Plug & Range

Best EV Chargers with Load Management

Three different features are sold under this one phrase, and they cost wildly different amounts. Here is which chargers publish which — and the much cheaper version of load management that solves most panels.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

Most people arrive at this page because an electrician said a number out loud. The panel is full, the service is 100 or 125 amps, and the charger you wanted means a service upgrade that costs more than the charger. Load management is the way around that, and it is real — but it is sold under one name while actually being three separate features, and only one of them replaces a service upgrade.

So we ranked on what the manufacturer actually publishes, in this order: which kind of load management it is (whole-house, charger-to-charger, or a fixed limit), what extra hardware it needs and whether the brand names it, the published adjustable current range, how it installs, and whether it carries an ENERGY STAR listing for rebate purposes. No pick here is included on the strength of a marketing bullet — every load-management claim below is quoted from the maker’s own product page, and where a brand is vague about the hardware you have to buy, we say so instead of filling it in.

One thing worth knowing before the table: the cheapest answer is often the right one. If your electrician’s load calculation leaves you room for a 30- or 40-amp circuit, you do not need a charger that watches the house. You need one that can be told “never draw more than 24 amps” and left alone. Three of the six picks below do that for no extra hardware at all, and one of them is among the cheapest chargers on this site.

How this is funded:we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, charging speed, electrical fit and value. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these chargers — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Emporia Pro with PowerSmart

Emporia Pro with PowerSmart

The answer to a full electrical panel. It's the same 48-amp, ENERGY STAR hardware as Emporia's standard charger, with PowerSmart load management added: paired with Emporia's own energy monitor, it watches what the rest of the house is drawing and dials the charger back instead of tripping the main. If an electrician has told you a charger means a service upgrade, this is the unit that can make that quote go away.

Best whole-house load management
$599.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 4, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Autel MaxiCharger Home

Autel MaxiCharger Home

Built for the driveway that takes the full brunt of the weather. The NEMA 4X shell is rated to keep charging through brutal cold and heat, it delivers a full 50 amps, and the app is genuinely capable. If your charger will live fully exposed, this is the one to shortlist.

Best for two chargers sharing a panel
$499.00 · View on Amazon

$568.0012% off

Price as of October 4, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Wallbox Pulsar Plus

Wallbox Pulsar Plus

The one to reach for when wall space is tight. It's among the smallest 48A chargers made, and Power Boost load balancing lets it share a circuit without tripping the main — which can save you a panel upgrade. It's a polished, premium unit, and the price says so.

Best compact dynamic load management
$799.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 4, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger

EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger

A lot of charger for the money. You get 48 amps, Wi-Fi scheduling, ENERGY STAR, and the longest usable reach in this group thanks to a 25 ft cable plus a 40-inch input lead. If Emporia is sold out or you want maximum cable, this is the value alternative to have in mind.

Widest published adjustable range
$449.99 · View on Amazon

$510.0012% off

Price as of October 4, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
ChargePoint Home Flex

ChargePoint Home Flex

If you'd rather buy a charger once and be done, this is the safe call. You set the current in the app anywhere from 16 to 50 amps, so it fits whatever your panel can spare today and still has room to grow if you upgrade the circuit later. The app is the most polished of the bunch and the warranty is long.

Best fixed limit with a mature app
$549.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 4, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

6
ELEGRP 40A Portable Level 2 Charger (ECP24-40A0-01)

ELEGRP 40A Portable Level 2 Charger (ECP24-40A0-01)

The cheapest charger in this registry that still publishes everything you would want to check: 9.6 kW, five current levels from 16 to 40 amps, an IP67 body with a stated -21°F floor, ETL certification and a 2-year warranty. There is no Wi-Fi and no app — you get a 1-to-12-hour delay timer on the unit instead — and for a lot of households that is the correct amount of charger.

Cheapest way to fit a small circuit
$209.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 4, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best whole-house load management

Emporia Pro with PowerSmart

The answer to a full electrical panel. It's the same 48-amp, ENERGY STAR hardware as Emporia's standard charger, with PowerSmart load management added: paired with Emporia's own energy monitor, it watches what the rest of the house is drawing and dials the charger back instead of tripping the main. If an electrician has told you a charger means a service upgrade, this is the unit that can make that quote go away.

Strengths

  • PowerSmart load management can avoid a panel or service upgrade
  • Full 48A, ENERGY STAR and a 25 ft cable, same as the standard model
  • The app adds peak-demand management on top of ordinary scheduling

Trade-offs

  • PowerSmart needs Emporia's Vue energy monitor — that's a second device to buy and install
  • You pay a clear premium over the standard Emporia for one feature
Max output48 A
Power11.5 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired (a NEMA 14-50 SKU is also sold)
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At the full 48A (11.5 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh, about 40 miles of range an hour — and PowerSmart will quietly reduce that when the rest of the house is drawing hard, which is the entire point of it.

Build note. Emporia publishes PowerSmart load management as dynamically adjusting charging speed to prevent overloading the panel; it requires the Emporia Vue energy monitor.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best for two chargers sharing a panel

Autel MaxiCharger Home

Built for the driveway that takes the full brunt of the weather. The NEMA 4X shell is rated to keep charging through brutal cold and heat, it delivers a full 50 amps, and the app is genuinely capable. If your charger will live fully exposed, this is the one to shortlist.

Strengths

  • NEMA 4X enclosure rated for very cold and very hot conditions
  • Full 50A output paired with a 25 ft cable
  • Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and a capable app

Trade-offs

  • 50A means a 60A circuit and, usually, a hardwired install
  • The app and ecosystem are younger than ChargePoint's
Max output50 A
Power12 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsCSA certified, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At its 50A ceiling (about 12 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh, roughly 42 miles of range an hour.

Build note. Re-read from Autel's own page on 2026-10-04: 12 kW / 50 A with the output adjustable 16-50 A, 208/240 V AC, hardwired, a 70 A circuit required for full output, a 25 ft J1772 cable, an IP65 / NEMA 4X enclosure with a -40 to 131°F (-40 to 55°C) operating range, Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, Ethernet, CAN and RS485 connectivity, app / AutoStart / RFID-card authentication (cards sold separately) and a 3-year warranty. On load management the page is unusually specific, and it is two different features: it "supports both Adaptive Load Management (ALM) and charger-to-charger Dynamic Load Balancing (DLB)", with "ALM requir[ing] compatible additional hardware, while DLB works between chargers without additional hardware". Autel does not name the ALM hardware on this page, so we do not either.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on October 4, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best compact dynamic load management

Wallbox Pulsar Plus

The one to reach for when wall space is tight. It's among the smallest 48A chargers made, and Power Boost load balancing lets it share a circuit without tripping the main — which can save you a panel upgrade. It's a polished, premium unit, and the price says so.

Strengths

  • Genuinely compact for a 48A charger — easy to tuck in a tight spot
  • Power Boost load balancing can sidestep a panel upgrade
  • Bluetooth and Wi-Fi with a clean, modern app

Trade-offs

  • One of the pricier chargers in this group
  • Hardwired only — no plug-in option, so it's not renter-friendly
Max output48 A
Power11.5 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh, about 40 miles of range an hour — and Power Boost can throttle it down to protect a shared circuit.

Build note. One of the most compact 48A chargers in its class, carrying both Bluetooth and Wi-Fi.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#4Widest published adjustable range

EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger

A lot of charger for the money. You get 48 amps, Wi-Fi scheduling, ENERGY STAR, and the longest usable reach in this group thanks to a 25 ft cable plus a 40-inch input lead. If Emporia is sold out or you want maximum cable, this is the value alternative to have in mind.

Strengths

  • 48A output with Wi-Fi scheduling at a value price
  • 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input lead — excellent reach
  • UL, ETL, FCC and ENERGY STAR listings

Trade-offs

  • The hardwired version needs a 60A circuit and an electrician
  • A smaller brand with a shorter track record than ChargePoint or Wallbox
Max output48 A
Power11.5 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL, ETL, FCC, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh, about 40 miles of range an hour.

Build note. Re-read from EVIQO's own page on 2026-10-04, which publishes more than the spec table above implies. The 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input cable is still among the longest total reach in class, and the current is adjustable two ways: 6-48 A in 1-amp increments from the app, and a hardware DIP switch that caps the maximum at 16, 32, 40 or 48 A. The same DIP block can raise the output to 50 A, which EVIQO says requires a 70 A circuit; the 48 A default needs a 60 A one. The enclosure is IP66 / NEMA-4 rated -22°F to 122°F, the warranty is 3 years and extendable to 4, and the app does remote start/stop, consumption and cost tracking, reminders, up to three schedules and over-the-air updates. No load management or load balancing is described anywhere on the page.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on October 4, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#5Best fixed limit with a mature app

ChargePoint Home Flex

If you'd rather buy a charger once and be done, this is the safe call. You set the current in the app anywhere from 16 to 50 amps, so it fits whatever your panel can spare today and still has room to grow if you upgrade the circuit later. The app is the most polished of the bunch and the warranty is long.

Strengths

  • Adjustable 16-50A fits a modest circuit now and a bigger one later
  • The most complete app here: scheduling, reminders and usage history
  • 3-year warranty and a generous 23 ft cable

Trade-offs

  • You pay a brand premium over value 48A units
  • Using the full 50A needs a 60A circuit most older panels can't spare
Max output50 A
Power12 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired (a plug-in NEMA 14-50 SKU is also sold)
Cable length23 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL/cUL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. Run it at the full 50 amps (about 12 kW) and, at a middle-of-the-road 3.5 miles per kWh, it puts back roughly 42 miles of range an hour. Turn it down to 40A to live on a 50A circuit and you're at about 34.

Build note. The headline feature is app-adjustable amperage — anywhere from 16A up to 50A, in software.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#6Cheapest way to fit a small circuit

ELEGRP 40A Portable Level 2 Charger (ECP24-40A0-01)

The cheapest charger in this registry that still publishes everything you would want to check: 9.6 kW, five current levels from 16 to 40 amps, an IP67 body with a stated -21°F floor, ETL certification and a 2-year warranty. There is no Wi-Fi and no app — you get a 1-to-12-hour delay timer on the unit instead — and for a lot of households that is the correct amount of charger.

Strengths

  • Five current levels (16/20/24/32/40A) — it fits whatever circuit you have
  • IP67 with a published -21°F to 121°F range, and a carrying case in the box
  • 2-year warranty and full ETL certification at the bottom of the price band

Trade-offs

  • No Wi-Fi, no app and no energy monitoring — just an on-unit delay timer
  • Not ENERGY STAR listed, so it may not qualify for some utility rebates
  • 40 amps is the plug-in ceiling; a 48-amp unit needs hardwiring
Max output40 A
Power9.6 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallNEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length25 ft
Warranty2 years
WiFi + appNo
CertificationsETL certified

Our charging-speed math. Forty amps at 240V is 9.6 kW, and at 3.5 miles per kWh that is roughly 34 miles of range an hour. ELEGRP's own figure is 37 miles an hour, which assumes a slightly more efficient car than our reference.

Build note. ELEGRP publishes 240V, up to 9.6 kW, five selectable current levels of 16, 20, 24, 32 and 40 amps, a NEMA 14-50 plug, a 25 ft cable measured plug-end to connector, a J1772 connector, ETL certification with its PBE overheat protection, an IP67 rating with a -21°F to 121°F range, a 1-12 hour delayed start, a carrying case and a 2-year warranty.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

The three things “load management” means

Getting these straight is most of the work, because a listing that says “load management” may mean any of them, and the price difference between the first and the third is several hundred dollars.

1. Whole-house dynamic load management. A sensor on your main service feed watches everything the house is drawing. When the dryer, oven and air conditioner are all running, the charger quietly reduces its current so the total never approaches the main breaker; when the house goes quiet at 1am, it opens back up. This is the one that can make a service upgrade unnecessary, because the charger is no longer a fixed load that has to fit inside whatever capacity is left over. Every system here that does this needs a second device you buy separately. That is the part the listings bury, and it is the single most useful thing on this page.

2. Charger-to-charger load sharing. Two chargers talk to each other and split a budget between them: one car gets everything when it is alone, and they halve it when both are plugged in. This solves a different problem — two EVs, one panel — and it does not watch the rest of the house at all. Our two-EV roundup is the fuller treatment of that situation.

3. A fixed lower limit. You set the charger’s maximum current once — in an app, or with a switch inside the unit — to whatever your panel can spare, and it never exceeds it. This is not dynamic and it is not clever, and it is what a large share of the people searching for load management actually need. It costs nothing extra, works with no sensor and no account, and it is the approach our 100-amp panel roundup ranks on. The catch is that you are sized for the worst case all the time: a charger capped at 24 amps charges at 24 amps at 3am when the house is empty, too.

Start with the load calculation, not the charger

This page cannot tell you which of the three you need, because that comes out of a calculation on your own house. What it can tell you is the order to do things in, because buying the charger first is how people end up with hardware that does not fit.

Get a load calculation from a licensed electrician. NEC Article 625 treats EV charging as a continuous load, so the circuit is sized at 125% of the charger’s draw — 40 amps of charging wants a 50-amp circuit, 48 amps wants a 60-amp one. Our panel capacity guide walks through what the calculation looks at, and how many amps do I need is the short version. The answer puts you in one of three places:

  • Room for a 60-amp circuit. Buy whatever charger you like. You do not need any of this, and nothing on this page should cost you money.
  • Room for something smaller — 30, 40, 50 amps. A fixed limit is enough. Buy one of the last three picks, set the cap, and skip the sensor entirely. This is the most common outcome and the one the market is worst at telling you about.
  • No room at all without an upgrade. This is where dynamic load management earns its price. Compare the all-in cost — charger plus sensor plus install — against the service-upgrade quote. Our installation cost guide covers what those quotes contain, and our load management guide works through the alternatives cheapest first.

What each pick actually publishes

Emporia Pro. Emporia calls it PowerSmart and describes it as dynamically adjusting your charging speed “to make sure your electrical panel never gets overloaded” — the whole-house version, stated plainly. The cost is equally plain, and Emporia publishes it in its own comparison table: PowerSmart requires the Vue Home Energy Monitor and the PowerSmart upgrade. So the charger is the start of the bill, not the end of it. Emporia also notes that PowerSmart can be added to its standard charger for an extra cost, where the Pro includes it. Our Emporia Level 2 vs Pro comparison is about exactly that decision, and the Pro review goes through the rest of the unit.

Autel MaxiCharger. The most precisely documented of the three, and the only one that separates the two features for you. Autel states the charger “supports both Adaptive Load Management (ALM) and charger-to-charger Dynamic Load Balancing (DLB),” and then says the part that matters: “ALM requires compatible additional hardware, while DLB works between chargers without additional hardware.” In other words the two-charger sharing is free with the unit, and the whole-house version is not — and Autel does not name that hardware on the page, so neither will we. Specify it with your electrician before you commit. The rest of the unit suits this job: 12 kW adjustable down to 16 amps, IP65 / NEMA 4X, and a published operating range of -40 to 131°F, which is why it also leads our outdoor roundup. Note the 70-amp circuit Autel specifies for full 50-amp output — on a panel tight enough to need load management, you will be running it well below that.

Wallbox Pulsar Plus. Wallbox describes load management as maximizing charging speed “while staying within your home’s power limit — when overall energy consumption is high, charging speed drops. When it’s low, you’ll charge at maximum speed.” Same whole-house idea, same catch: the energy-management features need a Wallbox Power Meterto unlock, sold separately. What you get for the premium over the Emporia is size — this is among the smallest 48-amp chargers made, which matters in a tight garage or a utility closet — and a brand whose load-balancing feature has been shipping for years. Our Wallbox vs ChargePoint comparison sets it against the fixed-limit approach directly.

EVIQO 48A. No load management, and we are not pretending otherwise — EVIQO’s page describes none. It is here because it has the widest published adjustable range of any charger we cover, and for a fixed-limit install that is the spec that counts. EVIQO publishes 6 to 48 amps in 1-amp increments from the app, plus internal DIP switches that cap the maximum at 16, 32, 40 or 48 amps in hardware. The DIP switch is the detail worth paying attention to: a software limit can be changed by anyone with the app, and a hardware cap cannot. If an electrician signs off on a 32-amp install, the DIP switch is how you guarantee it stays a 32-amp install. Our EVIQO vs ChargePoint Home Flex comparison settles that matchup on this exact point.

ChargePoint Home Flex. Here is the finding that surprised us most while building this page, and it comes from ChargePoint’s own documentation. ChargePoint does sell a feature called Power Management that allocates a circuit’s capacity across stations — but its own Power Management FAQ states that the CT4000 and CPF50 station families support it, with a cloud plan. Those are commercial products. The Home Flex is not named on that page at all. So the most recommended home charger in the category, from the brand most associated with smart charging, has no home load management. What it has is an excellent fixed limit: the datasheet publishes app-adjustable output at 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 or 50 amps, and the app around it is the most mature in the category. Buy it for that, not for load management. Our full Home Flex review has the rest.

ELEGRP 40A. The budget end of the fixed-limit approach, and a genuinely good answer. Five current levels on the unit itself — 16, 20, 24, 32 and 40 amps — an IP67 body with a published -21°F floor, ETL certification, and a NEMA 14-50 plug rather than an electrician’s invoice. There is no app and no Wi-Fi, so you set the level once by hand and that is the end of it, which some buyers will prefer; our no-Wi-Fi roundup ranks it first for that reason. For a plug-in install on an existing circuit, it is the cheapest way to make a charger fit a panel that cannot take a full-size one.

And two chargers that look like they belong here and do not

Leviton EV40P. It is OCPP 1.6 compliant, which sounds like load management and is not — OCPP is a protocol for talking to a management system, not a feature that ships with the charger. Leviton’s product page states no load management, no load shedding and no circuit sharing, and publishes no adjustable amperage range either: it is specified as a fixed 40-amp unit. It is a good charger for other reasons, covered in our Leviton EV40P review, but it cannot be dialed down to fit a small circuit.

The Lectron NEXUS 48A. Our newest Lectron NEXUS review likes it a lot, and it is the wrong charger for this page for the same reason: Lectron publishes no adjustable range for it, so it is 48 amps on a 60-amp circuit or nothing. If you are reading this page, that is probably the circuit you do not have.

What dynamic load management actually costs you

Three things, and only the first one is on a price tag.

The sensor. Emporia’s Vue monitor, Wallbox’s Power Meter, whatever Autel’s ALM hardware turns out to be — a second purchase, every time. Get the current price for the specific part before you decide, because it moves and because it is frequently the difference between dynamic load management being cheaper than a service upgrade and not being cheaper at all.

The install. The sensor goes on your main service conductors, in or next to the panel. That is electrician work, on top of the charger circuit, and it is not a ten-minute job. Ask for it to be quoted as a line item rather than assuming it is folded in.

The dependency. A dynamic system is a networked system — sensor, charger, app and a manufacturer’s cloud service, all of which have to keep working for the throttling to keep happening. A fixed limit has none of that: it is a number in the charger, and it survives the company. If you are buying dynamic load management because it is the only way your install is possible at all, that trade is worth making. If you are buying it because it sounds better than a fixed limit, read our smart vs basic comparison first.

One thing load management does not do, in any of its forms: make charging cheaper. It makes charging possibleon a panel that could not otherwise carry it. Savings on the energy itself come from charging at the right time of day, which is a different lever — see our time-of-use guide— and from knowing what you are actually using, which is energy monitoring, not load management. The two get confused constantly because the same chargers often sell both. And if a rebate is part of your arithmetic, check the certification rather than the feature list: our rebates guide covers what administrators actually ask for.

The verdict

If an electrician has told you a charger means a service upgrade, start with the Emporia Pro. It is the cheapest route to genuine whole-house load management, Emporia states the requirement honestly in its own comparison table, and the Pro includes PowerSmart rather than selling it to you as an upgrade later. Budget for the Vue monitor at the same time, not afterwards.

If the problem is two cars rather than a full panel, the Autel is the efficient answer — charger-to-charger load balancing with no extra hardware is a feature nobody else here gives away, and two Autels sharing a budget is a cleaner install than one charger and a lot of scheduling. Confirm the ALM hardware separately if you need the whole-house half as well.

And if your load calculation leaves you any room at all, buy a fixed limit and keep the money. The EVIQO for the widest range and a hardware cap that cannot be undone from a phone, the ChargePoint if you want the best app in the category attached to it, the ELEGRP if you want the cheapest honest version and can live without an app. None of those is dynamic. For most panels, none of them needs to be.

Frequently asked questions

What is load management on an EV charger?

It is three different features sold under one phrase. Whole-house dynamic load management puts a sensor on your main service feed so the charger can reduce its current when the rest of the house is drawing hard — that is the version that can replace a service upgrade. Charger-to-charger load sharing splits a budget between two chargers for a two-EV household. And a fixed limit simply caps the charger's maximum current at whatever your panel can spare. Only the first is dynamic, and only the first needs extra hardware.

Does load management let me skip a panel or service upgrade?

Often, yes — that is its main economic purpose. A fixed-load charger has to fit inside whatever capacity your load calculation leaves spare, whereas a charger with whole-house load management can be sized above that and throttle when the house is busy. Whether it is cheaper than the upgrade depends on your own quotes: add the charger, the required sensor and the extra electrician time, then compare. Get the load calculation first, because a surprising number of houses turn out to have room for a 30- or 40-amp circuit and need none of this.

Which home chargers actually have dynamic load management?

Of the chargers we cover, three publish it: the Emporia Pro (PowerSmart, which Emporia states requires the Vue Home Energy Monitor plus the PowerSmart upgrade), the Wallbox Pulsar Plus (which requires a separately sold Wallbox Power Meter), and the Autel MaxiCharger (Adaptive Load Management, which Autel says requires compatible additional hardware it does not name on that page). Every one of them is a second purchase on top of the charger.

Does the ChargePoint Home Flex do load management?

Not at home. ChargePoint's own Power Management FAQ states that the CT4000 and CPF50 station families support Power Management with the appropriate cloud plan — both commercial station families — and the Home Flex is not named on that page. What the Home Flex does have is an app-adjustable output at 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 or 50 amps, which is a fixed limit rather than dynamic management. For many tight panels that is enough, but it is not the same feature.

Is a fixed amperage limit as good as dynamic load management?

It is enough for most households and it costs nothing extra, but it is not the same thing. A fixed limit means you are sized for the worst case permanently: a charger capped at 24 amps draws 24 amps at 3am when nothing else in the house is running, where a dynamic system would give you full output at that hour. The practical question is whether the slower overnight rate still fills your car by morning — at 24 amps you are adding roughly 20 miles of range an hour at our 3.5 mi/kWh reference, which is about 200 miles across a ten-hour night.

Can two EV chargers share one circuit?

Not one circuit — each charger needs its own dedicated circuit under NEC Article 625. What load sharing does is let two chargers share the panel's spare capacity rather than each demanding its full rating at the same moment. The Autel publishes charger-to-charger Dynamic Load Balancing with no additional hardware required, which is the cleanest version of this among our picks. Our two-EV roundup covers the alternatives, including simply scheduling the two cars at different hours.

Does OCPP mean a charger has load management?

No, and this trips people up. OCPP is an open protocol for a charger to talk to a central management system — useful in a commercial setting, and a sign of a charger that will not be orphaned by one vendor's cloud. It is not a load-management feature that ships with the unit. The Leviton EV40P is OCPP 1.6 compliant and publishes no load management, no load shedding and no adjustable amperage range at all.

Sources

  • Emporia Energy — EV Chargers (Classic and Pro) — Manufacturer page: the Classic and the Pro both list Solar Charging Integration, and both require the Vue Home Energy Monitor for it — with the Vue added, the charger 'automatically charge[s] with your excess solar power'. PowerSmart load management on the Pro requires the Vue plus the PowerSmart upgrade; Emporia also lists Invite2Charge, described as 'multi-user access control for EV chargers' (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • Autel — MaxiCharger AC Elite Home 50 A product page — Manufacturer page: 12 kW / 50 A with the output adjustable 16-50 A, a 70 A circuit required for full output, 208/240 V AC, hardwired, a 25 ft SAE J1772 cable, IP65 / NEMA 4X, an operating range of -40 to 131 °F (-40 to 55 °C), a 3-year warranty, and Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, Ethernet, CAN and RS485 connectivity with app, AutoStart and RFID-card authentication (cards sold separately). On load management it states that the charger “supports both Adaptive Load Management (ALM) and charger-to-charger Dynamic Load Balancing (DLB) for more flexible home energy management” and that “ALM requires compatible additional hardware, while DLB works between chargers without additional hardware” (accessed October 4, 2026)
  • Wallbox — Pulsar Plus product page (energy-management section) — Manufacturer page, fetched 2026-10-04 for the load-management wording specifically. It describes dynamic load management as “maximize charging speed while staying within your home's power limit. When overall energy consumption is high, charging speed drops. When it's low, you'll charge at maximum speed”, and states that the energy-management features — load management and solar charging — need a Wallbox Power Meter to unlock. The charger is listed in 40 A and 48 A variants up to 11.5 kW with a 25 ft cable. As fetched on this date the page does not use the name “Power Boost”, and states no enclosure rating or warranty term (accessed October 4, 2026)
  • ChargePoint — Power Management FAQ — ChargePoint's own FAQ for its Power Management feature, which allocates a circuit's capacity across stations. Fetched 2026-10-04: it states that “currently, the CT4000 and CPF50 station families support Power Management with the appropriate cloud plan” — both commercial station families. The residential Home Flex is not named anywhere on the page, and no home hardware requirement, home power-sharing behavior or whole-house panel monitoring is described (accessed October 4, 2026)
  • ChargePoint — Home Flex datasheet — Manufacturer datasheet: output adjustable in the app to 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 or 50 A (up to 12 kW); the dedicated dual-pole breaker must be rated for 125% of the maximum load (its example: a 50 A breaker for 40 A output) (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • EVIQO — Level 2 48 A hardwired charging station product page — Manufacturer page, fetched 2026-10-04: 48 A / 11.5 kW as standard with a 50 A output available by changing internal DIP switches (which it says requires a 70 A circuit), current adjustable 6-48 A in 1-amp increments from the app, and hardware DIP switches that set the maximum at 16, 32, 40 or 48 A. A 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input cable, an IP66 / NEMA-4 enclosure rated -22 °F to 122 °F, UL / ETL / FCC / ENERGY STAR certification, and a 3-year warranty extendable to 4. The app does remote start/stop, current setting, consumption and cost tracking, charging reminders, up to three custom schedules and over-the-air firmware updates. Hardwired only, and a 60 A dedicated circuit is stated for 48 A output. No load management or load balancing is described anywhere on the page (accessed October 4, 2026)
  • Leviton — EV40P Level 2 smart charger product page — Manufacturer page, fetched 2026-10-04: 40 A, 9.6 kW, a 25 ft (7.6 m) cable, a NEMA Type 3R enclosure, an operating range of -30 °C to 50 °C, UL 2594 / 2231-1 / 2231-2 / 2251 / 62 / 991 / 1998 and OCPP 1.6 compliance, and a 2-year limited warranty. Recorded for a negative finding as much as a positive one: the page states NO load management, load shedding, load balancing or circuit-sharing capability, and publishes no adjustable amperage range — it is specified as a fixed 40-amp unit (accessed October 4, 2026)
  • NFPA — Using the Latest NEC for EV Charger Installations — NFPA on NEC (NFPA 70) Article 625: EV charging is a continuous load, so circuits are sized to 125% of load (the 80% rule) (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • ENERGY STAR — Electric Vehicle Chargers — ENERGY STAR on EVSE efficiency: certified chargers use about 40% less energy in standby than non-certified units (accessed July 19, 2026)

Keep reading