Plug & Range

Emporia Level 2 vs Emporia Pro

Two chargers from the same brand with the same headline specs. One question decides between them, and it is a question about your electrical panel, not about the chargers.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

On paper these two are nearly the same product. Both deliver a full 48 amps (about 11.5 kW, roughly 40 miles of range per hour at our 3.5 mi/kWh reference). Both are J1772. Both publish a 25-foot cable, a NEMA 4 enclosure, UL listing, an ENERGY STAR listing and a three-year warranty. Both are Wi-Fi connected with Emporia’s energy tracking.

The Pro adds one thing: PowerSmart load management. That is not a convenience feature and it is not a nicer app. It is a specific answer to a specific problem, and if you do not have that problem you should not pay for it. The question is whether an electrician has told you your panel has no spare capacity.

How this is funded:we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, charging speed, electrical fit and value. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these chargers — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

The value pick that never feels like one. You get the full 48 amps, an ENERGY STAR listing, real Wi-Fi energy tracking and a 25 ft cable for well under what the marquee brands charge. When someone asks us where to start, this is usually the first name out of our mouths.

Better for most panels
$449.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Emporia Pro with PowerSmart

Emporia Pro with PowerSmart

The answer to a full electrical panel. It's the same 48-amp, ENERGY STAR hardware as Emporia's standard charger, with PowerSmart load management added: paired with Emporia's own energy monitor, it watches what the rest of the house is drawing and dials the charger back instead of tripping the main. If an electrician has told you a charger means a service upgrade, this is the unit that can make that quote go away.

Better for a full panel or two EVs
$599.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Better for most panels

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

The value pick that never feels like one. You get the full 48 amps, an ENERGY STAR listing, real Wi-Fi energy tracking and a 25 ft cable for well under what the marquee brands charge. When someone asks us where to start, this is usually the first name out of our mouths.

Strengths

  • 48A and ENERGY STAR at a genuinely value price
  • The app tracks energy use, not just an on/off toggle
  • Long 25 ft cable and a remote holster in the box

Trade-offs

  • 48A hardwired needs a 60A circuit; on a NEMA 14-50 plug it's capped at 40A
  • The app is less polished than ChargePoint's, and support is a smaller operation
Max output48 A
Power11.5 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired or NEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. Hardwired at 48A (11.5 kW), figure about 40 miles of range an hour at 3.5 mi/kWh. Drop to a 40A plug-in circuit and it's closer to 34.

Build note. Runs 48A hardwired, or 40A on a NEMA 14-50 outlet, with a 25 ft cable and a wall holster included.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Better for a full panel or two EVs

Emporia Pro with PowerSmart

The answer to a full electrical panel. It's the same 48-amp, ENERGY STAR hardware as Emporia's standard charger, with PowerSmart load management added: paired with Emporia's own energy monitor, it watches what the rest of the house is drawing and dials the charger back instead of tripping the main. If an electrician has told you a charger means a service upgrade, this is the unit that can make that quote go away.

Strengths

  • PowerSmart load management can avoid a panel or service upgrade
  • Full 48A, ENERGY STAR and a 25 ft cable, same as the standard model
  • The app adds peak-demand management on top of ordinary scheduling

Trade-offs

  • PowerSmart needs Emporia's Vue energy monitor — that's a second device to buy and install
  • You pay a clear premium over the standard Emporia for one feature
Max output48 A
Power11.5 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired (a NEMA 14-50 SKU is also sold)
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At the full 48A (11.5 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh, about 40 miles of range an hour — and PowerSmart will quietly reduce that when the rest of the house is drawing hard, which is the entire point of it.

Build note. Emporia publishes PowerSmart load management as dynamically adjusting charging speed to prevent overloading the panel; it requires the Emporia Vue energy monitor.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

What load management actually does

A home electrical panel has a fixed service capacity — commonly 100 or 200 amps. Everything in the house draws from it. When an electrician quotes you for a charger, they run a load calculation to work out whether adding a 60-amp circuit for a 48-amp charger would exceed what the service can carry. If it would, the traditional answer is a service upgrade: a new panel, sometimes a new service drop, and a bill that can run into four figures and dwarf the charger.

Load management is the alternative. Instead of assuming the charger will pull its full 48 amps at the worst possible moment, the system watches what the rest of the house is doing and throttles the charger when demand climbs. When the oven, the dryer and the air conditioning are all running, the car charges slower. When the house goes quiet at midnight, the charger opens back up.

The practical effect is that a panel which could not support a fixed 48-amp circuit can often support a managed one, because the peak is controlled rather than assumed. That is the whole value proposition, and when it applies it can save you far more than the price difference between these two units. Our panel capacity guide walks the load calculation itself, and our load management guide explains how the different flavors of it work.

The catch nobody mentions in the product photos

PowerSmart is not magic and it is not free of installation work. To throttle the charger based on household demand, the system has to measure household demand— which means sensing equipment at the panel, installed by the electrician alongside the charger.

Two things follow. First, the install is a bit more involved than a plain charger circuit, so factor that into any quote you are comparing. Second, and more important: you cannot decide whether you need the Pro from a product page. You need the load calculation first. Buy the Pro because an electrician told you the panel is full, not because it sounds like the more capable unit.

If you have not had that conversation yet, the honest sequence is: read our how many amps do you need guide, get a quote, and then come back and buy. Our installation cost guide covers what moves those quotes the most.

The second reason to buy the Pro: a second EV

The other case where the Pro earns its price is two electric cars on one panel. Two 48-amp chargers is 96 amps of continuous draw before the house has boiled a kettle, which very few residential services can carry outright. Load management makes a two-charger household viable by sharing the available headroom between them rather than demanding both at once.

If that is your situation, this comparison is not really the right page — our two-EV roundup covers the whole approach, including the option of one charger and a scheduling habit, which is cheaper than most people expect and works fine for a lot of two-car households.

Where the standard Level 2 is actually the better unit

One genuine advantage sits with the cheaper charger, and it is easy to miss. The standard Emporia Level 2 is sold in both hardwired and NEMA 14-50 plug-in configurations. Plugging in is what lets a charger move house with you, work with an existing outlet, and be swapped in seconds if it fails.

Note the standard trade that comes with any 14-50 plug: on that receptacle you are capped at 40 amps, not 48, because a 50-amp receptacle is limited to 40 amps of continuous draw under the NEC’s 125% rule. You give up about six miles of range an hour for the flexibility. Our hardwired vs plug-in comparison and our 40A vs 48A comparison cover both halves of that.

Energy tracking: identical, and the one smart feature we rate

Both units carry Emporia’s energy monitoring, which is the reason we point at this brand at all when someone asks which smart features are worth paying for. It reports what the charger actually drew at the wall.

That is the one number your car cannot give you. A vehicle estimates energy added to the battery, which excludes charging losses; your utility bills you for what came through the wall. The two never match, and only one of them is on your bill. If you want to know what charging genuinely costs you rather than what it theoretically should, that measurement is how you find out — see our energy monitoring guide and our cost-to-charge guide.

Scheduling, the other headline app feature, is available free in essentially every modern EV and travels with the car rather than the parking spot. We make that case in full in our smart vs basic comparison.

The verdict, by buyer

Buy the Emporia Level 2 unless you have a specific reason not to. It is our overall value pick across the site: full 48 amps hardwired, ENERGY STAR for rebate eligibility, a long cable, real energy measurement, and the option to plug in instead of hardwiring. For a household with ordinary panel headroom and one EV, the Pro adds nothing you will use.

Buy the Emporia Proif an electrician has run the numbers and told you the panel cannot carry a 60-amp circuit, or if you are charging two EVs. In those cases PowerSmart is not a luxury — it is the thing standing between you and a service upgrade, and it will pay for itself several times over.

Buy neither yet if you have not had the load calculation done. That single conversation decides this comparison, and guessing at it is how people end up with the wrong charger and a surprise quote. Our main roundup covers the alternatives if the answer comes back tighter than you hoped.

Frequently asked questions

What is the difference between the Emporia Level 2 and the Emporia Pro?

PowerSmart load management. Both are 48-amp, J1772, ENERGY STAR, UL-listed chargers with 25-foot cables, NEMA 4 enclosures, three-year warranties and Emporia's energy tracking. The Pro adds the ability to monitor whole-house demand and throttle charging so the panel is never overloaded.

Do I need load management for an EV charger?

Only if your panel cannot carry the charger's circuit outright, or you are charging two EVs. An electrician's load calculation is what tells you. If your service has room for a 60-amp circuit, load management adds cost and installation complexity for a benefit you will never see.

Can load management save me from a panel upgrade?

Often, yes — that is its main purpose. By measuring household demand and throttling the charger during peaks, it lets a panel support a charger it could not support as a fixed full-current load. A service upgrade can cost several times what the charger does, so where this works it is the cheaper path by a wide margin.

Does the Emporia Pro charge faster than the standard Level 2?

No. Both are rated at 48 amps, about 11.5 kW, or roughly 40 miles of range per hour at our 3.5 mi/kWh reference. The Pro can charge slower than the standard unit at times, by design, because load management throttles it when the rest of the house is drawing heavily.

Are both Emporia chargers ENERGY STAR certified?

Yes, both publish ENERGY STAR listings, which matters because many utility rebate programs require ENERGY STAR certification by model number. Confirm your exact model in the ENERGY STAR product finder and check your utility's terms before counting on a rebate.

Sources

Keep reading