Plug & Range

Wallbox Pulsar Plus vs ChargePoint Home Flex

Two premium chargers that both answer ‘my panel is tight’ — with completely different mechanisms. One shares a circuit intelligently; the other just turns itself down.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

These are the two premium picks on this site, and they get shortlisted together because they solve overlapping problems in incompatible ways. Both are Wi-Fi smart chargers with NEMA 4 or 3R bodies, three-year warranties, ENERGY STAR listings and 25-or-23-foot cables. Both are hardwired in their headline configuration.

The difference that matters is what each does about a house that cannot easily feed a big new circuit. Wallbox answers with Power Boost load balancing, which lets the charger share existing capacity dynamically. ChargePoint answers with software-adjustable output from 16 to 50 amps, which lets you simply size the charger to whatever circuit you can get. Those sound similar and are not.

How this is funded:we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, charging speed, electrical fit and value. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these chargers — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
ChargePoint Home Flex

ChargePoint Home Flex

If you'd rather buy a charger once and be done, this is the safe call. You set the current in the app anywhere from 16 to 50 amps, so it fits whatever your panel can spare today and still has room to grow if you upgrade the circuit later. The app is the most polished of the bunch and the warranty is long.

Better for an unsettled circuit
$494.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Wallbox Pulsar Plus

Wallbox Pulsar Plus

The one to reach for when wall space is tight. It's among the smallest 48A chargers made, and Power Boost load balancing lets it share a circuit without tripping the main — which can save you a panel upgrade. It's a polished, premium unit, and the price says so.

Better for a shared circuit or tight wall
$614.99 · View on Amazon

$699.9912% off

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Better for an unsettled circuit

ChargePoint Home Flex

If you'd rather buy a charger once and be done, this is the safe call. You set the current in the app anywhere from 16 to 50 amps, so it fits whatever your panel can spare today and still has room to grow if you upgrade the circuit later. The app is the most polished of the bunch and the warranty is long.

Strengths

  • Adjustable 16-50A fits a modest circuit now and a bigger one later
  • The most complete app here: scheduling, reminders and usage history
  • 3-year warranty and a generous 23 ft cable

Trade-offs

  • You pay a brand premium over value 48A units
  • Using the full 50A needs a 60A circuit most older panels can't spare
Max output50 A
Power12 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired (a plug-in NEMA 14-50 SKU is also sold)
Cable length23 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL/cUL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. Run it at the full 50 amps (about 12 kW) and, at a middle-of-the-road 3.5 miles per kWh, it puts back roughly 42 miles of range an hour. Turn it down to 40A to live on a 50A circuit and you're at about 34.

Build note. The headline feature is app-adjustable amperage — anywhere from 16A up to 50A, in software.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Better for a shared circuit or tight wall

Wallbox Pulsar Plus

The one to reach for when wall space is tight. It's among the smallest 48A chargers made, and Power Boost load balancing lets it share a circuit without tripping the main — which can save you a panel upgrade. It's a polished, premium unit, and the price says so.

Strengths

  • Genuinely compact for a 48A charger — easy to tuck in a tight spot
  • Power Boost load balancing can sidestep a panel upgrade
  • Bluetooth and Wi-Fi with a clean, modern app

Trade-offs

  • One of the pricier chargers in this group
  • Hardwired only — no plug-in option, so it's not renter-friendly
Max output48 A
Power11.5 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh, about 40 miles of range an hour — and Power Boost can throttle it down to protect a shared circuit.

Build note. One of the most compact 48A chargers in its class, carrying both Bluetooth and Wi-Fi.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

Two different answers to a tight panel

Start with why this is the central question. NEC Article 625 treats EV charging as a continuous load, so the circuit must be rated to 125% of the draw: 48 amps needs 60, 40 amps needs 50, 32 amps needs 40. If a load calculation says your service has no room for the circuit you want, you are looking at a service upgrade that can cost several times the charger. Our panel capacity guide walks that calculation.

ChargePoint’s approach is to be flexible about size.You set the output in software anywhere from 16 to 50 amps, so the charger fits whatever circuit the electrician can give you today — and if you upgrade the service in three years, you turn it up without buying new hardware. It is the simplest possible hedge, and it is the best-documented adjustable range on the market.

Wallbox’s approach is to share.Power Boost load balancing monitors the total draw and throttles the charger so the combined load stays under the limit — letting the charger coexist with other demand on capacity that is already spoken for, rather than needing headroom reserved permanently for it.

The distinction in practice: ChargePoint solves “I don’t know what circuit I’ll end up with.” Wallbox solves “there is no spare capacity to reserve at all.” If your electrician has already told you a number, ChargePoint’s flexibility is worth less. If the answer was “you have nothing spare,” Wallbox’s mechanism is the one that can actually change the outcome. It is worth noting that if load management specifically is your problem, the Emporia Prois a third option built around it — with the caveat that Emporia publishes PowerSmart as requiring the separate Vue energy monitor. Our two-EV roundup covers load management in depth, since that is where it earns most.

Speed and amps

ChargePoint reaches 50 amps, about 12 kW — roughly 42 miles of range per hourat our 3.5 miles-per-kWh reference. Wallbox reaches 48 amps, about 11.5 kW — roughly 40 miles per hour.

Two miles an hour is nothing, and we would not let it influence a purchase. What matters more is the circuit each demands to get there: 60 amps for either at full output. Both are chargers you should only be shopping if the panel can take that, or if you are deliberately using their turn-down features. Our 40A vs 48A comparison makes the case that a great many households should be one tier down, on a 40-amp charger and a 50-amp circuit.

The usual caveat applies to both: the charger is the ceiling, not the floor. If your car’s onboard AC charger is rated at 7.7 kW, both of these deliver 7.7 kW. Confirm that number before paying for amperage the car will refuse.

Physical size, and why it is a real spec

The Pulsar Plus is among the smallest 48-amp chargers made, and that is not a vanity metric. Home chargers are frequently mounted in the one spot that is left over: beside a door, behind a workbench, in the gap between a wall and a parked car. A compact box fits places a larger one does not, and it is easier to place where the cable geometry actually works.

If your install location is tight, measure before you choose. This is the sort of thing that is obvious in hindsight and expensive to discover after the electrician has left.

Install: one is hardwired only

The Wallbox Pulsar Plus is hardwired only. There is no plug-in version, so it is not renter-friendly, it cannot move house with you, and replacing it outside warranty is an electrician’s visit rather than a thirty-second swap.

ChargePoint sells botha hardwired unit and a plug-in NEMA 14-50 SKU. The plug-in version caps at 40 amps, because a 14-50 receptacle is a 50-amp device and the continuous-load rule applies — but it unplugs and comes with you.

For a renter or anyone who might move within a few years, that single difference decides this comparison before any other spec is considered. Our hardwired vs plug-in comparison lays out the full trade, and our renter pickscover what to buy instead if you don’t own the wall.

Enclosure, cable and app

Enclosure.Wallbox publishes NEMA 4; ChargePoint publishes NEMA 3R. Type 4 adds windblown dust and hose-directed water over 3R’s rain, sleet and ice, so Wallbox has the edge on paper. Neither publishes an operating temperature range, though, which is the figure that actually speaks to a hard freeze. For a genuinely exposed wall in a cold climate, the Autel MaxiCharger or Grizzl-E Classic Connectpublish numbers these two don’t — see our outdoor roundup.

Cable. Wallbox 25 feet, ChargePoint 23. A wash. If reach is your real constraint, our long-cable roundup has better answers than either.

App.ChargePoint’s is the most mature app in home charging with the longest track record, and it is tied into ChargePoint’s public network — one account for home and away, which is genuinely convenient if you use public charging regularly. Wallbox’s app is clean and modern, and the unit carries Bluetooth alongside Wi-Fi, which makes pairing and local control more reliable in a detached garage where Wi-Fi is weak. Our Wi-Fi setup guide covers why that matters more than it sounds.

Both publish ENERGY STAR listings, which keeps utility rebate options open — many programs require the certification by model number. See our ENERGY STAR roundup and rebates guide.

The verdict, by buyer

Buy the ChargePoint Home Flexif your circuit is not settled, if you want the headroom of 50 amps should you ever upgrade the service, if you use ChargePoint’s public network, or if you need a plug-in unit because you rent or might move. It is the safer default of the two for most households, which is why it holds the flexible-amperage slot across this site.

Buy the Wallbox Pulsar Plusif your install spot is physically tight, or if an electrician has told you there is genuinely no spare capacity to reserve — Power Boost is the mechanism that can turn that from a service upgrade into a normal install. The Bluetooth radio is a practical bonus if the garage is detached.

Buy neither if you have no unusual constraint. Both are premium units whose price is justified by a specific problem, and if you do not have that problem you are paying for it anyway. A value 48-amp charger like the Emporia Level 2 or EVIQO 48A delivers within two miles an hour of both, with the same ENERGY STAR listing. Our main home charger roundup ranks the full field.

Frequently asked questions

Which is better, the Wallbox Pulsar Plus or the ChargePoint Home Flex?

ChargePoint for most households — adjustable 16-to-50-amp output is the best hedge if your circuit is not settled, and it is available as a plug-in unit if you rent or might move. Wallbox wins in two specific cases: a physically tight install spot, since it is among the smallest 48-amp chargers made, and a panel with genuinely no spare capacity, where Power Boost load balancing lets it share an existing circuit.

How much faster is the ChargePoint?

About two miles of range per hour — roughly 42 against 40 at our standard 3.5 miles-per-kWh reference, from 50 amps against 48. That is not a difference worth choosing on. Both need a 60-amp circuit to reach their full output, and both will deliver less if your car's onboard AC charger is rated below their ceiling.

What is the difference between Power Boost and adjustable amperage?

Adjustable amperage means you set the charger's output once to match whatever circuit you have — it is a fixed size chosen in software. Power Boost load balancing is dynamic: it monitors total draw and throttles the charger in real time so the combined load stays under a limit, which lets it share capacity that is already spoken for. ChargePoint solves 'I don't know what circuit I'll get'; Wallbox solves 'there is no spare capacity at all'.

Can the Wallbox Pulsar Plus be plugged in instead of hardwired?

No. The Pulsar Plus is hardwired only, which means it is not renter-friendly, it cannot move house with you, and replacing it outside warranty is an electrician's job. ChargePoint sells a plug-in NEMA 14-50 version of the Home Flex, though on a 14-50 receptacle it is capped at 40 amps rather than 50.

Which is better for an outdoor install?

Wallbox on paper — NEMA 4 covers windblown dust and hose-directed water, against ChargePoint's NEMA 3R for rain, sleet and ice. But neither publishes an operating temperature range, which is the specification that actually matters in a hard freeze. For a genuinely exposed wall in a cold climate, the Autel MaxiCharger and Grizzl-E Classic Connect publish figures that these two do not.

Sources

Keep reading