Plug & Range

EVDANCE 24A NEMA 14-30 Charger Review

The cheapest honest way to charge from a dryer outlet. Its best feature is a limitation: 24 amps is the maximum, which is exactly what a 30-amp circuit allows, so there is no setting that can ask for more.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

Buy this if you have a four-prong dryer outlet and a J1772 car, and you want the shortest possible path from that outlet to real Level 2 charging. The EVDANCE EV-ACS2405U is built for one job and does it without an adapter anywhere in the chain: the plug on the end is a NEMA 14-30, so it goes straight into a dryer receptacle, and its maximum output is 24 amps — which is exactly the 80% of a 30-amp circuit that NEC Article 625 allows for a continuous load. That is the reason to prefer it over a bigger charger with an adapter, and it is worth being precise about why.

Most people charging from a dryer outlet do it with a 40-amp charger, a 14-50 plug and a 14-50-to-14-30 adapter. That works, but it puts a charger capable of 40 amps on a circuit rated for 24, with nothing but a setting standing between the two. This charger removes the setting from the equation. Its ceiling isthe circuit’s ceiling. There is no DIP switch to forget, no app limit to be raised by someone else in the house, and no factory default that is wrong for your wall.

Twenty-four amps at 240 volts is 5.76 kW, which at our 3.5 miles-per-kWh reference is roughly 20 miles of range an hour, or about 200 miles across a ten-hour overnight window. That is four times what a 120-volt socket gives you and more than most households drive in a day. What the low price costs you is a one-year warranty and a documentation set that disagrees with itself — both of which we go through below, because the second one is the main reason to read a review rather than a listing.

How this is funded:we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

#1Best for a dryer outlet, with no adapter

EVDANCE 24A NEMA 14-30 Portable Charger (EV-ACS2405U)

The charger a dryer outlet actually wants. The plug on the end is a NEMA 14-30, so it goes straight into a four-prong dryer receptacle with no adapter, and its maximum is 24 amps — exactly what a 30-amp circuit allows — so there is no setting that can ask that circuit for more. Its manual carries an Intertek ETL mark to UL 2594, and it steps down to 10 amps for a circuit you are unsure of. What the low price costs you is a one-year warranty and documentation that disagrees with itself in places worth reading carefully.

Strengths

  • Native NEMA 14-30 plug with a 24-amp maximum — it cannot be set above what the circuit allows
  • ETL listed (Intertek control number 5034626) to UL 2594 and UL 2231-2, per its user manual
  • Five current steps (10/12/16/20/24A) for an older or unverified dryer circuit
  • On-unit display of current, voltage, kWh and session time, plus a 1-12 hour delay timer

Trade-offs

  • One-year warranty, the shortest of the picks on our dryer-outlet page
  • EVDANCE's own pages disagree on the circuit it needs (a "20A circuit" on the store page, a "32A breaker" in the manual) — a 14-30 is a 30-amp receptacle
  • The 25 ft is total length: about 21.9 ft from control box to car and 3.1 ft from box to outlet, per the Amazon listing
  • EVDANCE says the plug-and-socket joint is not waterproof, and the connector needs its cap when stored
Max output24 A
Power5.76 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallNEMA 14-30 plug (four-prong dryer outlet)
Cable length25 ft
Warranty1 year
WiFi + appNot published
CertificationsETL listed (Intertek 5034626) to UL 2594, UL 2231-2 and CSA C22.2

Our charging-speed math. At its 24-amp maximum and 240V it delivers 5.76 kW, roughly 20 miles of range an hour at our 3.5 miles-per-kWh reference, or about 200 miles across a ten-hour overnight window. Dropped to 16 amps for an older circuit, it is about 13 miles an hour.

Build note. From EVDANCE's user manual for model EV-ACS2405U: 24A maximum at 240V (5.76 kW); current chosen before plugging into the car by holding the A button and stepping through 10, 12, 16, 20 or 24A; a 1.77-inch display showing real-time current, voltage, power, kWh, session time and temperature; a 1-12 hour delayed start; a Type 4 enclosure; a -22°F to 122°F operating range; 25 ft total length; an SAE J1772 connector; certification to UL 2231-2, UL 2594 and CSA C22.2 under an Intertek ETL mark (control number 5034626); and a 12-month warranty. The documentation is inconsistent, and we record the manual over the store page: the evdances.com spec table for this same product lists a "6-32A" adjustable range, a "Dedicated 20A Circuit" and a "J1772/CCS" connector, and the site banner advertises a 3-year warranty that the product page, the manual and the Amazon listing all put at one year. The manual pictures Wi-Fi and Bluetooth icons and EVDANCE sells a Wi-Fi version on its own store, but the Amazon listing we link does not state an app, so Wi-Fi is recorded as not published.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on September 15, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

The case for a charger that cannot go faster

Nearly every piece of advice about charging from a dryer outlet is really advice about limiting a larger charger. Buy a 40-amp unit, fit an adapter, then set the current down to 24 amps so the 30-amp circuit is not overloaded. It is correct advice, and it depends entirely on the setting being right and staying right.

This charger is the other approach. The hardware maximum is 24 amps, which is 80% of a 30-amp circuit — exactly the derating NEC Article 625 requires for a continuous load. It is not possible to set it above that figure, because there is no figure above it to select. For a circuit you did not install, in a house you may not have wired, with other people in it, that structural limit is worth more than a feature list.

The five current steps below the ceiling are the other half of the same thinking: 10, 12, 16, 20 and 24 amps, chosen by holding the A button before the connector goes into the car. If the dryer circuit is old, if the breaker turns out to be 20 amps rather than 30, or if you simply want to run it gently for a while and watch how warm the receptacle gets, 16 amps is one button-press away. Our guide to setting your charger’s amps works through how to pick that number from the breaker rather than from the outlet.

What EVDANCE publishes, from the manual

Every figure below comes from EVDANCE’s user manual for model EV-ACS2405U — the document shipped with the hardware, not the marketing page. We re-fetched it on the date of this review and it still serves.

  • 24 A maximum at 240 V (5.76 kW), with current selected in steps of 10, 12, 16, 20 or 24 A before the car is plugged in.
  • A 1.77-inch displayshowing real-time current, voltage, power, kWh, session time and temperature — which is more instrumentation than several chargers costing three times as much.
  • A 1-to-12-hour delayed start, which is how you charge off-peak without an app or an account. Our time-of-use guide covers whether that is worth using where you live.
  • A Type 4 enclosure and a published -22°F to 122°F operating range, which is a real cold-weather figure rather than an enclosure rating standing in for one.
  • 25 ft total length and an SAE J1772 connector.
  • Certification to UL 2594, UL 2231-2 and CSA C22.2 under an Intertek ETL mark, control number 5034626.
  • A 12-month warranty.

The paperwork problem, in detail

This is the part a listing will not tell you, and it is the main reason this review exists. EVDANCE’s own documents do not agree with each other, and the disagreements are not trivial rounding differences.

The circuit requirementis the worst of them. The manual states a “32A breaker”; EVDANCE’s store page for the same product states a “Dedicated 20A Circuit”. Neither matches the receptacle the charger is built for: a NEMA 14-30 is a 30-amp receptacle on a 30-amp circuit, which is precisely why the charger’s 24-amp ceiling is correct. Ignore both figures and read your own breaker.

The adjustable rangeis the second: the store page lists “6-32A” where the manual gives five steps topping out at 24 A. A 32-amp setting on a 14-30 plug would be an overload of the circuit, so we record the manual and treat the store page as copy carried over from a different model. The connectoris listed as “J1772/CCS” on the store page, which is not a thing a Level 2 AC charger is — CCS is a DC fast-charging standard and this is an AC charger.

The warrantyis third: EVDANCE’s site banner has advertised three years, while the product page, the manual and the Amazon listing all state one. One year is what we publish, and one year is short — the Grizzl-E range offers three as standard, and our guide to how long chargers last explains why the warranty term is the most useful longevity signal a brand publishes.

None of this means the charger is unsafe. The ETL mark and the standards are in the manual, with a verifiable control number, and the hardware ceiling is correct for the outlet. What it means is that you cannot trust the marketing copy on this product, in either direction, and should install it against the manual and your own breaker.

The other honest cautions

The 25 ft is total length. Per the Amazon listing, that is roughly 21.9 ft from control box to car plus 3.1 ft from box to outlet. If the dryer outlet is in a laundry room and the car is outside, measure the real route against 21.9 ft, not 25.

EVDANCE states the plug-and-socket joint is not waterproof, and that the connector needs its cap when stored. The body is a Type 4 enclosure, but the point where the plug meets the receptacle is not weather-sealed — so this is an indoor-outlet charger that tolerates outdoor weather at the car end, not a unit to leave plugged into an exposed exterior socket in the rain. Our garage-or-outside guide covers what that distinction means in practice.

And it is a single-purpose purchase. If there is any chance you will have a NEMA 14-50 fitted in the next year or two, a 24-amp charger becomes the wrong tool the day that happens, and you will buy again. In that case the Grizzl-E Mini — 40 amps, a manufacturer-supplied 14-30P adapter in the box, and a hardware DIP switch to cap it at 24 today — is the better long-run buy even though it costs roughly twice as much. Our dryer-outlet roundup sets the two against each other directly, and our Mini vs Classic comparison covers what else the Mini premium buys.

Who should buy it

Buy it if you have a four-prong NEMA 14-30 dryer outlet, a J1772 car, and no plans to change the electrical situation. It is the cheapest unit we cover that clears our named-laboratory bar, it needs no adapter, and its hardware ceiling makes the single most common dryer-outlet mistake impossible to make.

Skip itif you drive a Tesla or another NACS car — EVDANCE makes the same charger with a NACS connector, model EV-ACS2405T, and that is the one to buy rather than hanging an adapter off this one. Skip it too if a 14-50 is in your plans, if you need more than about 21.9 ft of reach to the car, or if a one-year warranty on a device that will run for hours every night is not a trade you want to make. For everyone whose situation is genuinely “the dryer outlet is what I have”, it is the right amount of charger.

Frequently asked questions

Can I plug this EVDANCE charger straight into a dryer outlet?

Yes, if the outlet is a four-prong NEMA 14-30. That is the plug moulded onto the charger, so there is no adapter involved. If your dryer outlet is the older three-prong NEMA 10-30, this charger will not fit it and no adapter we would recommend exists — a 10-30 has no separate ground, and an EV charger needs one. Have an electrician confirm what you have before you order, and read the breaker rather than trusting the receptacle.

How fast does the EVDANCE 24A charge?

Twenty-four amps at 240 volts is 5.76 kW, which at our 3.5 miles-per-kWh reference efficiency is roughly 20 miles of range an hour — about 200 miles across a ten-hour night. Dropped to 16 amps for an older circuit it is about 13 miles an hour. For comparison, a 120-volt household socket gives roughly 4 to 5 miles an hour, so this is a four- to fivefold improvement for the cost of no electrical work at all.

Is the EVDANCE 24A charger safety certified?

Its user manual for this model number carries an Intertek ETL mark, control number 5034626, and names certification to UL 2594, UL 2231-2 and CSA C22.2. That is a named laboratory and named standards, which is the bar we set on our cheap-chargers guide and which a surprising share of budget 14-30 listings on Amazon do not clear. It is not ENERGY STAR certified — no EVDANCE product appears on the ENERGY STAR certified EVSE list as of our last query — so it may not qualify for rebates that require that listing.

Why does EVDANCE's own paperwork disagree about the specs?

We do not know, and we record the conflicts rather than resolving them silently. The manual for model EV-ACS2405U states a 24-amp maximum with steps at 10, 12, 16, 20 and 24 amps and a 12-month warranty, while EVDANCE's own store page for the same product lists a "6-32A" adjustable range, a "Dedicated 20A Circuit" and a "J1772/CCS" connector, and the site banner has advertised a three-year warranty. Where they conflict we cite the manual, because it is the document specific to this model number and the one shipped with the hardware.

Does the EVDANCE 24A have Wi-Fi or an app?

Not on the listing we link, so we record Wi-Fi as not published. This is one of the paperwork conflicts: the manual pictures Wi-Fi and Bluetooth icons and EVDANCE sells a Wi-Fi version of the same hardware on its own store, but the Amazon listing this review points at does not claim an app. What the unit definitely has instead is an on-unit display of current, voltage, power, kWh, session time and temperature, plus a 1-to-12-hour delayed start — which covers off-peak charging without an account.

How long is the cable, really?

Twenty-five feet total, which is not the same as 25 feet of reach. Per the Amazon listing, that breaks down as about 21.9 ft from the control box to the car and about 3.1 ft from the box to the outlet. If your dryer outlet is in a laundry room and the car is on a driveway, measure the path the cable actually has to take — around the car, not through it — against the 21.9 ft figure rather than the 25.

Is this better than a Grizzl-E Mini for a dryer outlet?

It is cheaper and simpler; the Mini is more capable and more expensive. The EVDANCE cannot exceed 24 amps, which on a 30-amp circuit is a safety feature rather than a limitation. The Grizzl-E Mini is a 40-amp charger that ships with a manufacturer-supplied 14-30P adapter and a hardware DIP switch, so it runs at 24 amps on a dryer outlet today and at 40 the day you have a 14-50 fitted — but it ships set to 40 amps and its manual states it cannot detect the circuit's limit, so you must turn it down first. Buy the EVDANCE if the dryer outlet is the plan; buy the Mini if it is a stepping stone.

Sources

  • EVDANCE — EV-ACS2405U portable 24 A NEMA 14-30 charger user manual — Manufacturer manual for the exact model we link, read 2026-09-15 and re-fetched live 2026-10-05 (HTTP 200): 24 A maximum at 240 V (5.76 kW); current chosen before the connector is plugged into the car by holding the A button through 10, 12, 16, 20 or 24 A; a 1.77 in display of current, voltage, power, kWh, session time and temperature; a 1-12 hour delayed start; a Type 4 enclosure; a -22 °F to 122 °F operating range; 25 ft total length; an SAE J1772 connector; certification to UL 2594, UL 2231-2 and CSA C22.2 under an Intertek ETL mark (control number 5034626); and a 12-month warranty. Recorded for the conflicts as well as the specs: the manual states a “32A breaker” where EVDANCE's own store page says a “Dedicated 20A Circuit” and a “6-32A” range, and the manual pictures Wi-Fi and Bluetooth icons the Amazon listing we link does not claim (accessed October 5, 2026)
  • NFPA — Using the Latest NEC for EV Charger Installations — NFPA on NEC (NFPA 70) Article 625: EV charging is a continuous load, so circuits are sized to 125% of load (the 80% rule) (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • UL Solutions — EV Charging Infrastructure Services — UL on EVSE safety certification: ANSI/UL 2594 is the Standard for Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • SAE International — J1772 Conductive Charge Coupler — The SAE J1772 connector standard for AC Level 1 and Level 2 charging in North America (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • ENERGY STAR — Certified Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (AC-Output), certified-product list — The certifier's own list of certified AC chargers, by model number, with the measured standby figures behind each certification. Queried 2026-10-04: Lectron's Nexus is certified twice over, once as LECHGNexusHWJ1772 (48 A, network capability 'No', 1.86 W in no-vehicle mode) and once as LECHGNexusHWJ1772-APP (48 A, network capability 'Yes', 3.02 W) — the same hardware with and without a radio. The plug-in pair is recorded the same way (LECHGNexusNEMA14-50J1772 at 1.88 W, the -APP version at 3.14 W). No ELEGRP or EVDANCE product appears anywhere on the list (accessed October 4, 2026)
  • U.S. DOE Alternative Fuels Data Center — Charging Electric Vehicles at Home — US DOE on home EV charging: most owners charge overnight on Level 1 or Level 2, installs follow NEC Article 625, with example home-charging costs (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • U.S. DOE Alternative Fuels Data Center — Electric Vehicle Charging Stations — US DOE on charging levels: Level 1 (~1.9 kW, ~5 mi/hr), Level 2 (2.9-19.2 kW, ~7.2 kW typical residential, ~25 mi/hr), and DC fast charging (accessed July 19, 2026)

Keep reading