Plug & Range

Autel MaxiCharger vs Emporia Pro

One is a weatherproof box with a card reader and the widest adjustable current range we cover. The other is an energy-monitoring company’s charger that can watch your whole panel and back off. Neither is a better charger — they are answers to different questions.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

Buy the Autel MaxiCharger if the charger is going outside or onto a circuit you are not sure about; buy the Emporia Pro if an electrician has told you the panel has no room. That is the whole decision, and it comes down to two published specs. Autel publishes a current range of 16 to 50 ampsand an operating range of −40°F to 131°F in an IP65 / NEMA 4X shell — the widest of each in our registry. Emporia publishes PowerSmart load management, which dynamically reduces charging speed when the rest of the house is drawing hard, and is the only mechanism either brand offers that can make a service-upgrade quote go away.

One practical note before the specs, because it changes what “Emporia” means on this page. Emporia sells two chargers: the standard Level 2 and the Pro. As of the date on this page, the standard model’s Amazon listing shows no buyable offer, while the Pro does — so the Pro is the Emporia we are comparing and the Emporia we can price. Our Emporia Level 2 vs Pro comparison covers the difference between the two for anyone who finds the standard model back in stock.

Both are hardwired 240-volt chargers, both are ENERGY STAR listed with a 25 ft cable and a three-year warranty, and both will charge any J1772 car (and a Tesla with the adapter that came with it). The third pick below is the charger we would buy instead if neither brand’s headline feature is one you need.

How this is funded:we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, charging speed, electrical fit and value. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these chargers — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Autel MaxiCharger Home

Autel MaxiCharger Home

Built for the driveway that takes the full brunt of the weather. The NEMA 4X shell is rated to keep charging through brutal cold and heat, it delivers a full 50 amps, and the app is genuinely capable. If your charger will live fully exposed, this is the one to shortlist.

Best for exposed installs and card access
$499.00 · View on Amazon

$568.0012% off

Price as of October 10, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Emporia Pro with PowerSmart

Emporia Pro with PowerSmart

The answer to a full electrical panel. It's the same 48-amp, ENERGY STAR hardware as Emporia's standard charger, with PowerSmart load management added: paired with Emporia's own energy monitor, it watches what the rest of the house is drawing and dials the charger back instead of tripping the main. If an electrician has told you a charger means a service upgrade, this is the unit that can make that quote go away.

Best for a panel with no spare capacity
$599.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 10, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger

EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger

A lot of charger for the money. You get 48 amps, Wi-Fi scheduling, ENERGY STAR, and the longest usable reach in this group thanks to a 25 ft cable plus a 40-inch input lead. If Emporia is sold out or you want maximum cable, this is the value alternative to have in mind.

Best value if you need neither
$449.99 · View on Amazon

$510.0012% off

Price as of October 10, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best for exposed installs and card access

Autel MaxiCharger Home

Built for the driveway that takes the full brunt of the weather. The NEMA 4X shell is rated to keep charging through brutal cold and heat, it delivers a full 50 amps, and the app is genuinely capable. If your charger will live fully exposed, this is the one to shortlist.

Strengths

  • NEMA 4X enclosure rated for very cold and very hot conditions
  • Full 50A output paired with a 25 ft cable
  • Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and a capable app

Trade-offs

  • 50A means a 60A circuit and, usually, a hardwired install
  • The app and ecosystem are younger than ChargePoint's
Max output50 A
Power12 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsCSA certified, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At its 50A ceiling (about 12 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh, roughly 42 miles of range an hour.

Build note. Re-read from Autel's own page on 2026-10-04: 12 kW / 50 A with the output adjustable 16-50 A, 208/240 V AC, hardwired, a 70 A circuit required for full output, a 25 ft J1772 cable, an IP65 / NEMA 4X enclosure with a -40 to 131°F (-40 to 55°C) operating range, Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, Ethernet, CAN and RS485 connectivity, app / AutoStart / RFID-card authentication (cards sold separately) and a 3-year warranty. On load management the page is unusually specific, and it is two different features: it "supports both Adaptive Load Management (ALM) and charger-to-charger Dynamic Load Balancing (DLB)", with "ALM requir[ing] compatible additional hardware, while DLB works between chargers without additional hardware". Autel does not name the ALM hardware on this page, so we do not either.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on October 4, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best for a panel with no spare capacity

Emporia Pro with PowerSmart

The answer to a full electrical panel. It's the same 48-amp, ENERGY STAR hardware as Emporia's standard charger, with PowerSmart load management added: paired with Emporia's own energy monitor, it watches what the rest of the house is drawing and dials the charger back instead of tripping the main. If an electrician has told you a charger means a service upgrade, this is the unit that can make that quote go away.

Strengths

  • PowerSmart load management can avoid a panel or service upgrade
  • Full 48A, ENERGY STAR and a 25 ft cable, same as the standard model
  • The app adds peak-demand management on top of ordinary scheduling

Trade-offs

  • PowerSmart needs Emporia's Vue energy monitor — that's a second device to buy and install
  • You pay a clear premium over the standard Emporia for one feature
Max output48 A
Power11.5 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired (a NEMA 14-50 SKU is also sold)
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At the full 48A (11.5 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh, about 40 miles of range an hour — and PowerSmart will quietly reduce that when the rest of the house is drawing hard, which is the entire point of it.

Build note. Emporia publishes PowerSmart load management as dynamically adjusting charging speed to prevent overloading the panel; it requires the Emporia Vue energy monitor.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best value if you need neither

EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger

A lot of charger for the money. You get 48 amps, Wi-Fi scheduling, ENERGY STAR, and the longest usable reach in this group thanks to a 25 ft cable plus a 40-inch input lead. If Emporia is sold out or you want maximum cable, this is the value alternative to have in mind.

Strengths

  • 48A output with Wi-Fi scheduling at a value price
  • 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input lead — excellent reach
  • UL, ETL, FCC and ENERGY STAR listings

Trade-offs

  • The hardwired version needs a 60A circuit and an electrician
  • A smaller brand with a shorter track record than ChargePoint or Wallbox
Max output48 A
Power11.5 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL, ETL, FCC, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh, about 40 miles of range an hour.

Build note. Re-read from EVIQO's own page on 2026-10-04, which publishes more than the spec table above implies. The 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input cable is still among the longest total reach in class, and the current is adjustable two ways: 6-48 A in 1-amp increments from the app, and a hardware DIP switch that caps the maximum at 16, 32, 40 or 48 A. The same DIP block can raise the output to 50 A, which EVIQO says requires a 70 A circuit; the 48 A default needs a 60 A one. The enclosure is IP66 / NEMA-4 rated -22°F to 122°F, the warranty is 3 years and extendable to 4, and the app does remote start/stop, consumption and cost tracking, reminders, up to three schedules and over-the-air updates. No load management or load balancing is described anywhere on the page.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on October 4, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

The published specs, side by side

 Autel MaxiCharger HomeEmporia Pro
Max output50 A / 12 kW48 A / 11.5 kW
Published adjustable range16–50 ANot published
Circuit for full output70 A (Autel’s own figure)60 A at 48 A
InstallHardwiredHardwired (a NEMA 14-50 SKU is also sold)
Cable25 ft25 ft
EnclosureIP65 / NEMA 4XNEMA 4
Operating range−40 to 131 °FNot published
Load managementALM (needs unnamed extra hardware) + charger-to-charger DLBPowerSmart (needs the Emporia Vue monitor)
Solar surplus chargingNot stated on the product pageYes, with the Vue monitor
Access controlApp, AutoStart, RFID cards (sold separately)Invite2Charge multi-user
CertificationCSA certified, ENERGY STARUL listed, ENERGY STAR
Warranty3 years3 years

At 50 amps and 12 kW, our 3.5 miles-per-kWh reference puts the Autel at roughly 42 miles of range an hour. At 48 amps and 11.5 kW the Emporia is about 40. Two miles an hour is not a reason to choose either one, and the 70-amp circuit Autel specifies for its full output is a reason not to: most panels that can find 60 amps cannot find 70, so in practice both of these chargers run at 48 amps in most houses and charge at the same speed.

Where the Autel wins

The weather. A published operating range of −40°F to 131°F in an IP65 / NEMA 4X enclosure is the widest figure in our registry, and it is a publishedfigure rather than an enclosure rating standing in for one. Emporia publishes NEMA 4 and no temperature range at all, which is not the same as publishing a bad one — it means we cannot tell you. If the charger is going on an exposed wall in a cold state, that asymmetry decides it. Our outdoor and cold-weather roundup ranks the whole field this way.

A published adjustable range. Autel publishes 16 to 50 amps. That is the spec that lets one charger fit a 20-amp circuit today and a 60-amp circuit after a panel upgrade, and it is the single most useful thing on a spec sheet for anyone whose electrical situation is uncertain. Emporia publishes 48 amps hardwired and 40 amps on a plug, and no range below that — so we will not tell you it can be set to 32, because Emporia does not say so. Our 100-amp panel roundup is built entirely on this distinction.

Authorisation at the unit. Autel publishes RFID-card authentication alongside the app and AutoStart, with cards sold separately. A physical credential works when the Wi-Fi does not, and it is the natural thing to hand a houseguest. Emporia’s Invite2Charge is a named multi-user mechanism and genuinely good, but it lives in an app and an account. Our access-control roundup ranks both.

Where the Emporia Pro wins

Load management that watches the house. This is the feature worth paying for, and it is the reason the Pro exists. Emporia publishes PowerSmart as dynamically adjusting charging speed to prevent overloading the panel. Paired with Emporia’s Vue energy monitor it sees what the dryer, the oven and the air conditioning are doing and dials the charger back instead of tripping the main. If a load calculation came back saying “service upgrade”, that is a four-figure quote this feature can sometimes remove.

Autel’s page is unusually honest about its own version, and it is two different features: Adaptive Load Management, which it says “requires compatible additional hardware”, and charger-to-charger Dynamic Load Balancing, which “works between chargers without additional hardware”. The second one shares a circuit between two Autels and does not watch the house. The first one does what PowerSmart does — but Autel does not name the hardware on that page, so we cannot tell you what it costs or whether you can buy it. Emporia names its box. Our load-management roundup pulls that distinction apart across the whole field.

Energy data, and solar. Emporia is an energy-monitoring company that happens to make a charger, and it shows. The Vue monitor plus the charger gives you whole-house circuit-level consumption with the charge session inside it, which is a different proposition from a charger that reports its own kWh. Emporia also publishes solar charging integration — running the car on surplus production — which again needs the Vue. Autel’s product page states no solar feature. Our solar roundup and our energy-monitoring guide cover what those features really deliver.

A plug-in option. Emporia sells the Pro as a NEMA 14-50 SKU as well as hardwired, capped at 40 amps on the plug. The Autel is hardwired, full stop. If you want to be able to take the charger with you, that is a genuine difference — see our guide to moving house with a charger.

The honest cost comparison

Compare the installed totals, not the box prices. The Autel needs a hardwired install and, for its full 50 amps, a 70-amp circuit that most houses will not supply — so budget it as a 48-amp charger on a 60-amp circuit, which is what it will be. The Emporia Pro needs a hardwired install at 48 amps, plus the Vue energy monitor if you want the feature you bought the Pro for, plus the PowerSmart upgrade Emporia lists alongside it. A Pro without a Vue is a more expensive standard Emporia. Add those line items before you decide which one is the cheaper charger, and read our installation-cost guide for the electrical side.

The verdict

Exposed wall, cold winters, a circuit you are unsure of, or guests you want to hand a card to: the Autel MaxiCharger. A −40°F published floor, NEMA 4X, 16-to-50-amp adjustability and a card reader in the hardware. You will almost certainly run it at 48 amps rather than 50, and that is fine — the adjustability is the point, not the ceiling.

A full panel, a solar array, or a real appetite for energy data: the Emporia Pro. PowerSmart is the best-documented whole-house load management of the two, the Vue makes the charge session part of a household picture rather than an isolated number, and Invite2Charge handles a two-driver household cleanly. Budget for the Vue from the start.

Neither feature, and you want 48 amps for less: the EVIQO 48A. A 25 ft cable plus a 40-inch input lead for the longest total reach here, a DIP switch that caps the maximum at 16, 32, 40 or 48 amps, an app slider from 6 amps in 1-amp steps, IP66 / NEMA 4 rated −22°F to 122°F, ENERGY STAR, and a warranty extendable to four years. EVIQO publishes no load management anywhere, so if the panel is the problem this is the wrong charger — but if it is not, this is a lot of charger for the money. Read the full EVIQO review, or the head-to-head with the brand it is most often compared against in EVIQO vs Emporia.

Frequently asked questions

Is the Autel MaxiCharger better than the Emporia Pro?

They are better at different things. The Autel publishes the wider adjustable current range (16-50 A), a tougher enclosure (IP65 / NEMA 4X) and a published -40°F to 131°F operating range, plus RFID card authentication. The Emporia Pro publishes PowerSmart load management, which watches the whole panel and reduces charging speed instead of tripping the main, plus solar surplus charging and whole-house energy monitoring — both of which need Emporia's Vue monitor as a second purchase.

Does the Autel MaxiCharger really need a 70-amp circuit?

For its full 50-amp output, yes — that is Autel's own figure, and it follows NEC Article 625's continuous-load rule (125% of 50 amps is 62.5 amps, which rounds up to the next standard breaker). Very few residential panels can spare 70 amps. In practice most owners run it at 48 amps on a 60-amp circuit, where it charges at the same speed as the Emporia Pro. The adjustable range is the feature here, not the 50-amp ceiling.

Can the Emporia Pro be set to a lower amperage?

Emporia publishes 48 amps hardwired and 40 amps on a NEMA 14-50 plug, and does not publish an adjustable range below that — so we will not claim one. What the Pro does instead is reduce speed dynamically through PowerSmart, which is a different mechanism: it is a moving limit based on what the house is drawing, not a fixed setting your electrician can sign off on. If you need a fixed, documented lower limit, our 100-amp panel roundup ranks the chargers that publish one.

Do I need the Emporia Vue to use the Emporia Pro?

Not to charge — the charger works on its own with scheduling and its own energy reporting. You need the Vue for the two features that make the Pro a Pro: PowerSmart load management and solar surplus charging. Emporia states that requirement on its own page, and it also lists a PowerSmart upgrade alongside the monitor. Budget for the Vue at the same time, or buy the standard Emporia instead when it is in stock.

Which one is better for an outdoor install?

The Autel, on published specs. It states IP65 / NEMA 4X with an operating range of -40°F to 131°F. Emporia publishes a NEMA 4 enclosure and no temperature range at all, which is a gap in the documentation rather than a known weakness — but on a page like this we go with what is published. Both are stated as outdoor-rated by their manufacturers; only one tells you the temperatures it is rated between.

Why are you comparing the Emporia Pro and not the standard Emporia?

Because the Pro is the Emporia with a live Amazon offer on the date this page was written — the standard Level 2 model's listing shows no buyable offer. Every price on this site comes from a live daily refresh rather than being typed into the page, so when a listing goes quiet we stop ranking it rather than quoting a number we cannot verify. Our Emporia Level 2 vs Pro comparison covers the difference between the two models.

Can either charger handle two EVs?

Differently. Autel publishes charger-to-charger Dynamic Load Balancing, which shares one circuit between two Autel units with no extra hardware — that is two chargers, two cars, one circuit. Emporia's PowerSmart manages the whole house, which indirectly covers a second charger but is not specifically a charger-sharing feature. Neither charges two cars from one unit at the same time; no residential Level 2 charger we cover does. Our two-EV roundup covers the options.

Sources

  • Autel — MaxiCharger AC Elite Home 50 A product page — Manufacturer page: 12 kW / 50 A with the output adjustable 16-50 A, a 70 A circuit required for full output, 208/240 V AC, hardwired, a 25 ft SAE J1772 cable, IP65 / NEMA 4X, an operating range of -40 to 131 °F (-40 to 55 °C), a 3-year warranty, and Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, Ethernet, CAN and RS485 connectivity with app, AutoStart and RFID-card authentication (cards sold separately). On load management it states that the charger “supports both Adaptive Load Management (ALM) and charger-to-charger Dynamic Load Balancing (DLB) for more flexible home energy management” and that “ALM requires compatible additional hardware, while DLB works between chargers without additional hardware” (accessed October 4, 2026)
  • Emporia Energy — EV Chargers (Classic and Pro) — Manufacturer page: the Classic and the Pro both list Solar Charging Integration, and both require the Vue Home Energy Monitor for it — with the Vue added, the charger 'automatically charge[s] with your excess solar power'. PowerSmart load management on the Pro requires the Vue plus the PowerSmart upgrade; Emporia also lists Invite2Charge, described as 'multi-user access control for EV chargers' (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • EVIQO — Level 2 48 A hardwired charging station product page — Manufacturer page, fetched 2026-10-04: 48 A / 11.5 kW as standard with a 50 A output available by changing internal DIP switches (which it says requires a 70 A circuit), current adjustable 6-48 A in 1-amp increments from the app, and hardware DIP switches that set the maximum at 16, 32, 40 or 48 A. A 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input cable, an IP66 / NEMA-4 enclosure rated -22 °F to 122 °F, UL / ETL / FCC / ENERGY STAR certification, and a 3-year warranty extendable to 4. The app does remote start/stop, current setting, consumption and cost tracking, charging reminders, up to three custom schedules and over-the-air firmware updates. Hardwired only, and a 60 A dedicated circuit is stated for 48 A output. No load management or load balancing is described anywhere on the page (accessed October 4, 2026)
  • NFPA — Using the Latest NEC for EV Charger Installations — NFPA on NEC (NFPA 70) Article 625: EV charging is a continuous load, so circuits are sized to 125% of load (the 80% rule) (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • ENERGY STAR — Electric Vehicle Chargers — ENERGY STAR on EVSE efficiency: certified chargers use about 40% less energy in standby than non-certified units (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • FuelEconomy.gov — Electric Vehicles: Learn More About the Label — DOE/EPA on EV efficiency: kWh per 100 miles and MPGe, accounting for AC charging losses (accessed July 19, 2026)

Keep reading