Plug & Range

Best Hardwired EV Chargers

No plug, no socket, no thing in the middle to loosen — just conductors landed on a breaker. Above 40 amps that stops being a preference and starts being the code-driven answer.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

“Hardwired” means the charger’s supply conductors terminate directly in a junction inside the unit and run back to a dedicated breaker, with no plug and receptacle anywhere in the path. It is the more permanent install, it is the quieter one, and past a certain amperage it is effectively the only one — the common NEMA 14-50 receptacle is a 50-amp device, and a 48-amp charger needs a 60-amp circuit, which leaves nothing to plug into.

The chargers below are the hardwired units worth doing that job for. We rank them on the things that actually differ once the plug is out of the picture: maximum amps and the miles per hour they buy, enclosure rating, whether the charger can manage its own load when the panel is tight, cable reach, and how much of the price is hardware versus badge. The quick-pick table gets you to an answer fast; the write-ups underneath explain each trade-off, including the two cases where you should not hardwire at all.

How this is funded:we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, charging speed, electrical fit and value. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these chargers — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Wallbox Pulsar Plus

Wallbox Pulsar Plus

The one to reach for when wall space is tight. It's among the smallest 48A chargers made, and Power Boost load balancing lets it share a circuit without tripping the main — which can save you a panel upgrade. It's a polished, premium unit, and the price says so.

Best overall hardwired
$614.99 · View on Amazon

$699.9912% off

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Emporia Pro with PowerSmart

Emporia Pro with PowerSmart

The answer to a full electrical panel. It's the same 48-amp, ENERGY STAR hardware as Emporia's standard charger, with PowerSmart load management added: paired with Emporia's own energy monitor, it watches what the rest of the house is drawing and dials the charger back instead of tripping the main. If an electrician has told you a charger means a service upgrade, this is the unit that can make that quote go away.

Best for a tight panel
$599.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger

EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger

A lot of charger for the money. You get 48 amps, Wi-Fi scheduling, ENERGY STAR, and the longest usable reach in this group thanks to a 25 ft cable plus a 40-inch input lead. If Emporia is sold out or you want maximum cable, this is the value alternative to have in mind.

Best value 48A
$428.98 · View on Amazon

$479.0010% off

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Autel MaxiCharger Home

Autel MaxiCharger Home

Built for the driveway that takes the full brunt of the weather. The NEMA 4X shell is rated to keep charging through brutal cold and heat, it delivers a full 50 amps, and the app is genuinely capable. If your charger will live fully exposed, this is the one to shortlist.

Best for exposed installs
$499.00 · View on Amazon

$568.0012% off

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
ChargePoint Home Flex

ChargePoint Home Flex

If you'd rather buy a charger once and be done, this is the safe call. You set the current in the app anywhere from 16 to 50 amps, so it fits whatever your panel can spare today and still has room to grow if you upgrade the circuit later. The app is the most polished of the bunch and the warranty is long.

Best adjustable amperage
$494.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

6
Lectron Nexus NACS (Tesla) Charger

Lectron Nexus NACS (Tesla) Charger

For a Tesla owner who doesn't want to babysit an adapter. The native NACS (J3400) connector goes straight into the car at a full 48 amps, with the safety listings you want to see. There's no app — but a Tesla schedules charging in the car anyway, so you're not really missing one.

Best for Tesla / NACS
$429.99 · View on Amazon

$459.997% off

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall hardwired

Wallbox Pulsar Plus

The one to reach for when wall space is tight. It's among the smallest 48A chargers made, and Power Boost load balancing lets it share a circuit without tripping the main — which can save you a panel upgrade. It's a polished, premium unit, and the price says so.

Strengths

  • Genuinely compact for a 48A charger — easy to tuck in a tight spot
  • Power Boost load balancing can sidestep a panel upgrade
  • Bluetooth and Wi-Fi with a clean, modern app

Trade-offs

  • One of the pricier chargers in this group
  • Hardwired only — no plug-in option, so it's not renter-friendly
Max output48 A
Power11.5 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh, about 40 miles of range an hour — and Power Boost can throttle it down to protect a shared circuit.

Build note. One of the most compact 48A chargers in its class, carrying both Bluetooth and Wi-Fi.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best for a tight panel

Emporia Pro with PowerSmart

The answer to a full electrical panel. It's the same 48-amp, ENERGY STAR hardware as Emporia's standard charger, with PowerSmart load management added: paired with Emporia's own energy monitor, it watches what the rest of the house is drawing and dials the charger back instead of tripping the main. If an electrician has told you a charger means a service upgrade, this is the unit that can make that quote go away.

Strengths

  • PowerSmart load management can avoid a panel or service upgrade
  • Full 48A, ENERGY STAR and a 25 ft cable, same as the standard model
  • The app adds peak-demand management on top of ordinary scheduling

Trade-offs

  • PowerSmart needs Emporia's Vue energy monitor — that's a second device to buy and install
  • You pay a clear premium over the standard Emporia for one feature
Max output48 A
Power11.5 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired (a NEMA 14-50 SKU is also sold)
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At the full 48A (11.5 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh, about 40 miles of range an hour — and PowerSmart will quietly reduce that when the rest of the house is drawing hard, which is the entire point of it.

Build note. Emporia publishes PowerSmart load management as dynamically adjusting charging speed to prevent overloading the panel; it requires the Emporia Vue energy monitor.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best value 48A

EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger

A lot of charger for the money. You get 48 amps, Wi-Fi scheduling, ENERGY STAR, and the longest usable reach in this group thanks to a 25 ft cable plus a 40-inch input lead. If Emporia is sold out or you want maximum cable, this is the value alternative to have in mind.

Strengths

  • 48A output with Wi-Fi scheduling at a value price
  • 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input lead — excellent reach
  • UL, ETL, FCC and ENERGY STAR listings

Trade-offs

  • The hardwired version needs a 60A circuit and an electrician
  • A smaller brand with a shorter track record than ChargePoint or Wallbox
Max output48 A
Power11.5 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL, ETL, FCC, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh, about 40 miles of range an hour.

Build note. Ships with a 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input cable — among the longest total reach in class.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#4Best for exposed installs

Autel MaxiCharger Home

Built for the driveway that takes the full brunt of the weather. The NEMA 4X shell is rated to keep charging through brutal cold and heat, it delivers a full 50 amps, and the app is genuinely capable. If your charger will live fully exposed, this is the one to shortlist.

Strengths

  • NEMA 4X enclosure rated for very cold and very hot conditions
  • Full 50A output paired with a 25 ft cable
  • Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and a capable app

Trade-offs

  • 50A means a 60A circuit and, usually, a hardwired install
  • The app and ecosystem are younger than ChargePoint's
Max output50 A
Power12 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsCSA certified, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At its 50A ceiling (about 12 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh, roughly 42 miles of range an hour.

Build note. A NEMA 4X weatherproof enclosure rated for operation down to around -40 degrees F.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#5Best adjustable amperage

ChargePoint Home Flex

If you'd rather buy a charger once and be done, this is the safe call. You set the current in the app anywhere from 16 to 50 amps, so it fits whatever your panel can spare today and still has room to grow if you upgrade the circuit later. The app is the most polished of the bunch and the warranty is long.

Strengths

  • Adjustable 16-50A fits a modest circuit now and a bigger one later
  • The most complete app here: scheduling, reminders and usage history
  • 3-year warranty and a generous 23 ft cable

Trade-offs

  • You pay a brand premium over value 48A units
  • Using the full 50A needs a 60A circuit most older panels can't spare
Max output50 A
Power12 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired (a plug-in NEMA 14-50 SKU is also sold)
Cable length23 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL/cUL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. Run it at the full 50 amps (about 12 kW) and, at a middle-of-the-road 3.5 miles per kWh, it puts back roughly 42 miles of range an hour. Turn it down to 40A to live on a 50A circuit and you're at about 34.

Build note. The headline feature is app-adjustable amperage — anywhere from 16A up to 50A, in software.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#6Best for Tesla / NACS

Lectron Nexus NACS (Tesla) Charger

For a Tesla owner who doesn't want to babysit an adapter. The native NACS (J3400) connector goes straight into the car at a full 48 amps, with the safety listings you want to see. There's no app — but a Tesla schedules charging in the car anyway, so you're not really missing one.

Strengths

  • Native NACS connector — no J1772-to-Tesla adapter to keep track of
  • Full 48A output and a weather-rated IP66 body
  • UL/ETL safety listings plus ENERGY STAR

Trade-offs

  • No Wi-Fi app — you schedule in the Tesla app instead
  • Best for Tesla/NACS cars; other EVs need a NACS-to-J1772 adapter
Max output48 A
Power11.5 kW
ConnectorNACS
InstallHardwired
Cable length23 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appNo
CertificationsUL 2594/2231/2251 (ETL listed), ENERGY STAR, FCC

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh, about 40 miles of range an hour into a Tesla.

Build note. A native NACS (J3400) connector plugs straight into a Tesla with no adapter; a holster is included.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

Why hardwire at all?

There are four reasons, and they are worth separating because only two of them are about the charger.

1. Above 40 amps you effectively have no choice

Under the National Electrical Code’s Article 625, EV charging is a continuous load, so a branch circuit is sized to 125% of the charger’s continuous draw — the “80% rule” read the other way round. Run the arithmetic and it lands on round numbers: a 40-amp charger wants a 50-amp circuit, and a 48-amp charger wants a 60-amp circuit. The ubiquitous NEMA 14-50 receptacle is a 50-amp device. That is why a plug-in charger tops out at 40 amps of actual draw, and why every 48A and 50A unit on this page is hardwired: there is no 60-amp household receptacle in common residential use to plug them into. Our how many amps guide works through what your own panel can spare.

2. One less connection to fail

A plug and receptacle is a mechanical joint carrying continuous current for hours at a time, every night, for years. Good receptacles handle that fine. The failure mode people actually run into is a cheap receptacle, a loose termination or a worn contact heating up under sustained load. Hardwiring removes the joint entirely. It is not that plug-in charging is unsafe — it is that hardwiring has one fewer thing in the path that can degrade quietly.

3. Better weather sealing

A hardwired unit has a sealed conduit entry rather than a cord passing into a weatherproof-while-in-use cover. On a wall that genuinely takes weather, that is a real advantage, and it is why the outdoor-focused units on this list are hardwired. Our outdoor roundup covers enclosure ratings in detail.

4. It looks finished

Minor, but honest: a hardwired charger is a clean box on a wall rather than a box, a cord, an outlet and a cover plate. Plenty of people care about that and there is nothing wrong with caring about it.

What we ranked on

Once the plug is gone, five things separate these chargers, and only one of them is speed.

Amps, and what they cost your panel. Forty-eight amps is about 11.5 kW, which at our standard reference of roughly 3.5 miles per kWh is about 40 miles of range an hour. Fifty amps is about 42. Forty amps is about 34. Those gaps are small; the gap in what your panel has to give up is not, because 48A means a 60-amp breaker and 40A means a 50-amp one. Our 40A vs 48A comparison is the full version of this argument.

Load management. The most valuable feature on this page for a house with a full panel. The Emporia Pro publishes PowerSmart, which dynamically reduces charging speed to keep the panel from being overloaded — Emporia states it requires their Vue energy monitor, which is a separate device to buy. The Wallbox Pulsar Plus offers Power Boost load balancing for the same purpose in a much smaller body. If an electrician has said the words “service upgrade,” price a load-managing charger before you price the upgrade.

Enclosure rating. NEMA 3R covers rain, sleet and ice on a wall that gets weather but not a beating. NEMA 4 adds windblown dust and hose-directed water. NEMA 4X, on the Autel MaxiCharger, adds corrosion resistance on top — the rating to want near salt air or road salt. A charger inside a closed garage does not need any of this and you should not pay for it.

Cable reach. Boring and the one people regret. Twenty-five feet (EVIQO, Emporia, Autel, Wallbox) versus 23 (ChargePoint, Lectron Nexus) decides whether you can park nose-in or have to reverse. Our long-cable roundup ranks purely on this.

Adjustable amperage.The ChargePoint Home Flex sets its output anywhere from 16 to 50 amps in software. That is the hedge if you are unsure what circuit you will end up with, or expect to upgrade the panel later — you buy once and change the number, rather than buying a 48A unit that quietly runs at 40 on a 50-amp circuit.

What hardwiring costs you

Two real things, and anyone selling you a hardwired charger should say them out loud.

You cannot take it with you.A hardwired charger is part of the house. If you rent, or expect to move within a few years, that is a strong argument for a plug-in unit — you install a 14-50 outlet once and the charger travels. Our hardwired vs plug-in comparison covers this properly, and our portable roundup covers the alternative.

Replacing it is an electrician visit.If the unit fails outside warranty, swapping a plug-in charger takes thirty seconds. Swapping a hardwired one is a service call. That is not a reason to avoid hardwiring — it is a reason to buy a charger with a real warranty and a company likely to honor it, which is part of why brand support carries weight on this page in a way it does not on a cheap portable.

Also worth knowing before you commit: the federal 30C tax credit that used to offset part of a home charger installation has expired, so budget the install at full cost. Our Level 2 installation guide covers the job itself, published utility cost ranges, permits, and what turns a routine install into a service upgrade.

How to choose in one paragraph

If your panel is tight, start with load management — the Emporia Proor the Wallbox, in that order, depending on whether you would rather add an energy monitor or save wall space. If your panel is fine and the charger lives under cover, take the value 48A option and spend the difference on a longer cable run. If it lives fully exposed, the Autel’s NEMA 4X shell is the reason to pay more. If you are not yet sure what circuit you will get, the adjustable Home Flexis the safest purchase on the page. And if you drive a Tesla, decide the connector question first — our Tesla charger guide covers whether native NACS or J1772-plus-adapter is right for you before amperage matters at all.

Frequently asked questions

Is a hardwired EV charger better than a plug-in one?

For a permanent install above 40 amps, yes — a 48A charger needs a 60-amp circuit and there is no common household receptacle for that, so hardwiring is the only route. Below 40 amps it is a genuine choice: hardwiring removes a connection that can degrade under continuous load, while a plug-in unit is portable, renter-friendly and replaceable without an electrician.

Do I need an electrician to hardwire an EV charger?

Yes. Hardwiring means landing conductors on a dedicated breaker in your panel and terminating them in the charger, to National Electrical Code and local code, usually under a permit. This is licensed-electrician work on every charger on this page.

What size breaker does a hardwired EV charger need?

It depends on the charger's continuous draw, sized to 125% of it under NEC Article 625. A 40-amp charger wants a 50-amp breaker; a 48-amp charger wants a 60-amp breaker; a 50-amp charger also lands on 60 amps in practice. The conductors are sized to match the breaker, which is part of why a bigger charger costs more to install and not just to buy.

Can I hardwire an EV charger if my panel is full?

Sometimes, without upgrading the service — that is exactly what load management is for. A charger with dynamic load management watches whole-house demand and reduces its own draw instead of demanding dedicated headroom. Whether that satisfies your local inspector is a question for your electrician, but it is very often cheaper than a service upgrade.

Can I convert a plug-in EV charger to hardwired?

Only if the manufacturer supports it. Some chargers are sold as dual — hardwired or NEMA 14-50 plug — and can be configured either way; others are one or the other by design. Check the specific model rather than assuming, and remember that going hardwired above 40 amps also means a bigger circuit, not just a different termination.

Does a hardwired charger charge faster?

Not by virtue of being hardwired. Charging speed comes from amperage. Hardwiring matters because it is what allows amperage above 40 in a residential install — so hardwired chargers are often faster, but the wiring method itself adds nothing.

Sources

Keep reading