Plug & Range

Emporia vs Grizzl-E EV Chargers

Emporia is an energy-monitoring company that makes a charger. Grizzl-E is a metalworks that makes a charger. Both are good at what they are, and the better one for you depends on whether you want to watch the charge or forget it exists.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

Buy the Grizzl-E Classic Connect if you want a charger you can stop thinking about; buy the Emporia Pro if what the house is drawing is the problem you are actually solving. The Grizzl-E is a cast-case, plug-in, 40-amp unit certified under UL file E510712 with a published −22°F to 122°F range, an adjustable 40-to-16-amp current range, and a warranty you buy as either three or five years. The Emporia Pro is a hardwired 48-amp charger whose reason for existing is PowerSmart— load management that watches the whole panel and reduces charging speed instead of tripping the main.

A clarification about brands before the specs. Emporia’s standard Level 2 charger is the model most often compared against the Grizzl-E Classic, and as of the date on this page its Amazon listing shows no buyable offer — so the Emporia on this page is the Pro, which does. On the Grizzl-E side, the 48-amp Ultimate is the model that matches the Pro’s amperage, but the only live Amazon listing for it carries a NACS output cable, which makes it a Tesla-connector charger rather than a direct J1772 counterpart. So the honest matchup is a hardwired 48-amp Emporia against a plug-in 40-amp Grizzl-E, and the amperage gap is part of the comparison rather than an accident of it.

Both brands are ENERGY STAR-adjacent in different ways and both publish a 25 ft cable. Past that, almost nothing about them is the same. Here is what each one is actually selling.

How this is funded:we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, charging speed, electrical fit and value. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these chargers — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Grizzl-E Classic Connect

Grizzl-E Classic Connect

Grizzl-E retired the old no-app Classic and replaced it with this, and it kept the part that mattered: a metal case rated UL Type 4 for a spot with no shelter, published to keep operating down to -22F. What changed is that the electronics caught up — Wi-Fi, an app, and current you can dial from 40A down to 16A to fit a circuit you already have. It's the rugged pick that no longer asks you to give up scheduling to get it.

Best overall: no electrician, no app required
$349.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 10, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Emporia Pro with PowerSmart

Emporia Pro with PowerSmart

The answer to a full electrical panel. It's the same 48-amp, ENERGY STAR hardware as Emporia's standard charger, with PowerSmart load management added: paired with Emporia's own energy monitor, it watches what the rest of the house is drawing and dials the charger back instead of tripping the main. If an electrician has told you a charger means a service upgrade, this is the unit that can make that quote go away.

Best when the panel is the constraint
$599.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 10, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Grizzl-E Mini 40A Portable Charger (J1772)

Grizzl-E Mini 40A Portable Charger (J1772)

The only charger on our dryer-outlet page that can grow past one. It is a UL-certified 40-amp portable on a NEMA 14-50 plug, and United Chargers puts a NEMA 14-30P adapter in the box alongside 6-50P, TT-30P and 5-15P adapters — so it runs at 24 amps on your dryer outlet today and at 40 the day an electrician fits a 14-50. The catch is the one that matters most here: it ships set to 40 amps, United Chargers' current Mini manual says outright that the charger cannot detect a circuit's amperage limit, and turning it down before the first session is your job.

Best Grizzl-E if the outlet is not a 14-50
$479.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 10, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall: no electrician, no app required

Grizzl-E Classic Connect

Grizzl-E retired the old no-app Classic and replaced it with this, and it kept the part that mattered: a metal case rated UL Type 4 for a spot with no shelter, published to keep operating down to -22F. What changed is that the electronics caught up — Wi-Fi, an app, and current you can dial from 40A down to 16A to fit a circuit you already have. It's the rugged pick that no longer asks you to give up scheduling to get it.

Strengths

  • Metal case rated UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor, published from -22F to 122F
  • Current adjusts from 40A down to 16A, so it fits the circuit you already have
  • 25 ft cable — among the longest here — on a simple plug-in NEMA 14-50 install

Trade-offs

  • 40A caps its charging speed below the 48A units
  • Scheduling now runs through Wi-Fi and an account — the old Classic's nothing-to-update simplicity is gone
  • Grizzl-E publishes UL/cUL only for this model, not the ENERGY STAR listing the discontinued Classic carried
Max output40 A
Power9.6 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallNEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL/cUL listed (file E510712)

Our charging-speed math. At 40A (9.6 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh it adds roughly 34 miles of range an hour — more than enough to refill a daily commute overnight. Dial it down to 16A and you're at about 13.

Build note. A metal case rated UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor and published for -30C to +50C (-22F to 122F), with 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and current adjustable from 40A down to 16A.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best when the panel is the constraint

Emporia Pro with PowerSmart

The answer to a full electrical panel. It's the same 48-amp, ENERGY STAR hardware as Emporia's standard charger, with PowerSmart load management added: paired with Emporia's own energy monitor, it watches what the rest of the house is drawing and dials the charger back instead of tripping the main. If an electrician has told you a charger means a service upgrade, this is the unit that can make that quote go away.

Strengths

  • PowerSmart load management can avoid a panel or service upgrade
  • Full 48A, ENERGY STAR and a 25 ft cable, same as the standard model
  • The app adds peak-demand management on top of ordinary scheduling

Trade-offs

  • PowerSmart needs Emporia's Vue energy monitor — that's a second device to buy and install
  • You pay a clear premium over the standard Emporia for one feature
Max output48 A
Power11.5 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired (a NEMA 14-50 SKU is also sold)
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At the full 48A (11.5 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh, about 40 miles of range an hour — and PowerSmart will quietly reduce that when the rest of the house is drawing hard, which is the entire point of it.

Build note. Emporia publishes PowerSmart load management as dynamically adjusting charging speed to prevent overloading the panel; it requires the Emporia Vue energy monitor.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best Grizzl-E if the outlet is not a 14-50

Grizzl-E Mini 40A Portable Charger (J1772)

The only charger on our dryer-outlet page that can grow past one. It is a UL-certified 40-amp portable on a NEMA 14-50 plug, and United Chargers puts a NEMA 14-30P adapter in the box alongside 6-50P, TT-30P and 5-15P adapters — so it runs at 24 amps on your dryer outlet today and at 40 the day an electrician fits a 14-50. The catch is the one that matters most here: it ships set to 40 amps, United Chargers' current Mini manual says outright that the charger cannot detect a circuit's amperage limit, and turning it down before the first session is your job.

Strengths

  • Three-year warranty and a UL certification from an established North American brand
  • The NEMA 14-30P adapter comes in the box from the manufacturer, not as a third-party add-on
  • A DIP switch inside can cap it at 24 amps in hardware, and no Wi-Fi setting can exceed that cap
  • Runs at a full 40 amps on a NEMA 14-50 if the outlet is upgraded later

Trade-offs

  • Ships set to 40 amps and cannot detect the circuit — on a 14-30 it must be turned down before first use
  • Setting the hardware cap means unplugging it and removing the front cover to reach the switch
  • By a wide margin the most expensive pick, for capacity a dryer outlet will never let you use
  • The adapter adds a plug-and-socket joint that a native 14-30 cord does not have
  • The Amazon J1772 listing describes browser-based Wi-Fi settings, not the Grizzl-E Connect app the newer Mini Connect uses
Max output40 A
Power9.6 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallNEMA 14-50 plug, with 14-30P, 6-50P, TT-30P and 5-15P adapters included
Cable length24 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL certified (United Chargers UL file E510712)

Our charging-speed math. On a NEMA 14-30 dryer outlet it must run at 24 amps: 24A at 240V is 5.76 kW, which at our 3.5 miles-per-kWh reference is roughly 20 miles of range an hour, or about 200 miles across a ten-hour overnight window. On a NEMA 14-50 at its full 40 amps (9.6 kW), it is roughly 34 miles an hour.

Build note. United Chargers publishes a 40A / 9.6 kW maximum on a 50A circuit with the output adjustable down to 7A at 240V (and 7-12A at 120V, which the charger detects automatically), a NEMA 14-50 input plug on an 18-inch lead, four NEMA 14-50R adapters in the box (5-15P, TT-30P, 14-30P and 6-50P), a UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor rating, a -22°F to 122°F operating range, a 6.9 x 3.1 x 2.4 in body weighing 9.8 lb, built-in GFCI, UL file E510712 and a 3-year warranty. Two lines decide how it belongs on a dryer outlet: both Mini manuals give the factory default maximum as 40A, and the current Mini Connect manual adds that the charger "can not detect the circuit amperage limit" (the automatic detection both manuals describe is of 120V versus 240V, not of the circuit's amperage). The limit can be lowered on the Wi-Fi settings page, or capped in hardware with a four-position DIP switch at 40, 32, 24 or 16A; the Wi-Fi setting can never exceed the DIP switch. On cable length, grizzl-e.com lists 25 ft for the current Mini Connect, while this Amazon J1772 listing and United Chargers' original Mini manual both say 24 ft, so we record the lower figure.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on September 15, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

The published specs, side by side

 Grizzl-E Classic ConnectEmporia Pro
Max output40 A / 10 kW (Grizzl-E’s figure)48 A / 11.5 kW
Published adjustable range40 A – 16 ANot published
InstallNEMA 14-50 plugHardwired (a NEMA 14-50 SKU is also sold)
Circuit needed50 A60 A at 48 A
Cable25 ft25 ft
EnclosureUL Type 4, cast caseNEMA 4
Operating range−22 to 122 °FNot published
AppGrizzl-E Connect, 2.4 GHz Wi-FiEmporia app, with Invite2Charge multi-user
Load managementNot publishedPowerSmart (needs the Emporia Vue monitor)
Solar surplus chargingNot publishedYes, with the Vue monitor
CertificationUL/cUL E510712UL listed, ENERGY STAR
Warranty3 or 5 years — a purchase option3 years
Connector optionsJ1772 or NACS output cableJ1772

Forty amps at 240 volts is 9.6 kW; Grizzl-E rounds its own figure to 10 kW. At our 3.5 miles-per-kWh reference that is roughly 34 miles of range an houragainst the Emporia Pro’s 40at 48 amps. Across a ten-hour night that is about 340 miles versus 400 — a difference that matters to a small number of households and to nobody else.

What Grizzl-E is actually selling

Metal, and a published temperature range. United Chargers builds in a cast enclosure to UL Type 4 and publishes −30 °C to +50 °C (−22°F to 122°F) for both the Classic Connect and the Mini. Emporia publishes a NEMA 4 enclosure and no temperature range — which is a documentation gap rather than a known weakness, but on a comparison page we go with what is published. If the charger lives outside in a cold state, that asymmetry is the finding.

No electrician. The Classic Connect is a plug-in charger on a NEMA 14-50. If the receptacle exists, the install is a bracket and a plug. The Emporia Pro is primarily hardwired, which is an electrician, a permit in most jurisdictions and a charger that is now a fixture. Our hardwired vs plug-in comparison covers what that means at resale and at a house move, and our plug-in roundup is the wider list.

A warranty you can buy. Grizzl-E publishes the warranty as a purchase option— three years or five — on its own product page. Emporia publishes three. A manufacturer willing to sell you five years on a cast-aluminium box is making a statement about the box, and our lifespan guide treats warranty terms as the closest thing to a published lifespan anyone in this category offers.

A NACS option. The Classic Connect is sold with either a J1772 or a NACS output cable. If the household is Tesla-only, that removes the adapter from the equation permanently. Our NACS roundup covers why a native Tesla plug is not automatically the right answer in a mixed-car household.

What Emporia is actually selling

A view of the whole house. Emporia makes energy monitors; the charger is an extension of that business. The Vue monitor plus the charger gives circuit-level consumption for the house with the charging session inside it, which is a genuinely different product from a charger that reports its own kWh. Our energy-monitoring guide explains why the wall-side number and the car’s number never match, and which one to trust.

PowerSmart, which can cancel a service-upgrade quote. This is the single most valuable thing either brand publishes. Emporia states PowerSmart dynamically adjusts charging speed to prevent overloading the panel, and that it requires the Vue monitor. If an electrician has told you a charger means a panel or service upgrade, this feature is the cheapest route around that quote. Grizzl-E publishes no load management of any kind. Our load-management roundup compares all three mechanisms on the market, and our panel-capacity guide covers the calculation that tells you whether you need it.

Solar surplus charging. Emporia publishes solar charging integration on the Pro, again with the Vue, so the car charges on production rather than on the grid. Grizzl-E’s page advertises Demand/Response utility-program participation through the app, which is a related but different idea — the utility asking the charger to back off, rather than the charger following your panels. Our solar roundup covers which chargers can genuinely do this and what hardware each one needs.

Named multi-user access. Emporia publishes Invite2Charge, described on its own page as multi-user access control. Grizzl-E publishes an app but no named multi-user or card mechanism, so a Grizzl-E on an open driveway will charge whatever plugs into it. Our access-control roundup ranks the field on exactly that.

The cost that is not on the box

The Pro’s headline features need the Emporia Vue energy monitor, and Emporia lists a PowerSmart upgrade alongside it. A Pro without a Vue is an expensive standard Emporia. The Grizzl-E’s equivalent hidden cost is the receptacle: if there is no NEMA 14-50 on the wall, fitting one is the same electrical work as hardwiring would have been. Price the installed system, not the carton — our installation-cost guide has the electrical line items.

The verdict

For most households: the Grizzl-E Classic Connect. Forty amps is enough for essentially any overnight charge, the cast Type 4 case with a published −22°F floor is the most weather-honest thing in this comparison, it goes in without an electrician if the receptacle exists, the current adjusts from 40 down to 16 amps, and you can buy five years of warranty. It has Wi-Fi and an app if you want them, and it does not need them to work. Read the full Grizzl-E Classic review.

If your panel is the constraint, or you have solar: the Emporia Pro. PowerSmart is the best-documented panel-aware load management we cover, solar surplus charging is a real published feature, Invite2Charge handles a two-driver household, and 48 amps on a 60-amp circuit is the faster charge if you genuinely need it. Buy the Vue at the same time or you have not bought the feature. Read the full Emporia Pro review.

And if the outlet in your garage is not a NEMA 14-50: the Grizzl-E Mini. Same brand, same UL file, same metal philosophy, and the only charger we cover whose manufacturer supplies the outlet adapters — 5-15P, TT-30P, 14-30P and 6-50P — with a hardware DIP switch (40/32/24/16 A) to cap the current where a smaller circuit requires it. Our Mini vs Classic comparison settles which Grizzl-E to buy.

Frequently asked questions

Is Emporia or Grizzl-E the better EV charger?

They are optimised for different problems. Grizzl-E publishes a cast UL Type 4 case, a -22°F to 122°F operating range, a 40-to-16-amp adjustable range, a plug-in install and a warranty you can buy as three or five years. Emporia publishes 48 amps, whole-house energy monitoring, PowerSmart load management and solar surplus charging — the last two requiring Emporia's Vue monitor. If the panel or the energy data is your problem, Emporia. If you want a durable charger that needs nothing, Grizzl-E.

Is 40 amps enough, or do I need the Emporia's 48?

Forty amps is 9.6 kW, which at our 3.5 miles-per-kWh reference is roughly 34 miles of range an hour — about 340 miles across a ten-hour night. Forty-eight amps is about 40 miles an hour, or 400 miles overnight. Unless you regularly need to replace most of a large battery between evening and morning, or you are sharing one charger between two EVs, the eight amps make no practical difference. They do make a difference to the install: 48 amps needs a 60-amp circuit and hardwiring.

Does the Grizzl-E have load management?

No. United Chargers publishes no load management, load balancing or panel-monitoring capability for the Classic Connect or the Mini. Its product page does advertise Demand/Response utility-program participation through the app, which is the utility asking the charger to reduce draw during grid events — related, but not the same as a charger watching your own panel. If a load calculation says your service cannot take a charger, the Grizzl-E is not the answer.

Why compare the Emporia Pro instead of the standard Emporia?

Because the Pro is the Emporia with a live Amazon offer on the date this page was written; the standard Level 2 model's listing shows no buyable offer. Every price on this site comes from a live daily refresh rather than being typed into the page, so when a listing goes quiet we stop ranking that product rather than quoting a figure we cannot verify. Our Emporia Level 2 vs Pro comparison covers the difference between the two models.

Why not compare the Grizzl-E Ultimate, which is also 48 amps?

Because the only live Amazon listing for the Ultimate carries a NACS output cable, which makes it a Tesla-connector charger rather than a J1772 counterpart to the Emporia. Grizzl-E still publishes the Ultimate with a J1772 option, but we only rank what we can actually link to a live, priced listing. Our Grizzl-E Classic vs Ultimate comparison covers that model, and our NACS roundup covers the Tesla-connector field.

Which charger is better for cold weather?

Grizzl-E, on published specs. United Chargers states -30 °C to +50 °C (-22°F to 122°F) for both the Classic Connect and the Mini, in a cast enclosure rated UL Type 4. Emporia publishes a NEMA 4 enclosure and no operating temperature range at all. An enclosure rating describes water and dust ingress; it is not a temperature rating, and we do not treat one as a substitute for the other. Our outdoor roundup ranks the whole field this way.

Do I need the Emporia Vue monitor?

To charge, no. To use the two features the Pro exists for — PowerSmart load management and solar surplus charging — yes: Emporia states that requirement on its own page, and lists a PowerSmart upgrade alongside the monitor. Factor both into the price before comparing the Pro against anything. If you want neither feature, the standard Emporia or a Grizzl-E will do the same charging for less money.

Sources

  • United Chargers — Grizzl-E Classic Connect product page — Manufacturer page, fetched 2026-10-05: a 40 A plug-in Level 2 EVSE, “Max power 40A 10kW”, a NEMA 14-50 plug, adjustable current stated as “40A - 16A”, a 25 ft (7.6 m) output cable, UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor protection, certification “UL/cUL E510712”, Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz) with the Grizzl-E Connect mobile application, an operating temperature of -30 °C to +50 °C (-22 °F to 122 °F) and a 10.25 x 6.25 x 3.75 in enclosure. Available with a J1772 or a NACS output cable, and the warranty is a purchase option on the page — 3 year or 5 year. Listed at $349.99 direct on the date fetched. The page also advertises Demand/Response utility-program participation through the app (accessed October 5, 2026)
  • United Chargers — Grizzl-E Mini product page — Manufacturer page (now listing the Mini Connect): up to 40 A / 9.6 kW, adjustable 7-40 A, NEMA 14-50 plug with four adapters included, Type 4 indoor/outdoor rating, -30 C to +50 C (-22 F to 122 F) operating range, 6.9 x 3.1 x 2.4 in enclosure, UL E510712, Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz) with the Grizzl-E Connect mobile app, 3-year default warranty, made in Canada; lists a 25 ft output cable where the Amazon J1772 listing states 24 ft (accessed September 20, 2026)
  • United Chargers — Grizzl-E Mini / Mini Connect User Manual and Installation Guide (Rev. 2.0, April 30, 2026) — Manufacturer manual: ships four NEMA 14-50R adapters (5-15P, TT-30P, 14-30P, 6-50P); the factory default maximum current is 40A; the Wi-Fi current slider runs from 7A up to the DIP switch setting, the DIP switch sets 40, 32, 24 or 16A, and "the charger can not detect the circuit amperage limit"; only 80% of the circuit rating may be used (accessed September 15, 2026)
  • Emporia Energy — EV Chargers (Classic and Pro) — Manufacturer page: the Classic and the Pro both list Solar Charging Integration, and both require the Vue Home Energy Monitor for it — with the Vue added, the charger 'automatically charge[s] with your excess solar power'. PowerSmart load management on the Pro requires the Vue plus the PowerSmart upgrade; Emporia also lists Invite2Charge, described as 'multi-user access control for EV chargers' (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • NFPA — Using the Latest NEC for EV Charger Installations — NFPA on NEC (NFPA 70) Article 625: EV charging is a continuous load, so circuits are sized to 125% of load (the 80% rule) (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • ENERGY STAR — Electric Vehicle Chargers — ENERGY STAR on EVSE efficiency: certified chargers use about 40% less energy in standby than non-certified units (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • FuelEconomy.gov — Electric Vehicles: Learn More About the Label — DOE/EPA on EV efficiency: kWh per 100 miles and MPGe, accounting for AC charging losses (accessed July 19, 2026)

Keep reading