Plug & Range

Best Home EV Chargers for the Hyundai IONIQ 5

Two facts decide this whole page, and Hyundai publishes both of them: the car accepts 10.9 kW of AC power, and the port on a new one is NACS. Everything else is which wall unit fits your panel.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

The EVIQO NACS 48A is our top pick for a current IONIQ 5: a native NACS connector so there is no adapter hanging off the car every night, 48 amps so nothing is left on the table, and a 25 ft cable in an IP66 / NEMA 4 case with ENERGY STAR certification for the rebate paperwork. If your panel cannot spare a 60-amp circuit, the ChargePoint Home Flex NACS is the one to buy instead, because it can be set anywhere from 16 to 50 amps in software. And if your IONIQ 5 is an earlier car with the CCS1 inlet, the same EVIQO charger in its J1772 version is the direct equivalent.

This page exists because the IONIQ 5 is the car that makes the usual home-charger advice wrong in two different directions at once. It is an 800-volt car famous for DC fast charging, which leads people to assume it wants the biggest home charger on the shelf — it does not. And a new one has a Tesla-style NACS port, which leads people to buy a charger that physically will not plug into it.

So we start from the one figure Hyundai publishes and nobody quotes. On Hyundai’s own US IONIQ 5 page, in the charging FAQ: “Approximately 7 hours and 20 minutes to charge from 10% to 100% on a 10.9-kW, 240V AC charger.” That is the car’s onboard charger — the hard ceiling on how fast it can accept AC power at home, no matter what you bolt to the wall. 10.9 kW at 240 volts is about 45 amps. Everything below follows from that number.

How this is funded:we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, charging speed, electrical fit and value. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these chargers — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
EVIQO NACS 48A Level 2 Charger

EVIQO NACS 48A Level 2 Charger

The native-NACS charger that finally makes the Tesla-plug tax disappear. It is the same hardware as EVIQO's J1772 unit — 48 amps, 25 ft of cable, IP66, ENERGY STAR — with a Tesla plug on the end and, unlike either of the other hardwired NACS picks here, a published 6-48A adjustable range. That last spec is the one that lets it fit a panel that cannot carry a 60-amp circuit, which is the constraint that actually stops most 48-amp installs.

Best overall: native NACS, 48 amps, 25 ft cable
$479.99 · View on Amazon

$510.996% off

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
ChargePoint Home Flex NACS

ChargePoint Home Flex NACS

The Home Flex you already know, with a factory NACS cable. If you're a Tesla owner who wants ChargePoint's mature app and the same adjustable 16-50A amperage — instead of a plain no-app NACS unit — this is the way to get it. You pay a premium for exactly that.

Best for a tight panel: NACS, adjustable 16–50 A
$516.71 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger

EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger

A lot of charger for the money. You get 48 amps, Wi-Fi scheduling, ENERGY STAR, and the longest usable reach in this group thanks to a 25 ft cable plus a 40-inch input lead. If Emporia is sold out or you want maximum cable, this is the value alternative to have in mind.

Best for an earlier CCS1 / J1772 IONIQ 5
$449.99 · View on Amazon

$510.0012% off

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Lectron J1772 to Tesla (NACS) Adapter, 80A

Lectron J1772 to Tesla (NACS) Adapter, 80A

The single most useful accessory a Tesla or NACS owner can keep in the trunk. Snap it onto any J1772 home charger and it plugs straight into a Tesla — so you can buy the charger that's actually the best value and let this bridge the connector. It's rated to 80A/240V and UL 2252 certified, so it isn't the weak link.

Cheapest fix if you already own a J1772 charger
$39.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
Grizzl-E Ultimate 48A

Grizzl-E Ultimate 48A

The Grizzl-E for people who wanted more than 40 amps. It keeps the metal UL Type 4 body and the published -22F floor that make the Classic Connect our exposed-install pick, then raises the ceiling to 48A and adds an OCPP radio on top of the Grizzl-E Connect app. Two catches: it is hardwire-only, so there is no unplugging it and taking it with you, and the SKU Amazon carries today is the NACS cable version, so a J1772 car needs an adapter permanently in the chain.

Best for a cold, fully exposed install
$479.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall: native NACS, 48 amps, 25 ft cable

EVIQO NACS 48A Level 2 Charger

The native-NACS charger that finally makes the Tesla-plug tax disappear. It is the same hardware as EVIQO's J1772 unit — 48 amps, 25 ft of cable, IP66, ENERGY STAR — with a Tesla plug on the end and, unlike either of the other hardwired NACS picks here, a published 6-48A adjustable range. That last spec is the one that lets it fit a panel that cannot carry a 60-amp circuit, which is the constraint that actually stops most 48-amp installs.

Strengths

  • Adjustable 6-48A — the only hardwired NACS pick here that can be dialed down to fit a smaller circuit
  • 25 ft cable plus a 40 in input lead, the longest reach of the NACS group
  • UL, ETL, FCC and ENERGY STAR listings at the bottom of the 48-amp NACS price band
  • Published -22°F to 122°F operating range on an IP66 / NEMA-4 body

Trade-offs

  • Hardwired only — a licensed electrician and a 60A circuit to use the full 48 amps
  • A smaller brand than ChargePoint, with a shorter track record behind the app
  • A J1772 car needs a NACS-to-J1772 adapter to use it at all
Max output48 A
Power11.5 kW
ConnectorNACS
InstallHardwired
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL, ETL, FCC, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and our 3.5 mi/kWh reference, roughly 40 miles of range an hour into a Tesla or other NACS car.

Build note. EVIQO publishes 240V, 48A (50A max) and 11.5 kW through a hardwired connection on a 60A-or-greater circuit, a native NACS connector, a 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input lead, an IP66 / NEMA-4 enclosure, a -22°F to 122°F operating range, a current range adjustable from 6 to 48A in the app, Wi-Fi with scheduling, energy and cost tracking and over-the-air firmware updates, UL/ETL/FCC listings, ENERGY STAR certification, and a 3-year standard warranty (4 years extended).

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 25, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best for a tight panel: NACS, adjustable 16–50 A

ChargePoint Home Flex NACS

The Home Flex you already know, with a factory NACS cable. If you're a Tesla owner who wants ChargePoint's mature app and the same adjustable 16-50A amperage — instead of a plain no-app NACS unit — this is the way to get it. You pay a premium for exactly that.

Strengths

  • Native NACS cable with ChargePoint's flexible 16-50A amperage
  • The most mature app of the NACS options here
  • 3-year warranty and an outdoor-rated NEMA 3R body

Trade-offs

  • The priciest NACS pick — you're paying for the app and the badge
  • 50A output needs a 60A circuit to use in full
Max output50 A
Power12 kW
ConnectorNACS
InstallHardwired
Cable length23 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL/cUL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At its 50A ceiling (about 12 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh, roughly 42 miles of range an hour into a Tesla.

Build note. The same Home Flex hardware with a factory NACS cable for Tesla and NACS EVs.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best for an earlier CCS1 / J1772 IONIQ 5

EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger

A lot of charger for the money. You get 48 amps, Wi-Fi scheduling, ENERGY STAR, and the longest usable reach in this group thanks to a 25 ft cable plus a 40-inch input lead. If Emporia is sold out or you want maximum cable, this is the value alternative to have in mind.

Strengths

  • 48A output with Wi-Fi scheduling at a value price
  • 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input lead — excellent reach
  • UL, ETL, FCC and ENERGY STAR listings

Trade-offs

  • The hardwired version needs a 60A circuit and an electrician
  • A smaller brand with a shorter track record than ChargePoint or Wallbox
Max output48 A
Power11.5 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL, ETL, FCC, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh, about 40 miles of range an hour.

Build note. Re-read from EVIQO's own page on 2026-10-04, which publishes more than the spec table above implies. The 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input cable is still among the longest total reach in class, and the current is adjustable two ways: 6-48 A in 1-amp increments from the app, and a hardware DIP switch that caps the maximum at 16, 32, 40 or 48 A. The same DIP block can raise the output to 50 A, which EVIQO says requires a 70 A circuit; the 48 A default needs a 60 A one. The enclosure is IP66 / NEMA-4 rated -22°F to 122°F, the warranty is 3 years and extendable to 4, and the app does remote start/stop, consumption and cost tracking, reminders, up to three schedules and over-the-air updates. No load management or load balancing is described anywhere on the page.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on October 4, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#4Cheapest fix if you already own a J1772 charger

Lectron J1772 to Tesla (NACS) Adapter, 80A

The single most useful accessory a Tesla or NACS owner can keep in the trunk. Snap it onto any J1772 home charger and it plugs straight into a Tesla — so you can buy the charger that's actually the best value and let this bridge the connector. It's rated to 80A/240V and UL 2252 certified, so it isn't the weak link.

Strengths

  • Lets a Tesla or NACS car charge from any J1772 charger
  • Rated to 80A / 240V — never the bottleneck on a home circuit
  • UL 2252 certified and IP67-rated for water and dust

Trade-offs

  • One more thing to seat firmly and not lose
  • For AC home charging only — not a Supercharger or DC adapter
Max output80 A
PowerNot published
ConnectorNACS
InstallNot published
Cable lengthNot published
WarrantyNot published
WiFi + appNot published
CertificationsUL 2252 certified, IP67

Our charging-speed math. The adapter doesn't set the speed — the charger does. Rated to 80A, it simply passes through whatever your J1772 charger delivers (typically 40-48A / 9.6-11.5 kW at home).

Build note. Rated -22 to 122 degrees F; converts a J1772 connector to the Tesla/NACS (J3400) plug for AC home charging.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#5Best for a cold, fully exposed install

Grizzl-E Ultimate 48A

The Grizzl-E for people who wanted more than 40 amps. It keeps the metal UL Type 4 body and the published -22F floor that make the Classic Connect our exposed-install pick, then raises the ceiling to 48A and adds an OCPP radio on top of the Grizzl-E Connect app. Two catches: it is hardwire-only, so there is no unplugging it and taking it with you, and the SKU Amazon carries today is the NACS cable version, so a J1772 car needs an adapter permanently in the chain.

Strengths

  • 48A / 11.5 kW in the same UL Type 4 metal case, published from -22F to 122F
  • Speaks OCPP as well as Grizzl-E's own app — rare on a home charger
  • 25 ft cable, and current can be dialed to 40, 32, 24 or 16 amps

Trade-offs

  • The live Amazon SKU is the NACS cable — a J1772 car needs an adapter to use it
  • Hardwire only — no plug, so it is not renter-friendly and not portable
  • 48A needs a 60-amp circuit, which is the install many older panels can't take
  • Grizzl-E publishes UL/cUL for this model but no ENERGY STAR listing
Max output48 A
Power11.5 kW
ConnectorNACS
InstallHardwired
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL/cUL listed (file E510712)

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh, roughly 40 miles of range an hour — about six more than the 40A Classic Connect, and it needs a 60-amp circuit to get there.

Build note. A metal case rated UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor, published for -30C to +50C (-22F to 122F), with 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi on an extended-range antenna, OCPP support and current selectable at 40, 32, 24 or 16 amps. Grizzl-E publishes the Ultimate 48A with a J1772 or a NACS output cable; the SKU Amazon lists today (GRS-077-W-HW-25N48-A-GB) is the NACS one, which is the connector our spec table records.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 21, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

Why 48 amps, and why not more

A home charger cannot push power into a car faster than the car’s own onboard charger will take it. On the IONIQ 5 that limit is 10.9 kW, per Hyundai’s own figure above. Divide by 240 volts and you get about 45 amps.

Chargers are not sold in 45-amp sizes, so the practical question is which standard size sits closest to the car’s appetite:

  • A 48-amp charger (11.5 kW)is the first standard size above the car’s ceiling. The car takes what it wants and ignores the rest. This is the right answer.
  • A 40-amp charger (9.6 kW)is about 12% below the ceiling. Not a disaster — see the arithmetic below — but you are leaving something on the table.
  • A 50-amp charger (12 kW) delivers exactly the same charge rate to this car as a 48-amp one, because the car is the bottleneck in both cases. It also asks for a 70-amp circuit instead of a 60-amp one. For an IONIQ 5 that is pure cost.

How much does the 40-amp compromise actually cost you? Using EPA’s own efficiency figure for the 2026 RWD — 30 kWh per 100 miles, which is 3.33 miles per kWh measured at the wall — the car at its full 10.9 kW puts back roughly 36 miles of range an hour. A 40-amp charger held to 9.6 kW gives roughly 32 miles an hour. That is a difference of about four miles per hour, or around 40 miles across a ten-hour overnight charge. That arithmetic is ours, from EPA’s published figures, and we are showing it so you can re-run it rather than take our word for it.

If 40 miles overnight is irrelevant to you — and for most commutes it is — a 40-amp charger on the 50-amp circuit you may already have is a perfectly rational buy, and it is the cheaper install by a wide margin. Our 40-amp roundup covers that side, and 40A vs 48A is the full version of this trade-off.

What EPA publishes, by model year

Hyundai gives one figure for the current car. The federal government gives a figure for every trim of every model year, which is useful if yours is not new: FuelEconomy.gov publishes a 240-volt charge time and a kWh-per-100-mile consumption figure for each one. Those two numbers together are the only government-published measure of how fast an IONIQ 5 drinks AC power at home.

The right-hand column is ourarithmetic, not EPA’s and not Hyundai’s: EPA’s consumption figure times its range, divided by its charge time, which gives the average power drawn at the wall across a full charge. It is a derived average rather than a peak, and because EPA’s consumption figure is measured at the wall it includes charging losses.

Model year & trimEPA 240V charge timeEPA kWh/100 miEPA rangeDerived average power at the wall
2026 Standard range6.3 hr29.0245 mi~11.3 kW
2026 RWD9.1 hr30.0318 mi~10.5 kW
2026 AWD (19 in)8.2 hr31.7290 mi~11.2 kW
2026 AWD (20 in)8.2 hr34.5269 mi~11.3 kW
2026 AWD XRT8.2 hr35.8259 mi~11.3 kW
2026 N8.7 hr43.0221 mi~10.9 kW
2024 Standard range RWD6.3 hr31.0220 mi~10.8 kW
2024 Long range RWD8.5 hr30.0303 mi~10.7 kW
2024 Long range AWD8.5 hr34.0260 mi~10.4 kW

The 2025 records carry the same charge times and consumption figures as the 2026 ones for every trim they share, and the 2022 records match the 2024 ones, so we have not repeated those rows. What matters is the pattern in the last column: across four model years and nine trims, every IONIQ 5 lands between about 10.4 and 11.3 kWat the wall. That brackets Hyundai’s published 10.9 kW from both sides, which is the useful result — two independent sources agreeing that a 48-amp charger is the ceiling worth buying and a bigger one is not.

One more thing the table shows: the 10-to-100% figure Hyundai quotes (7 hours 20 minutes) is shorter than EPA’s full-charge time for the same car, because Hyundai is charging 90% of the pack and EPA is measuring a complete charge including the losses in the charger and the cable. Neither is wrong. If you want the general version of this, our guide to onboard charger limits explains how to find the figure for any car, and how long charging takes at home works through the math from the other direction.

The connector: look at your own car before you buy anything

This is where IONIQ 5 owners lose money, so it is worth slowing down. On Hyundai’s own US page, the current IONIQ 5 “comes with a Tesla Supercharger-compatible NACS port…Plus, it comes with a CCS adapter for other networks like Electrify America and ChargePoint”, and the spec line reads “NACS charging port with included NACS-to-CCS adapter”.

Earlier IONIQ 5s were built with the CCS1 inlet instead — the tall two-part port whose upper round half isthe J1772 AC connector. Because Hyundai’s own page speaks only for the current car, the honest instruction is the simple one: go look at your charge port. If it is a single small oval socket, it is NACS. If it is a round socket with a second two-pin section below it, it is CCS1, and its AC half is J1772.

That one observation picks your charger:

  • NACS port→ buy a charger with a NACS cable (picks 1, 2 and 5 here), or keep a J1772-to-NACS adapter on a J1772 charger (pick 4).
  • CCS1 / J1772 port→ buy a J1772 charger (pick 3), which is also the larger and cheaper half of the market.

Note that the adapter included with a new IONIQ 5 runs the wrong wayfor home charging — it is a NACS-to-CCS adapter for DC fast charging on other networks, not something that lets a J1772 wall charger reach a NACS port. For that you need the small AC adapter in pick 4. Our J1772 vs NACS explainer covers the whole transition, and the J1772-to-NACS adapter review covers that specific part.

Hardwired or plug-in, and the circuit behind it

Every 48-amp charger is hardwired, because 48 amps continuous needs a 60-amp circuit and there is no household receptacle rated to carry it. A plug-in charger on a NEMA 14-50 outlet is capped at 40 amps, since code limits a continuous load to 80% of the receptacle’s rating. That is the real fork in the road:

  • New electrical work anyway? Hardwire a 48-amp unit on a 60-amp circuit and match the car exactly.
  • Already have a 14-50 outlet? A 40-amp plug-in charger costs you about four miles of range an hour on this car and saves you an electrician.
  • Panel already full? Buy the adjustable charger (pick 2) and set it to what the panel can give, or read our load-management roundup before anyone quotes you a service upgrade.

For the numbers behind the circuit, our breaker-size table gives the minimum breaker for every output from 12 to 50 amps, and Level 2 electrical requirements runs through the whole list an electrician will work from. If you are deciding between the two install types in the abstract, hardwired vs plug-in is the dedicated page.

What we did not rank, and why

Hyundai’s own branded charger. Hyundai promotes home charging through dealer and installer programs rather than selling a wall unit we can price on Amazon, and every buy link on this site resolves to a retailer we can show a live price for. If that changes we will add it.

Any charger above 48 amps, on the merits.The Autel MaxiCharger and the ChargePoint Home Flex both go to 50 amps and both are chargers we recommend elsewhere — see our 50-amp roundup — but on a car with a 10.9-kW ceiling the extra two amps deliver nothing while the 70-amp circuit they need to reach them costs real money. The ChargePoint appears here in its NACS version for its adjustability, not its top end.

Portable chargers. A 32-amp or 40-amp portable is a travel and backup tool, not a nightly solution for a car this size. If you want one for the trunk as well, our portable charger roundup is the page, and the road-trip portable roundup ranks on the adjustable current that matters at an outlet you did not install.

Any claim about how this car behaves in the cold. We own no IONIQ 5 and have run no winter test, so we have published no cold-weather charge figures for it. EPA publishes the general effect, and our cold-weather charging guide covers what is actually known.

The verdict

For most IONIQ 5 owners doing new electrical work: the EVIQO NACS 48A. It matches the car’s 10.9-kW appetite with 48 amps, plugs in natively so no adapter lives on the car, carries a 25 ft cable and an IP66 / NEMA 4 enclosure, and is ENERGY STAR certified, which several utility rebate programs require. It is hardwired on a 60-amp circuit, which is the price of 48 amps from anyone.

If the panel is the problem: the ChargePoint Home Flex NACS. Six published current settings from 16 to 50 amps mean it fits the circuit you can actually get today and can be turned up later if you upgrade. You pay a brand premium for that, and for the best app in the category.

If your IONIQ 5 has the CCS1 inlet: the EVIQO 48A in its J1772 version. Identical argument, standard connector, and generally the cheaper half of the market.

And if you already own a perfectly good J1772 charger and just bought a NACS car: buy the adapter. An 80-amp UL 2252 certified, IP67 AC adapter costs a fraction of a new charger and solves the entire problem. Leaving it permanently fitted is slightly more to catch on and one more connection in the chain — that is the honest trade — but replacing a working charger over a connector shape is not a good use of money.

Frequently asked questions

What size home charger does a Hyundai IONIQ 5 need?

A 48-amp (11.5 kW) charger is the right ceiling. Hyundai publishes a 10.9-kW onboard charger for the IONIQ 5, which is about 45 amps at 240 volts, so 48 amps is the first standard size that covers the car completely. A 50-amp charger charges this car no faster while asking for a 70-amp circuit instead of a 60-amp one, and a 40-amp charger costs you roughly four miles of range per hour.

How long does it take to charge an IONIQ 5 on a Level 2 charger?

Hyundai's own figure is approximately 7 hours and 20 minutes from 10% to 100% on a 10.9-kW, 240-volt charger. EPA publishes a longer time for a complete charge — 9.1 hours for the 2026 RWD, 6.3 hours for the Standard range — because EPA measures the whole pack and includes the energy lost in the charger and cable. Both numbers are correct; they are measuring different things.

Does the IONIQ 5 have a NACS or a CCS charge port?

It depends on how old your car is, so go look. Hyundai's current US page says the IONIQ 5 comes with a Tesla Supercharger-compatible NACS port and a CCS adapter in the box. Earlier IONIQ 5s were built with a CCS1 inlet, whose upper round half is the J1772 AC connector. A NACS port is one small oval socket; a CCS1 port is a round socket with a second two-pin section beneath it.

Can I use a J1772 charger with a NACS IONIQ 5?

Yes, with a J1772-to-NACS AC adapter, which costs a small fraction of a charger. Note that the adapter Hyundai includes with a new IONIQ 5 runs the other way — it is a NACS-to-CCS adapter for DC fast charging on networks like Electrify America, not something that lets a J1772 wall unit reach a NACS port.

Is a 50-amp charger better than a 48-amp one for an IONIQ 5?

No. The car's onboard charger caps AC intake at 10.9 kW, so a 50-amp charger and a 48-amp charger deliver the same charge rate to this car. The 50-amp unit does need a bigger circuit: manufacturers who publish a requirement for 50-amp output state a 70-amp circuit, against 60 amps for 48-amp output. On this car that is cost without benefit.

Do I need a 60-amp circuit for an IONIQ 5 charger?

Only if you want the full 48 amps. EV charging is a continuous load, so the circuit is sized to 125% of the charger's output: 48 amps needs 60. If you install a plug-in charger on a NEMA 14-50 receptacle instead, the same 80% rule caps the charger at 40 amps, which on this car is about 32 miles of range an hour rather than 36.

Will a 40-amp charger be fast enough for an IONIQ 5?

For almost everyone, yes. Using EPA's own consumption figure for the 2026 RWD, a 40-amp charger adds roughly 32 miles of range an hour against roughly 36 at the car's full rate — around 40 miles of difference across a ten-hour overnight charge. If your daily driving is under 200 miles, you will never notice it, and a 40-amp plug-in charger on an existing outlet is a much cheaper install.

Does the IONIQ 5's 800-volt architecture mean it needs a special home charger?

No. The 800-volt architecture is about DC fast charging, where the car's pack takes high-voltage DC directly and can reach 10% to 80% in around 20 minutes on a 350 kW charger. At home the car is taking 240-volt AC and converting it with the same 10.9-kW onboard charger as any other Level 2 install, so a standard Level 2 charger is exactly right.

Sources

  • Hyundai USA — IONIQ 5 vehicle page, charging section and charging FAQ — The manufacturer's own US page, fetched 2026-10-18. On the port: the current IONIQ 5 "comes with a Tesla Supercharger-compatible NACS port, giving you instant access to over 30,000 Tesla Superchargers—no adapter required. Plus, it comes with a CCS adapter for other networks like Electrify America and ChargePoint", and the spec line reads "NACS charging port with included NACS-to-CCS adapter". On home charging, the number this site needed and could not previously source: "Approximately 7 hours and 20 minutes to charge from 10% to 100% on a 10.9-kW, 240V AC charger." On DC: 10-80% in as little as 20 minutes at 800V/350kW using the included CCS adapter, or approximately 24 minutes (63 kWh battery models) and 30 minutes (84 kWh battery models) at a NACS V3/V4 Supercharger through the native port (accessed October 18, 2026)
  • FuelEconomy.gov — Hyundai IONIQ 5 (U.S. DOE / EPA vehicle records) — The federal fuel-economy record for the IONIQ 5, queried through the DOE/EPA vehicle web service on 2026-10-18. EPA publishes a 240-volt charge time and a kWh-per-100-mile figure for every trim, which together are the only government-published measure of how fast the car accepts AC power at home. 2026 model year: Standard range 6.3 h / 29 kWh per 100 mi / 245 mi; RWD 9.1 h / 30.0 / 318; AWD 19-inch 8.2 h / 31.7 / 290; AWD 20-inch 8.2 h / 34.5 / 269; AWD XRT 8.2 h / 35.8 / 259; N 8.7 h / 43.0 / 221. Earlier years carry the same fields: 2024 and 2022 Standard range 6.3 h, 2024 and 2022 Long range 8.5 h. The kWh-per-100-mile figure is measured at the wall and therefore includes charging losses (accessed October 18, 2026)
  • EVIQO — NACS 48 A hardwired home EV charger for Tesla product page — Manufacturer page, fetched 2026-10-05. The current control is published twice and the two statements differ: a banner reads “Easily set power (6-50A) for your home's capacity”, while the page's own FAQ is specific — “two levels of control. Hardware dip switch sets max amperage (16A / 32A / 40A / 48A). Then fine-tune with the app slider from 6A to your max in 1A increments.” We cite the FAQ. Also published: a native NACS connector, a 25 ft 4th-generation cable with a fluorescent holster, UL / ETL / FCC / ENERGY STAR certification, an IP66 / NEMA-4 enclosure rated -22 °F to 122 °F, 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi required for app features, up to 3 schedules with live energy and cost tracking and automatic over-the-air firmware, a 3-year standard warranty with a 4-year extended option, and a $480.99 direct price (from $599.00) on the date fetched. The page also carries third-party award and score claims we have not independently verified and do not repeat (accessed October 5, 2026)
  • EVIQO — Level 2 48 A hardwired charging station product page — Manufacturer page, fetched 2026-10-04: 48 A / 11.5 kW as standard with a 50 A output available by changing internal DIP switches (which it says requires a 70 A circuit), current adjustable 6-48 A in 1-amp increments from the app, and hardware DIP switches that set the maximum at 16, 32, 40 or 48 A. A 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input cable, an IP66 / NEMA-4 enclosure rated -22 °F to 122 °F, UL / ETL / FCC / ENERGY STAR certification, and a 3-year warranty extendable to 4. The app does remote start/stop, current setting, consumption and cost tracking, charging reminders, up to three custom schedules and over-the-air firmware updates. Hardwired only, and a 60 A dedicated circuit is stated for 48 A output. No load management or load balancing is described anywhere on the page (accessed October 4, 2026)
  • ChargePoint — Home Flex datasheet — Manufacturer datasheet: output adjustable in the app to 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 or 50 A (up to 12 kW); the dedicated dual-pole breaker must be rated for 125% of the maximum load (its example: a 50 A breaker for 40 A output) (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • United Chargers — Grizzl-E Classic Connect product page — Manufacturer page, fetched 2026-10-05: a 40 A plug-in Level 2 EVSE, “Max power 40A 10kW”, a NEMA 14-50 plug, adjustable current stated as “40A - 16A”, a 25 ft (7.6 m) output cable, UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor protection, certification “UL/cUL E510712”, Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz) with the Grizzl-E Connect mobile application, an operating temperature of -30 °C to +50 °C (-22 °F to 122 °F) and a 10.25 x 6.25 x 3.75 in enclosure. Available with a J1772 or a NACS output cable, and the warranty is a purchase option on the page — 3 year or 5 year. Listed at $349.99 direct on the date fetched. The page also advertises Demand/Response utility-program participation through the app (accessed October 5, 2026)
  • SAE International — J3400 North American Charging System (NACS) — The SAE J3400 / NACS standard (the Tesla-derived connector) now being adopted industry-wide (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • SAE International — J1772 Conductive Charge Coupler — The SAE J1772 connector standard for AC Level 1 and Level 2 charging in North America (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • NFPA — Using the Latest NEC for EV Charger Installations — NFPA on NEC (NFPA 70) Article 625: EV charging is a continuous load, so circuits are sized to 125% of load (the 80% rule) (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • ENERGY STAR — Electric Vehicle Chargers — ENERGY STAR on EVSE efficiency: certified chargers use about 40% less energy in standby than non-certified units (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • FuelEconomy.gov — Electric Vehicles: Learn More About the Label — DOE/EPA on EV efficiency: kWh per 100 miles and MPGe, accounting for AC charging losses (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • U.S. DOE Alternative Fuels Data Center — Electric Vehicle Charging Stations — US DOE on charging levels: Level 1 (~1.9 kW, ~5 mi/hr), Level 2 (2.9-19.2 kW, ~7.2 kW typical residential, ~25 mi/hr), and DC fast charging (accessed July 19, 2026)

Keep reading