Plug & Range

Best Plug-In EV Chargers

A plug-in charger is an appliance: it arrives, it plugs into a 240-volt socket, and it leaves with you. That convenience costs you exactly eight amps — and almost nothing else.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

The ELEGRP 40A is our top pick for most plug-in buyers, because it publishes five selectable current levels — 16, 20, 24, 32 and 40 amps — which means it fits whatever circuit is already behind your receptacle rather than demanding a new one. It is also the cheapest charger in our registry that still publishes every spec worth checking: 9.6 kW, a 25 ft cable, an IP67 body with a stated −21°F floor, ETL certification and a two-year warranty. There is no app. For a great many households that is the correct amount of charger.

The thing to understand before you shop is the ceiling. Every plug-in Level 2 charger on the US market stops at 40 amps, and it is not a cost-cutting decision — it is the receptacle. A NEMA 14-50 or 6-50 is a 50-amp socket, EV charging is a continuous load under NEC Article 625, and a continuous load is limited to 80% of the circuit it sits on. Eighty percent of 50 is 40. The 48-amp chargers you see advertised all need to be hardwired onto a 60-amp circuit, because there is no common household receptacle rated above 50 amps. So the real question is not “plug-in or 48 amps” — it is whether the six or seven extra miles of range an hour are worth an electrician, a conduit run and a charger bolted to the wall for good.

We ranked these on what matters once you have accepted 40 amps: whether the current is adjustableand in how many steps, cable length, the published enclosure rating and temperature range, what the warranty actually is, and whether the plug comes attached or you supply the outlet. Smart features are a tiebreaker here, not a criterion — two of the five have no radio at all and are better for it.

How this is funded:we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, charging speed, electrical fit and value. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these chargers — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
ELEGRP 40A Portable Level 2 Charger (ECP24-40A0-01)

ELEGRP 40A Portable Level 2 Charger (ECP24-40A0-01)

The cheapest charger in this registry that still publishes everything you would want to check: 9.6 kW, five current levels from 16 to 40 amps, an IP67 body with a stated -21°F floor, ETL certification and a 2-year warranty. There is no Wi-Fi and no app — you get a 1-to-12-hour delay timer on the unit instead — and for a lot of households that is the correct amount of charger.

Best overall: five current levels, lowest price
$209.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 10, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Grizzl-E Classic Connect

Grizzl-E Classic Connect

Grizzl-E retired the old no-app Classic and replaced it with this, and it kept the part that mattered: a metal case rated UL Type 4 for a spot with no shelter, published to keep operating down to -22F. What changed is that the electronics caught up — Wi-Fi, an app, and current you can dial from 40A down to 16A to fit a circuit you already have. It's the rugged pick that no longer asks you to give up scheduling to get it.

Best built, and the longest warranty option
$349.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 10, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Leviton EV Series Smart Home Charger (EV40P)

Leviton EV Series Smart Home Charger (EV40P)

The one charger here from a brand your electrician already stocks. Forty amps, ENERGY STAR, a NEMA 3R shell, a 25-foot cable and a certification list longer than anything else in this registry — plus the My Leviton app, which is the same app that runs Leviton's load centers and switches. You pay a real premium for that, and what it buys is a company that will still be answering the phone in ten years.

Best name-brand pick, with the plug pre-attached
$499.85 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 10, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Grizzl-E Mini 40A Portable Charger (J1772)

Grizzl-E Mini 40A Portable Charger (J1772)

The only charger on our dryer-outlet page that can grow past one. It is a UL-certified 40-amp portable on a NEMA 14-50 plug, and United Chargers puts a NEMA 14-30P adapter in the box alongside 6-50P, TT-30P and 5-15P adapters — so it runs at 24 amps on your dryer outlet today and at 40 the day an electrician fits a 14-50. The catch is the one that matters most here: it ships set to 40 amps, United Chargers' current Mini manual says outright that the charger cannot detect a circuit's amperage limit, and turning it down before the first session is your job.

Best if your outlet is not a 14-50
$479.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 10, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
Lectron 40A Portable Level 2 Charger

Lectron 40A Portable Level 2 Charger

The least-expensive honest route into real Level 2 charging. Plug it into a NEMA 14-50 outlet, pull a true 40A / 9.6 kW, and unplug it to throw in the trunk for a trip. The trade-offs for the price are no app and a shorter warranty — both fair at this cost.

Cheapest real 40 amps
$269.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 10, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall: five current levels, lowest price

ELEGRP 40A Portable Level 2 Charger (ECP24-40A0-01)

The cheapest charger in this registry that still publishes everything you would want to check: 9.6 kW, five current levels from 16 to 40 amps, an IP67 body with a stated -21°F floor, ETL certification and a 2-year warranty. There is no Wi-Fi and no app — you get a 1-to-12-hour delay timer on the unit instead — and for a lot of households that is the correct amount of charger.

Strengths

  • Five current levels (16/20/24/32/40A) — it fits whatever circuit you have
  • IP67 with a published -21°F to 121°F range, and a carrying case in the box
  • 2-year warranty and full ETL certification at the bottom of the price band

Trade-offs

  • No Wi-Fi, no app and no energy monitoring — just an on-unit delay timer
  • Not ENERGY STAR listed, so it may not qualify for some utility rebates
  • 40 amps is the plug-in ceiling; a 48-amp unit needs hardwiring
Max output40 A
Power9.6 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallNEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length25 ft
Warranty2 years
WiFi + appNo
CertificationsETL certified

Our charging-speed math. Forty amps at 240V is 9.6 kW, and at 3.5 miles per kWh that is roughly 34 miles of range an hour. ELEGRP's own figure is 37 miles an hour, which assumes a slightly more efficient car than our reference.

Build note. ELEGRP publishes 240V, up to 9.6 kW, five selectable current levels of 16, 20, 24, 32 and 40 amps, a NEMA 14-50 plug, a 25 ft cable measured plug-end to connector, a J1772 connector, ETL certification with its PBE overheat protection, an IP67 rating with a -21°F to 121°F range, a 1-12 hour delayed start, a carrying case and a 2-year warranty.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best built, and the longest warranty option

Grizzl-E Classic Connect

Grizzl-E retired the old no-app Classic and replaced it with this, and it kept the part that mattered: a metal case rated UL Type 4 for a spot with no shelter, published to keep operating down to -22F. What changed is that the electronics caught up — Wi-Fi, an app, and current you can dial from 40A down to 16A to fit a circuit you already have. It's the rugged pick that no longer asks you to give up scheduling to get it.

Strengths

  • Metal case rated UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor, published from -22F to 122F
  • Current adjusts from 40A down to 16A, so it fits the circuit you already have
  • 25 ft cable — among the longest here — on a simple plug-in NEMA 14-50 install

Trade-offs

  • 40A caps its charging speed below the 48A units
  • Scheduling now runs through Wi-Fi and an account — the old Classic's nothing-to-update simplicity is gone
  • Grizzl-E publishes UL/cUL only for this model, not the ENERGY STAR listing the discontinued Classic carried
Max output40 A
Power9.6 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallNEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL/cUL listed (file E510712)

Our charging-speed math. At 40A (9.6 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh it adds roughly 34 miles of range an hour — more than enough to refill a daily commute overnight. Dial it down to 16A and you're at about 13.

Build note. A metal case rated UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor and published for -30C to +50C (-22F to 122F), with 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and current adjustable from 40A down to 16A.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best name-brand pick, with the plug pre-attached

Leviton EV Series Smart Home Charger (EV40P)

The one charger here from a brand your electrician already stocks. Forty amps, ENERGY STAR, a NEMA 3R shell, a 25-foot cable and a certification list longer than anything else in this registry — plus the My Leviton app, which is the same app that runs Leviton's load centers and switches. You pay a real premium for that, and what it buys is a company that will still be answering the phone in ten years.

Strengths

  • ENERGY STAR certified, with an unusually deep listing set (UL 2594, 2231, 2251, 62, 991, 1998, 840)
  • NEMA 3R enclosure and a cable rated to -30°C, so an outdoor install is in spec
  • 25 ft cable and a pre-attached NEMA 14-50 input lead — a genuinely quick install

Trade-offs

  • The most expensive 40-amp charger we cover, by a wide margin
  • Leviton does not publish an adjustable-amperage range for this model
  • 2-year warranty is shorter than ChargePoint's 3
Max output40 A
Power9.6 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallNEMA 14-50 plug (pre-attached 3 ft input cable)
Cable length25 ft
Warranty2 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL 2594, UL 2231-1, UL 2231-2, UL 2251, UL 62, UL 991, UL 1998, UL 840, CSA C22.2 #280, NFPA 70 Article 625, OCPP 1.6, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. Forty amps at 240V is 9.6 kW, and at a middle-of-the-road 3.5 miles per kWh that is roughly 34 miles of range an hour — about 340 miles across a ten-hour overnight window.

Build note. Leviton publishes 208/240 VAC, 40A, 9.6 kW, a 25 ft (7.6 m) J1772 cable, a NEMA Type 3R water-resistant enclosure, an operating range of -30°C to 50°C, altitude to 6,500 ft, Wi-Fi 802.11 b/g/n with the My Leviton app, optional RFID control, OCPP 1.6 compliance and a 2-year limited warranty.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#4Best if your outlet is not a 14-50

Grizzl-E Mini 40A Portable Charger (J1772)

The only charger on our dryer-outlet page that can grow past one. It is a UL-certified 40-amp portable on a NEMA 14-50 plug, and United Chargers puts a NEMA 14-30P adapter in the box alongside 6-50P, TT-30P and 5-15P adapters — so it runs at 24 amps on your dryer outlet today and at 40 the day an electrician fits a 14-50. The catch is the one that matters most here: it ships set to 40 amps, United Chargers' current Mini manual says outright that the charger cannot detect a circuit's amperage limit, and turning it down before the first session is your job.

Strengths

  • Three-year warranty and a UL certification from an established North American brand
  • The NEMA 14-30P adapter comes in the box from the manufacturer, not as a third-party add-on
  • A DIP switch inside can cap it at 24 amps in hardware, and no Wi-Fi setting can exceed that cap
  • Runs at a full 40 amps on a NEMA 14-50 if the outlet is upgraded later

Trade-offs

  • Ships set to 40 amps and cannot detect the circuit — on a 14-30 it must be turned down before first use
  • Setting the hardware cap means unplugging it and removing the front cover to reach the switch
  • By a wide margin the most expensive pick, for capacity a dryer outlet will never let you use
  • The adapter adds a plug-and-socket joint that a native 14-30 cord does not have
  • The Amazon J1772 listing describes browser-based Wi-Fi settings, not the Grizzl-E Connect app the newer Mini Connect uses
Max output40 A
Power9.6 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallNEMA 14-50 plug, with 14-30P, 6-50P, TT-30P and 5-15P adapters included
Cable length24 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL certified (United Chargers UL file E510712)

Our charging-speed math. On a NEMA 14-30 dryer outlet it must run at 24 amps: 24A at 240V is 5.76 kW, which at our 3.5 miles-per-kWh reference is roughly 20 miles of range an hour, or about 200 miles across a ten-hour overnight window. On a NEMA 14-50 at its full 40 amps (9.6 kW), it is roughly 34 miles an hour.

Build note. United Chargers publishes a 40A / 9.6 kW maximum on a 50A circuit with the output adjustable down to 7A at 240V (and 7-12A at 120V, which the charger detects automatically), a NEMA 14-50 input plug on an 18-inch lead, four NEMA 14-50R adapters in the box (5-15P, TT-30P, 14-30P and 6-50P), a UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor rating, a -22°F to 122°F operating range, a 6.9 x 3.1 x 2.4 in body weighing 9.8 lb, built-in GFCI, UL file E510712 and a 3-year warranty. Two lines decide how it belongs on a dryer outlet: both Mini manuals give the factory default maximum as 40A, and the current Mini Connect manual adds that the charger "can not detect the circuit amperage limit" (the automatic detection both manuals describe is of 120V versus 240V, not of the circuit's amperage). The limit can be lowered on the Wi-Fi settings page, or capped in hardware with a four-position DIP switch at 40, 32, 24 or 16A; the Wi-Fi setting can never exceed the DIP switch. On cable length, grizzl-e.com lists 25 ft for the current Mini Connect, while this Amazon J1772 listing and United Chargers' original Mini manual both say 24 ft, so we record the lower figure.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on September 15, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#5Cheapest real 40 amps

Lectron 40A Portable Level 2 Charger

The least-expensive honest route into real Level 2 charging. Plug it into a NEMA 14-50 outlet, pull a true 40A / 9.6 kW, and unplug it to throw in the trunk for a trip. The trade-offs for the price are no app and a shorter warranty — both fair at this cost.

Strengths

  • A real 40A / 9.6 kW at a budget price
  • Plug-in and portable — no hardwiring, and it travels
  • ETL listed to the UL 2594 / UL 2231 safety standards

Trade-offs

  • No Wi-Fi or app on the base model — the smart version is a separate SKU
  • Shorter 16 ft cable and a 2-year warranty
  • The brand doesn't publish an outdoor/IP enclosure rating
Max output40 A
Power9.6 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallNEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length16 ft
Warranty2 years
WiFi + appNo
CertificationsETL listed (UL 2594 / UL 2231)

Our charging-speed math. At 40A (9.6 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh it adds roughly 34 miles of range an hour.

Build note. A portable plug-in unit — no hardwiring — and the base model carries no Wi-Fi or app.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

Why plug-in tops out at 40 amps

This is the one number that explains the whole category, so it is worth doing slowly.

NEC Article 625 classifies EV charging as a continuous load— three hours or more of uninterrupted current. Continuous loads are restricted to 80% of their circuit’s rating, or equivalently the circuit is sized at 125% of the load. ChargePoint states the same rule in its own Home Flex datasheet, with its own worked example: a 50-amp breaker for 40-amp output.

The largest receptacle in general household use is the 50-amp NEMA 14-50 (the range and RV socket) or its four-wire-free cousin the NEMA 6-50. Eighty percent of 50 amps is 40 amps, and that is where every plug-in charger stops. To get 48 amps you need a 60-amp circuit, and a 60-amp receptacle is not something your electrician will fit in a garage — so 48-amp chargers are hardwired. Our hardwired vs plug-in comparison works through the rest of that trade, and our hardwired roundup covers the other side of the fence.

In practice the gap is smaller than the spec sheets suggest. Forty amps at 240 volts is 9.6 kW, which at our reference 3.5 miles per kWh is roughly 34 miles of range an hour, or about 340 miles across a ten-hour night. Forty-eight amps is 11.5 kW, or about 40 miles an hour. If your car does not need 340 miles put back between dinner and breakfast, the eight amps buy you nothing you will ever notice.

What actually separates these five

Whether the current adjusts, and in how many steps. This is the single most useful spec on a plug-in charger, because a 14-50 receptacle in an older house is not guaranteed to be on a 50-amp breaker. Somebody may have re-used a 40-amp circuit, in which case your limit is 32 amps and a fixed-40 charger is simply the wrong product. The ELEGRP publishes five levels on the unit. Grizzl-E publishes “40A – 16A” for the Classic Connect and a hardware DIP switch (40/32/24/16 A) for the Mini. The Leviton EV40P publishes no adjustable range at all — it is specified as a fixed 40-amp unit — and nor does the Lectron 40A. That is not disqualifying, but it means both need a genuine 50-amp circuit and cannot be fitted to anything smaller. Our amp-setting guide covers how to read the number off your own breaker.

Cable length, honestly stated. The published figures here span 16 ft to 25 ft, and that is a bigger practical difference than any amperage question on this page. The ELEGRP, the Grizzl-E Classic Connect and the Leviton all publish 25 ft. The Grizzl-E Mini is published at 25 ft on United Chargers’ own page and 24 ft on the Amazon listing we link, so we record the lower figure. The Lectron 40A is 16 ft, which is fine beside the car and not fine across a garage. Our long-cable roundup is the page to read if reach is your constraint.

The enclosure, and whether a temperature range is published at all. Grizzl-E publishes UL Type 4 and −22°F to 122°F for both the Classic Connect and the Mini. ELEGRP publishes IP67 for the station with an IP54 connector and a −21°F to 121°F range. Leviton publishes a NEMA Type 3R enclosure and −30 °C to 50 °C. Lectron publishes noenclosure rating and no temperature range for the 40A portable — a blank field, which is itself a finding. If the charger will hang outside, read the outdoor roundup before this one.

Whether the plug comes attached. A small thing that saves an afternoon. The Leviton EV40P ships with a pre-attached 3 ft input lead terminating in a NEMA 14-50P, so if the receptacle exists the install is hanging the bracket and pushing the plug in. The others are plug-ended too, but the Leviton is the one whose spec sheet makes a point of it.

What we deliberately left off

The ChargePoint Home Flex is the obvious omission, and it is an omission on a technicality worth stating: ChargePoint sells both a hardwired and a plug-in NEMA 14-50 build of the same charger, and the Amazon listing our buy link resolves to is the hardwired one. Its datasheet publishes 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 and 50-amp steps, which is the best adjustable range of anything we cover, so if you want the ChargePoint as a plug-in charger, buy the 14-50 SKU deliberately rather than assuming the listing you land on is the right one.

The Emporia Level 2 is also a plug-in-or-hardwired charger and a frequent top pick elsewhere on this site, but as of the date on this page its Amazon listing shows no buyable offer, so we are not ranking it here. The WOLFBOX E48, EVIQO 48A, Lectron NEXUS and Autel MaxiCharger are all hardwired-only by design and belong on the other list.

The verdict

If you have a 14-50 receptacle and you do not know for certain what breaker is behind it, buy the ELEGRP. Five current levels means you can set it to match whatever your electrician finds, the 25 ft cable reaches, the IP67 body and published cold floor mean the garage wall is in spec, and it is the cheapest honest 40 amps we can point at. The price of that is no app and no energy data — you get a 1-to-12-hour delay timer on the unit instead, which is most of what an app is used for anyway.

If you want the charger to outlive the car, buy the Grizzl-E Classic Connect. A cast case under UL file E510712, a 25 ft cable, a published −22°F floor, an adjustable 40-to-16-amp range and a warranty you can buy as three years or five. It also has Wi-Fi and the Grizzl-E Connect app, which the Mini shares. It is the pick for an exposed wall and a long ownership.

And if the outlet in your garage is not a 14-50, buy the Grizzl-E Mini. It is the only charger here whose manufacturer supplies the adapters — 5-15P, TT-30P, 14-30P and 6-50P, all under the charger’s own UL file — with a hardware DIP switch to cap the current where the smaller circuits require. Read the adapter guide first, because the manual is explicit that the charger cannot detect what circuit it is plugged into. That setting is your job, not its.

Frequently asked questions

Is a plug-in EV charger as good as a hardwired one?

For charging speed, almost. A plug-in charger is limited to 40 amps (9.6 kW, roughly 34 miles of range an hour at 3.5 mi/kWh) because a 50-amp receptacle allows 80% of its rating for a continuous load; a hardwired 48-amp charger on a 60-amp circuit gives you about 40 miles an hour. The real differences are elsewhere: a plug-in unit is an appliance you can unplug and take with you, and a hardwired unit is a fixture. If you rent, or you expect to move, that is a much bigger consideration than eight amps.

Why do plug-in EV chargers stop at 40 amps?

Because of the receptacle, not the charger. The largest receptacle in normal household use is a 50-amp NEMA 14-50 or 6-50, NEC Article 625 treats EV charging as a continuous load, and continuous loads are limited to 80% of the circuit rating — 80% of 50 amps is 40 amps. There is no common 60-amp household receptacle, so a 48-amp charger has to be hardwired. Any listing advertising a 48-amp plug-in charger is describing something that cannot be installed to code on a standard socket.

Do I need an electrician to install a plug-in EV charger?

Only if the receptacle does not already exist. If you have a 240-volt NEMA 14-50 or 6-50 on a dedicated circuit, installing a plug-in charger is hanging a bracket and pushing a plug in. If you do not, fitting that receptacle is exactly as much electrical work as hardwiring a charger would have been — a dedicated breaker, a cable run and usually a permit. Our installation-cost guide covers what that is likely to cost, and the permit guide covers the paperwork.

Can I plug an EV charger into a dryer outlet?

If it is a four-prong NEMA 14-30, yes — at 24 amps, which is 80% of a 30-amp circuit, and that is a real Level 2 charge of roughly 20 miles of range an hour. Our NEMA 14-30 roundup covers the chargers built for it. If it is a three-prong NEMA 10-30, we would not: that receptacle has no separate equipment grounding conductor, and our NEMA 10-30 guide explains why that matters more for an EV charger than for a dryer.

Does a plug-in EV charger need a GFCI breaker?

Ask your electrician and your local inspector rather than us — GFCI requirements for EVSE receptacles are jurisdictional and the relevant NEC language has been revised more than once. What we can tell you is that an EV charger carries its own ground-fault protection built in, certified under UL 2231-2, which is why an upstream GFCI breaker is a common source of nuisance trips rather than a second layer of safety. Our ground-fault guide explains how the two interact.

Which plug-in charger has the longest cable?

Among our picks, three publish 25 ft: the ELEGRP 40A, the Grizzl-E Classic Connect and the Leviton EV40P. The Grizzl-E Mini is published at 25 ft by United Chargers and 24 ft on the Amazon listing we link, and we record the lower figure. The Lectron 40A is the short one at 16 ft. Measure the route from the receptacle to where the charge port will actually sit — around the car, not through it — before you decide, because this is the spec people regret.

Can I use a plug-in charger outdoors?

Three of our five picks publish a rating that says yes: Grizzl-E's UL Type 4 with a −22°F to 122°F range on both the Classic Connect and the Mini, ELEGRP's IP67 station (IP54 connector) with −21°F to 121°F, and Leviton's NEMA Type 3R with −30 °C to 50 °C. Lectron publishes no enclosure rating and no temperature range for the 40A portable, so we do not treat it as outdoor-rated. Note that the receptacle also needs an outdoor-rated enclosure, which is a separate purchase.

Sources

  • ELEGRP — 40 A Level 2 EV Charger (NEMA 14-50) product page — Manufacturer page, fetched 2026-10-05: a NEMA 14-50 plug delivering up to 9.6 kW with “5 adjustable current levels (16/20/24/32/40A) to match your home capacity”, a 25 ft cable, a 1-12 hour delay timer, an IP67 charging station with an IP54 connector, a published range of -21 °F to 121 °F, ETL certification with ELEGRP's PBE overheat protection, a carrying case, and “up to a 2-year warranty”. The page states Tesla vehicles are compatible “using a NACS adapter (sold separately)”, and its own comparison table lists a separate 16 A sibling model on NEMA 6-20 (240 V) / NEMA 5-15 or 5-20 (120 V) plugs — the 32 A and 40 A models are both NEMA 14-50 only. ELEGRP's marketing figure is “up to 37 miles/h”, which assumes a more efficient car than our 3.5 mi/kWh reference (accessed October 5, 2026)
  • United Chargers — Grizzl-E Classic Connect product page — Manufacturer page, fetched 2026-10-05: a 40 A plug-in Level 2 EVSE, “Max power 40A 10kW”, a NEMA 14-50 plug, adjustable current stated as “40A - 16A”, a 25 ft (7.6 m) output cable, UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor protection, certification “UL/cUL E510712”, Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz) with the Grizzl-E Connect mobile application, an operating temperature of -30 °C to +50 °C (-22 °F to 122 °F) and a 10.25 x 6.25 x 3.75 in enclosure. Available with a J1772 or a NACS output cable, and the warranty is a purchase option on the page — 3 year or 5 year. Listed at $349.99 direct on the date fetched. The page also advertises Demand/Response utility-program participation through the app (accessed October 5, 2026)
  • United Chargers — Grizzl-E Mini product page — Manufacturer page (now listing the Mini Connect): up to 40 A / 9.6 kW, adjustable 7-40 A, NEMA 14-50 plug with four adapters included, Type 4 indoor/outdoor rating, -30 C to +50 C (-22 F to 122 F) operating range, 6.9 x 3.1 x 2.4 in enclosure, UL E510712, Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz) with the Grizzl-E Connect mobile app, 3-year default warranty, made in Canada; lists a 25 ft output cable where the Amazon J1772 listing states 24 ft (accessed September 20, 2026)
  • United Chargers — Grizzl-E Mini / Mini Connect User Manual and Installation Guide (Rev. 2.0, April 30, 2026) — Manufacturer manual: ships four NEMA 14-50R adapters (5-15P, TT-30P, 14-30P, 6-50P); the factory default maximum current is 40A; the Wi-Fi current slider runs from 7A up to the DIP switch setting, the DIP switch sets 40, 32, 24 or 16A, and "the charger can not detect the circuit amperage limit"; only 80% of the circuit rating may be used (accessed September 15, 2026)
  • Leviton — EV40P Level 2 smart charger product page — Manufacturer page, fetched 2026-10-04: 40 A, 9.6 kW, a 25 ft (7.6 m) cable, a NEMA Type 3R enclosure, an operating range of -30 °C to 50 °C, UL 2594 / 2231-1 / 2231-2 / 2251 / 62 / 991 / 1998 and OCPP 1.6 compliance, and a 2-year limited warranty. Recorded for a negative finding as much as a positive one: the page states NO load management, load shedding, load balancing or circuit-sharing capability, and publishes no adjustable amperage range — it is specified as a fixed 40-amp unit (accessed October 4, 2026)
  • ChargePoint — Home Flex datasheet — Manufacturer datasheet: output adjustable in the app to 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 or 50 A (up to 12 kW); the dedicated dual-pole breaker must be rated for 125% of the maximum load (its example: a 50 A breaker for 40 A output) (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • NFPA — Using the Latest NEC for EV Charger Installations — NFPA on NEC (NFPA 70) Article 625: EV charging is a continuous load, so circuits are sized to 125% of load (the 80% rule) (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • UL Solutions — EV Charging Infrastructure Services — UL on EVSE safety certification: ANSI/UL 2594 is the Standard for Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • FuelEconomy.gov — Electric Vehicles: Learn More About the Label — DOE/EPA on EV efficiency: kWh per 100 miles and MPGe, accounting for AC charging losses (accessed July 19, 2026)

Keep reading