Plug & Range

Best EV Chargers for a 100-Amp Panel

A full panel is the reason most home charging plans stall. It is almost never a reason to buy a slower charger — only an adjustable one.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

The conversation goes the same way every time. You pick a charger, an electrician looks at the panel, and the answer comes back as a service upgrade quote with a comma in it. At that point most people either give up on Level 2 or start shopping for a smaller charger, and both of those are the wrong move.

A 100-amp service does not decide which charger you buy. It decides what current that charger is set to. Most modern Level 2 units can be commissioned at a lower amperage than their headline number — a 48-amp charger dialed to 24 amps is an entirely legitimate 24-amp charger, on a 30-amp circuit, and it can be turned back up the day your panel changes. The catch is that brands treat this as a footnote rather than a feature, so the spec is buried, inconsistently named, and on a few units simply not published at all.

That is what we ranked on. Every pick below publishes an adjustable current range we could read off the manufacturer’s own spec sheet, or manages household load dynamically so the panel is never the limit in the first place. All five were live and buyable on Amazon on the day this page went up. Where a charger we like does notpublish a range — including one of our usual value picks — we say so rather than assume it has one.

How this is funded:we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, charging speed, electrical fit and value. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these chargers — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
ChargePoint Home Flex

ChargePoint Home Flex

If you'd rather buy a charger once and be done, this is the safe call. You set the current in the app anywhere from 16 to 50 amps, so it fits whatever your panel can spare today and still has room to grow if you upgrade the circuit later. The app is the most polished of the bunch and the warranty is long.

Best overall — widest published range
$528.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 6, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
WOLFBOX E48 Level 2 Charger, 48A

WOLFBOX E48 Level 2 Charger, 48A

The 48-amp WOLFBOX you can actually buy, and the more forthcoming of the two: unlike the WE48 it replaces, the E-series spec table publishes 11.5 kW, the five current steps, the enclosure rating, the Wi-Fi band and a 36-month EV-charger warranty. You also get a 4.3-inch screen on the unit itself, which reports voltage, temperature and session totals without reaching for the app. The one number still missing is an operating-temperature range, and the one claim we could not confirm is ENERGY STAR.

Best value with published current steps
$389.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 6, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Emporia Pro with PowerSmart

Emporia Pro with PowerSmart

The answer to a full electrical panel. It's the same 48-amp, ENERGY STAR hardware as Emporia's standard charger, with PowerSmart load management added: paired with Emporia's own energy monitor, it watches what the rest of the house is drawing and dials the charger back instead of tripping the main. If an electrician has told you a charger means a service upgrade, this is the unit that can make that quote go away.

Best when nothing is left to spare
$599.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 6, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Grizzl-E Classic Connect

Grizzl-E Classic Connect

Grizzl-E retired the old no-app Classic and replaced it with this, and it kept the part that mattered: a metal case rated UL Type 4 for a spot with no shelter, published to keep operating down to -22F. What changed is that the electronics caught up — Wi-Fi, an app, and current you can dial from 40A down to 16A to fit a circuit you already have. It's the rugged pick that no longer asks you to give up scheduling to get it.

Best plug-in you can dial down
$349.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 6, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
ELEGRP 40A Portable Level 2 Charger (ECP24-40A0-01)

ELEGRP 40A Portable Level 2 Charger (ECP24-40A0-01)

The cheapest charger in this registry that still publishes everything you would want to check: 9.6 kW, five current levels from 16 to 40 amps, an IP67 body with a stated -21°F floor, ETL certification and a 2-year warranty. There is no Wi-Fi and no app — you get a 1-to-12-hour delay timer on the unit instead — and for a lot of households that is the correct amount of charger.

Best with no electrician at all
$209.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 6, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall — widest published range

ChargePoint Home Flex

If you'd rather buy a charger once and be done, this is the safe call. You set the current in the app anywhere from 16 to 50 amps, so it fits whatever your panel can spare today and still has room to grow if you upgrade the circuit later. The app is the most polished of the bunch and the warranty is long.

Strengths

  • Adjustable 16-50A fits a modest circuit now and a bigger one later
  • The most complete app here: scheduling, reminders and usage history
  • 3-year warranty and a generous 23 ft cable

Trade-offs

  • You pay a brand premium over value 48A units
  • Using the full 50A needs a 60A circuit most older panels can't spare
Max output50 A
Power12 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired (a plug-in NEMA 14-50 SKU is also sold)
Cable length23 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL/cUL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. Run it at the full 50 amps (about 12 kW) and, at a middle-of-the-road 3.5 miles per kWh, it puts back roughly 42 miles of range an hour. Turn it down to 40A to live on a 50A circuit and you're at about 34.

Build note. The headline feature is app-adjustable amperage — anywhere from 16A up to 50A, in software.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best value with published current steps

WOLFBOX E48 Level 2 Charger, 48A

The 48-amp WOLFBOX you can actually buy, and the more forthcoming of the two: unlike the WE48 it replaces, the E-series spec table publishes 11.5 kW, the five current steps, the enclosure rating, the Wi-Fi band and a 36-month EV-charger warranty. You also get a 4.3-inch screen on the unit itself, which reports voltage, temperature and session totals without reaching for the app. The one number still missing is an operating-temperature range, and the one claim we could not confirm is ENERGY STAR.

Strengths

  • Publishes what the WE48 did not: 11.5 kW, five current steps from 16 to 48 amps, and a warranty term
  • 4.3-inch LCD on the unit reports voltage, temperature and session totals with no app open
  • IP66 / NEMA 4 housing, 25 ft cable, OTA firmware updates, RFID card and plug-and-charge

Trade-offs

  • WOLFBOX's spec table claims ENERGY STAR, but the ENERGY STAR certified-EVSE database lists only the E40 and E50 — not this 48-amp configuration
  • Its 36-month warranty is published as the wolfbox.com default; WOLFBOX's own policy says coverage on other platforms may vary, so confirm the term with the Amazon seller
  • Still no operating-temperature range, which is the spec that decides a cold-climate install
  • Hardwired only on a 60-amp circuit, so it needs an electrician and stays with the house
Max output48 A
Power11.5 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsCSA certified, FCC, stated to meet UL 2594 (WOLFBOX also prints ENERGY STAR, but no 48A model is on the ENERGY STAR certified list)

Our charging-speed math. WOLFBOX publishes up to 11.5 kW, and 48 amps at 240V is about 11.5 kW, so the arithmetic agrees for once: at our 3.5 miles-per-kWh reference that is roughly 40 miles of range an hour, or about 400 miles across a ten-hour overnight window. WOLFBOX's Amazon listing claims 46 miles an hour, which assumes a more efficient car than our reference — plan around 40.

Build note. WOLFBOX publishes up to 11.5 kW at 200-240 V AC, current output selectable at 16, 24, 32, 40 and 48 amps, a 60A-or-greater circuit breaker, hardwired connection with a 23-inch input cord, a J1772 connector on a 25-foot cable, an IP66 / NEMA 4 protection rating, a 12.68 x 7.46 x 4.76 in wall-mount body, 2.4 GHz 802.11 b/g/n Wi-Fi with over-the-air firmware updates, a 4.3-inch LCD showing charge rate, time, voltage and energy, RFID card or app start, Alexa and Google Assistant control, and a 36-month manufacturer warranty for EV chargers. One inconsistency worth flagging: the Amazon bullet copy says "NEMA 4X", while both the Amazon title and WOLFBOX's own spec table say NEMA 4 / IP66 for this 48-amp model — we record the spec table's figure.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on September 4, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best when nothing is left to spare

Emporia Pro with PowerSmart

The answer to a full electrical panel. It's the same 48-amp, ENERGY STAR hardware as Emporia's standard charger, with PowerSmart load management added: paired with Emporia's own energy monitor, it watches what the rest of the house is drawing and dials the charger back instead of tripping the main. If an electrician has told you a charger means a service upgrade, this is the unit that can make that quote go away.

Strengths

  • PowerSmart load management can avoid a panel or service upgrade
  • Full 48A, ENERGY STAR and a 25 ft cable, same as the standard model
  • The app adds peak-demand management on top of ordinary scheduling

Trade-offs

  • PowerSmart needs Emporia's Vue energy monitor — that's a second device to buy and install
  • You pay a clear premium over the standard Emporia for one feature
Max output48 A
Power11.5 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired (a NEMA 14-50 SKU is also sold)
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At the full 48A (11.5 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh, about 40 miles of range an hour — and PowerSmart will quietly reduce that when the rest of the house is drawing hard, which is the entire point of it.

Build note. Emporia publishes PowerSmart load management as dynamically adjusting charging speed to prevent overloading the panel; it requires the Emporia Vue energy monitor.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#4Best plug-in you can dial down

Grizzl-E Classic Connect

Grizzl-E retired the old no-app Classic and replaced it with this, and it kept the part that mattered: a metal case rated UL Type 4 for a spot with no shelter, published to keep operating down to -22F. What changed is that the electronics caught up — Wi-Fi, an app, and current you can dial from 40A down to 16A to fit a circuit you already have. It's the rugged pick that no longer asks you to give up scheduling to get it.

Strengths

  • Metal case rated UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor, published from -22F to 122F
  • Current adjusts from 40A down to 16A, so it fits the circuit you already have
  • 25 ft cable — among the longest here — on a simple plug-in NEMA 14-50 install

Trade-offs

  • 40A caps its charging speed below the 48A units
  • Scheduling now runs through Wi-Fi and an account — the old Classic's nothing-to-update simplicity is gone
  • Grizzl-E publishes UL/cUL only for this model, not the ENERGY STAR listing the discontinued Classic carried
Max output40 A
Power9.6 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallNEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL/cUL listed (file E510712)

Our charging-speed math. At 40A (9.6 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh it adds roughly 34 miles of range an hour — more than enough to refill a daily commute overnight. Dial it down to 16A and you're at about 13.

Build note. A metal case rated UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor and published for -30C to +50C (-22F to 122F), with 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and current adjustable from 40A down to 16A.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#5Best with no electrician at all

ELEGRP 40A Portable Level 2 Charger (ECP24-40A0-01)

The cheapest charger in this registry that still publishes everything you would want to check: 9.6 kW, five current levels from 16 to 40 amps, an IP67 body with a stated -21°F floor, ETL certification and a 2-year warranty. There is no Wi-Fi and no app — you get a 1-to-12-hour delay timer on the unit instead — and for a lot of households that is the correct amount of charger.

Strengths

  • Five current levels (16/20/24/32/40A) — it fits whatever circuit you have
  • IP67 with a published -21°F to 121°F range, and a carrying case in the box
  • 2-year warranty and full ETL certification at the bottom of the price band

Trade-offs

  • No Wi-Fi, no app and no energy monitoring — just an on-unit delay timer
  • Not ENERGY STAR listed, so it may not qualify for some utility rebates
  • 40 amps is the plug-in ceiling; a 48-amp unit needs hardwiring
Max output40 A
Power9.6 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallNEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length25 ft
Warranty2 years
WiFi + appNo
CertificationsETL certified

Our charging-speed math. Forty amps at 240V is 9.6 kW, and at 3.5 miles per kWh that is roughly 34 miles of range an hour. ELEGRP's own figure is 37 miles an hour, which assumes a slightly more efficient car than our reference.

Build note. ELEGRP publishes 240V, up to 9.6 kW, five selectable current levels of 16, 20, 24, 32 and 40 amps, a NEMA 14-50 plug, a 25 ft cable measured plug-end to connector, a J1772 connector, ETL certification with its PBE overheat protection, an IP67 rating with a -21°F to 121°F range, a 1-12 hour delayed start, a carrying case and a 2-year warranty.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

What a 100-amp panel actually rules out

Less than you think. The number that matters is not your service rating on its own, it is the spare capacity left after everything else in the house is accounted for — and the rule that converts a charger’s amps into a demand on that capacity.

EV charging is treated as a continuous load under the National Electrical Code, because a car can pull the same current for hours without pausing. Continuous loads are sized at 125% of the draw, which is the same thing as saying a charger may only use 80% of its circuit. So:

  • 48 ampsneeds a 60-amp circuit — about 11.5 kW, or roughly 40 miles of range an hour at our standing reference of 3.5 miles per kWh.
  • 40 ampsneeds a 50-amp circuit — 9.6 kW, about 34 miles an hour. This is also the ceiling of any plug-in charger on a NEMA 14-50 outlet.
  • 32 ampsneeds a 40-amp circuit — 7.7 kW, about 27 miles an hour.
  • 24 ampsneeds a 30-amp circuit — 5.8 kW, about 20 miles an hour, or roughly 200 miles across a ten-hour overnight window.
  • 16 ampsneeds a 20-amp circuit — 3.8 kW, about 13 miles an hour, which is still more than double the fastest Level 1 setup.

Read that list again with a 100-amp service in mind and the shape of the problem changes. The step that is usually impossible is the 60-amp circuit at the top. The steps below it are frequently fine, and the drop from 48 amps to 32 costs you about thirteen miles of range per hour — which, across an overnight charge, is a difference most households will never notice. Our panel capacity guide walks through working out what yours can actually spare, and our how many amps do I need guide works the same question backward from your own mileage.

One thing this page cannot do for you: the spare-capacity figure has to come from a real load calculation on your real panel, done by someone who can see it. Two houses on identical 100-amp services can have completely different answers depending on whether the range, the dryer and the water heater are electric or gas. Treat the amperage you read here as the thing you ask your electrician about, not the thing you decide without them.

The four things we ranked on

1. A published adjustable range — not a vague “adjustable”

This is the whole page. A charger with a documented current range can be commissioned to whatever your panel allows today and turned up later if that ever changes, which makes it the only kind of purchase here that survives a service upgrade. The five picks publish theirs plainly: ChargePointgives 16–50A set in the app, WOLFBOX gives five fixed steps of 16, 24, 32, 40 and 48 amps, Grizzl-E goes from 40A down to 16A, and ELEGRP offers five levels of 16, 20, 24, 32 and 40 amps.

The distinction that matters is between a range and steps. A continuous range lets an electrician match the exact circuit they can give you. A fixed ladder means you take the nearest step below your limit, which occasionally leaves a couple of amps on the table. In practice that is a mile or two of range per hour, so we would not pay much for it — but it is worth knowing which kind you are buying before you assume any number between the endpoints is available.

2. Whether the charger can manage the load itself

Turning a charger down is a fixed decision: it draws that much whenever the car is plugged in, whether or not the dryer is running. Dynamic load management is the other approach — the charger watches what the rest of the house is drawing and backs off in real time, so it can be sized against a larger circuit than the static arithmetic would allow.

The Emporia Prois the pick here because Emporia publishes PowerSmart as doing exactly that. Be clear-eyed about the cost, though: PowerSmart needs Emporia’s own Vue energy monitor, which is a second device to buy and to have installed at the panel, and the Pro carries a clear premium over Emporia’s standard charger for the feature. That is two purchases and extra electrician time to solve a problem that turning a cheaper charger down solves for free. It earns its place when the load calculation says there is genuinely no room even for a 20 or 30-amp circuit, and not really before. Our load management guide works through all three approaches in order of cost.

3. Plug-in or hardwired, when the panel is the constraint

A tight panel pushes gently toward plug-in. A hardwired install means a new dedicated circuit either way, so you are paying an electrician regardless — but if a suitable 240V outlet already exists, a plug-in charger may need no panel work at all, which sidesteps the entire question. That is why two of the five picks here plug in rather than wire in.

The trade is a hard ceiling. A plug-in unit on a NEMA 14-50 outlet cannot exceed 40 amps, because 40 is 80% of that receptacle’s 50-amp circuit. If you were never going to get above 40 amps on this panel anyway — and on a 100-amp service you very likely were not — that ceiling costs you nothing you were going to use. Our hardwired versus plug-in comparison covers the full trade, and our outlet types guide explains which existing socket is which.

4. ENERGY STAR, because a rebate can outweigh the price gap

A tight panel is an expensive situation, so anything that claws money back matters more here than usual. Plenty of utility rebate programs name ENERGY STAR certification as an eligibility condition, and the rebate is often worth more than the difference between two chargers on this page. Of our picks, the ChargePoint and the Emporia Pro are certified. Grizzl-E publishes UL/cUL for the Classic Connect but not an ENERGY STAR listing, ELEGRP is ETL certified and not ENERGY STAR, and WOLFBOX prints ENERGY STAR on its spec table even though the ENERGY STAR certified-EVSE database lists only its E40 and E50 models — not the 48-amp configuration sold here. We record that as unconfirmed rather than as a yes. Check your own utility before deciding the premium is not worth paying; our rebates and tax credits guide covers what to look for.

The order to try things in, cheapest first

If an electrician has told you a charger means a service upgrade, work down this list before you accept that quote. Each step is cheaper than the one after it.

First, ask what circuit the panel can carry.Not “can I have a charger” — ask for the largest circuit the existing service supports after a load calculation. A 30 or 40-amp answer is common, and it is a perfectly good charger.

Second, buy an adjustable charger and set it to that. This costs nothing extra. Four of the five picks here do it, and you keep the headroom for later.

Third, look at what else is on the panel.Sometimes capacity is being held by something that no longer exists — an old electric range in a kitchen that went gas, a spa circuit for a hot tub that left with the previous owner. Freeing that up is an hour of labor, not a service upgrade.

Fourth, consider dynamic load management. Now the Emporia Pro plus the Vue monitor starts to make sense, because you are comparing it against a four-figure upgrade rather than against a cheaper charger.

Fifth, and only now, price the service upgrade. It is a real answer, it permanently fixes the problem, and if you are also planning a heat pump or an induction range it may be the right call on its own merits. Our installation cost guide covers what moves that number.

What we left out, and why

The standard Emporia Level 2.It is the charger we recommend more often than any other on this site, and it is not on this page. Emporia publishes it as running 48 amps hardwired or 40 amps on a NEMA 14-50 plug; it does not publish an adjustable range below that, and the entire premise of this page is a range we can read off a spec sheet. If you have a 50-amp circuit available, the standard Emporia at 40 amps is an excellent buy — see our 40-amp roundup. If you need to go below 40, buy something on this page instead.

The Wallbox Pulsar Plus.Wallbox publishes Power Boost load balancing, which is the same idea as PowerSmart and can sidestep an upgrade the same way. It is not a pick because it is hardwired-only and sits at the premium end of the price band, which makes it a harder recommendation than the Emporia Pro for the specific job this page is about — but if wall space is tight as well as panel space, our Wallbox Pulsar Plus review is worth reading before you decide.

The Leviton EV40P.A genuinely good charger from a brand your electrician already stocks, left off for one reason: Leviton does not publish an adjustable amperage range for this model. That is a finding rather than a failing — it simply makes it the wrong tool for a panel where the current setting is the entire decision.

Level 1 charging.If the load calculation comes back with genuinely nothing to spare, a 120V charger on an ordinary household outlet needs no circuit, no permit and no electrician. It is slow and we will not pretend otherwise, but it is the honest floor of this category rather than a failure — our Level 1 roundup covers it, and our do you need Level 2 guide is worth reading before you spend anything at all.

How much charger a 100-amp house actually needs

The arithmetic that ends most of these conversations is embarrassingly simple, and almost nobody does it before shopping. A charger only has to replace the miles you drove that day, in the hours the car sits at home. Divide your daily driving by the hours between plugging in and leaving, and you have the miles per hour you actually need. For a lot of households that number lands in the teens — which is inside what a 16 or 24-amp setting already delivers.

There is a second ceiling worth checking before you pay for amps, and it is not in your panel. Every EV has an onboard charger that caps how much AC power it will accept, and above that limit extra amps on the wall do nothing whatsoever. If your car tops out at 7.7 kW, a 48-amp charger and a 32-amp charger fill it at exactly the same speed. Our onboard charger limits guideshows how to find your own figure, and it is genuinely the first thing to check — it occasionally makes the whole panel problem disappear.

Finally, if you are charging overnight anyway, look at whether your utility offers a time-of-use rate. A slower charger running from midnight to six in the morning on an off-peak rate costs less to run than a faster one finishing at nine in the evening, which turns the constraint into a saving. Our time-of-use charging guide covers the trap in those rates as well as the upside.

Frequently asked questions

Can I install a Level 2 EV charger on a 100-amp panel?

Usually yes, at a reduced current. The service rating is not the deciding number — the spare capacity left after a load calculation is, and on a 100-amp service that often supports a 20, 30 or 40-amp circuit even when it cannot support the 60-amp circuit a 48-amp charger needs. Buy a charger that publishes an adjustable range, have it commissioned at whatever the calculation allows, and you have a real Level 2 install. A 24-amp setting still adds roughly 200 miles of range across a ten-hour overnight window.

What size EV charger fits a 100-amp service?

There is no single answer, because it depends on what else in the house is electric. A home with a gas range, gas dryer and gas water heater has far more headroom on the same 100-amp service than an all-electric one. What we can give you is the conversion: a charger may use only 80% of its circuit, so 16 amps needs a 20-amp circuit, 24 amps needs 30, 32 amps needs 40, 40 amps needs 50 and 48 amps needs 60. Ask your electrician for the largest circuit the panel supports, then buy a charger that can be set to it.

Is it better to turn a charger down or to buy a load-managing charger?

Turn it down first — it is free, and it is what four of the five picks on this page are here for. Dynamic load management is worth paying for when the load calculation says there is no room even for a modest dedicated circuit, because at that point you are comparing it against a service upgrade rather than against a cheaper charger. Do note that Emporia's PowerSmart requires the separate Vue energy monitor, so it is two devices and a little more electrician time, not one purchase.

Will I lose much charging speed by dialing the charger down?

Less than the hourly numbers suggest, because what matters is the overnight total. At our 3.5 miles-per-kWh reference, 48 amps adds about 40 miles of range an hour and 32 amps adds about 27 — but across a ten-hour overnight charge that is roughly 400 miles versus 270, and almost nobody needs to replace either. Work out how far you actually drive in a day and how many hours the car is parked at home; for most households the lower setting finishes with hours to spare.

Do I still need an electrician if I buy a plug-in charger?

Only if the outlet does not already exist. A plug-in charger on an existing, correctly wired 240V outlet needs no panel work at all, which is why it is often the cheapest route around a tight panel. If the outlet has to be added, that is a new dedicated circuit and a permit in most jurisdictions, so you are back to the same load calculation and the same electrician. Never solve a reach problem with an extension cord — EV charging is a continuous load, and the connections rather than the wire are what fail.

Can I turn the charger back up later if I upgrade my panel?

That is exactly why we ranked on a published range. Every pick here except the load-managing Emporia Pro can be reset to a higher current — in the app on the ChargePoint, or on the unit itself on the WOLFBOX, Grizzl-E and ELEGRP — so the charger you buy for a 100-amp panel is still the right charger after a service upgrade. The circuit and breaker feeding it have to be upsized to match, which is electrician work, but the charger itself is not a throwaway purchase.

Sources

Keep reading