Plug & Range

Best EV Chargers for Airbnb & Rental Hosts

Your own charger only has to suit your car. A guest charger has to suit every car that books, stay locked to the people who booked, and tell you what it cost you. That changes the shortlist.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

A charger at a short-term rental is a listing feature, a running cost and a piece of equipment strangers will use unsupervised — all at once. The ranking that works for a private garage, which leans on the owner’s own car and habits, does not carry over. So we ranked this page on the three things that decide whether a guest charger is an asset or a headache.

It has to fit whatever arrives. That means a J1772 connector, which every non-Tesla EV sold in North America accepts, plus a way for a Tesla driver to use it too. It has to be yours to control.A charger in a shared driveway or a parking pad can be used by anyone passing, so some form of access control — an RFID card, an app lock — is worth more here than anywhere else. It has to tell you what it cost. If you want to fold charging into your nightly rate rather than give it away, you need energy figures per session, not a guess.

Every pick below is a real, currently-purchasable charger with a published safety listing, ranked on the manufacturer’s own specifications. We have not bench-tested them and we do not run a rental; where a feature matters for hosting, we say which spec delivers it and where it came from.

How this is funded:we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, charging speed, electrical fit and value. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these chargers — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
WOLFBOX E48 Level 2 Charger, 48A

WOLFBOX E48 Level 2 Charger, 48A

The 48-amp WOLFBOX you can actually buy, and the more forthcoming of the two: unlike the WE48 it replaces, the E-series spec table publishes 11.5 kW, the five current steps, the enclosure rating, the Wi-Fi band and a 36-month EV-charger warranty. You also get a 4.3-inch screen on the unit itself, which reports voltage, temperature and session totals without reaching for the app. The one number still missing is an operating-temperature range, and the one claim we could not confirm is ENERGY STAR.

Best overall for hosts
$327.59 · View on Amazon

$389.9916% off

Price as of September 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Leviton EV Series Smart Home Charger (EV40P)

Leviton EV Series Smart Home Charger (EV40P)

The one charger here from a brand your electrician already stocks. Forty amps, ENERGY STAR, a NEMA 3R shell, a 25-foot cable and a certification list longer than anything else in this registry — plus the My Leviton app, which is the same app that runs Leviton's load centers and switches. You pay a real premium for that, and what it buys is a company that will still be answering the phone in ten years.

Best plug-in with access control
$499.85 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

The value pick that never feels like one. You get the full 48 amps, an ENERGY STAR listing, real Wi-Fi energy tracking and a 25 ft cable for well under what the marquee brands charge. When someone asks us where to start, this is usually the first name out of our mouths.

Best for tracking what guests use
$449.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Grizzl-E Classic Connect

Grizzl-E Classic Connect

Grizzl-E retired the old no-app Classic and replaced it with this, and it kept the part that mattered: a metal case rated UL Type 4 for a spot with no shelter, published to keep operating down to -22F. What changed is that the electronics caught up — Wi-Fi, an app, and current you can dial from 40A down to 16A to fit a circuit you already have. It's the rugged pick that no longer asks you to give up scheduling to get it.

Best for an exposed guest pad
$349.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall for hosts

WOLFBOX E48 Level 2 Charger, 48A

The 48-amp WOLFBOX you can actually buy, and the more forthcoming of the two: unlike the WE48 it replaces, the E-series spec table publishes 11.5 kW, the five current steps, the enclosure rating, the Wi-Fi band and a 36-month EV-charger warranty. You also get a 4.3-inch screen on the unit itself, which reports voltage, temperature and session totals without reaching for the app. The one number still missing is an operating-temperature range, and the one claim we could not confirm is ENERGY STAR.

Strengths

  • Publishes what the WE48 did not: 11.5 kW, five current steps from 16 to 48 amps, and a warranty term
  • 4.3-inch LCD on the unit reports voltage, temperature and session totals with no app open
  • IP66 / NEMA 4 housing, 25 ft cable, OTA firmware updates, RFID card and plug-and-charge

Trade-offs

  • WOLFBOX's spec table claims ENERGY STAR, but the ENERGY STAR certified-EVSE database lists only the E40 and E50 — not this 48-amp configuration
  • Its 36-month warranty is published as the wolfbox.com default; WOLFBOX's own policy says coverage on other platforms may vary, so confirm the term with the Amazon seller
  • Still no operating-temperature range, which is the spec that decides a cold-climate install
  • Hardwired only on a 60-amp circuit, so it needs an electrician and stays with the house
Max output48 A
Power11.5 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsCSA certified, FCC, stated to meet UL 2594 (WOLFBOX also prints ENERGY STAR, but no 48A model is on the ENERGY STAR certified list)

Our charging-speed math. WOLFBOX publishes up to 11.5 kW, and 48 amps at 240V is about 11.5 kW, so the arithmetic agrees for once: at our 3.5 miles-per-kWh reference that is roughly 40 miles of range an hour, or about 400 miles across a ten-hour overnight window. WOLFBOX's Amazon listing claims 46 miles an hour, which assumes a more efficient car than our reference — plan around 40.

Build note. WOLFBOX publishes up to 11.5 kW at 200-240 V AC, current output selectable at 16, 24, 32, 40 and 48 amps, a 60A-or-greater circuit breaker, hardwired connection with a 23-inch input cord, a J1772 connector on a 25-foot cable, an IP66 / NEMA 4 protection rating, a 12.68 x 7.46 x 4.76 in wall-mount body, 2.4 GHz 802.11 b/g/n Wi-Fi with over-the-air firmware updates, a 4.3-inch LCD showing charge rate, time, voltage and energy, RFID card or app start, Alexa and Google Assistant control, and a 36-month manufacturer warranty for EV chargers. One inconsistency worth flagging: the Amazon bullet copy says "NEMA 4X", while both the Amazon title and WOLFBOX's own spec table say NEMA 4 / IP66 for this 48-amp model — we record the spec table's figure.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on September 4, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best plug-in with access control

Leviton EV Series Smart Home Charger (EV40P)

The one charger here from a brand your electrician already stocks. Forty amps, ENERGY STAR, a NEMA 3R shell, a 25-foot cable and a certification list longer than anything else in this registry — plus the My Leviton app, which is the same app that runs Leviton's load centers and switches. You pay a real premium for that, and what it buys is a company that will still be answering the phone in ten years.

Strengths

  • ENERGY STAR certified, with an unusually deep listing set (UL 2594, 2231, 2251, 62, 991, 1998, 840)
  • NEMA 3R enclosure and a cable rated to -30°C, so an outdoor install is in spec
  • 25 ft cable and a pre-attached NEMA 14-50 input lead — a genuinely quick install

Trade-offs

  • The most expensive 40-amp charger we cover, by a wide margin
  • Leviton does not publish an adjustable-amperage range for this model
  • 2-year warranty is shorter than ChargePoint's 3
Max output40 A
Power9.6 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallNEMA 14-50 plug (pre-attached 3 ft input cable)
Cable length25 ft
Warranty2 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL 2594, UL 2231-1, UL 2231-2, UL 2251, UL 62, UL 991, UL 1998, UL 840, CSA C22.2 #280, NFPA 70 Article 625, OCPP 1.6, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. Forty amps at 240V is 9.6 kW, and at a middle-of-the-road 3.5 miles per kWh that is roughly 34 miles of range an hour — about 340 miles across a ten-hour overnight window.

Build note. Leviton publishes 208/240 VAC, 40A, 9.6 kW, a 25 ft (7.6 m) J1772 cable, a NEMA Type 3R water-resistant enclosure, an operating range of -30°C to 50°C, altitude to 6,500 ft, Wi-Fi 802.11 b/g/n with the My Leviton app, optional RFID control, OCPP 1.6 compliance and a 2-year limited warranty.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best for tracking what guests use

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

The value pick that never feels like one. You get the full 48 amps, an ENERGY STAR listing, real Wi-Fi energy tracking and a 25 ft cable for well under what the marquee brands charge. When someone asks us where to start, this is usually the first name out of our mouths.

Strengths

  • 48A and ENERGY STAR at a genuinely value price
  • The app tracks energy use, not just an on/off toggle
  • Long 25 ft cable and a remote holster in the box

Trade-offs

  • 48A hardwired needs a 60A circuit; on a NEMA 14-50 plug it's capped at 40A
  • The app is less polished than ChargePoint's, and support is a smaller operation
Max output48 A
Power11.5 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired or NEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. Hardwired at 48A (11.5 kW), figure about 40 miles of range an hour at 3.5 mi/kWh. Drop to a 40A plug-in circuit and it's closer to 34.

Build note. Runs 48A hardwired, or 40A on a NEMA 14-50 outlet, with a 25 ft cable and a wall holster included.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#4Best for an exposed guest pad

Grizzl-E Classic Connect

Grizzl-E retired the old no-app Classic and replaced it with this, and it kept the part that mattered: a metal case rated UL Type 4 for a spot with no shelter, published to keep operating down to -22F. What changed is that the electronics caught up — Wi-Fi, an app, and current you can dial from 40A down to 16A to fit a circuit you already have. It's the rugged pick that no longer asks you to give up scheduling to get it.

Strengths

  • Metal case rated UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor, published from -22F to 122F
  • Current adjusts from 40A down to 16A, so it fits the circuit you already have
  • 25 ft cable — among the longest here — on a simple plug-in NEMA 14-50 install

Trade-offs

  • 40A caps its charging speed below the 48A units
  • Scheduling now runs through Wi-Fi and an account — the old Classic's nothing-to-update simplicity is gone
  • Grizzl-E publishes UL/cUL only for this model, not the ENERGY STAR listing the discontinued Classic carried
Max output40 A
Power9.6 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallNEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL/cUL listed (file E510712)

Our charging-speed math. At 40A (9.6 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh it adds roughly 34 miles of range an hour — more than enough to refill a daily commute overnight. Dial it down to 16A and you're at about 13.

Build note. A metal case rated UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor and published for -30C to +50C (-22F to 122F), with 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and current adjustable from 40A down to 16A.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

Why these four

The WOLFBOX E48is the pick because it answers all three questions on the unit itself. WOLFBOX publishes RFID-card or app start, so a charger on an open driveway is not free power for passers-by; a 4.3-inch screen on the front that shows charge rate, time, voltage and energy, so a guest can see what is happening without installing your app; and five current steps from 16 to 48 amps, so it can be set to whatever circuit the property has. The trade-offs are that it is hardwired — an electrician and a permit, not a plug-in afternoon — and that its ENERGY STAR claim is not confirmed by the ENERGY STAR database for this 48-amp configuration, which matters if a rebate is in your numbers.

The Leviton EV40P is the plug-in answer. It runs 40 amps on a NEMA 14-50 receptacle, Leviton lists optional RFID and OCPP 1.6 support, and its certification list is the deepest in our registry. OCPP is the open protocol that third-party charger-management services use, which matters if you ever want per-session billing handled by someone else. Leviton does not publish an adjustable current range for this model, and the warranty is two years rather than three.

The Emporiais the pick for a host whose main question is cost. Its app tracks energy per charge rather than just switching the charger on and off, which is what you need to price charging into a stay. It is ENERGY STAR certified and runs 48 amps hardwired or 40 on a plug. For access, Emporia publishes Invite2Charge, which it describes as multi-user access control for its chargers — app-based, rather than a card a guest taps on the unit.

The Grizzl-E Classic Connectis for the property where the charger lives fully outside: a metal case rated UL Type 4 and published from -22°F to 122°F, on a plug-in NEMA 14-50 install, with current that turns down from 40 to 16 amps. Grizzl-E publishes remote control of the charger through its app, but no RFID or multi-user access feature for this model, so it suits a pad only guests can reach better than an open driveway.

Tesla guests and the adapter question

A J1772 charger serves every non-Tesla guest with nothing extra, and a Tesla guest with a J1772-to-Tesla adapter. Some Tesla drivers travel with one; you cannot count on it. The cheapest way to make the charger work for everyone is to leave a certified adapter with it — the Lectron J1772-to-Tesla adapter we review is rated to UL 2252 — and mention it in the listing. The reverse choice, a native Tesla (NACS) charger, leaves every non-Tesla guest needing an adapter they are far less likely to own. Our J1772 versus NACS explainer covers why J1772 remains the universal choice for a charger many different cars will use.

What to sort out before the first booking

The circuit. A guest charger is still a continuous load on your panel. A 48-amp charger needs a dedicated 60-amp circuit and a 40-amp plug-in charger a 50-amp one; our panel capacity guide covers the load calculation an electrician will run.

The permit. A hardwired charger or a new receptacle is electrical work that most jurisdictions permit and inspect. For a property you rent out, the paperwork is also your record that the install was done properly. Our permits guide walks through the process.

Placement and reach.Put the charger where a guest’s car will actually park, and make sure the cable reaches the charge port with the car nosed in either direction. An extension cord is never the fix for a cable that falls short, and our extension cord guide explains why. If the best spot is outside, our garage or outside guide covers the ratings that matter.

The instructions.A laminated card by the charger — how to start a session, where the adapter lives, which setting not to touch — heads off most of the messages you would otherwise get at eleven at night.

The cost. Energy per session times your electricity rate is what each charge costs you. Our cost-to-charge guide has the arithmetic and a calculator for your own rate.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best EV charger for an Airbnb?

A Level 2 charger with a J1772 connector, some form of access control and per-session energy figures. On published specs, the WOLFBOX E48 covers all three on the unit itself: RFID-card or app start, a front screen that shows energy used, and adjustable current from 16 to 48 amps. If you need a plug-in rather than a hardwired charger, the Leviton EV40P lists optional RFID and OCPP support on a NEMA 14-50 plug.

Should a rental host buy a Tesla charger or a J1772 charger?

A J1772 charger, in almost every case. It fits every non-Tesla EV sold in North America directly, and a Tesla with a J1772-to-Tesla adapter — which a host can leave beside the charger. A native Tesla (NACS) charger would leave every non-Tesla guest needing an adapter they are much less likely to have.

How do I stop people using my guest charger without permission?

Choose a charger with access control, or put it somewhere only guests can reach. WOLFBOX publishes RFID-card or app start for the E48, Leviton lists optional RFID for the EV40P, and Emporia publishes Invite2Charge, an app-based multi-user access feature. Grizzl-E publishes remote app control but no RFID or multi-user access for the Classic Connect, so it suits a garage or gated pad better than an open driveway.

How much does it cost a host when a guest charges an EV?

Energy delivered times your electricity rate. A charger that reports energy per session makes this exact rather than guessed; the Emporia's app and the WOLFBOX's front screen both show it. Our cost-to-charge guide has a calculator for your own rate.

Does a guest EV charger need an electrician?

A hardwired charger does, and so does a new 240-volt receptacle. A plug-in charger can go on a correctly installed, dedicated NEMA 14-50 outlet that already exists — but have an electrician confirm that outlet can carry hours of continuous load before strangers start using it, because a worn or undersized receptacle is where problems start.

Sources

Keep reading