Plug & Range

Best EV Chargers with Long Cables

Nobody shops for cable length and plenty of people regret it. Here is what 25 feet actually reaches, how to measure your own run, and the chargers that give you the most of it.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

Cable length is the least glamorous spec on a charger and the one most likely to produce a daily annoyance. Amperage decides how fast the car fills; cable reach decides whether you can park the way you want to park. A charger that adds 40 miles of range an hour is no use if the connector stops four feet short of the charge port, and unlike amperage, you cannot fix reach later with a setting.

The chargers below are ranked on usable reach: cable length first, plus the supply-side lead where a manufacturer publishes one, since that is what gives an electrician freedom about where the box goes. We also cover how to measure the run you actually need — which is not the straight-line distance to the car — and the real costs of a longer cable, because more is not free.

How this is funded:we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, charging speed, electrical fit and value. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these chargers — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger

EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger

A lot of charger for the money. You get 48 amps, Wi-Fi scheduling, ENERGY STAR, and the longest usable reach in this group thanks to a 25 ft cable plus a 40-inch input lead. If Emporia is sold out or you want maximum cable, this is the value alternative to have in mind.

Longest total reach
$428.98 · View on Amazon

$479.0010% off

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

The value pick that never feels like one. You get the full 48 amps, an ENERGY STAR listing, real Wi-Fi energy tracking and a 25 ft cable for well under what the marquee brands charge. When someone asks us where to start, this is usually the first name out of our mouths.

Best 25 ft value
$449.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Autel MaxiCharger Home

Autel MaxiCharger Home

Built for the driveway that takes the full brunt of the weather. The NEMA 4X shell is rated to keep charging through brutal cold and heat, it delivers a full 50 amps, and the app is genuinely capable. If your charger will live fully exposed, this is the one to shortlist.

Best 25 ft for outdoors
$499.00 · View on Amazon

$568.0012% off

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Wallbox Pulsar Plus

Wallbox Pulsar Plus

The one to reach for when wall space is tight. It's among the smallest 48A chargers made, and Power Boost load balancing lets it share a circuit without tripping the main — which can save you a panel upgrade. It's a polished, premium unit, and the price says so.

Best 25 ft in a small box
$614.99 · View on Amazon

$699.9912% off

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
ChargePoint Home Flex

ChargePoint Home Flex

If you'd rather buy a charger once and be done, this is the safe call. You set the current in the app anywhere from 16 to 50 amps, so it fits whatever your panel can spare today and still has room to grow if you upgrade the circuit later. The app is the most polished of the bunch and the warranty is long.

Best 23 ft with an app
$494.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Longest total reach

EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger

A lot of charger for the money. You get 48 amps, Wi-Fi scheduling, ENERGY STAR, and the longest usable reach in this group thanks to a 25 ft cable plus a 40-inch input lead. If Emporia is sold out or you want maximum cable, this is the value alternative to have in mind.

Strengths

  • 48A output with Wi-Fi scheduling at a value price
  • 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input lead — excellent reach
  • UL, ETL, FCC and ENERGY STAR listings

Trade-offs

  • The hardwired version needs a 60A circuit and an electrician
  • A smaller brand with a shorter track record than ChargePoint or Wallbox
Max output48 A
Power11.5 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL, ETL, FCC, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh, about 40 miles of range an hour.

Build note. Ships with a 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input cable — among the longest total reach in class.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best 25 ft value

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

The value pick that never feels like one. You get the full 48 amps, an ENERGY STAR listing, real Wi-Fi energy tracking and a 25 ft cable for well under what the marquee brands charge. When someone asks us where to start, this is usually the first name out of our mouths.

Strengths

  • 48A and ENERGY STAR at a genuinely value price
  • The app tracks energy use, not just an on/off toggle
  • Long 25 ft cable and a remote holster in the box

Trade-offs

  • 48A hardwired needs a 60A circuit; on a NEMA 14-50 plug it's capped at 40A
  • The app is less polished than ChargePoint's, and support is a smaller operation
Max output48 A
Power11.5 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired or NEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. Hardwired at 48A (11.5 kW), figure about 40 miles of range an hour at 3.5 mi/kWh. Drop to a 40A plug-in circuit and it's closer to 34.

Build note. Runs 48A hardwired, or 40A on a NEMA 14-50 outlet, with a 25 ft cable and a wall holster included.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best 25 ft for outdoors

Autel MaxiCharger Home

Built for the driveway that takes the full brunt of the weather. The NEMA 4X shell is rated to keep charging through brutal cold and heat, it delivers a full 50 amps, and the app is genuinely capable. If your charger will live fully exposed, this is the one to shortlist.

Strengths

  • NEMA 4X enclosure rated for very cold and very hot conditions
  • Full 50A output paired with a 25 ft cable
  • Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and a capable app

Trade-offs

  • 50A means a 60A circuit and, usually, a hardwired install
  • The app and ecosystem are younger than ChargePoint's
Max output50 A
Power12 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsCSA certified, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At its 50A ceiling (about 12 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh, roughly 42 miles of range an hour.

Build note. A NEMA 4X weatherproof enclosure rated for operation down to around -40 degrees F.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#4Best 25 ft in a small box

Wallbox Pulsar Plus

The one to reach for when wall space is tight. It's among the smallest 48A chargers made, and Power Boost load balancing lets it share a circuit without tripping the main — which can save you a panel upgrade. It's a polished, premium unit, and the price says so.

Strengths

  • Genuinely compact for a 48A charger — easy to tuck in a tight spot
  • Power Boost load balancing can sidestep a panel upgrade
  • Bluetooth and Wi-Fi with a clean, modern app

Trade-offs

  • One of the pricier chargers in this group
  • Hardwired only — no plug-in option, so it's not renter-friendly
Max output48 A
Power11.5 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh, about 40 miles of range an hour — and Power Boost can throttle it down to protect a shared circuit.

Build note. One of the most compact 48A chargers in its class, carrying both Bluetooth and Wi-Fi.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#5Best 23 ft with an app

ChargePoint Home Flex

If you'd rather buy a charger once and be done, this is the safe call. You set the current in the app anywhere from 16 to 50 amps, so it fits whatever your panel can spare today and still has room to grow if you upgrade the circuit later. The app is the most polished of the bunch and the warranty is long.

Strengths

  • Adjustable 16-50A fits a modest circuit now and a bigger one later
  • The most complete app here: scheduling, reminders and usage history
  • 3-year warranty and a generous 23 ft cable

Trade-offs

  • You pay a brand premium over value 48A units
  • Using the full 50A needs a 60A circuit most older panels can't spare
Max output50 A
Power12 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired (a plug-in NEMA 14-50 SKU is also sold)
Cable length23 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL/cUL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. Run it at the full 50 amps (about 12 kW) and, at a middle-of-the-road 3.5 miles per kWh, it puts back roughly 42 miles of range an hour. Turn it down to 40A to live on a 50A circuit and you're at about 34.

Build note. The headline feature is app-adjustable amperage — anywhere from 16A up to 50A, in software.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

How to measure the run you actually need

Almost everyone measures the wrong thing: the straight-line distance from where the charger will go to where the car parks. The cable does not travel in a straight line and it does not start at the wall.

Measure it in four parts and add them up.

1. The drop.The cable leaves the charger at whatever height the unit is mounted — usually chest height, so call it four feet down to the floor before it goes anywhere useful. That is four feet gone immediately.

2. The route, not the line. Cables go around things: a door frame, a workbench, the back of the car, a step. Walk the path you would actually drag it and measure that, not the diagonal through a wall.

3. The car’s port position.This one catches people constantly. Charge ports live in different places on different cars — left rear, right rear, front corner, nose. If your port is on the far side from the charger, add the length of the car, roughly 15 feet, plus room to get around it.

4. Slack. A cable pulled taut is a cable that wears at the connector and yanks when someone brushes it. Add two or three feet of genuine slack, not a token allowance.

Do that honestly and a lot of garages come out around 20 to 24 feet, which is exactly why 25-foot cables dominate the top of this list and why a 16-foot cable — the length on the Lectron 40A— works only when the mount point is close and the port is on the right side.

The supply-side lead nobody quotes

There is a second cable on some chargers and it rarely gets mentioned: the input lead between the charger and the wall termination. EVIQO publishes a 40-inch input cable alongside its 25-foot charging cable, which is the reason it tops this page.

That extra three feet does something the charging cable cannot: it gives the electrician freedom about where the box lands. Panels and junctions are where they are; the ideal mounting point for reach is often a few feet away from them, behind a stud, or above a shelf. An input lead means the unit can move to the right spot without extending the circuit. On a hardwired install that flexibility is worth more than it sounds, and it is functionally three more feet of reach at the far end.

What a longer cable actually costs

Three real costs, none of them fatal, all of them worth knowing before you buy the longest thing on the shelf.

Weight.A 25-foot cable rated for 48 amps is genuinely heavy — that is thick copper carrying continuous current. Coiling it every night is a small physical task, and it is the reason a wall holster or J-hook is worth having rather than leaving the connector on the floor. Some chargers, like the Lectron Nexus, include one.

Wear. More cable dragged across concrete is more abrasion, and the highest-stress point is where the cable enters the connector. Long cables are not more fragile by nature; they simply see more handling. Coil rather than drag, and do not let the connector sit in standing water even on an IP-rated unit.

Clutter. Twenty-five feet of cable in a small garage is a presence. This is the one argument for buying only what you need: if the car parks four feet from the wall with the port on the right side, a 16-foot cable is tidier and cheaper.

What a longer cable does notcost you is charging speed. Resistive loss over a few extra feet of properly sized EV cable is negligible, and the cable is engineered for the charger’s rated current over its full published length. Anyone telling you a 25-foot cable charges more slowly than a 16-foot one is wrong.

The one thing you should not do

Do not solve a reach problem with an extension cord. This is the single most common dangerous shortcut in home EV charging, and it is worth being blunt about.

A Level 2 charger draws its rated current continuously for hours — that is what the National Electrical Code’s continuous-load treatment in Article 625 is about, and it is why the circuit is sized to 125% of the draw. A generic extension cord is not built or rated for that duty cycle, its conductors are usually undersized for 40 amps, and every additional plug-and-socket joint is another place to heat up under sustained load. Charger manufacturers say not to do it for good reason.

If the cable does not reach, the correct fixes are: mount the charger somewhere better, have the electrician extend the circuit (not the charging cable) to a better location, or buy a charger with a longer cable. All three are cheaper than the alternative. Our installation guide covers what moving a circuit involves.

Tethered length versus an untethered socket

Every charger on this page is tethered — the cable is attached. The alternative, common in Europe and rarer in North America, is an untethered unit: a socket on the wall that you plug your own cable into. Untethered changes the reach question because you buy the cable separately and can replace it, but it also means carrying a cable and having one more thing to lose. Our tethered vs untethered guide covers that choice properly; for most North American buyers a tethered charger with the right length is the simpler answer.

How to choose in one paragraph

Measure the four-part run before you shop, and be honest about the charge-port side. If you land above 20 feet, buy 25 — the EVIQO for the most total reach, the Emporia for the best-known 25-foot value, the Autelif the unit lives fully exposed. If you land under 15 feet with the port on the near side, do not overspend on reach; take the charger that suits you on other grounds and enjoy the tidier garage. And if two cars will share the charger, buy long regardless — reach is what makes a shared cable workable, as our two-EV roundup covers.

Frequently asked questions

How long should an EV charger cable be?

Measure the real run rather than the straight line: the drop from the mounted unit to the floor (about four feet), the route around obstacles, the length of the car if your charge port is on the far side (about 15 feet), plus two to three feet of slack. Most garages land around 20 to 24 feet, which is why 25-foot cables are the practical default.

Does a longer charging cable slow down charging?

No. Resistive loss over a few extra feet of properly sized EV charging cable is negligible, and the cable is engineered to carry the charger's rated current over its full published length. Charging speed comes from amperage, not cable length.

Can I use an extension cord with an EV charger?

No, and this is the one hard rule on this page. A Level 2 charger draws its rated current continuously for hours; a generic extension cord is not rated for that duty, its conductors are usually undersized, and each extra plug-and-socket joint is another place to overheat. Move the charger, extend the circuit, or buy a longer cable instead.

Which EV charger has the longest cable?

Among the chargers we cover, the EVIQO 48A publishes the longest total reach: a 25-foot charging cable plus a 40-inch input lead on the supply side. Several others — Emporia, Autel, Wallbox and the Grizzl-E Classic Connect — publish 25-foot charging cables, and the ChargePoint Home Flex publishes 23 feet.

Is a 16 ft EV charging cable long enough?

Sometimes. It works when the charger mounts close to where the car parks and the charge port is on the near side. It is usually not enough if the port is on the far side of the car, if the run has to go around obstacles, or if two cars will share the charger from a single mount point.

Should I buy an EV charger with a cable holster?

It is worth having, particularly with a 25-foot cable. A holster or J-hook keeps the connector off the ground, keeps the cable coiled rather than dragged, and reduces wear at the connector entry, which is the highest-stress point. Some chargers include one in the box.

Sources

Keep reading