard reference of about 3.5 miles per kWh. We are not going to dress that up. What we will do below is show you exactly when that is fine and when it is not, rank the Level 1 units worth buying, and be clear about the point where you should stop reading this page and go install a 240V outlet instead.

How this is funded:we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, charging speed, electrical fit and value. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these chargers — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Lectron Level 1 Charger, 15A

Lectron Level 1 Charger, 15A

The charger you buy when you can't install anything. It plugs into an ordinary 120V household outlet and pulls 15 amps — the top of what a standard circuit will give you — which makes it the fastest thing you can do with zero electrical work. It is genuinely slow next to a 240V unit, and we won't pretend otherwise. But for a plug-in hybrid, a short commute or a rented parking spot, slow-and-installed beats fast-and-impossible.

Best Level 1 overall
$159.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Lectron Level 1 Charger, 12A (Wi-Fi)

Lectron Level 1 Charger, 12A (Wi-Fi)

Level 1 charging with a brain. It gives up three amps against the plain 15A version and gets back the Lectron app — live charging status, scheduled sessions, and a kWh cap so you can stop a charge at a set amount. On Level 1 that scheduling matters more than it sounds: a trickle charge runs for most of the night anyway, so being able to start it when your off-peak rate does is worth more than the amps you traded away.

Best Level 1 with an app
$169.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3

Lectron Level 1 Tesla (NACS) Charger, 15A

The Level 1 charger for a Tesla that does not make you carry an adapter. It is the same honest proposition as any 15-amp Level 1 unit — an ordinary household socket, no electrician, no permit, and a slow overnight trickle — with the difference that the plug on the car end is the one your car actually has. For a renter, a second car or a NACS driver who wants a spare in the frunk, that is the whole pitch.

Best Level 1 for Tesla
4
Lectron 40A Portable Level 2 Charger

Lectron 40A Portable Level 2 Charger

The least-expensive honest route into real Level 2 charging. Plug it into a NEMA 14-50 outlet, pull a true 40A / 9.6 kW, and unplug it to throw in the trunk for a trip. The trade-offs for the price are no app and a shorter warranty — both fair at this cost.

Best step up to Level 2
$269.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best Level 1 overall

Lectron Level 1 Charger, 15A

The charger you buy when you can't install anything. It plugs into an ordinary 120V household outlet and pulls 15 amps — the top of what a standard circuit will give you — which makes it the fastest thing you can do with zero electrical work. It is genuinely slow next to a 240V unit, and we won't pretend otherwise. But for a plug-in hybrid, a short commute or a rented parking spot, slow-and-installed beats fast-and-impossible.

Strengths

  • Works from any standard 120V outlet — no electrician, no install
  • 15A is the practical ceiling for Level 1, so it's the fastest version of the slow option
  • IP65 weather resistance and a 16 ft cable at a budget price

Trade-offs

  • Level 1 is genuinely slow — plan in overnights, not hours
  • No app or scheduling on this version
  • Lectron doesn't publish a warranty term for it
Max output15 A
Power1.8 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallNEMA 5-15 plug (standard 120V outlet)
Cable length16 ft
WarrantyNot published
WiFi + appNo
CertificationsETL listed (UL 2594 / UL 2231)

Our charging-speed math. 15A at 120V is about 1.8 kW, so at 3.5 mi/kWh it adds roughly 6 miles of range an hour — call it 60-plus miles across a 10-hour overnight, before charging losses.

Build note. Lectron publishes 120V / 15A / 1.8 kW through a NEMA 5-15 plug, a 16 ft cable and an IP65-rated body with over-voltage, over-current and short-circuit protection.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best Level 1 with an app

Lectron Level 1 Charger, 12A (Wi-Fi)

Level 1 charging with a brain. It gives up three amps against the plain 15A version and gets back the Lectron app — live charging status, scheduled sessions, and a kWh cap so you can stop a charge at a set amount. On Level 1 that scheduling matters more than it sounds: a trickle charge runs for most of the night anyway, so being able to start it when your off-peak rate does is worth more than the amps you traded away.

Strengths

  • App gives real-time status, scheduling and a kWh charge limit
  • Same no-install 120V convenience as the plain model
  • ETL listing to the same UL 2594 / UL 2231 standards

Trade-offs

  • 12A instead of 15A — slower again than an already slow charging level
  • You're paying for an app on a charger that mostly runs unattended overnight
  • No published warranty term
Max output12 A
Power1.44 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallNEMA 5-15 plug (standard 120V outlet)
Cable length16 ft
WarrantyNot published
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsETL listed (UL 2594 / UL 2231)

Our charging-speed math. 12A at 120V is about 1.44 kW, so at 3.5 mi/kWh that's roughly 5 miles of range an hour — about 50 miles across a 10-hour overnight, before losses.

Build note. Lectron publishes 120V / 12A / up to 1.44 kW, a 16 ft cable, an IP65-rated control box, and a Lectron app that schedules sessions and caps a charge at a chosen number of kWh.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best Level 1 for Tesla

Lectron Level 1 Tesla (NACS) Charger, 15A

The Level 1 charger for a Tesla that does not make you carry an adapter. It is the same honest proposition as any 15-amp Level 1 unit — an ordinary household socket, no electrician, no permit, and a slow overnight trickle — with the difference that the plug on the car end is the one your car actually has. For a renter, a second car or a NACS driver who wants a spare in the frunk, that is the whole pitch.

Strengths

  • Native NACS connector at the cheapest charging level Lectron sells
  • 15 amps — the fastest Level 1 rate, rather than the 12A most units settle for
  • Nothing to install: any grounded 120V socket is the whole requirement
  • IP65 rated for dust and water, so an outdoor socket is within spec

Trade-offs

  • Level 1 is genuinely slow — about 6 miles of range an hour, and no faster
  • No Wi-Fi or app on this SKU, so scheduling is the car's job
  • A J1772 car cannot use it without a NACS-to-J1772 adapter
  • Lectron does not publish a warranty term for this model
Max output15 A
Power1.8 kW
ConnectorNACS
InstallNEMA 5-15 plug (standard 120V outlet)
Cable length16 ft
WarrantyNot published
WiFi + appNo
CertificationsETL certified (UL 2594 / UL 2231), FCC

Our charging-speed math. 15A at 120V is 1.8 kW, so at 3.5 mi/kWh that is roughly 6 miles of range an hour — about 70 miles across a 12-hour overnight, before losses. Lectron's own figure is an extra 40-50 miles overnight, which is the more conservative number.

Build note. Lectron publishes 120V, 15 A and 1.8 kW through a NEMA 5-15 plug on a 16 ft cable, a native Tesla (NACS) connector, an IP65 dust and water rating, protection against overvoltage, overcurrent and short circuits, and FCC/ETL certification against the UL 2594 and UL 2231 standards. There is no Wi-Fi or app on this SKU.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 21, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#4Best step up to Level 2

Lectron 40A Portable Level 2 Charger

The least-expensive honest route into real Level 2 charging. Plug it into a NEMA 14-50 outlet, pull a true 40A / 9.6 kW, and unplug it to throw in the trunk for a trip. The trade-offs for the price are no app and a shorter warranty — both fair at this cost.

Strengths

  • A real 40A / 9.6 kW at a budget price
  • Plug-in and portable — no hardwiring, and it travels
  • ETL listed to the UL 2594 / UL 2231 safety standards

Trade-offs

  • No Wi-Fi or app on the base model — the smart version is a separate SKU
  • Shorter 16 ft cable and a 2-year warranty
  • The brand doesn't publish an outdoor/IP enclosure rating
Max output40 A
Power9.6 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallNEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length16 ft
Warranty2 years
WiFi + appNo
CertificationsETL listed (UL 2594 / UL 2231)

Our charging-speed math. At 40A (9.6 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh it adds roughly 34 miles of range an hour.

Build note. A portable plug-in unit — no hardwiring — and the base model carries no Wi-Fi or app.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

How slow is Level 1, really?

Let us put a number on it rather than an adjective. A 15-amp Level 1 charger on a 120-volt outlet delivers about 1.8 kW. At our standard reference of roughly 3.5 miles of range per kWh, that is about 6 miles of range per hour before charging losses. A 12-amp unit is about 1.44 kW, or roughly 5 miles an hour.

The number that matters is not the hourly rate, though — it is the overnight total. Plug in at 7pm and unplug at 7am and you have had twelve hours, which at 6 miles an hour is roughly 70 miles of range added. Plug in when you get home on a Friday and leave it until Monday morning and the arithmetic gets genuinely generous.

So the honest test is: do you drive more than about 60 miles on a typical day?If the answer is no — and for a great many drivers it is — Level 1 quietly keeps up, and you never think about it. If the answer is yes, or if it is yes several days a week, Level 1 will fall behind and keep falling behind, and no amount of patience fixes it. Our do you need Level 2 guide works that test through in more detail, and our how long to charge guide puts the rates against real battery sizes.

One more group for whom Level 1 is simply correct: plug-in hybrid drivers. A PHEV battery is a fraction of the size of a full EV pack, so an overnight Level 1 charge often fills it completely. Buying a Level 2 charger for a plug-in hybrid is usually money spent on capability the car cannot use.

Who Level 1 is actually for

Renters and anyone who cannot install anything.This is the biggest group. If you cannot put a 240V circuit into a building you do not own, Level 1 is not a compromise — it is the only option, and a good Level 1 charger is a much better version of it than the cable that came in the trunk.

Plug-in hybrid drivers. Small battery, overnight window, done.

Short-commute drivers. If your daily driving is well under the overnight replacement rate, Level 2 buys you speed you will never notice.

Second cars and occasional-use cars. A car that does 40 miles a week does not need 40 miles an hour of charging.

Anyone who wants a backup. Even with a Level 2 charger at home, a Level 1 unit in the trunk means any outlet anywhere is a charger. That is the case for owning one as a second charger rather than a primary.

What to look for in a Level 1 charger

The field is small, which makes the criteria short.

Amps: 15 beats 12. A standard North American household circuit is 15 or 20 amps, and continuous-load rules mean a 15-amp charger is at the practical ceiling for Level 1. Between a 15-amp and a 12-amp unit, the 15 gives you about 20% more range per hour for what is usually a small price difference. That is the single biggest spec difference on this page.

Certification, without exception.Look for a real ETL or UL listing against UL 2594 and UL 2231 — the EV supply equipment and personnel-protection standards. This matters more on Level 1 than anywhere else, because a Level 1 charger gets plugged into ordinary household outlets that were never installed with EV charging in mind. Our guide to reading certifications covers how to tell a real listing from marketing language.

Cable length.Sixteen feet is standard here and is usually enough, because Level 1 charging happens wherever there is an outlet rather than at a purpose-mounted box. Still measure — our guide to measuring cable reach applies just as well.

The right connector for your car. Most Level 1 chargers terminate in a J1772 plug, which suits every non-Tesla EV. If you drive a Tesla or another NACS car, the Lectron Level 1 Tesla is the same proposition with the native plug already fitted, which saves carrying an adapter for a charger that otherwise lives in the boot untouched.

Dual-level units: worth knowing they have thinned out.Some chargers ship with interchangeable plug heads — a NEMA 5-15 for 120V and a NEMA 14-50 for 240V — so one box works as a Level 1 charger today and a 40-amp Level 2 charger the day an outlet appears. It is a genuinely neat idea, but the unit we used to recommend for it is no longer sold on Amazon, and we have not found a replacement at the same amperage we are willing to put our name to. Until we do, the honest advice is to buy the Level 1 unit you need now and add a separate 40-amp charger if the outlet ever arrives.

Scheduling, maybe.A Wi-Fi Level 1 charger lets you start the session when your off-peak rate does. On a charge that runs most of the night anyway, that can be worth real money — though most modern EVs schedule from the car for free, which is usually the simpler route.

The safety rules that actually matter on Level 1

Level 1 feels casual because it uses a household outlet, and that is exactly why it deserves a short list of hard rules.

No extension cords.An EV charger draws its rated current continuously for many hours — the National Electrical Code treats EV charging as a continuous load for precisely this reason. A household extension cord is not built for that duty, and every extra joint is a place to heat up. Plug the charger directly into the wall.

No power strips, no multi-outlet adapters, no timers. Same reason, more so.

Prefer a dedicated outlet. Ideally the charger has the circuit to itself. Sharing a circuit with a space heater or a freezer is how you find out where the breaker is at 3am.

Check the outlet itself.Old, loose or discolored receptacles are not up to a continuous 12 to 15 amps for eight hours. If the plug feels warm to the touch after an hour, stop and have an electrician look at the outlet — the charger is usually not the problem. Our troubleshooting guide covers what to check and in what order.

When to stop reading and install a 240V outlet

We would rather send you away than sell you the wrong thing, so here is the line. If you regularly drive more than the overnight replacement rate, if you own the property, and if a 240V outlet is within reach of a reasonable electrical job, then a NEMA 14-50 outlet plus a plug-in Level 2 charger is the better purchase — roughly 34 miles of range an hour instead of 6, from equipment that is still portable and still comes with you when you move.

That is why the Lectron 40A sits on this page as the step-up pick. It is the cheapest honest route into real Level 2 charging, and if the outlet is achievable it makes every argument above moot. Our portable Level 2 roundup covers that tier, and our installation guide covers what the outlet costs to put in. Note too that the federal 30C credit that used to offset part of that job has expired, so budget the install at full cost.

How to choose in one paragraph

If Level 1 is your only option, buy the 15-amp unit — it is the fastest version of the slow answer. Add the app version only if you are on a time-of-use rate and your car will not schedule for you. If there is any prospect of a 240V outlet appearing, budget for a separate 40-amp plug-in charger when it does rather than waiting for a dual-level unit we can currently recommend. And if you drive a Tesla or another NACS car, buy the native NACS Level 1 unit rather than a J1772 charger plus an adapter — our portable Tesla charger guide covers why that is the one case where native NACS is clearly simpler.

Frequently asked questions

How fast is Level 1 EV charging?

About 6 miles of range per hour from a 15-amp, 1.8 kW charger at our standard 3.5 miles-per-kWh reference, or about 5 miles an hour from a 12-amp unit. The number that matters is the overnight total: a twelve-hour window adds roughly 70 miles, which covers a typical commuting day for many drivers.

Is a Level 1 charger enough for an EV?

It depends on your daily mileage. If you typically drive less than about 60 miles a day, Level 1 keeps up overnight and you rarely notice it. If you drive more than that on a regular basis, Level 1 will fall behind and keep falling behind — that is the point to install a 240V outlet and a Level 2 charger.

Do I need an electrician for a Level 1 charger?

No. That is the whole point of Level 1 — it plugs into a standard 120V household outlet. You should make sure the outlet itself is in good condition and ideally on a circuit the charger does not have to share, but there is no installation, permit or electrician involved.

Can I use an extension cord with a Level 1 EV charger?

No. An EV charger draws its rated current continuously for hours, which is not what a household extension cord is built for, and every additional plug-and-socket joint is another place to overheat. Plug the charger directly into the wall outlet, and avoid power strips and multi-outlet adapters for the same reason.

Is Level 1 charging enough for a plug-in hybrid?

Usually, yes. A plug-in hybrid battery is a fraction of the size of a full EV pack, so an overnight Level 1 charge often fills it completely. Buying a Level 2 charger for a PHEV frequently means paying for charging speed the car cannot accept.

What is the difference between a 12A and a 15A Level 1 charger?

About 20% more charging speed — roughly 6 miles of range per hour versus 5. Fifteen amps is the practical ceiling for Level 1 on a standard household circuit, so a 15-amp unit is the fastest version of Level 1 you can buy. The 12-amp models usually trade those amps for a feature such as Wi-Fi.

Sources

Keep reading