Plug & Range

Best EV Chargers Without Wi-Fi

No app, no account, no firmware update that breaks a working charger. These are the units that charge the moment you plug in — ranked on the specs that have to carry the load once the software is gone.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

Almost every charger sold today leads with its app. That is a shopping problem if what you want is the opposite: a box on the wall that delivers current when a car is plugged into it, with nothing to sign into, nothing to update, and no cloud service that can be discontinued by a company that has moved on. Searching for that is unexpectedly hard, because “no Wi-Fi” is almost never a selling point on a listing.

So here is the shortlist. Every pick below is a charger we can show a named third-party safety listing for — UL or ETL, with the standard numbered — because an unlisted charger is the one thing we will not recommend at any price. Beyond that we ranked on the four things that have to do the app’s job once there is no app: a published way to set the current so the charger can be matched to the circuit you actually have, an on-unit display or delay timer so you are not flying blind, a published enclosure rating, and a warranty term you can hold someone to.

One thing to settle before you read on: if your reason for skipping Wi-Fi is the electricity the radio uses, skip it for a better reason. We put real numbers on that below, and they are tiny. The good reasons are dependency and failure modes, not watts.

How this is funded:we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, charging speed, electrical fit and value. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these chargers — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
ELEGRP 40A Portable Level 2 Charger (ECP24-40A0-01)

ELEGRP 40A Portable Level 2 Charger (ECP24-40A0-01)

The cheapest charger in this registry that still publishes everything you would want to check: 9.6 kW, five current levels from 16 to 40 amps, an IP67 body with a stated -21°F floor, ETL certification and a 2-year warranty. There is no Wi-Fi and no app — you get a 1-to-12-hour delay timer on the unit instead — and for a lot of households that is the correct amount of charger.

Best overall with no app
$209.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 4, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Lectron Nexus J1772 48A (Hardwired)

Lectron Nexus J1772 48A (Hardwired)

The fastest charger we can find that has nothing to log into. It is a full 48 amps, ETL-listed to UL 2594, IP66 for an outside wall, and — unusually for a charger with no app — it is on the ENERGY STAR certified list under its own model number, which is the kind of proof a rebate administrator will actually accept. The price of that simplicity is real: no published way to dial the current down, so it wants a 60-amp circuit and nothing less, and no scheduling of its own, so your car has to do that part.

Best 48 amps without Wi-Fi
$429.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 4, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Lectron Nexus NACS (Tesla) Charger

Lectron Nexus NACS (Tesla) Charger

For a Tesla owner who doesn't want to babysit an adapter. The native NACS (J3400) connector goes straight into the car at a full 48 amps, with the safety listings you want to see. There's no app — but a Tesla schedules charging in the car anyway, so you're not really missing one.

Best for a Tesla or NACS car
$429.99 · View on Amazon

$459.997% off

Price as of October 4, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
EVDANCE 24A NEMA 14-30 Portable Charger (EV-ACS2405U)

EVDANCE 24A NEMA 14-30 Portable Charger (EV-ACS2405U)

The charger a dryer outlet actually wants. The plug on the end is a NEMA 14-30, so it goes straight into a four-prong dryer receptacle with no adapter, and its maximum is 24 amps — exactly what a 30-amp circuit allows — so there is no setting that can ask that circuit for more. Its manual carries an Intertek ETL mark to UL 2594, and it steps down to 10 amps for a circuit you are unsure of. What the low price costs you is a one-year warranty and documentation that disagrees with itself in places worth reading carefully.

Best for a dryer outlet
$242.99 · View on Amazon

$269.9910% off

Price as of October 4, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
Lectron Level 1 Charger, 15A

Lectron Level 1 Charger, 15A

The charger you buy when you can't install anything. It plugs into an ordinary 120V household outlet and pulls 15 amps — the top of what a standard circuit will give you — which makes it the fastest thing you can do with zero electrical work. It is genuinely slow next to a 240V unit, and we won't pretend otherwise. But for a plug-in hybrid, a short commute or a rented parking spot, slow-and-installed beats fast-and-impossible.

Best 120V way in
$159.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 4, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall with no app

ELEGRP 40A Portable Level 2 Charger (ECP24-40A0-01)

The cheapest charger in this registry that still publishes everything you would want to check: 9.6 kW, five current levels from 16 to 40 amps, an IP67 body with a stated -21°F floor, ETL certification and a 2-year warranty. There is no Wi-Fi and no app — you get a 1-to-12-hour delay timer on the unit instead — and for a lot of households that is the correct amount of charger.

Strengths

  • Five current levels (16/20/24/32/40A) — it fits whatever circuit you have
  • IP67 with a published -21°F to 121°F range, and a carrying case in the box
  • 2-year warranty and full ETL certification at the bottom of the price band

Trade-offs

  • No Wi-Fi, no app and no energy monitoring — just an on-unit delay timer
  • Not ENERGY STAR listed, so it may not qualify for some utility rebates
  • 40 amps is the plug-in ceiling; a 48-amp unit needs hardwiring
Max output40 A
Power9.6 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallNEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length25 ft
Warranty2 years
WiFi + appNo
CertificationsETL certified

Our charging-speed math. Forty amps at 240V is 9.6 kW, and at 3.5 miles per kWh that is roughly 34 miles of range an hour. ELEGRP's own figure is 37 miles an hour, which assumes a slightly more efficient car than our reference.

Build note. ELEGRP publishes 240V, up to 9.6 kW, five selectable current levels of 16, 20, 24, 32 and 40 amps, a NEMA 14-50 plug, a 25 ft cable measured plug-end to connector, a J1772 connector, ETL certification with its PBE overheat protection, an IP67 rating with a -21°F to 121°F range, a 1-12 hour delayed start, a carrying case and a 2-year warranty.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best 48 amps without Wi-Fi

Lectron Nexus J1772 48A (Hardwired)

The fastest charger we can find that has nothing to log into. It is a full 48 amps, ETL-listed to UL 2594, IP66 for an outside wall, and — unusually for a charger with no app — it is on the ENERGY STAR certified list under its own model number, which is the kind of proof a rebate administrator will actually accept. The price of that simplicity is real: no published way to dial the current down, so it wants a 60-amp circuit and nothing less, and no scheduling of its own, so your car has to do that part.

Strengths

  • 48A / 11.5 kW with no Wi-Fi, no account and no app to keep working
  • ENERGY STAR certified under its own model number (LECHGNexusHWJ1772), listed with network capability "No"
  • ETL listed to UL 2594, UL 2231 and UL 2251, with an IP66 indoor/outdoor body
  • 23 ft cable, a wall-mount J-hook and a plug holder included, with a 3-year warranty

Trade-offs

  • Lectron publishes no adjustable current range for this model, so it needs a 60-amp circuit to be used at all
  • Hardwired only — a licensed electrician, and it stays with the house
  • No scheduling on the charger: off-peak charging has to be set in the car
  • No operating-temperature range published, which is the spec a cold-climate install turns on
Max output48 A
Power11.5 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired
Cable length23 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appNo
CertificationsETL listed to UL 2594, UL 2231 and UL 2251; FCC; ENERGY STAR (confirmed on the certifier's own list as model LECHGNexusHWJ1772)

Our charging-speed math. Forty-eight amps at 240V is about 11.5 kW, which at our 3.5 miles-per-kWh reference is roughly 40 miles of range an hour, or about 400 miles across a ten-hour overnight window. Lectron's own figure is 46 miles an hour, which assumes a more efficient car than our reference — plan around 40.

Build note. Lectron publishes up to 48 A at 240 V (11.5 kW), an SAE J1772 connector, a hardwired installation it says requires a professional, an IP66 rating for indoor and outdoor use, a 23 ft cable with a wall-mount J-hook and plug holder, UL 2594 / UL 2231 / UL 2251 certification under an ETL listing plus FCC and ENERGY STAR, and a 3-year warranty. Nothing on the page describes Wi-Fi, an app or an account, and the no-app build is a separately certified model: the ENERGY STAR certified AC-EVSE list carries LECHGNexusHWJ1772 with network capability "No" and a separate LECHGNexusHWJ1772-APP row with network capability "Yes". Two figures to note. The ENERGY STAR entry gives the output cord as 22 ft where Lectron and the Amazon listing both say 23 ft, and we record the manufacturer's figure that both of those agree on. And Lectron publishes neither an adjustable current range nor an operating-temperature range for this model, so neither is recorded here — the first of those is the reason it cannot be fitted to a circuit smaller than 60 amps.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on October 4, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best for a Tesla or NACS car

Lectron Nexus NACS (Tesla) Charger

For a Tesla owner who doesn't want to babysit an adapter. The native NACS (J3400) connector goes straight into the car at a full 48 amps, with the safety listings you want to see. There's no app — but a Tesla schedules charging in the car anyway, so you're not really missing one.

Strengths

  • Native NACS connector — no J1772-to-Tesla adapter to keep track of
  • Full 48A output and a weather-rated IP66 body
  • UL/ETL safety listings plus ENERGY STAR

Trade-offs

  • No Wi-Fi app — you schedule in the Tesla app instead
  • Best for Tesla/NACS cars; other EVs need a NACS-to-J1772 adapter
Max output48 A
Power11.5 kW
ConnectorNACS
InstallHardwired
Cable length23 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appNo
CertificationsUL 2594/2231/2251 (ETL listed), ENERGY STAR, FCC

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh, about 40 miles of range an hour into a Tesla.

Build note. A native NACS (J3400) connector plugs straight into a Tesla with no adapter; a holster is included.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#4Best for a dryer outlet

EVDANCE 24A NEMA 14-30 Portable Charger (EV-ACS2405U)

The charger a dryer outlet actually wants. The plug on the end is a NEMA 14-30, so it goes straight into a four-prong dryer receptacle with no adapter, and its maximum is 24 amps — exactly what a 30-amp circuit allows — so there is no setting that can ask that circuit for more. Its manual carries an Intertek ETL mark to UL 2594, and it steps down to 10 amps for a circuit you are unsure of. What the low price costs you is a one-year warranty and documentation that disagrees with itself in places worth reading carefully.

Strengths

  • Native NEMA 14-30 plug with a 24-amp maximum — it cannot be set above what the circuit allows
  • ETL listed (Intertek control number 5034626) to UL 2594 and UL 2231-2, per its user manual
  • Five current steps (10/12/16/20/24A) for an older or unverified dryer circuit
  • On-unit display of current, voltage, kWh and session time, plus a 1-12 hour delay timer

Trade-offs

  • One-year warranty, the shortest of the picks on our dryer-outlet page
  • EVDANCE's own pages disagree on the circuit it needs (a "20A circuit" on the store page, a "32A breaker" in the manual) — a 14-30 is a 30-amp receptacle
  • The 25 ft is total length: about 21.9 ft from control box to car and 3.1 ft from box to outlet, per the Amazon listing
  • EVDANCE says the plug-and-socket joint is not waterproof, and the connector needs its cap when stored
Max output24 A
Power5.76 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallNEMA 14-30 plug (four-prong dryer outlet)
Cable length25 ft
Warranty1 year
WiFi + appNot published
CertificationsETL listed (Intertek 5034626) to UL 2594, UL 2231-2 and CSA C22.2

Our charging-speed math. At its 24-amp maximum and 240V it delivers 5.76 kW, roughly 20 miles of range an hour at our 3.5 miles-per-kWh reference, or about 200 miles across a ten-hour overnight window. Dropped to 16 amps for an older circuit, it is about 13 miles an hour.

Build note. From EVDANCE's user manual for model EV-ACS2405U: 24A maximum at 240V (5.76 kW); current chosen before plugging into the car by holding the A button and stepping through 10, 12, 16, 20 or 24A; a 1.77-inch display showing real-time current, voltage, power, kWh, session time and temperature; a 1-12 hour delayed start; a Type 4 enclosure; a -22°F to 122°F operating range; 25 ft total length; an SAE J1772 connector; certification to UL 2231-2, UL 2594 and CSA C22.2 under an Intertek ETL mark (control number 5034626); and a 12-month warranty. The documentation is inconsistent, and we record the manual over the store page: the evdances.com spec table for this same product lists a "6-32A" adjustable range, a "Dedicated 20A Circuit" and a "J1772/CCS" connector, and the site banner advertises a 3-year warranty that the product page, the manual and the Amazon listing all put at one year. The manual pictures Wi-Fi and Bluetooth icons and EVDANCE sells a Wi-Fi version on its own store, but the Amazon listing we link does not state an app, so Wi-Fi is recorded as not published.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on September 15, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#5Best 120V way in

Lectron Level 1 Charger, 15A

The charger you buy when you can't install anything. It plugs into an ordinary 120V household outlet and pulls 15 amps — the top of what a standard circuit will give you — which makes it the fastest thing you can do with zero electrical work. It is genuinely slow next to a 240V unit, and we won't pretend otherwise. But for a plug-in hybrid, a short commute or a rented parking spot, slow-and-installed beats fast-and-impossible.

Strengths

  • Works from any standard 120V outlet — no electrician, no install
  • 15A is the practical ceiling for Level 1, so it's the fastest version of the slow option
  • IP65 weather resistance and a 16 ft cable at a budget price

Trade-offs

  • Level 1 is genuinely slow — plan in overnights, not hours
  • No app or scheduling on this version
  • Lectron doesn't publish a warranty term for it
Max output15 A
Power1.8 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallNEMA 5-15 plug (standard 120V outlet)
Cable length16 ft
WarrantyNot published
WiFi + appNo
CertificationsETL listed (UL 2594 / UL 2231)

Our charging-speed math. 15A at 120V is about 1.8 kW, so at 3.5 mi/kWh it adds roughly 6 miles of range an hour — call it 60-plus miles across a 10-hour overnight, before charging losses.

Build note. Lectron publishes 120V / 15A / 1.8 kW through a NEMA 5-15 plug, a 16 ft cable and an IP65-rated body with over-voltage, over-current and short-circuit protection.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

The radio is a separate SKU, not a feature you are refusing

This is the most useful thing we found while building this page, and it comes from the certifier rather than from any brand’s marketing.

ENERGY STAR publishes its certified EV-charger list as data, model number by model number, with the measured standby figures behind each certification. Lectron’s 48-amp hardwired Nexus appears on it twice: once as LECHGNexusHWJ1772, recorded with network capability “No,” and once as LECHGNexusHWJ1772-APP, recorded with network capability “Yes.” Same charger, same 48 amps, same 11.5 kW, certified as two models because one of them has a radio in it. The 40-amp plug-in Nexus is on the list the same way, as a pair.

That tells you something about this whole category. A no-Wi-Fi charger is usually not a cheaper, lesser charger — it is frequently the identical hardware with the networking left out, sold as its own part number. Which means you are not giving up build quality to avoid an app. You are giving up the features the radio enables, and nothing else.

The same data answers the energy question. In the no-vehicle standby state the certifier measured the non-networked 48-amp Nexus at 1.86 watts and the networked version at 3.02 watts. The plug-in pair lands in the same place, 1.88 against 3.14 watts. Call the radio 1.2 watts: left plugged in all year that is roughly 10 kWh, which at a typical residential rate is about a dollar and a half. Our cost-to-charge guide lets you run it on your own rate, but you can see the shape of the answer. Do not buy a charger without Wi-Fi to save electricity. Buy it because of what is written next.

The honest case for no Wi-Fi

Your car already schedules charging. This is the one that does most of the work. Every current EV and essentially every plug-in hybrid can be told to start at midnight from its own screen or its own app, and that setting follows the car to any charger it ever plugs into — including a friend’s, and including the one you buy in eight years. A charger-side schedule only works at home, and only while that charger’s service is alive. Our time-of-use guide covers setting it up on the car side, which is where we think it belongs.

Fewer things that can break while nothing is wrong. A smart charger has a router, a Wi-Fi password, an account, a phone app, a firmware channel and a company’s continued interest in all of the above between you and a working schedule. We wrote a whole guide on getting a charger onto Wi-Fi, and the honest subtext of it is how many ways that can go sideways on a 2.4 GHz network. None of those failure modes exist on the chargers here. You change your router, nothing happens.

Nothing to log into, and nothing being logged. A non-networked charger does not report your charging sessions anywhere, because it has no way to. If that matters to you, it is a feature no amount of app polish can substitute for.

It is the right shape for a second location. A cabin, a rental, a parent’s garage, a detached shop with marginal Wi-Fi — anywhere a connection is weak or absent, a charger that needs one is a charger with a permanent fault light. Our detached garage guide covers the rest of that install.

What you are actually giving up

Three things, and the first one is the only one we would hesitate over.

Measured energy at the wall. This is the single smart feature we think is worth paying for, and none of the chargers here can do it in the way a networked unit does. The car reports what reached the battery; a metering charger reports what left the wall; the gap between them is the charging loss you pay for and do not drive on. Our energy monitoring guide explains the distinction. One pick here gets part of the way: the EVDANCE has a small screen that reports current, voltage, power, session kWh and elapsed time on the unit itself, which covers the curiosity even though nothing is logged anywhere.

Load management. If an electrician has told you your panel cannot carry a charger circuit, the fix is often a charger that watches the rest of the house and backs off — and that is a networked feature by definition. Our load management guide covers the alternatives, cheapest first, and the honest answer is that if you need dynamic load management, you need a smart charger. Buy one.

Utility program enrollment. Some utility demand-response and managed-charging programs pay you to let them shift your charging, and enrollment usually requires a charger they can talk to. That is not the same as a rebate on the purchase, which is more often tied to an ENERGY STAR listing than to networking — the 48-amp Nexus above is certified, and it has no radio at all. Check your own utility’s terms rather than assuming, and read our rebates guide before you buy, not after.

And one thing you are not giving up

Charging speed. A charger’s output is set by its amperage and by your car’s onboard charger, and a Wi-Fi radio has no part in it. A 48-amp charger with no app fills a battery at exactly the rate a 48-amp charger with an app does. Before you pay for either tier, check what your car can accept — our onboard charger limits guide covers how to find your vehicle’s own ceiling, and on a lot of cars it is below 9.6 kW, at which point 48 amps buys you nothing.

Setting the current is your job now

On a smart charger, the maximum current is usually set in the app. Take the app away and that setting has to live somewhere else — and where it lives is the single biggest difference between the picks on this page.

Three of them put it in your hands properly. The ELEGRP steps through five levels on the unit, 16, 20, 24, 32 and 40 amps. The EVDANCE steps through five as well, from 10 up to its 24-amp maximum, which is itself exactly what a 30-amp dryer circuit allows. That is what lets a charger fit the circuit you already have instead of the circuit you wish you had, and it is why our small-panel roundup ranks on the same spec.

The 48-amp Nexus does not publish an adjustable range, and we will not invent one. Practically, that means it is a 48-amp charger or nothing: NEC Article 625 treats EV charging as a continuous load and sizes the circuit at 125% of the draw, so 48 amps continuous needs a 60-amp circuit. If a load calculation says your service cannot spare that, this is the wrong charger and no setting will rescue it. Our panel capacity guide walks the calculation, and how many amps do I need is the shorter version.

Who should buy a smart charger instead

We would rather send you to the right answer than win the argument. Buy a networked charger if any of these is you: you want wall-side kWh records for tax, business or landlord reasons; your panel needs dynamic load management to make an install possible at all; you are charging two cars and want them sequenced; you are hosting guests or tenants and need access control; or your utility pays for managed charging and you want that money. Our smart versus basic comparison argues both sides at length, and the smart roundup is where the picks are.

One more honest observation about this list. Three of the five picks are Lectron, and that is not brand preference — it is what is left. Most manufacturers now ship a radio in every unit they make, and the non-networked field has thinned to a handful of brands that still sell a plain version. ELEGRP and EVDANCE are the two non-Lectron options here, and both earn their place on published specs rather than on being different names.

And one disclosure on the EVDANCE, because it is the only pick where the answer is not completely clean. ELEGRP states plainly that its charger has no Wi-Fi and no app, and both Lectron Nexus units are certified as non-networked models. EVDANCE is less tidy: the Amazon listing we link describes no app at all, but the user manual pictures Wi-Fi and Bluetooth icons and EVDANCE sells a connected version of the same unit on its own store. We record what the listing states, which is no app — and if a guaranteed radio-free charger is the point rather than a preference, buy one of the other four.

The verdict

Start with the ELEGRP. For most households it is the whole answer: a real 40 amps, five current levels so it fits the circuit you have, an IP67 body with a published cold-weather floor, ETL certification, a delay timer on the unit for off-peak charging, and a plug rather than an electrician’s invoice. Our full ELEGRP review goes through it spec by spec, and the 40-amp roundup shows where it sits against the field.

Step up to the 48-amp Nexus only if you have confirmed two things: that your car can actually take 11.5 kW, and that your panel can carry a 60-amp circuit. Clear both and it is the fastest charger we know of with nothing to sign into, and its ENERGY STAR certification is on the certifier’s own list rather than in a marketing bullet. Fail either and you have bought a hardwired install you cannot use. Our full Lectron NEXUS 48A review goes through both of those checks spec by spec, including the operating-temperature range Lectron does not publish.

Match the connector to the car, not the badge. A Tesla or other NACS car is better served by the NACS Nexus, which plugs straight in with no adapter hanging off the handle — our NACS roundup covers that field. And if your situation is a four-prong dryer outlet or a standard wall socket rather than a new circuit, the EVDANCE and the Lectron Level 1 are the honest answers to those, in that order.

Frequently asked questions

Do EV chargers need Wi-Fi to work?

No. Wi-Fi on a home charger is for scheduling, energy reporting, access control and firmware updates — none of which are needed to charge a car. A non-networked charger delivers current as soon as a vehicle is plugged in and handshakes with it, and it keeps doing that with no account, no app and no internet connection. Every charger on this page works that way.

Is a charger without Wi-Fi slower?

No. Charging speed is set by the charger's amperage and by your car's onboard charger, and the radio has nothing to do with either. The 48-amp charger on this list delivers the same 11.5 kW as a 48-amp smart charger. In fact the ENERGY STAR certified-product list records Lectron's Nexus as two certified models with identical ratings — one with network capability and one without — which is as clear as this gets.

How much electricity does a charger's Wi-Fi actually use?

Almost none. The ENERGY STAR certified list publishes the measured standby draw for both versions of the same Lectron Nexus: 1.86 watts in no-vehicle mode without networking, 3.02 watts with it. That roughly 1.2-watt difference is about 10 kWh across a full year, or somewhere near a dollar and a half on a typical residential rate. Energy is not a good reason to skip Wi-Fi.

Can I still charge on off-peak rates without a smart charger?

Yes, and for most people it is the better way to do it anyway. Set the schedule in the car rather than in the charger: that setting travels with the vehicle to every charger it ever uses and does not depend on a manufacturer's cloud service staying online. Two of the picks here also have a delay timer on the unit itself (ELEGRP's is 1 to 12 hours, EVDANCE's the same), which covers a car too old to schedule.

Do utility rebates require a smart charger?

It varies, and the two things get conflated. Purchase rebates are more often tied to an ENERGY STAR listing than to networking — and ENERGY STAR certification does not require a radio, as the 48-amp Lectron Nexus on this page demonstrates. Ongoing demand-response or managed-charging programs, where the utility pays you to shift your charging, generally do need a charger they can communicate with. Read your own utility's terms before buying; our rebates guide covers what to look for.

Is a cheap charger with no app safe?

It depends entirely on whether a recognized lab has listed it, not on whether it has an app. Every pick on this page names a third-party listing with the standard numbered — UL 2594 and UL 2231 under ETL for the Lectron units, ETL for the ELEGRP, and an Intertek ETL mark to UL 2594 and UL 2231-2 on the EVDANCE manual. A listing you cannot find is the thing to avoid, and plenty of app-equipped chargers fail that test too.

What do I lose by not having an app?

Measured energy at the wall, dynamic load management, remote access control, and the ability to enroll in most utility managed-charging programs. Of those, wall-side energy measurement is the one we think is genuinely worth money, because it is the only way to see the charging losses the car never reports. If load management is what makes your install possible, buy a smart charger — that is not a feature you can work around.

Sources

  • ENERGY STAR — Certified Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (AC-Output), certified-product list — The certifier's own list of certified AC chargers, by model number, with the measured standby figures behind each certification. Queried 2026-10-04: Lectron's Nexus is certified twice over, once as LECHGNexusHWJ1772 (48 A, network capability 'No', 1.86 W in no-vehicle mode) and once as LECHGNexusHWJ1772-APP (48 A, network capability 'Yes', 3.02 W) — the same hardware with and without a radio. The plug-in pair is recorded the same way (LECHGNexusNEMA14-50J1772 at 1.88 W, the -APP version at 3.14 W). No ELEGRP or EVDANCE product appears anywhere on the list (accessed October 4, 2026)
  • Lectron — NEXUS Level 2 J1772 48 A hardwired charging station — Manufacturer page: up to 48 A at 240 V (11.5 kW), SAE J1772, hardwired installation requiring a professional, IP66 indoor/outdoor rating, a 23 ft cable with a wall-mount J-hook and plug holder, UL 2594 / UL 2231 / UL 2251 certification under an ETL listing plus FCC and ENERGY STAR, and a 3-year warranty. No app, Wi-Fi or account is listed anywhere on the page; Lectron sells the networked build as a separate SKU (accessed October 4, 2026)
  • ENERGY STAR — Electric Vehicle Chargers — ENERGY STAR on EVSE efficiency: certified chargers use about 40% less energy in standby than non-certified units (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • NFPA — Using the Latest NEC for EV Charger Installations — NFPA on NEC (NFPA 70) Article 625: EV charging is a continuous load, so circuits are sized to 125% of load (the 80% rule) (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • UL Solutions — EV Charging Infrastructure Services — UL on EVSE safety certification: ANSI/UL 2594 is the Standard for Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • U.S. DOE Alternative Fuels Data Center — Electric Vehicle Charging Stations — US DOE on charging levels: Level 1 (~1.9 kW, ~5 mi/hr), Level 2 (2.9-19.2 kW, ~7.2 kW typical residential, ~25 mi/hr), and DC fast charging (accessed July 19, 2026)

Keep reading