Plug & Range

Best NACS (Tesla) Home EV Chargers

A native Tesla plug on the wall solves a small daily annoyance completely. It also quietly decides which cars can ever use your charger — which is the part the listings do not mention.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

NACS is the connector Tesla has used in North America for years, standardized in 2023 as SAE J3400and now being adopted by most of the industry. A NACS home charger has that plug molded onto the end of the cable, so it goes straight into a Tesla — no adapter seated in the charge port, none left at a friend’s house, none to unscrew when someone else wants to borrow the plug.

That is the entire benefit, and it is worth being clear that it is an ergonomic one rather than a performance one. A NACS charger does not charge a Tesla faster than a J1772 charger with the adapter that came in the car. What it does is remove a small piece of friction you touch every single night, and for a lot of owners that is reason enough. The five picks below are ranked on published specs, not on badges, and every one of them is a real listing we checked was buyable on the day this page went up.

How this is funded:we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, charging speed, electrical fit and value. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these chargers — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
EVIQO NACS 48A Level 2 Charger

EVIQO NACS 48A Level 2 Charger

The native-NACS charger that finally makes the Tesla-plug tax disappear. It is the same hardware as EVIQO's J1772 unit — 48 amps, 25 ft of cable, IP66, ENERGY STAR — with a Tesla plug on the end and, unlike either of the other hardwired NACS picks here, a published 6-48A adjustable range. That last spec is the one that lets it fit a panel that cannot carry a 60-amp circuit, which is the constraint that actually stops most 48-amp installs.

Best overall NACS charger
$428.98 · View on Amazon

$479.0010% off

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
ChargePoint Home Flex NACS

ChargePoint Home Flex NACS

The Home Flex you already know, with a factory NACS cable. If you're a Tesla owner who wants ChargePoint's mature app and the same adjustable 16-50A amperage — instead of a plain no-app NACS unit — this is the way to get it. You pay a premium for exactly that.

Best app and highest output
$538.02 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Lectron Nexus NACS (Tesla) Charger

Lectron Nexus NACS (Tesla) Charger

For a Tesla owner who doesn't want to babysit an adapter. The native NACS (J3400) connector goes straight into the car at a full 48 amps, with the safety listings you want to see. There's no app — but a Tesla schedules charging in the car anyway, so you're not really missing one.

Best if you do not want an app
$429.99 · View on Amazon

$459.997% off

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Lectron Level 2 Tesla (NACS) Portable Charger, 40A

Lectron Level 2 Tesla (NACS) Portable Charger, 40A

The straightforward native-NACS answer for a Tesla owner who wants real Level 2 speed without hardwiring anything. Plug it into a NEMA 14-50, pull a full 40 amps, and unplug it when you move or travel. There is no app and no adjustable current — what you are buying is the Tesla plug on the end of a proper 40-amp portable charger, at a price well under a wall-mounted NACS station.

Best with no electrician
$279.89 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5

Lectron Level 1 Tesla (NACS) Charger, 15A

The Level 1 charger for a Tesla that does not make you carry an adapter. It is the same honest proposition as any 15-amp Level 1 unit — an ordinary household socket, no electrician, no permit, and a slow overnight trickle — with the difference that the plug on the car end is the one your car actually has. For a renter, a second car or a NACS driver who wants a spare in the frunk, that is the whole pitch.

Best cheapest way in

The picks in full

#1Best overall NACS charger

EVIQO NACS 48A Level 2 Charger

The native-NACS charger that finally makes the Tesla-plug tax disappear. It is the same hardware as EVIQO's J1772 unit — 48 amps, 25 ft of cable, IP66, ENERGY STAR — with a Tesla plug on the end and, unlike either of the other hardwired NACS picks here, a published 6-48A adjustable range. That last spec is the one that lets it fit a panel that cannot carry a 60-amp circuit, which is the constraint that actually stops most 48-amp installs.

Strengths

  • Adjustable 6-48A — the only hardwired NACS pick here that can be dialed down to fit a smaller circuit
  • 25 ft cable plus a 40 in input lead, the longest reach of the NACS group
  • UL, ETL, FCC and ENERGY STAR listings at the bottom of the 48-amp NACS price band
  • Published -22°F to 122°F operating range on an IP66 / NEMA-4 body

Trade-offs

  • Hardwired only — a licensed electrician and a 60A circuit to use the full 48 amps
  • A smaller brand than ChargePoint, with a shorter track record behind the app
  • A J1772 car needs a NACS-to-J1772 adapter to use it at all
Max output48 A
Power11.5 kW
ConnectorNACS
InstallHardwired
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL, ETL, FCC, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and our 3.5 mi/kWh reference, roughly 40 miles of range an hour into a Tesla or other NACS car.

Build note. EVIQO publishes 240V, 48A (50A max) and 11.5 kW through a hardwired connection on a 60A-or-greater circuit, a native NACS connector, a 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input lead, an IP66 / NEMA-4 enclosure, a -22°F to 122°F operating range, a current range adjustable from 6 to 48A in the app, Wi-Fi with scheduling, energy and cost tracking and over-the-air firmware updates, UL/ETL/FCC listings, ENERGY STAR certification, and a 3-year standard warranty (4 years extended).

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 25, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best app and highest output

ChargePoint Home Flex NACS

The Home Flex you already know, with a factory NACS cable. If you're a Tesla owner who wants ChargePoint's mature app and the same adjustable 16-50A amperage — instead of a plain no-app NACS unit — this is the way to get it. You pay a premium for exactly that.

Strengths

  • Native NACS cable with ChargePoint's flexible 16-50A amperage
  • The most mature app of the NACS options here
  • 3-year warranty and an outdoor-rated NEMA 3R body

Trade-offs

  • The priciest NACS pick — you're paying for the app and the badge
  • 50A output needs a 60A circuit to use in full
Max output50 A
Power12 kW
ConnectorNACS
InstallHardwired
Cable length23 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL/cUL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At its 50A ceiling (about 12 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh, roughly 42 miles of range an hour into a Tesla.

Build note. The same Home Flex hardware with a factory NACS cable for Tesla and NACS EVs.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best if you do not want an app

Lectron Nexus NACS (Tesla) Charger

For a Tesla owner who doesn't want to babysit an adapter. The native NACS (J3400) connector goes straight into the car at a full 48 amps, with the safety listings you want to see. There's no app — but a Tesla schedules charging in the car anyway, so you're not really missing one.

Strengths

  • Native NACS connector — no J1772-to-Tesla adapter to keep track of
  • Full 48A output and a weather-rated IP66 body
  • UL/ETL safety listings plus ENERGY STAR

Trade-offs

  • No Wi-Fi app — you schedule in the Tesla app instead
  • Best for Tesla/NACS cars; other EVs need a NACS-to-J1772 adapter
Max output48 A
Power11.5 kW
ConnectorNACS
InstallHardwired
Cable length23 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appNo
CertificationsUL 2594/2231/2251 (ETL listed), ENERGY STAR, FCC

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh, about 40 miles of range an hour into a Tesla.

Build note. A native NACS (J3400) connector plugs straight into a Tesla with no adapter; a holster is included.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#4Best with no electrician

Lectron Level 2 Tesla (NACS) Portable Charger, 40A

The straightforward native-NACS answer for a Tesla owner who wants real Level 2 speed without hardwiring anything. Plug it into a NEMA 14-50, pull a full 40 amps, and unplug it when you move or travel. There is no app and no adjustable current — what you are buying is the Tesla plug on the end of a proper 40-amp portable charger, at a price well under a wall-mounted NACS station.

Strengths

  • Native NACS connector — nothing to seat, nothing to lose, no adapter
  • A real 40A / 9.6 kW from an ordinary NEMA 14-50 outlet
  • IP65 control box and IP55 handle, rated by Lectron for outdoor use
  • Plug-in and portable, so it moves with you and travels

Trade-offs

  • No Wi-Fi or app on this SKU — the smart version is a separate, dearer listing
  • No adjustable current, so it cannot be trimmed down for an unverified outlet
  • A J1772 car needs a NACS-to-J1772 adapter — buy a J1772 charger instead
  • Lectron does not publish a warranty term for this model
Max output40 A
Power9.6 kW
ConnectorNACS
InstallNEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length16 ft
WarrantyNot published
WiFi + appNo
CertificationsETL listed (UL 2594 / UL 2231), UL 2251 handle, FCC

Our charging-speed math. At 40A on 240V (9.6 kW) and our 3.5 mi/kWh reference, roughly 34 miles of range an hour. Lectron's own figure is up to 36 miles an hour, which assumes a slightly more efficient car than our reference.

Build note. Lectron publishes 240V, 40 A and 9.6 kW through a NEMA 14-50 plug on a 16 ft cable, a native Tesla (NACS) connector, an IP65-rated control box with an IP55-rated handle tested to 10,000-plus insertions, protection against overvoltage, overcurrent and short circuits, and ETL/FCC certification against UL 2594 and UL 2231 with a UL 2251 handle. This SKU has no Wi-Fi or app.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 21, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#5Best cheapest way in

Lectron Level 1 Tesla (NACS) Charger, 15A

The Level 1 charger for a Tesla that does not make you carry an adapter. It is the same honest proposition as any 15-amp Level 1 unit — an ordinary household socket, no electrician, no permit, and a slow overnight trickle — with the difference that the plug on the car end is the one your car actually has. For a renter, a second car or a NACS driver who wants a spare in the frunk, that is the whole pitch.

Strengths

  • Native NACS connector at the cheapest charging level Lectron sells
  • 15 amps — the fastest Level 1 rate, rather than the 12A most units settle for
  • Nothing to install: any grounded 120V socket is the whole requirement
  • IP65 rated for dust and water, so an outdoor socket is within spec

Trade-offs

  • Level 1 is genuinely slow — about 6 miles of range an hour, and no faster
  • No Wi-Fi or app on this SKU, so scheduling is the car's job
  • A J1772 car cannot use it without a NACS-to-J1772 adapter
  • Lectron does not publish a warranty term for this model
Max output15 A
Power1.8 kW
ConnectorNACS
InstallNEMA 5-15 plug (standard 120V outlet)
Cable length16 ft
WarrantyNot published
WiFi + appNo
CertificationsETL certified (UL 2594 / UL 2231), FCC

Our charging-speed math. 15A at 120V is 1.8 kW, so at 3.5 mi/kWh that is roughly 6 miles of range an hour — about 70 miles across a 12-hour overnight, before losses. Lectron's own figure is an extra 40-50 miles overnight, which is the more conservative number.

Build note. Lectron publishes 120V, 15 A and 1.8 kW through a NEMA 5-15 plug on a 16 ft cable, a native Tesla (NACS) connector, an IP65 dust and water rating, protection against overvoltage, overcurrent and short circuits, and FCC/ETL certification against the UL 2594 and UL 2231 standards. There is no Wi-Fi or app on this SKU.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 21, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

The honest catch: a NACS charger picks a side

Every roundup of these units sells you the adapter you get to throw away. Almost none mention the one you have to buy.

A J1772 charger is the universal option. It fits every non-Tesla EV directly, and it fits a Tesla using the adapter Tesla ships with the car. A native NACS charger inverts that: it fits Teslas and other NACS cars directly, and it fits a J1772 car only with a NACS-to-J1772 adapter that you have to source yourself. You have not eliminated the adapter problem; you have moved it onto whichever car in the household is not a Tesla.

So the first question is not which NACS charger to buy. It is whether the wall should be NACS at all:

Buy NACS ifevery EV in the household uses the NACS plug today and you expect that to stay true through the life of the charger — realistically eight to ten years. A one-car Tesla household is the clean case.

Buy J1772 if there is any chance of a second, non-Tesla car, or you want a charger a visitor can use, or you are installing on a property you might sell or rent. J1772 plus the Tesla-supplied adapter covers literally every EV on sale. Our J1772 versus NACS explainer works through the connector question properly, and our main home charger roundup is the J1772-first version of this page.

The industry is moving toward NACS, which makes it tempting to treat this as a future-proofing decision. Be careful with that logic: what is converging is the plug on cars, and adapters in both directions are cheap and widely available. Neither choice strands you. Pick for the cars in your driveway, not the ones in the press releases.

What actually separates these five

Once you have decided the wall should be NACS, the field is small and the differences are concrete.

How it attaches to the house. This is the biggest fork on the page. The top three picks are hardwired— a licensed electrician wires them into a dedicated circuit, and there is no plug in the middle. That is the only way to run 48 amps or more, because NEC Article 625 treats EV charging as a continuous load and caps a plug-in unit at 80% of its receptacle’s circuit. The bottom two plug into an outlet you may already have, need no electrician at all, and come off the wall when you move. Our hardwired versus plug-in comparison covers that trade in full.

Whether the current can be turned down.A 48-amp charger needs a 60-amp circuit, and that is the requirement that stops most 48-amp installs — not the price of the charger. Of the three hardwired picks, the EVIQO publishes an adjustable 6–48A range and ChargePointpublishes 16–50A, so both can be commissioned on a smaller circuit and turned up later if the panel is ever upgraded. That flexibility is worth more than the top-end number to anyone whose service is tight. Our panel capacity guide shows how to work out what yours can carry, and our load management guide covers the alternatives to a service upgrade.

Whether there is an app — and whether you need one. This is the spec that looks decisive and mostly is not, specifically because these are NACS cars. A Tesla schedules its own charging in the car, by location, and does it well. A charger app duplicates that. What an app adds that the car cannot is wall-side measurement: kWh as billed at the meter rather than as received at the battery, which is the number that matches your utility statement. If you want that, ChargePoint and EVIQO have it and the Lectron Nexus does not. If you do not, the Nexus is not missing anything you will use. Our smart versus basic comparison makes that case at length, and our energy monitoring guide explains the battery-side versus wall-side gap.

Cable reach.Twenty-five feet on the EVIQO, twenty-three on the Lectron Nexus and the ChargePoint, sixteen on both portables. Reach is the spec buyers regret most often, and the usual fix — an extension cord— is the one thing you must not do with an EV charger. Measure the real route from the proposed charger position to the car’s charge port, around obstacles, before you choose. Our long-cable roundup covers what each length actually reaches.

ENERGY STAR.Four of the five carry it; Lectron does not publish it for the Level 1 unit. The direct energy saving is small, but some utility rebate programs name the certification as an eligibility condition, which can be worth considerably more than the difference in sticker price. Check your own utility before deciding the premium is not worth it — our rebates guide covers what to look for.

How fast a NACS charger actually fills a Tesla

The arithmetic is the same as for any Level 2 charger, and it is worth doing before you pay for amps you cannot use.

Forty-eight amps at 240 volts is about 11.5 kW. At our standing reference of roughly 3.5 miles per kWh, that is about 40 miles of range per hour — around 400 miles across a ten-hour overnight window. Forty amps is 9.6 kW, or about 34 miles per hour. Fifteen amps at 120 volts is 1.8 kW, or roughly 6 miles per hour, which sounds hopeless until you notice it is still around 70 miles across a long overnight.

Two caveats we would rather state than let you discover. First, the ceiling is set by the car, not the wall: the onboard charger inside the vehicle decides how much of that 11.5 kW it will accept, and above that limit extra amps on the wall do nothing at all. Our onboard charger limits guideshows how to find your own figure and it is the first thing to check. Second, a charger only has to replace the miles you actually drove — our how many amps guide works that back from your own mileage, and for a great many households the answer is less than they expected.

What we left out, and why

The Grizzl-E Ultimate is a 48-amp hardwired unit that Grizzl-E now supplies with a NACS output cable, and on specs it belongs on this page. It is not a pick because when we checked on 25 August 2026 Amazon returned no buyable offer for it — the listing was live but marked currently unavailable, so there was no live price and nothing to link you to. We do not feature a product we cannot send you to buy. The review stays up, and if Amazon restocks it the unit is a legitimate alternative to the three hardwired picks here.

The Tesla Wall Connector is the obvious absence. Tesla sells it directly and does not list it on Amazon, and every buy link on this site resolves to Amazon — so we have nothing honest to say about a price or availability, and we would rather leave it off than write a page around a product we cannot check. If you are cross-shopping it, our Lectron Nexus versus ChargePoint Home Flex NACS comparison covers the two units most people end up choosing between instead.

We have also left out the adapter route deliberately, because it is not a charger. If your conclusion after reading this is that a J1772 charger plus an adapter is the smarter buy — which for a mixed-car household it usually is — our Tesla accessories picks cover the adapters worth owning, and our portable Tesla charger roundup covers the travel case.

Frequently asked questions

Is a NACS home charger better than using the adapter that came with my Tesla?

Not faster, just easier. A native NACS charger and a J1772 charger with Tesla's adapter deliver identical power to the same car — the connector does not change the charging speed. What you are buying is the removal of a daily piece of friction: no adapter to seat, to lose, or to unscrew when someone else needs the plug. That is a real quality-of-life gain, but it is worth paying for with your eyes open rather than because a listing implied it charges faster.

Will a NACS charger work with a non-Tesla EV?

Only with an adapter in the other direction. A native NACS cable fits Teslas and other NACS-equipped cars directly; a J1772 car needs a NACS-to-J1772 adapter, which is not usually included. If there is any chance of a second non-Tesla EV in the household, or you want a charger a visitor can use, a J1772 charger is the more universal wall — it covers every EV on sale, with a Tesla using the adapter it already shipped with.

Do I need a 60-amp circuit for a NACS charger?

Only for the 48-amp hardwired units. NEC Article 625 treats EV charging as a continuous load, so a 48-amp charger must sit on a circuit rated at 125% of that — 60 amps. If your panel cannot carry one, look for a charger with a published adjustable range: both the EVIQO (6-48A) and the ChargePoint (16-50A) can be commissioned lower and turned up later. The plug-in picks on this page need no new circuit at all if you already have the right outlet.

Can I get a NACS charger without hardwiring it?

Yes, but it caps at 40 amps. A plug-in charger draws at most 80% of its receptacle's circuit, so a NEMA 14-50 outlet on a 50-amp circuit tops out at 40 amps — about 34 miles of range an hour. That is enough for most households, needs no electrician if the outlet already exists, and comes off the wall when you move, which matters a great deal if you rent. The Level 1 pick goes further still and runs from any ordinary grounded 120V socket.

Is NACS the same as J3400 or the Tesla connector?

Yes — three names for one plug. Tesla opened its North American connector design in 2022 and called it NACS; SAE standardized it as J3400 in 2023, which is why product listings use the terms interchangeably. A charger advertised as NACS, J3400 or 'Tesla connector' has the same physical plug. Note that the DC fast-charging side of that standard is a separate matter from home AC charging, which is what every charger on this page does.

Sources

Keep reading