Plug & Range

Best EV Chargers for a Dryer Outlet (NEMA 14-30)

The dryer outlet in your garage or laundry room is already a 240-volt circuit. Used properly it is 24 amps of real Level 2 charging — and the charger you plug into it matters more than on almost any other outlet.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

In a lot of rented and older homes, the only 240-volt receptacle anywhere near the car is the one behind the dryer. If it is a four-prong NEMA 14-30, that is good news. It sits on a 30-amp circuit, and a 30-amp circuit can carry 24 amps of continuous EV charging — 5.76 kW, roughly 20 miles of range an hour at our standing 3.5 miles-per-kWh reference, or about 200 miles across a ten-hour night. For most people’s daily driving, that is plenty.

The trouble is that most plug-in Level 2 chargers are built for a different outlet. They ship with a NEMA 14-50 plug and a 40-amp maximum, so the usual shortcut is a plug adapter — and an adapter removes the one physical safeguard that stops a charger from asking a 30-amp circuit for 40 amps. So we ranked this page on four things, in this order: a native NEMA 14-30 plug, so the charger cannot draw more than the circuit allows; a safety listing that names the lab, not “UL-listed components”; a current you can turn below 24 amps for an old or unverified circuit; and the warranty behind it.

Three chargers clear those bars. Two have a native 14-30 plug. The third gets there with its manufacturer’s own adapter and a current cap you set in hardware. All three had a live offer on Amazon the day this page went up. If your dryer outlet has only three prongs, it is a NEMA 10-30 — read the first section below before you buy anything.

How this is funded:we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, charging speed, electrical fit and value. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these chargers — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
EVDANCE 24A NEMA 14-30 Portable Charger (EV-ACS2405U)

EVDANCE 24A NEMA 14-30 Portable Charger (EV-ACS2405U)

The charger a dryer outlet actually wants. The plug on the end is a NEMA 14-30, so it goes straight into a four-prong dryer receptacle with no adapter, and its maximum is 24 amps — exactly what a 30-amp circuit allows — so there is no setting that can ask that circuit for more. Its manual carries an Intertek ETL mark to UL 2594, and it steps down to 10 amps for a circuit you are unsure of. What the low price costs you is a one-year warranty and documentation that disagrees with itself in places worth reading carefully.

Best overall — native 14-30 plug
$269.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 15, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
EVDANCE 24A NEMA 14-30 Portable Charger, NACS (EV-ACS2405T)

EVDANCE 24A NEMA 14-30 Portable Charger, NACS (EV-ACS2405T)

The same 24-amp, native NEMA 14-30 charger with a Tesla (NACS) connector on the end, which removes the adapter a Tesla owner would otherwise hang off a J1772 cord. The manual carries the same Intertek ETL mark and the same five current steps, and the handle has a button that opens a Tesla's charge-port door. It inherits the same one-year warranty and the same inconsistent paperwork, and it is the wrong buy for a household that also has a J1772 car.

Best for a Tesla
$251.99 · View on Amazon

$279.9910% off

Price as of September 15, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Grizzl-E Mini 40A Portable Charger (J1772)

Grizzl-E Mini 40A Portable Charger (J1772)

The only charger on our dryer-outlet page that can grow past one. It is a UL-certified 40-amp portable on a NEMA 14-50 plug, and United Chargers puts a NEMA 14-30P adapter in the box alongside 6-50P, TT-30P and 5-15P adapters — so it runs at 24 amps on your dryer outlet today and at 40 the day an electrician fits a 14-50. The catch is the one that matters most here: it ships set to 40 amps, United Chargers' current Mini manual says outright that the charger cannot detect a circuit's amperage limit, and turning it down before the first session is your job.

Best if a 14-50 is coming later
$479.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 15, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall — native 14-30 plug

EVDANCE 24A NEMA 14-30 Portable Charger (EV-ACS2405U)

The charger a dryer outlet actually wants. The plug on the end is a NEMA 14-30, so it goes straight into a four-prong dryer receptacle with no adapter, and its maximum is 24 amps — exactly what a 30-amp circuit allows — so there is no setting that can ask that circuit for more. Its manual carries an Intertek ETL mark to UL 2594, and it steps down to 10 amps for a circuit you are unsure of. What the low price costs you is a one-year warranty and documentation that disagrees with itself in places worth reading carefully.

Strengths

  • Native NEMA 14-30 plug with a 24-amp maximum — it cannot be set above what the circuit allows
  • ETL listed (Intertek control number 5034626) to UL 2594 and UL 2231-2, per its user manual
  • Five current steps (10/12/16/20/24A) for an older or unverified dryer circuit
  • On-unit display of current, voltage, kWh and session time, plus a 1-12 hour delay timer

Trade-offs

  • One-year warranty, the shortest of the picks on our dryer-outlet page
  • EVDANCE's own pages disagree on the circuit it needs (a "20A circuit" on the store page, a "32A breaker" in the manual) — a 14-30 is a 30-amp receptacle
  • The 25 ft is total length: about 21.9 ft from control box to car and 3.1 ft from box to outlet, per the Amazon listing
  • EVDANCE says the plug-and-socket joint is not waterproof, and the connector needs its cap when stored
Max output24 A
Power5.76 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallNEMA 14-30 plug (four-prong dryer outlet)
Cable length25 ft
Warranty1 year
WiFi + appNot published
CertificationsETL listed (Intertek 5034626) to UL 2594, UL 2231-2 and CSA C22.2

Our charging-speed math. At its 24-amp maximum and 240V it delivers 5.76 kW, roughly 20 miles of range an hour at our 3.5 miles-per-kWh reference, or about 200 miles across a ten-hour overnight window. Dropped to 16 amps for an older circuit, it is about 13 miles an hour.

Build note. From EVDANCE's user manual for model EV-ACS2405U: 24A maximum at 240V (5.76 kW); current chosen before plugging into the car by holding the A button and stepping through 10, 12, 16, 20 or 24A; a 1.77-inch display showing real-time current, voltage, power, kWh, session time and temperature; a 1-12 hour delayed start; a Type 4 enclosure; a -22°F to 122°F operating range; 25 ft total length; an SAE J1772 connector; certification to UL 2231-2, UL 2594 and CSA C22.2 under an Intertek ETL mark (control number 5034626); and a 12-month warranty. The documentation is inconsistent, and we record the manual over the store page: the evdances.com spec table for this same product lists a "6-32A" adjustable range, a "Dedicated 20A Circuit" and a "J1772/CCS" connector, and the site banner advertises a 3-year warranty that the product page, the manual and the Amazon listing all put at one year. The manual pictures Wi-Fi and Bluetooth icons and EVDANCE sells a Wi-Fi version on its own store, but the Amazon listing we link does not state an app, so Wi-Fi is recorded as not published.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on September 15, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best for a Tesla

EVDANCE 24A NEMA 14-30 Portable Charger, NACS (EV-ACS2405T)

The same 24-amp, native NEMA 14-30 charger with a Tesla (NACS) connector on the end, which removes the adapter a Tesla owner would otherwise hang off a J1772 cord. The manual carries the same Intertek ETL mark and the same five current steps, and the handle has a button that opens a Tesla's charge-port door. It inherits the same one-year warranty and the same inconsistent paperwork, and it is the wrong buy for a household that also has a J1772 car.

Strengths

  • Native NEMA 14-30 plug and native NACS connector — no adapter at either end
  • 24-amp maximum matches a 30-amp circuit, with 10/12/16/20/24A steps below it
  • ETL listed (Intertek control number 5034626) to UL 2594 and UL 2231-2, per its user manual
  • A button on the handle opens a Tesla's charge-port door

Trade-offs

  • One-year warranty
  • A J1772 car cannot use it without a NACS-to-J1772 adapter — the wrong pick for a mixed household
  • Same documentation conflicts as the J1772 version, including store-page copy that tells Tesla owners they need a J1772 adapter
  • The 25 ft is total length, about 21.9 ft of it between control box and car
Max output24 A
Power5.76 kW
ConnectorNACS
InstallNEMA 14-30 plug (four-prong dryer outlet)
Cable length25 ft
Warranty1 year
WiFi + appNot published
CertificationsETL listed (Intertek 5034626) to UL 2594, UL 2231-2 and CSA C22.2

Our charging-speed math. At 24A and 240V (5.76 kW) and our 3.5 miles-per-kWh reference, roughly 20 miles of range an hour into a Tesla or other NACS car, or about 200 miles across a ten-hour overnight window.

Build note. From EVDANCE's user manual for model EV-ACS2405T: 24A maximum at 240V (5.76 kW); an SAE J3400 / NACS connector; current chosen with the A button before plugging in, in steps of 10, 12, 16, 20 or 24A; a display of current, voltage, power, kWh, session time and temperature; a 1-12 hour delayed start; a Type 4 enclosure; a -22°F to 122°F operating range; 25 ft total length; certification to UL 2231-2, UL 2594 and CSA C22.2 under an Intertek ETL mark (control number 5034626); and a 12-month warranty. The manual cover describes it as a non-OEM replacement for Tesla. EVDANCE's product page for this SKU lists a "6-32A" range and a "Dedicated 20A Circuit", and its description tells buyers a Tesla needs a J1772 adapter — text evidently carried over from the J1772 version. We record the manual. The Amazon listing does not state an app, so Wi-Fi is recorded as not published.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on September 15, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best if a 14-50 is coming later

Grizzl-E Mini 40A Portable Charger (J1772)

The only charger on our dryer-outlet page that can grow past one. It is a UL-certified 40-amp portable on a NEMA 14-50 plug, and United Chargers puts a NEMA 14-30P adapter in the box alongside 6-50P, TT-30P and 5-15P adapters — so it runs at 24 amps on your dryer outlet today and at 40 the day an electrician fits a 14-50. The catch is the one that matters most here: it ships set to 40 amps, United Chargers' current Mini manual says outright that the charger cannot detect a circuit's amperage limit, and turning it down before the first session is your job.

Strengths

  • Three-year warranty and a UL certification from an established North American brand
  • The NEMA 14-30P adapter comes in the box from the manufacturer, not as a third-party add-on
  • A DIP switch inside can cap it at 24 amps in hardware, and no Wi-Fi setting can exceed that cap
  • Runs at a full 40 amps on a NEMA 14-50 if the outlet is upgraded later

Trade-offs

  • Ships set to 40 amps and cannot detect the circuit — on a 14-30 it must be turned down before first use
  • Setting the hardware cap means unplugging it and removing the front cover to reach the switch
  • By a wide margin the most expensive pick, for capacity a dryer outlet will never let you use
  • The adapter adds a plug-and-socket joint that a native 14-30 cord does not have
  • The Amazon J1772 listing describes browser-based Wi-Fi settings, not the Grizzl-E Connect app the newer Mini Connect uses
Max output40 A
Power9.6 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallNEMA 14-50 plug, with 14-30P, 6-50P, TT-30P and 5-15P adapters included
Cable length24 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL certified (United Chargers UL file E510712)

Our charging-speed math. On a NEMA 14-30 dryer outlet it must run at 24 amps: 24A at 240V is 5.76 kW, which at our 3.5 miles-per-kWh reference is roughly 20 miles of range an hour, or about 200 miles across a ten-hour overnight window. On a NEMA 14-50 at its full 40 amps (9.6 kW), it is roughly 34 miles an hour.

Build note. United Chargers publishes a 40A / 9.6 kW maximum on a 50A circuit with the output adjustable down to 7A at 240V (and 7-12A at 120V, which the charger detects automatically), a NEMA 14-50 input plug on an 18-inch lead, four NEMA 14-50R adapters in the box (5-15P, TT-30P, 14-30P and 6-50P), a UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor rating, a -22°F to 122°F operating range, a 6.9 x 3.1 x 2.4 in body weighing 9.8 lb, built-in GFCI, UL file E510712 and a 3-year warranty. Two lines decide how it belongs on a dryer outlet: both Mini manuals give the factory default maximum as 40A, and the current Mini Connect manual adds that the charger "can not detect the circuit amperage limit" (the automatic detection both manuals describe is of 120V versus 240V, not of the circuit's amperage). The limit can be lowered on the Wi-Fi settings page, or capped in hardware with a four-position DIP switch at 40, 32, 24 or 16A; the Wi-Fi setting can never exceed the DIP switch. On cable length, grizzl-e.com lists 25 ft for the current Mini Connect, while this Amazon J1772 listing and United Chargers' original Mini manual both say 24 ft, so we record the lower figure.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on September 15, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

First, check which dryer outlet you actually have

Two receptacles get called “the dryer outlet,” and they are not interchangeable. Pull the dryer out and look before you shop.

A NEMA 14-30 has four openings, one of them the rounded ground. It carries two hot conductors, a neutral and a separate equipment ground. This is the receptacle every charger on this page is built for.

A NEMA 10-30 has three openings and no ground at all.It is the older configuration, and it bonds neutral and ground together in a way the code has long since stopped allowing for new work. For a device that puts a conductive connector in your hand, outdoors, sometimes in the rain, a real equipment ground is not a technicality. Chargers with a 10-30 plug are sold — EVDANCE and Splitvolt both offer one — and we would not buy one. If your only 240-volt outlet is a 10-30, the right next step is an electrician, because the fix is a proper ground rather than a different plug. Our outlet types guide covers the receptacle family in more detail.

While you are there, find the breaker. It should be a 30-amp double-pole breaker feeding that receptacle and nothing else. A dryer runs in cycles; an EV draws its full current for hours without a pause, which is a harder job for a circuit that has spent years doing laundry. If the receptacle is scorched, loose, or warm after use, or you simply do not know how old the wiring is, have it looked at before the first overnight session. It is a short visit, and it is the cheapest insurance on this page.

What 24 amps actually gets you

EV charging is a continuous load under the National Electrical Code, which means a charger may use only 80% of its circuit. On a 30-amp circuit, that is 24 amps. At 240 volts, 24 amps is 5.76 kW.

  • 24 amps (a NEMA 14-30): about 20 miles of range an hour, roughly 200 miles overnight.
  • 16 amps (turned down for an older circuit): 3.84 kW, about 13 miles an hour, still over 130 miles across ten hours.
  • 40 amps (a NEMA 14-50, for comparison): 9.6 kW, about 34 miles an hour.
  • 12 amps (Level 1 on an ordinary 120V socket): 1.44 kW, about 5 miles an hour.

The number that matters is whether the car is full by morning, and at roughly 200 miles overnight a 14-30 clears that bar for far more drivers than a wall socket’s roughly 50 does. Divide the miles you drive in a day by the hours the car is parked at home; if the answer is under 20, a 14-30 does the whole job.

One more ceiling to check before paying for any amps: your car’s onboard charger. If it accepts less than 5.76 kW, the car sets the pace no matter what the charger offers. Our onboard charger limits guide shows how to find your own figure.

The four things we ranked on

1. A native 14-30 plug beats any adapter

This is the whole page. The shape of a plug is the last physical thing preventing a charger from drawing more current than the wiring behind the wall was sized for. A charger with a native 14-30 plug and a 24-amp maximum — both EVDANCEpicks — cannot be set above what that circuit allows. There is no setting to get wrong.

A 14-50 charger on a 14-50-to-14-30 adapter is the opposite arrangement. The adapter makes the plug fit and changes nothing about what the charger will try to draw. On a fixed-output 40-amp unit that is simply unsafe, and on an adjustable one it means your safety depends on a setting being right, every night, for years.

We make exactly one exception, and the Grizzl-E Miniis it. United Chargers designs the Mini to be used on adapters and puts a NEMA 14-30P adapter in the box, so you are not trusting an unknown third-party part. More importantly, the Mini has a four-position DIP switch inside that caps its maximum at 40, 32, 24 or 16 amps, and its Wi-Fi setting can never exceed that cap. Set the switch to 24 and the charger is limited in hardware, not in an app. What you must not do is plug it in as it arrives: United Chargers ships it set to 40 amps, and its current manual states that the charger cannot detect a circuit’s amperage limit. Setting the switch means unplugging it and removing the front cover; if an electrician is checking the outlet anyway, ask them to do it.

2. A safety listing that names the lab

Several of the 14-30 listings we checked on Amazon describe their safety only as a “UL-listed cable” or a “UL 94 V-0 housing.” Those describe a component or a plastic, not a charger that a laboratory tested. What you want is a nationally recognized lab — UL, Intertek’s ETL or CSA — listing the finished charger to UL 2594, the standard for EV supply equipment. Our guide to cheap charger safety explains how to tell the difference in a minute.

Both EVDANCE manuals carry the Intertek ETL mark with control number 5034626 and name UL 2594, UL 2231-2 and CSA C22.2. United Chargers lists the Mini under UL file E510712. We could not confirm the EVDANCE number in Intertek’s online directory, so we report it as the manufacturer prints it. When the charger arrives, check the label on the unit for the same mark.

3. A current you can turn below 24 amps

Twenty-four amps is the ceiling for a healthy 30-amp circuit, not a target. If the receptacle is old, the run to it is long, or you are not sure the breaker is dedicated, turning the charger down is free and costs you less than you would think — the drop from 24 to 16 amps is about seven miles of range an hour. Both EVDANCE chargers step through 10, 12, 16, 20 and 24 amps with a button on the control box, set before you plug into the car. The Grizzl-E Mini goes lower still, from 7 amps upward on its Wi-Fi settings page, beneath whatever the DIP switch allows.

4. The warranty, and whether the paperwork agrees with itself

This is where the ranking gets uncomfortable, and we would rather say so than smooth it over. EVDANCE backs both of its chargers for one year. Its documentation also contradicts itself: the store page lists a “6-32A” range and a “dedicated 20A circuit,” the manual says a “32A circuit breaker,” and the site banner advertises a three-year warranty that the product page, the manual and the Amazon listing all put at one. None of those numbers changes what the hardware is — a 24-amp charger on a 14-30 plug belongs on a 30-amp circuit, full stop — but sloppy paperwork is a fair thing to weigh.

The Grizzl-E Mini is the conservative answer: three years of warranty from a brand whose documentation does not contradict itself on current, circuit or warranty. It costs a great deal more for capacity a dryer outlet will never let you use, and it asks you to set the hardware cap yourself. We still rank a native plug above a better warranty, because a plug that fits only the right outlet protects you every night whether or not anyone remembered a setting.

Sharing the outlet with your dryer

Most households that charge from a dryer outlet still own a dryer. Swapping plugs every evening works, but it is exactly the kind of handling that loosens a receptacle over time, and a loose receptacle under hours of continuous current is how heat builds up. If you will be swapping daily, there are two better answers.

A splitter switch.These plug into the dryer receptacle and give you two outlets, switching power between the dryer and the charger automatically. Splitvolt, for example, sells a cETLus-certified 24-amp model for a NEMA 14-30 with an internal safety breaker at the 24-amp limit. It is a second device with its own one-year warranty and a price in the same range as a charger, so it is not on this page as a pick — our registry only carries chargers — but it is the right tool if the dryer and the car genuinely have to share. Both EVDANCE picks end in the NEMA 14-30 plug that model is built to accept; confirm fit with the maker before you pair anything else with one.

A dedicated circuit. If an electrician is already coming out, ask what a new 50-amp circuit with a NEMA 14-50 would cost. It frees the dryer, and it lifts the charging ceiling to 40 amps. Our installation cost guide covers what moves that number, and the panel capacity guide covers whether your panel has room for it.

What is never an answer is an extension cord between the dryer outlet and the car. Continuous current for hours is exactly the duty those joints fail under; our extension cord guide explains why the connections go before the wire does.

What we left off, and why

Splitvolt’s own 24-amp NEMA 14-30 charger.It is a native 14-30 charger from a real US company, adjustable up to exactly 24 amps, with a 26-foot cable. It is not a pick for one reason: Splitvolt’s own user guide lists its safety certifications as “In process,” and its product page names no listing. We will look again when it carries one.

A 25-amp NEMA 14-30 Tesla charger from MUSTART. Its Amazon listing, as we read it on the day this page went up, states up to 25 amps through a 14-30 plug. That is one amp more than the 24-amp continuous limit of the 30-amp circuit a 14-30 receptacle exists for. One amp sounds trivial. On a plug whose entire purpose is to match a circuit, it is the wrong direction.

Our usual 40-amp value picks. The ELEGRP 40Acan be stepped down to 24 amps, but ELEGRP’s own FAQ says the charger requires a NEMA 14-50 outlet, and it ships with a 14-50 plug. The Lectron 40A is fixed at 40 amps and should never go near a 30-amp circuit at Level 2. If you already own an adjustable 14-50 charger, the outlet guide sets out the two conditions for using it on a smaller circuit; if you are buying new for a dryer outlet, buy for the dryer outlet.

The long tail of generic 14-30 listings. Several are cheaper than anything above. The ones we checked either had no manufacturer spec page we could find, or described their safety only in component terms. That may be an honest gap in the listing rather than in the product, but a charger on a laundry-room circuit is the wrong place to give anyone the benefit of the doubt.

When to skip the dryer outlet altogether

If it is a 10-30. Covered above: get the ground sorted first, and charge from an ordinary socket in the meantime. Our Level 1 roundup covers the chargers for that.

If you drive very little. A plug-in hybrid or a short commute may never need 240 volts at all. Our do you need Level 2 guide has the test.

If you rent. The receptacle belongs to your landlord, and so does the circuit behind it. Ask before you plug a car into it, and see our apartment and renter picks for the conversation that usually follows.

If the house has a Tesla and a J1772 car. Buy the J1772 version and a J1772-to-Tesla adapter for the Tesla, rather than the NACS version, which the J1772 car cannot use without an adapter of its own. Our portable Tesla charger guide covers both routes.

Frequently asked questions

Can I charge an EV from a dryer outlet?

Yes, if it is a four-prong NEMA 14-30 on a dedicated, healthy 30-amp circuit and the charger is limited to 24 amps. That is real Level 2 charging — about 20 miles of range an hour at our 3.5 miles-per-kWh reference. The simplest safe setup is a charger with a native 14-30 plug and a 24-amp maximum, so the plug physically matches the circuit. If the outlet has three prongs, it is a NEMA 10-30 with no separate ground, and it needs an electrician before it needs a charger.

How fast does a NEMA 14-30 charge an electric car?

At the 24-amp maximum a 30-amp circuit allows, a charger delivers 5.76 kW at 240 volts. At our 3.5 miles-per-kWh reference that is roughly 20 miles of range an hour, or about 200 miles across a ten-hour overnight session — around four times a standard 120V wall socket. Your car's onboard charger can lower that if it accepts less than 5.76 kW.

Can I use a NEMA 14-50 charger with a 14-30 adapter?

Only if the charger's current can be limited to 24 amps and you do it before the first session — and never with a fixed-output 40-amp charger. An adapter makes the plug fit; it does nothing to stop the charger drawing 40 amps through a 30-amp circuit. The one arrangement we recommend is the Grizzl-E Mini, whose manufacturer supplies the 14-30P adapter and lets you cap the current at 24 amps with a hardware DIP switch. Otherwise, buy a charger with a native 14-30 plug.

Is a NEMA 10-30 dryer outlet safe for EV charging?

We would not charge from one. A 10-30 has three openings and no separate equipment ground — the neutral doubles as the ground, a configuration the code no longer allows for new work. Chargers with 10-30 plugs are sold, but a charger puts a conductive connector in your hand outdoors, and a proper ground matters. Have an electrician look at replacing it; the fix involves a ground conductor, not just a new receptacle.

Can my dryer and EV charger share the same outlet?

Not at the same time. You can swap plugs, but daily swapping wears a receptacle that then has to carry hours of continuous current. A certified splitter switch — Splitvolt sells a cETLus-certified 24-amp model for a NEMA 14-30 — switches the outlet between the dryer and the charger automatically. The other answer is a new dedicated circuit, which is also the moment to consider a NEMA 14-50 and 40 amps.

Do I need an electrician to charge from a dryer outlet?

Not to plug in, but it is worth one visit. A dryer circuit was built for intermittent cycles, and EV charging is hours of full draw every night. Have someone confirm the breaker is a dedicated 30-amp double-pole, the receptacle is tight and undamaged, and the wiring is sound. If the receptacle is a 10-30, or it is scorched, loose or warm after use, do not charge from it until it has been fixed.

Sources

Keep reading