Plug & Range

Lectron 40A vs Grizzl-E Classic Connect

Identical charging speed, identical plug, very different prices. This is the cleanest illustration on the site of what money actually buys in a home charger — and it isn't amps.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

Both of these are 40-amp plug-in Level 2 chargers on a NEMA 14-50. Both are J1772. Both deliver about 9.6 kW, which at our standard 3.5 miles-per-kWh reference is roughly 34 miles of range per hour. Plug either into the same outlet and your car fills at exactly the same rate. Amperage is set by the internal hardware, not by price, so there is no hidden speed advantage to find.

And yet one costs substantially more than the other. That gap is the whole subject of this page, and it is worth understanding because the same logic applies right across the charger market: price buys enclosure, cable, software and warranty, not speed. Whether those four things are worth it to you depends almost entirely on where the charger is going to live.

How this is funded:we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, charging speed, electrical fit and value. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these chargers — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Lectron 40A Portable Level 2 Charger

Lectron 40A Portable Level 2 Charger

The least-expensive honest route into real Level 2 charging. Plug it into a NEMA 14-50 outlet, pull a true 40A / 9.6 kW, and unplug it to throw in the trunk for a trip. The trade-offs for the price are no app and a shorter warranty — both fair at this cost.

Better for sheltered installs
$269.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Grizzl-E Classic Connect

Grizzl-E Classic Connect

Grizzl-E retired the old no-app Classic and replaced it with this, and it kept the part that mattered: a metal case rated UL Type 4 for a spot with no shelter, published to keep operating down to -22F. What changed is that the electronics caught up — Wi-Fi, an app, and current you can dial from 40A down to 16A to fit a circuit you already have. It's the rugged pick that no longer asks you to give up scheduling to get it.

Better for exposed installs
$349.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Better for sheltered installs

Lectron 40A Portable Level 2 Charger

The least-expensive honest route into real Level 2 charging. Plug it into a NEMA 14-50 outlet, pull a true 40A / 9.6 kW, and unplug it to throw in the trunk for a trip. The trade-offs for the price are no app and a shorter warranty — both fair at this cost.

Strengths

  • A real 40A / 9.6 kW at a budget price
  • Plug-in and portable — no hardwiring, and it travels
  • ETL listed to the UL 2594 / UL 2231 safety standards

Trade-offs

  • No Wi-Fi or app on the base model — the smart version is a separate SKU
  • Shorter 16 ft cable and a 2-year warranty
  • The brand doesn't publish an outdoor/IP enclosure rating
Max output40 A
Power9.6 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallNEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length16 ft
Warranty2 years
WiFi + appNo
CertificationsETL listed (UL 2594 / UL 2231)

Our charging-speed math. At 40A (9.6 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh it adds roughly 34 miles of range an hour.

Build note. A portable plug-in unit — no hardwiring — and the base model carries no Wi-Fi or app.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Better for exposed installs

Grizzl-E Classic Connect

Grizzl-E retired the old no-app Classic and replaced it with this, and it kept the part that mattered: a metal case rated UL Type 4 for a spot with no shelter, published to keep operating down to -22F. What changed is that the electronics caught up — Wi-Fi, an app, and current you can dial from 40A down to 16A to fit a circuit you already have. It's the rugged pick that no longer asks you to give up scheduling to get it.

Strengths

  • Metal case rated UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor, published from -22F to 122F
  • Current adjusts from 40A down to 16A, so it fits the circuit you already have
  • 25 ft cable — among the longest here — on a simple plug-in NEMA 14-50 install

Trade-offs

  • 40A caps its charging speed below the 48A units
  • Scheduling now runs through Wi-Fi and an account — the old Classic's nothing-to-update simplicity is gone
  • Grizzl-E publishes UL/cUL only for this model, not the ENERGY STAR listing the discontinued Classic carried
Max output40 A
Power9.6 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallNEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL/cUL listed (file E510712)

Our charging-speed math. At 40A (9.6 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh it adds roughly 34 miles of range an hour — more than enough to refill a daily commute overnight. Dial it down to 16A and you're at about 13.

Build note. A metal case rated UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor and published for -30C to +50C (-22F to 122F), with 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and current adjustable from 40A down to 16A.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

The one that decides it: does the charger get wet?

Grizzl-E publishes a UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor rating on a metal case, plus an operating range of −30°C to +50°C — −22°F to 122°F. Lectron does not publish an outdoor or IP enclosure rating for the 40A at all.

We want to be precise about what that means, because it is easy to overstate in either direction. It does not mean the Lectron fails outdoors. It means the brand has not committed to a figure, so we cannot tell you it is rated for permanent outdoor mounting — and we will not guess. We treat an unpublished spec as a finding rather than an assumption: what a brand withholds is information too.

The practical reading:

  • Closed garage, or a wall with a real roof over it? The missing rating costs you nothing. Buy on price.
  • Open driveway, carport with no walls, or a climate with real winters? Buy the rating. The Grizzl-E’s published temperature floor is the specification that speaks to January, and it is rarer on a spec sheet than an enclosure rating.

Our cold-weather guide explains why an enclosure rating and a temperature rating are different qualifications, and our outdoor roundup ranks the whole field on both.

Cable: 16 feet against 25

This is the difference people underestimate and then regret. Nine feet is a lot of cable in a garage.

Sixteen feet works if the charger mounts close to where the car parks and the charge port is on the near side. It stops working the moment the port is on the far side of the car, the run has to go around an obstacle, or you sometimes park nose-in and sometimes back in. Twenty-five feet covers essentially any single-bay geometry and most two-bay ones.

The thing not to do is close the gap with an extension cord. An EV charger draws its rated current continuously for hours; household extension cords are not rated for that duty and every extra plug-and-socket joint is somewhere heat can build. If reach is genuinely your constraint, buy the reach — our long-cable roundup covers the field.

Software: none against Wi-Fi

The Lectron 40A has no Wi-Fi, no account and no scheduling of its own — you schedule from the car. The Grizzl-E Classic Connect joins a 2.4 GHz network and pairs with the Grizzl-E Connect app for statistics, schedules, remote control and utility demand/response programs. It can also be dialed from 40 amps down to 16 in software, which matters if your panel cannot support a full 50-amp circuit.

Our honest position on charger apps: the genuinely valuable function is scheduling around a cheaper overnight rate, and every modern EV already does that from the car, for free, with a schedule that travels with the vehicle rather than the parking spot. So for most single-car households the app is not the reason to spend more. The two cases where it is: enrolling in a utility demand-response program, and needing to run the charger below 40 amps because of a panel constraint. Our smart charger roundup covers which features earn their keep, and our Wi-Fi setup guide covers the fact that a garage is one of the worst places in a house for 2.4 GHz.

One historical note worth knowing if you are reading older reviews elsewhere: the Grizzl-E Classicfamously had no app at all, and was recommended for that. Amazon no longer sells it — Grizzl-E replaced it with the Connect model covered here, which added Wi-Fi. If a no-software charger is specifically what you want, the Lectron is now the pick on this page that provides it.

Warranty and certification

Warranty. Lectron publishes two years; Grizzl-E publishes three as standard and sells a five-year extension separately. A year of coverage on a device with a ten-year service life is a real if modest part of the price gap.

Certification. Both clear the bar that matters. Lectron is ETL listed to UL 2594 and UL 2231; Grizzl-E is UL/cUL listed under file E510712. Those are equivalent third-party safety qualifications against the EV supply equipment standard. This is the point we make repeatedly and it is worth repeating here, because this matchup demonstrates it: price is not the safety signal — the mark is. A budget charger with a real ETL listing has been tested by an independent lab exactly as the expensive one has. Our guide on whether cheap EV chargers are safe covers how to read the marks and which claimed listings mean nothing.

ENERGY STAR.Neither publishes one. Lectron does not publish an ENERGY STAR listing for the 40A, and Grizzl-E publishes UL/cUL but no ENERGY STAR figure for the Classic Connect — the discontinued Classic carried one under a different model number, and certifications do not carry over. If a utility rebate is part of your budget, that is a genuine constraint on both of these; see our ENERGY STAR roundup for the picks that do qualify.

Portability, which cuts the other way

The Lectron wins one thing outright: it is built and sized to be carried. Compact body, shorter cable, nothing bolted to a bracket — it lives in a trunk between trips. The Grizzl-E is a plug-in unit too, so it can move, but it is a heavier wall-oriented box that you would relocate when you move house rather than throw in the car for a weekend.

If you want one charger that travels to relatives, holiday rentals or an RV pad, that is a real point for the Lectron. Our portable roundup ranks on portability specifically, and our RV park guide covers the travel case.

The verdict, by buyer

Buy the Lectron 40A if the charger lives under a roof, the outlet is reasonably close to the charge port, and you are happy to schedule charging from the car. That is a large fraction of households, and in that situation you are paying more for the Grizzl-E to get specifications you will never exercise. It is also the pick if you want a charger that travels, or if you specifically want no software in the loop.

Buy the Grizzl-E Classic Connect if the charger is going somewhere exposed, if you need more than 16 feet of cable, if you want to enroll in a utility demand-response program, or if you need to run below 40 amps because of a panel constraint. Any one of those justifies the gap on its own; two or more make it obvious.

Buy neitherif you have decided to hardwire. Both of these are plug-in chargers capped at 40 amps by the 14-50 receptacle, and if you are running a new circuit anyway, 48 amps is available for a modest step up — see our 48-amp roundup and 40A vs 48A comparison for whether the extra six miles an hour is worth the 60-amp circuit it requires.

Frequently asked questions

Do the Lectron 40A and Grizzl-E Classic Connect charge at the same speed?

Yes, exactly the same. Both are 40-amp chargers delivering about 9.6 kW, which is roughly 34 miles of range per hour at our standard 3.5 miles-per-kWh reference. Amperage is set by the internal hardware rather than by price, so there is no speed advantage to the more expensive unit.

What does the extra money actually buy?

Four things: a published UL Type 4 enclosure rating with a -22F operating floor, nine more feet of cable (25 against 16), a Wi-Fi app with adjustable current from 40 amps down to 16, and a third year of warranty. None of them make the car charge faster. Whether they are worth it depends almost entirely on whether the charger lives outdoors and how far the cable has to reach.

Is the Lectron 40A safe if it has no enclosure rating?

It carries an ETL listing to the UL 2594 and UL 2231 standards, which is the same third-party safety qualification the expensive chargers hold — price is not the safety signal, the certification mark is. The missing figure is specifically an outdoor/IP enclosure rating, which means we cannot tell you it is rated for permanent outdoor mounting. Treat it as a sheltered-use charger and the gap costs you nothing.

Can I use an extension cord to make up for the shorter Lectron cable?

No. An EV charger draws its rated current continuously for hours, which household extension cords are not rated for — the conductors are usually undersized and each extra plug-and-socket joint is another place for heat to build. If 16 feet does not reach, either reposition the charger or buy a unit with a longer cable.

Is either one ENERGY STAR certified?

No. Lectron does not publish an ENERGY STAR listing for the 40A, and Grizzl-E publishes UL/cUL but no ENERGY STAR figure for the Classic Connect — the discontinued Grizzl-E Classic carried one under a different model number, and certification does not carry over to a successor product. If a utility rebate requiring ENERGY STAR is part of your budget, neither of these will qualify.

Sources

Keep reading