Plug & Range

Best EV Chargers for Two EVs

The second EV is rarely a charging problem. It is a panel problem — and the fix is usually load management or a schedule, not two 60-amp circuits.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

When a second electric car arrives, most people assume they need a second charger. Often they do not. A single Level 2 charger adds roughly 34 to 42 miles of range an hour, so a ten-hour overnight window is 340 to 420 miles of charging — enough to refill two ordinary days of driving with hours to spare, if you are willing to move a cable halfway through the night or simply alternate.

Where two EVs genuinely change the shopping decision is at the panel. Two dedicated 60-amp circuits is a lot of capacity to find in a house that also runs a range, a dryer and air conditioning, and finding it can mean a service upgrade — usually the largest single line on an EV charging quote. So the chargers below are ranked on how well they let two cars share what you already have: dynamic load management first, then adjustable amperage, then the value units that make a sensible second charger.

How this is funded:we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, charging speed, electrical fit and value. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these chargers — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Emporia Pro with PowerSmart

Emporia Pro with PowerSmart

The answer to a full electrical panel. It's the same 48-amp, ENERGY STAR hardware as Emporia's standard charger, with PowerSmart load management added: paired with Emporia's own energy monitor, it watches what the rest of the house is drawing and dials the charger back instead of tripping the main. If an electrician has told you a charger means a service upgrade, this is the unit that can make that quote go away.

Best load management
$599.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Wallbox Pulsar Plus

Wallbox Pulsar Plus

The one to reach for when wall space is tight. It's among the smallest 48A chargers made, and Power Boost load balancing lets it share a circuit without tripping the main — which can save you a panel upgrade. It's a polished, premium unit, and the price says so.

Best load balancing in a small box
$614.99 · View on Amazon

$699.9912% off

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
ChargePoint Home Flex

ChargePoint Home Flex

If you'd rather buy a charger once and be done, this is the safe call. You set the current in the app anywhere from 16 to 50 amps, so it fits whatever your panel can spare today and still has room to grow if you upgrade the circuit later. The app is the most polished of the bunch and the warranty is long.

Best adjustable amperage
$494.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

The value pick that never feels like one. You get the full 48 amps, an ENERGY STAR listing, real Wi-Fi energy tracking and a 25 ft cable for well under what the marquee brands charge. When someone asks us where to start, this is usually the first name out of our mouths.

Best value second charger
$449.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger

EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger

A lot of charger for the money. You get 48 amps, Wi-Fi scheduling, ENERGY STAR, and the longest usable reach in this group thanks to a 25 ft cable plus a 40-inch input lead. If Emporia is sold out or you want maximum cable, this is the value alternative to have in mind.

Best reach for a shared charger
$428.98 · View on Amazon

$479.0010% off

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best load management

Emporia Pro with PowerSmart

The answer to a full electrical panel. It's the same 48-amp, ENERGY STAR hardware as Emporia's standard charger, with PowerSmart load management added: paired with Emporia's own energy monitor, it watches what the rest of the house is drawing and dials the charger back instead of tripping the main. If an electrician has told you a charger means a service upgrade, this is the unit that can make that quote go away.

Strengths

  • PowerSmart load management can avoid a panel or service upgrade
  • Full 48A, ENERGY STAR and a 25 ft cable, same as the standard model
  • The app adds peak-demand management on top of ordinary scheduling

Trade-offs

  • PowerSmart needs Emporia's Vue energy monitor — that's a second device to buy and install
  • You pay a clear premium over the standard Emporia for one feature
Max output48 A
Power11.5 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired (a NEMA 14-50 SKU is also sold)
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At the full 48A (11.5 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh, about 40 miles of range an hour — and PowerSmart will quietly reduce that when the rest of the house is drawing hard, which is the entire point of it.

Build note. Emporia publishes PowerSmart load management as dynamically adjusting charging speed to prevent overloading the panel; it requires the Emporia Vue energy monitor.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best load balancing in a small box

Wallbox Pulsar Plus

The one to reach for when wall space is tight. It's among the smallest 48A chargers made, and Power Boost load balancing lets it share a circuit without tripping the main — which can save you a panel upgrade. It's a polished, premium unit, and the price says so.

Strengths

  • Genuinely compact for a 48A charger — easy to tuck in a tight spot
  • Power Boost load balancing can sidestep a panel upgrade
  • Bluetooth and Wi-Fi with a clean, modern app

Trade-offs

  • One of the pricier chargers in this group
  • Hardwired only — no plug-in option, so it's not renter-friendly
Max output48 A
Power11.5 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh, about 40 miles of range an hour — and Power Boost can throttle it down to protect a shared circuit.

Build note. One of the most compact 48A chargers in its class, carrying both Bluetooth and Wi-Fi.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best adjustable amperage

ChargePoint Home Flex

If you'd rather buy a charger once and be done, this is the safe call. You set the current in the app anywhere from 16 to 50 amps, so it fits whatever your panel can spare today and still has room to grow if you upgrade the circuit later. The app is the most polished of the bunch and the warranty is long.

Strengths

  • Adjustable 16-50A fits a modest circuit now and a bigger one later
  • The most complete app here: scheduling, reminders and usage history
  • 3-year warranty and a generous 23 ft cable

Trade-offs

  • You pay a brand premium over value 48A units
  • Using the full 50A needs a 60A circuit most older panels can't spare
Max output50 A
Power12 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired (a plug-in NEMA 14-50 SKU is also sold)
Cable length23 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL/cUL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. Run it at the full 50 amps (about 12 kW) and, at a middle-of-the-road 3.5 miles per kWh, it puts back roughly 42 miles of range an hour. Turn it down to 40A to live on a 50A circuit and you're at about 34.

Build note. The headline feature is app-adjustable amperage — anywhere from 16A up to 50A, in software.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#4Best value second charger

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

The value pick that never feels like one. You get the full 48 amps, an ENERGY STAR listing, real Wi-Fi energy tracking and a 25 ft cable for well under what the marquee brands charge. When someone asks us where to start, this is usually the first name out of our mouths.

Strengths

  • 48A and ENERGY STAR at a genuinely value price
  • The app tracks energy use, not just an on/off toggle
  • Long 25 ft cable and a remote holster in the box

Trade-offs

  • 48A hardwired needs a 60A circuit; on a NEMA 14-50 plug it's capped at 40A
  • The app is less polished than ChargePoint's, and support is a smaller operation
Max output48 A
Power11.5 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired or NEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. Hardwired at 48A (11.5 kW), figure about 40 miles of range an hour at 3.5 mi/kWh. Drop to a 40A plug-in circuit and it's closer to 34.

Build note. Runs 48A hardwired, or 40A on a NEMA 14-50 outlet, with a 25 ft cable and a wall holster included.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#5Best reach for a shared charger

EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger

A lot of charger for the money. You get 48 amps, Wi-Fi scheduling, ENERGY STAR, and the longest usable reach in this group thanks to a 25 ft cable plus a 40-inch input lead. If Emporia is sold out or you want maximum cable, this is the value alternative to have in mind.

Strengths

  • 48A output with Wi-Fi scheduling at a value price
  • 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input lead — excellent reach
  • UL, ETL, FCC and ENERGY STAR listings

Trade-offs

  • The hardwired version needs a 60A circuit and an electrician
  • A smaller brand with a shorter track record than ChargePoint or Wallbox
Max output48 A
Power11.5 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL, ETL, FCC, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh, about 40 miles of range an hour.

Build note. Ships with a 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input cable — among the longest total reach in class.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

First, do the arithmetic — you may need one charger

Start with how much range each car actually loses in a day rather than how big the batteries are. A Level 2 charger at 40 amps replaces about 34 miles of range per hour at our standard reference of roughly 3.5 miles per kWh; at 48 amps, about 40. If the two cars between them cover 80 miles on a typical day, that is somewhere around two to two and a half hours of charging — total, for both cars — against an overnight window that is usually ten hours or more.

That is why the most common honest answer to “we have two EVs” is one charger and a habit: plug in whichever car needs it most, alternate nights, or swap the cable when you go to bed. It costs one circuit instead of two, one charger instead of two, and no service upgrade. Our how long to charge guide runs this math against real battery sizes, and our do you need Level 2 guide is the same exercise one level further down.

Two things genuinely break that logic. If both cars regularly run near empty — long commutes, frequent road trips — the overnight window stops being generous. And if the two drivers leave at very different times, a shared cable becomes a daily negotiation rather than a habit. If either applies, two chargers is the right call, and the question becomes how to feed them.

The panel is the real constraint

Under the National Electrical Code’s Article 625, EV charging is a continuous load, so each charger’s circuit is sized to 125% of its continuous draw. Two 48-amp chargers means two 60-amp circuits: 120 amps of dedicated capacity, before the house has cooked anything. On a 200-amp service with a modest load that can be workable. On a 100-amp service it is not, and the quote comes back with a service upgrade on it.

There are three ways out of that, in ascending order of cost.

1. Dynamic load management

The best answer, and the reason the Emporia Proleads this page. Emporia publishes PowerSmart as dynamically adjusting charging speed to prevent overloading the panel — the charger watches whole-house demand and reduces its own draw rather than requiring headroom that is permanently reserved. Emporia states PowerSmart requires their Vue energy monitor, a separate device installed in the panel, so budget for both. The Wallbox Pulsar Plusoffers its own Power Boost load balancing toward the same end, in one of the smallest 48A bodies made — useful when two chargers have to fit on one wall.

2. Fixed lower amperage

Cruder and cheaper. The ChargePoint Home Flexsets its output anywhere from 16 to 50 amps in software, so two chargers can be dialed to a number your panel can carry — two 32-amp chargers on 40-amp circuits, say, instead of two 48-amp chargers on 60-amp ones. You lose some miles per hour and gain a circuit you can actually get. Our how many amps guide covers working out where that line falls for your panel.

3. A service upgrade

The expensive route, and sometimes the correct one — particularly if the panel is old, already full, or you have other electrification plans. Our Level 2 installation guide covers what that job involves and the published cost ranges a utility puts on it. Do not treat it as the default; price load management first.

Two chargers, or one charger and a schedule?

If you decide on two, a practical note that saves money: they do not have to match. There is no benefit to a matched pair beyond aesthetics. A sensible pattern is one capable smart charger for the car that needs the most range and the most scheduling, plus a simpler, cheaper unit for the second car — the Emporia Level 2 as the value workhorse, or the EVIQO 48A if the second charger has to reach further than the first. If the second charger will live outside with no shelter, our outdoor roundup is the narrower list to pick from.

If you decide on one, the charger to buy is the one with the longest cable you can get, because reach is what makes a shared charger tolerable. Twenty-five feet can often serve two parking spots from a single mount point where 16 feet cannot serve one. Our long-cable roundup ranks specifically on that, and it is the single most useful spec for a two-car household running one charger.

One thing we would not do: run two chargers off a single circuit with an improvised splitter. Purpose-built power-sharing systems exist and are wired by an electrician as a designed system with load management built in; a homemade arrangement is not that, and it is exactly the situation the continuous-load rules are written to prevent.

Scheduling: the free half of the solution

Whether you end up with one charger or two, scheduling does real work here. Every modern EV can be told when to start charging, and most utilities price overnight power below daytime power. Staggering two cars — one starting at 11pm, the other at 2am — means their peaks never overlap, which reduces both your bill and the demand your panel ever sees at once.

You can do this from the cars, from the chargers, or both. Doing it from the cars is usually simpler, because the schedule travels with the vehicle rather than with the parking spot. Our cost-to-charge guide has a calculator you can put your own rate into to see what off-peak scheduling is worth on two cars, which for many households is the difference that pays for the second charger over a few years.

How to choose in one paragraph

Work out the daily miles for both cars first; if the total is comfortably inside an overnight window, buy one good charger with the longest cable you can get and revisit later. If you need two and your panel is tight, buy load management — the Emporia Pro if you are happy to add the energy monitor, the Wallbox if space is the constraint. If your panel is generous, two straightforward 48A chargers is the simplest thing that works, and they do not need to be the same model. And if either car is a Tesla, settle the connector question before anything else — our Tesla charger guide covers whether to buy native NACS or use a J1772 charger with an adapter, which in a mixed household is usually the more flexible answer.

Frequently asked questions

Can two EVs share one home charger?

Usually, yes. A Level 2 charger adds roughly 34 to 42 miles of range per hour, so a ten-hour overnight window covers well over 300 miles of charging in total. Unless both cars regularly run near empty, alternating nights or swapping the cable partway through the night is enough — and it saves a circuit, a charger and possibly a service upgrade.

Do I need a bigger electrical panel for two EV chargers?

Not necessarily. Two 48A chargers would want two 60-amp circuits, which is a lot of dedicated capacity. But a charger with dynamic load management reduces its draw when the house is busy rather than reserving headroom permanently, and a charger with adjustable amperage can simply be set lower. Both are usually cheaper than a service upgrade.

What is load management on an EV charger?

It is the charger reducing its own charging current based on what the rest of the house is drawing, so total demand never exceeds what the service can carry. Emporia publishes PowerSmart for this and notes it requires their Vue energy monitor; Wallbox offers Power Boost load balancing on the Pulsar Plus.

Should the two chargers be the same model?

There is no technical reason they should. A common and sensible pattern is one fully featured smart charger for the car that needs the most scheduling, and a cheaper or simpler unit for the second car. Matching them is an aesthetic choice, not a functional one.

Can I plug two EV chargers into one circuit?

Not with an improvised splitter. Purpose-built power-sharing systems exist and are installed as a designed system with load management built in, wired by an electrician to code. Two chargers sharing a circuit without that management is precisely the overload the NEC's continuous-load rules exist to prevent.

Is it cheaper to charge two EVs overnight?

In most places, yes, if your utility offers a time-of-use rate — overnight power is typically priced below daytime power. Staggering the two cars' start times also keeps their peaks from overlapping, which lowers the maximum demand your panel ever sees. Our cost-to-charge calculator lets you put your own rate in.

Sources

Keep reading