Plug & Range

EVIQO 48A vs ChargePoint Home Flex

Two smart chargers that both let you choose how many amps they draw — which is the spec that decides most home installs. The split is not how low each one goes. It is where the limit lives.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

These are the two chargers on this site with the widest published adjustable current ranges, which makes them the two most likely to fit a panel that cannot take a full-size charger. The ChargePoint Home Flex publishes app-adjustable output at 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 or 50 amps. The EVIQO 48A publishes 6 to 48 amps in 1-amp increments from its app, plus internal DIP switches that cap the maximum in hardware at 16, 32, 40 or 48.

So this is not a comparison about flexibility — both are flexible, and either will fit the circuit an electrician signs off on. It comes down to three tiebreakers, and the first one is the interesting one: where the current limit is actually enforced, whether you can unplug the charger, and how much you are paying for an app. The EVIQO is the cheaper of the two by a meaningful margin and has the longer reach and the better enclosure rating on paper; the ChargePoint has the plug-in option, the more mature software and the longer track record. Both carry ENERGY STAR listings and three-year warranties.

How this is funded:we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, charging speed, electrical fit and value. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these chargers — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger

EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger

A lot of charger for the money. You get 48 amps, Wi-Fi scheduling, ENERGY STAR, and the longest usable reach in this group thanks to a 25 ft cable plus a 40-inch input lead. If Emporia is sold out or you want maximum cable, this is the value alternative to have in mind.

Better value, reach and enclosure
$449.99 · View on Amazon

$510.0012% off

Price as of October 4, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
ChargePoint Home Flex

ChargePoint Home Flex

If you'd rather buy a charger once and be done, this is the safe call. You set the current in the app anywhere from 16 to 50 amps, so it fits whatever your panel can spare today and still has room to grow if you upgrade the circuit later. The app is the most polished of the bunch and the warranty is long.

Better app, and the plug-in option
$549.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 4, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Better value, reach and enclosure

EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger

A lot of charger for the money. You get 48 amps, Wi-Fi scheduling, ENERGY STAR, and the longest usable reach in this group thanks to a 25 ft cable plus a 40-inch input lead. If Emporia is sold out or you want maximum cable, this is the value alternative to have in mind.

Strengths

  • 48A output with Wi-Fi scheduling at a value price
  • 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input lead — excellent reach
  • UL, ETL, FCC and ENERGY STAR listings

Trade-offs

  • The hardwired version needs a 60A circuit and an electrician
  • A smaller brand with a shorter track record than ChargePoint or Wallbox
Max output48 A
Power11.5 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL, ETL, FCC, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh, about 40 miles of range an hour.

Build note. Re-read from EVIQO's own page on 2026-10-04, which publishes more than the spec table above implies. The 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input cable is still among the longest total reach in class, and the current is adjustable two ways: 6-48 A in 1-amp increments from the app, and a hardware DIP switch that caps the maximum at 16, 32, 40 or 48 A. The same DIP block can raise the output to 50 A, which EVIQO says requires a 70 A circuit; the 48 A default needs a 60 A one. The enclosure is IP66 / NEMA-4 rated -22°F to 122°F, the warranty is 3 years and extendable to 4, and the app does remote start/stop, consumption and cost tracking, reminders, up to three schedules and over-the-air updates. No load management or load balancing is described anywhere on the page.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on October 4, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Better app, and the plug-in option

ChargePoint Home Flex

If you'd rather buy a charger once and be done, this is the safe call. You set the current in the app anywhere from 16 to 50 amps, so it fits whatever your panel can spare today and still has room to grow if you upgrade the circuit later. The app is the most polished of the bunch and the warranty is long.

Strengths

  • Adjustable 16-50A fits a modest circuit now and a bigger one later
  • The most complete app here: scheduling, reminders and usage history
  • 3-year warranty and a generous 23 ft cable

Trade-offs

  • You pay a brand premium over value 48A units
  • Using the full 50A needs a 60A circuit most older panels can't spare
Max output50 A
Power12 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired (a plug-in NEMA 14-50 SKU is also sold)
Cable length23 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL/cUL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. Run it at the full 50 amps (about 12 kW) and, at a middle-of-the-road 3.5 miles per kWh, it puts back roughly 42 miles of range an hour. Turn it down to 40A to live on a 50A circuit and you're at about 34.

Build note. The headline feature is app-adjustable amperage — anywhere from 16A up to 50A, in software.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

Tiebreaker one: where the current limit lives

Both chargers let you set a maximum. Only one of them lets you set it in a way that cannot be undone from a phone.

ChargePoint’s datasheet describes the output as adjustable in the app— 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 or 50 amps — and that is the whole mechanism. EVIQO does it twice over: the app sets the current anywhere from 6 to 48 amps in single-amp steps, and a block of DIP switches inside the unit independently caps the maximum at 16, 32, 40 or 48 amps. A software setting can never exceed the hardware cap.

For a lot of buyers that is a distinction without a difference: you set the number once and never touch it again either way. For some it is the deciding factor. If the install was permitted on a 32-amp circuit, a hardware cap is how you guarantee it stays a 32-amp install after a firmware update, a factory reset, a new phone or a new occupant. If you are a landlord, an Airbnb host or anyone handing a charger to someone else, that is the version you want — our host roundup ranks on related thinking. And if a teenager with your app password shares the garage, the same logic applies.

One honest caveat about EVIQO’s range: the low end of 6 amps is not as useful as it looks. Six amps at 240 volts is about 1.4 kW, which is Level 1 territory with extra steps. The genuinely useful part of the range is the band between 16 and 40, which is exactly where ChargePoint lives too. EVIQO’s advantage is granularity and the hardware switch, not the floor.

Tiebreaker two: can you unplug it?

This is the practical difference most people should weigh hardest, and it is not about performance at all.

The EVIQO 48A unit we link here is hardwired only, with a 40-inch input cable, and EVIQO states a 60-amp dedicated circuit for 48-amp output. The ChargePoint Home Flex is sold both hardwired and as a plug-in NEMA 14-50 SKU. A plug-in charger comes off the wall when you move, swaps out in ten minutes if it fails, and does not need an electrician to replace — which is why it is the answer for renters and for anyone who expects to leave the house inside the next few years. Our hardwired versus plug-in comparison argues that trade properly, and our renter picks take it as the starting point.

Hardwiring is not a penalty, though. It is the more permanent, tidier install, and above 40 amps it is the only option on most units — a NEMA 14-50 receptacle caps you at 40 amps continuous whatever the charger is rated for. If you are running 48 amps, you are hardwiring either way, and at that point the ChargePoint’s plug-in SKU stops being an advantage. Our outlet types guide covers why the receptacle sets that ceiling.

Tiebreaker three: the money, and what the app is worth

The EVIQO is the cheaper charger, and by enough that it is not a rounding error — check the live prices in the table above rather than taking a number from prose, because both move. What the gap buys you, in ChargePoint’s favor, is software and institutional permanence.

ChargePoint’s app is the most mature in the category and it is attached to a public charging network, so one account covers the charger in your garage and the station at the mall. The company has been doing this since before most of its rivals existed, which matters for a device whose scheduling depends on a cloud service continuing to run. EVIQO’s app does the things that matter — remote start and stop, current setting, consumption and cost tracking, charging reminders, up to three custom schedules, over-the-air firmware updates — and EVIQO is a far smaller company with a shorter record. That is a real risk with a smart charger and a negligible one with a dumb one.

Which is the moment to say the obvious thing: if the app is the reason you are paying the premium, check whether you will use it. Every current EV schedules its own charging from the car, that setting follows the car to any charger, and it does not depend on anyone’s cloud. Our smart versus basic comparisonargues this at length, and the honest conclusion there is that wall-side energy measurement is the one app feature worth real money — and both of these chargers have it.

Where the EVIQO quietly wins on paper

Two specs, and neither is the headline either brand leads with.

Reach. EVIQO publishes a 25-foot charging cable plus a 40-inch input lead, against ChargePoint’s 23 feet. Two feet sounds trivial until the charger is on the wrong wall of the garage; cable length is the spec buyers regret most, and our long-cable roundup exists because of how often it comes up. The 40-inch input lead also buys you some freedom in where the hardwire junction goes.

Enclosure, and a published temperature range. EVIQO publishes IP66 / NEMA 4 with an operating range of -22°F to 122°F. ChargePoint publishes NEMA 3R. NEMA 4 is the tougher rating — sealed against water jets rather than falling rain — and more importantly EVIQO publishes the temperature range while ChargePoint’s datasheet does not give one we can cite. For a charger that will live on an exposed wall through a real winter, that is the spec that decides it, not the headline amperage. Our outdoor and cold-weather roundup ranks the whole field on exactly that, and our cold weather guide explains why an enclosure class and a temperature rating are different claims.

Warranty is close to a tie: three years each, with EVIQO stating its term is extendable to four.

The 50-amp question, and why it is mostly noise

ChargePoint’s nominal advantage is 50 amps against 48, and EVIQO answers it with a DIP-switch mode that also reaches 50. Both answers run into the same wall, which is the NEC rather than either charger.

EV charging is a continuous load, so the circuit is sized at 125% of the draw. Fifty amps continuous therefore wants a circuit rated above 60 amps — EVIQO states 70 amps for its 50-amp mode, and ChargePoint’s own datasheet makes the same point in general terms when it says the breaker must be rated for 125% of the maximum load. Forty-eight amps, by contrast, fits a standard 60-amp circuit exactly. That is why 48 amps is the real ceiling for home charging and 50 is a spec-sheet number for most houses. Our fastest home charger guide works through that arithmetic, and our 40A versus 48A comparison covers the step below it.

In range terms the difference is academic anyway. Forty-eight amps at 240 volts is about 11.5 kW, roughly 40 miles of range an hour at our 3.5 mi/kWh reference. Fifty amps is about 12 kW, roughly 42. Across a ten-hour night that is twenty miles you will not notice, and on plenty of cars it is zero, because the car’s own onboard charger is the limit rather than the wall — see our onboard charger limits guide before paying for either ceiling.

One thing neither of them does

Neither charger has dynamic load management, and it is worth being clear about that because ChargePoint’s brand suggests otherwise. ChargePoint does sell a Power Management feature that allocates a circuit’s capacity across stations, but its own FAQ names the CT4000 and CPF50 station familiesas the ones that support it — both commercial — and the Home Flex is not listed on that page. EVIQO describes no load management at all. What both offer instead is the fixed-limit approach discussed above, which is enough for most tight panels and costs nothing extra. If you need a charger that watches the rest of the house and backs off, our load management roundup covers the three that genuinely do it and what each one costs in extra hardware.

The verdict

Buy the EVIQO for a hardwired install you intend to keep. It is the cheaper charger, it has the longer reach, it publishes the tougher enclosure rating and an actual temperature range, and its hardware DIP switch is the better answer if the current limit needs to be permanent rather than a setting. For a garage you own, on a wall that sees weather, at 48 amps, it is the more charger for the money. Our full EVIQO 48A review goes through it spec by spec.

Buy the ChargePoint if you want the plug-in option, the best app in the category, or a company you are confident will still be running a cloud service in a decade. Those are not small things, and the plug-in SKU in particular is the right answer for anyone renting, moving soon, or unwilling to call an electrician to replace a failed unit. Our Home Flex review has the detail, and Emporia vs ChargePoint and Wallbox vs ChargePoint set it against the other two obvious alternatives.

And if your panel is the problem rather than the charger, neither of these is where to start. Get the load calculation first — our panel capacity guidewalks it — then come back knowing which number you need to dial these chargers down to. Both of them can hit it. That is the whole reason they are in this matchup.

Frequently asked questions

Is the EVIQO 48A as good as the ChargePoint Home Flex?

On published specs it is better in several concrete ways: a 25 ft cable against 23 ft, an IP66 / NEMA 4 enclosure with a stated -22°F to 122°F range against NEMA 3R with no range we can cite, a finer adjustable current range, a hardware DIP-switch cap, and a lower price. ChargePoint is better in two ways that are harder to put on a spec sheet — a more mature app attached to a public charging network, and a company with a far longer track record, which matters for a device whose scheduling depends on a cloud service staying online. It also offers a plug-in NEMA 14-50 version, which the EVIQO 48A does not.

Which one can be turned down further?

The EVIQO, nominally — 6 to 48 amps in 1-amp increments from its app, against ChargePoint's 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 or 50 amp steps. In practice the useful band is 16 to 40 amps on both. The more meaningful difference is that EVIQO also has internal DIP switches that cap the maximum at 16, 32, 40 or 48 amps in hardware, and a software setting can never exceed a hardware cap. If the limit needs to survive a reset, a firmware update or a new occupant, that is the version to buy.

Does either charger have load management?

No. ChargePoint sells a Power Management feature, but its own FAQ states that the CT4000 and CPF50 station families support it — both commercial station families — and the Home Flex is not named. EVIQO describes no load management anywhere on its product page. Both do support a fixed current limit, which is enough for most tight panels and costs nothing extra. For chargers that genuinely watch the house and throttle, see our load management roundup.

Do I need a 60-amp circuit for either of these?

For 48-amp output, yes. EV charging is a continuous load, so the circuit is sized at 125% of the draw: 48 amps needs a 60-amp circuit, and EVIQO states exactly that. Running either charger at 50 amps needs more than 60 — EVIQO specifies 70 amps for its DIP-switch 50-amp mode. Both chargers can be set lower to fit a smaller circuit, which is the main reason to prefer them over a fixed-output unit.

Which has the longer cable?

The EVIQO, at 25 feet plus a 40-inch input lead, against ChargePoint's 23 feet. Two feet sounds minor and routinely is not — cable length is the spec buyers most often regret. Measure from where the charger will actually be mounted to where the car's charge port sits when parked the way you really park, then add slack for the cable to hang rather than stretch.

Are both ENERGY STAR certified?

Both manufacturers publish an ENERGY STAR listing — EVIQO lists UL, ETL, FCC and ENERGY STAR, and ChargePoint publishes a UL/cUL listing with ENERGY STAR. If a utility rebate depends on it, verify the exact model number against the ENERGY STAR certified-product list before you buy rather than taking a listing bullet at face value, because certification is recorded per model number and brands sometimes have certified and uncertified variants of the same charger.

Sources

  • EVIQO — Level 2 48 A hardwired charging station product page — Manufacturer page, fetched 2026-10-04: 48 A / 11.5 kW as standard with a 50 A output available by changing internal DIP switches (which it says requires a 70 A circuit), current adjustable 6-48 A in 1-amp increments from the app, and hardware DIP switches that set the maximum at 16, 32, 40 or 48 A. A 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input cable, an IP66 / NEMA-4 enclosure rated -22 °F to 122 °F, UL / ETL / FCC / ENERGY STAR certification, and a 3-year warranty extendable to 4. The app does remote start/stop, current setting, consumption and cost tracking, charging reminders, up to three custom schedules and over-the-air firmware updates. Hardwired only, and a 60 A dedicated circuit is stated for 48 A output. No load management or load balancing is described anywhere on the page (accessed October 4, 2026)
  • ChargePoint — Home Flex datasheet — Manufacturer datasheet: output adjustable in the app to 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 or 50 A (up to 12 kW); the dedicated dual-pole breaker must be rated for 125% of the maximum load (its example: a 50 A breaker for 40 A output) (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • ChargePoint — Power Management FAQ — ChargePoint's own FAQ for its Power Management feature, which allocates a circuit's capacity across stations. Fetched 2026-10-04: it states that “currently, the CT4000 and CPF50 station families support Power Management with the appropriate cloud plan” — both commercial station families. The residential Home Flex is not named anywhere on the page, and no home hardware requirement, home power-sharing behavior or whole-house panel monitoring is described (accessed October 4, 2026)
  • NFPA — Using the Latest NEC for EV Charger Installations — NFPA on NEC (NFPA 70) Article 625: EV charging is a continuous load, so circuits are sized to 125% of load (the 80% rule) (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • ENERGY STAR — Electric Vehicle Chargers — ENERGY STAR on EVSE efficiency: certified chargers use about 40% less energy in standby than non-certified units (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • UL Solutions — EV Charging Infrastructure Services — UL on EVSE safety certification: ANSI/UL 2594 is the Standard for Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • SAE International — J1772 Conductive Charge Coupler — The SAE J1772 connector standard for AC Level 1 and Level 2 charging in North America (accessed July 19, 2026)

Keep reading