Plug & Range

Best EV Chargers for Solar Panels

A charger cannot see your roof. The ones that charge on surplus solar do it by reading a separate meter at your panel — which is the part most “solar-ready” listings leave out.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

Almost every EV charger sold today can be scheduled, and almost none of them know anything about your solar panels. The charger sits on a circuit like any other appliance; whether the electricity comes from the roof or the grid at a given moment depends on what the rest of the house is doing. To charge only on surplus solar, the charger needs a live reading of how much power your home is exporting, and that reading comes from a meter installed at the panel — not from the charger itself.

So we ranked this page on the question that actually matters: does the manufacturer publish a solar-following mode, and what extra hardware does it need? Two brands in our registry publish one: Emporia, through its Vue Home Energy Monitor, and Wallbox, through its own Power Meter. Both meters are sold separately and need a place in or beside your panel, which is electrician work. The fourth pick needs no meter at all and takes the simpler route most solar households end up using anyway: a daytime schedule and a lower current.

As always, we have not bench-tested these chargers. The solar features below are quoted from each manufacturer’s own product page on the date shown in the sources, and the charging-speed arithmetic is ours.

How this is funded:we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, charging speed, electrical fit and value. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these chargers — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

The value pick that never feels like one. You get the full 48 amps, an ENERGY STAR listing, real Wi-Fi energy tracking and a 25 ft cable for well under what the marquee brands charge. When someone asks us where to start, this is usually the first name out of our mouths.

Best overall for solar
$449.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Wallbox Pulsar Plus

Wallbox Pulsar Plus

The one to reach for when wall space is tight. It's among the smallest 48A chargers made, and Power Boost load balancing lets it share a circuit without tripping the main — which can save you a panel upgrade. It's a polished, premium unit, and the price says so.

Best for charging on 100% solar
$799.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Emporia Pro with PowerSmart

Emporia Pro with PowerSmart

The answer to a full electrical panel. It's the same 48-amp, ENERGY STAR hardware as Emporia's standard charger, with PowerSmart load management added: paired with Emporia's own energy monitor, it watches what the rest of the house is drawing and dials the charger back instead of tripping the main. If an electrician has told you a charger means a service upgrade, this is the unit that can make that quote go away.

Best for solar and a full panel
$599.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
ChargePoint Home Flex

ChargePoint Home Flex

If you'd rather buy a charger once and be done, this is the safe call. You set the current in the app anywhere from 16 to 50 amps, so it fits whatever your panel can spare today and still has room to grow if you upgrade the circuit later. The app is the most polished of the bunch and the warranty is long.

Best without an energy monitor
$549.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall for solar

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

The value pick that never feels like one. You get the full 48 amps, an ENERGY STAR listing, real Wi-Fi energy tracking and a 25 ft cable for well under what the marquee brands charge. When someone asks us where to start, this is usually the first name out of our mouths.

Strengths

  • 48A and ENERGY STAR at a genuinely value price
  • The app tracks energy use, not just an on/off toggle
  • Long 25 ft cable and a remote holster in the box

Trade-offs

  • 48A hardwired needs a 60A circuit; on a NEMA 14-50 plug it's capped at 40A
  • The app is less polished than ChargePoint's, and support is a smaller operation
Max output48 A
Power11.5 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired or NEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. Hardwired at 48A (11.5 kW), figure about 40 miles of range an hour at 3.5 mi/kWh. Drop to a 40A plug-in circuit and it's closer to 34.

Build note. Runs 48A hardwired, or 40A on a NEMA 14-50 outlet, with a 25 ft cable and a wall holster included.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best for charging on 100% solar

Wallbox Pulsar Plus

The one to reach for when wall space is tight. It's among the smallest 48A chargers made, and Power Boost load balancing lets it share a circuit without tripping the main — which can save you a panel upgrade. It's a polished, premium unit, and the price says so.

Strengths

  • Genuinely compact for a 48A charger — easy to tuck in a tight spot
  • Power Boost load balancing can sidestep a panel upgrade
  • Bluetooth and Wi-Fi with a clean, modern app

Trade-offs

  • One of the pricier chargers in this group
  • Hardwired only — no plug-in option, so it's not renter-friendly
Max output48 A
Power11.5 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh, about 40 miles of range an hour — and Power Boost can throttle it down to protect a shared circuit.

Build note. One of the most compact 48A chargers in its class, carrying both Bluetooth and Wi-Fi.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best for solar and a full panel

Emporia Pro with PowerSmart

The answer to a full electrical panel. It's the same 48-amp, ENERGY STAR hardware as Emporia's standard charger, with PowerSmart load management added: paired with Emporia's own energy monitor, it watches what the rest of the house is drawing and dials the charger back instead of tripping the main. If an electrician has told you a charger means a service upgrade, this is the unit that can make that quote go away.

Strengths

  • PowerSmart load management can avoid a panel or service upgrade
  • Full 48A, ENERGY STAR and a 25 ft cable, same as the standard model
  • The app adds peak-demand management on top of ordinary scheduling

Trade-offs

  • PowerSmart needs Emporia's Vue energy monitor — that's a second device to buy and install
  • You pay a clear premium over the standard Emporia for one feature
Max output48 A
Power11.5 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired (a NEMA 14-50 SKU is also sold)
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At the full 48A (11.5 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh, about 40 miles of range an hour — and PowerSmart will quietly reduce that when the rest of the house is drawing hard, which is the entire point of it.

Build note. Emporia publishes PowerSmart load management as dynamically adjusting charging speed to prevent overloading the panel; it requires the Emporia Vue energy monitor.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#4Best without an energy monitor

ChargePoint Home Flex

If you'd rather buy a charger once and be done, this is the safe call. You set the current in the app anywhere from 16 to 50 amps, so it fits whatever your panel can spare today and still has room to grow if you upgrade the circuit later. The app is the most polished of the bunch and the warranty is long.

Strengths

  • Adjustable 16-50A fits a modest circuit now and a bigger one later
  • The most complete app here: scheduling, reminders and usage history
  • 3-year warranty and a generous 23 ft cable

Trade-offs

  • You pay a brand premium over value 48A units
  • Using the full 50A needs a 60A circuit most older panels can't spare
Max output50 A
Power12 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired (a plug-in NEMA 14-50 SKU is also sold)
Cable length23 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL/cUL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. Run it at the full 50 amps (about 12 kW) and, at a middle-of-the-road 3.5 miles per kWh, it puts back roughly 42 miles of range an hour. Turn it down to 40A to live on a 50A circuit and you're at about 34.

Build note. The headline feature is app-adjustable amperage — anywhere from 16A up to 50A, in software.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

How solar-following charging actually works

Your inverter feeds the house; the house feeds the charger. At any instant the home is either exporting power to the grid (the roof is making more than the house uses) or importing it. A solar-following charger watches that number through its companion meter and adjusts its own current to soak up the export, rather than charging at full speed and pulling the difference from the grid.

That is why the meter matters more than the charger. Emporia states that adding the Vue Home Energy Monitor lets its charger “automatically charge with your excess solar power”, and lists Solar Charging Integration on both its Classic and its Pro, each marked as requiring the Vue. Wallbox states that the Pulsar Plus can charge on 100% solar or a mix of solar and grid, and that its Power Meter is required to enable it. Without the meter, neither charger has a number to follow.

There is one limit worth knowing before you buy the Wallbox for this: Wallbox states that its solar charging is not compatible with installations of more than one charger, or with OCPP. If you plan a second charger for a second car, the Emporia route is the one that keeps both features.

The mismatch no charger fixes

Solar peaks around midday. Most cars are parked at home in the evening and overnight. A solar-following charger does nothing for a car that is at work when the sun is up, and our guide to charging from home solarworks through that timing problem in detail. The short version: solar-following charging pays off for households where a car is home during the day — a remote worker, a retiree, a second car that sits most weekdays. For a nine-to-five commuter, a schedule that runs overnight on a cheap time-of-use rate often saves more.

The other variable is how your utility credits exported solar. If exports are credited at close to the retail rate, using your own solar for the car and charging from the grid at night come out roughly the same on the bill. If exports earn much less than you pay for grid power, keeping that energy for the car is worth real money. That is a question for your utility statement, not for a charger spec sheet.

Why the fourth pick has no solar mode

The ChargePoint Home Flex publishes no solar-following feature. It is here for the households that will not install a second device: ChargePoint’s datasheet lists output settings from 16 up to 50 amps in the app, and a charger turned down to 16 amps draws about 3.8 kW, which is far more likely to sit under a midday surplus than the same charger running at 40 or 48 amps. Pair that with a daytime schedule and you get most of the benefit of solar charging with no meter, no extra app and no extra install. It is a blunter tool than true solar-following, and on a cloudy day it will pull from the grid, but it is honest about what it is.

What else to check before you buy

Panel space.A solar system and an EV charger both want room in the panel, and a meter adds another device beside it. If an electrician has already told you the panel is tight, the Emporia Pro’s PowerSmart load management — which also runs through the Vue — can keep the charger from tripping the main while the rest of the house is busy. Our panel capacity guide covers the load calculation.

Battery storage and bidirectional charging. Neither is the same thing as solar-following charging. A home battery stores daytime solar for the evening; a bidirectional setup lets the car power the house. Both are separate purchases with their own requirements, covered in our bidirectional charging guide.

Rebates. Some utilities that support solar also rebate EV chargers, and many require ENERGY STAR certification. All four picks here carry that listing; check your own utility before you buy.

Frequently asked questions

Do I need a special EV charger for solar panels?

Only if you want the charger to follow your solar production automatically. That needs a charger with a published solar mode plus a meter at your panel that tells it how much power the house is exporting — Emporia's Vue Home Energy Monitor or Wallbox's Power Meter, for the chargers on this page. If you are happy to schedule charging for the middle of the day and turn the current down, any adjustable charger works, including the ChargePoint Home Flex here.

Can an EV charger charge only from solar?

Some can, with the right meter. Wallbox states the Pulsar Plus can charge on 100% solar or a mix of solar and grid once its Power Meter is installed, and Emporia states its chargers automatically charge with excess solar when paired with the Vue. Without that meter, no charger knows what your panels are producing.

Is it worth charging an EV from solar during the day?

It depends on when your car is home and how your utility credits exported power. If the car is parked at home during the day and your exports earn much less than you pay for grid power, daytime solar charging saves real money. If you commute and your exports are credited near retail, an overnight schedule on an off-peak rate may save just as much.

Why does the charger need a separate meter for solar?

Because the charger only measures what it is drawing itself. To follow surplus solar it needs to know what the whole house is exporting at that moment, and that measurement is taken at the panel. The meter supplies it; the charger then turns its current up or down to match.

Can I use solar charging with two EV chargers?

Check the brand's limits first. Wallbox states that its solar charging is not compatible with installations of more than one charger or with OCPP. Emporia publishes solar integration and PowerSmart load management through the same Vue monitor, which is the more natural fit if a second EV is planned.

Sources

  • Emporia Energy — EV Chargers (Classic and Pro)Manufacturer page: the Classic and the Pro both list Solar Charging Integration, and both require the Vue Home Energy Monitor for it — with the Vue added, the charger 'automatically charge[s] with your excess solar power'. PowerSmart load management on the Pro requires the Vue plus the PowerSmart upgrade; Emporia also lists Invite2Charge, described as 'multi-user access control for EV chargers' (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • Wallbox — Pulsar Plus EV Charger (US)Manufacturer page: solar charging lets the Pulsar Plus run on 100% solar or a mix of solar and grid, and requires a separately sold Wallbox Power Meter; solar charging is not compatible with multiple-charger installations or OCPP; the same power meter enables dynamic load management (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • ChargePoint — Home Flex datasheetManufacturer datasheet: output adjustable in the app to 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 or 50 A (up to 12 kW); the dedicated dual-pole breaker must be rated for 125% of the maximum load (its example: a 50 A breaker for 40 A output) (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • U.S. DOE Alternative Fuels Data Center — Charging Electric Vehicles at HomeUS DOE on home EV charging: most owners charge overnight on Level 1 or Level 2, installs follow NEC Article 625, with example home-charging costs (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • ENERGY STAR — Electric Vehicle ChargersENERGY STAR on EVSE efficiency: certified chargers use about 40% less energy in standby than non-certified units (accessed July 19, 2026)

Keep reading