Plug & Range

Autel MaxiCharger vs ChargePoint Home Flex

Both reach 50 amps, both are hardwired, both are ENERGY STAR listed. The split is narrow and specific: one is built for a wall that takes real weather, the other for a circuit you haven't settled yet.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

These two get cross-shopped constantly, and for good reason: they are the same product on paper. Both are 50-amp Level 2 chargers, about 12 kW, hardwired, Wi-Fi connected, ENERGY STAR listed and UL-family certified, with 23 to 25 feet of cable. At our 3.5 miles-per-kWh reference both add about 42 miles of range per hour. Nobody is going to notice a speed difference, because there isn’t one.

So the decision comes down to two specs that sit either side of one question: is your problem the weather, or your electrical panel?The Autel publishes a NEMA 4X enclosure rated to around −40°F. The ChargePoint publishes software-adjustable output from 16 to 50 amps. Each is genuinely the better charger for one of those problems, and neither is much help with the other.

How this is funded:we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, charging speed, electrical fit and value. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these chargers — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Autel MaxiCharger Home

Autel MaxiCharger Home

Built for the driveway that takes the full brunt of the weather. The NEMA 4X shell is rated to keep charging through brutal cold and heat, it delivers a full 50 amps, and the app is genuinely capable. If your charger will live fully exposed, this is the one to shortlist.

Better for extreme weather
$499.00 · View on Amazon

$568.0012% off

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
ChargePoint Home Flex

ChargePoint Home Flex

If you'd rather buy a charger once and be done, this is the safe call. You set the current in the app anywhere from 16 to 50 amps, so it fits whatever your panel can spare today and still has room to grow if you upgrade the circuit later. The app is the most polished of the bunch and the warranty is long.

Better for an unsettled circuit
$494.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Better for extreme weather

Autel MaxiCharger Home

Built for the driveway that takes the full brunt of the weather. The NEMA 4X shell is rated to keep charging through brutal cold and heat, it delivers a full 50 amps, and the app is genuinely capable. If your charger will live fully exposed, this is the one to shortlist.

Strengths

  • NEMA 4X enclosure rated for very cold and very hot conditions
  • Full 50A output paired with a 25 ft cable
  • Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and a capable app

Trade-offs

  • 50A means a 60A circuit and, usually, a hardwired install
  • The app and ecosystem are younger than ChargePoint's
Max output50 A
Power12 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsCSA certified, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At its 50A ceiling (about 12 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh, roughly 42 miles of range an hour.

Build note. A NEMA 4X weatherproof enclosure rated for operation down to around -40 degrees F.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Better for an unsettled circuit

ChargePoint Home Flex

If you'd rather buy a charger once and be done, this is the safe call. You set the current in the app anywhere from 16 to 50 amps, so it fits whatever your panel can spare today and still has room to grow if you upgrade the circuit later. The app is the most polished of the bunch and the warranty is long.

Strengths

  • Adjustable 16-50A fits a modest circuit now and a bigger one later
  • The most complete app here: scheduling, reminders and usage history
  • 3-year warranty and a generous 23 ft cable

Trade-offs

  • You pay a brand premium over value 48A units
  • Using the full 50A needs a 60A circuit most older panels can't spare
Max output50 A
Power12 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired (a plug-in NEMA 14-50 SKU is also sold)
Cable length23 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL/cUL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. Run it at the full 50 amps (about 12 kW) and, at a middle-of-the-road 3.5 miles per kWh, it puts back roughly 42 miles of range an hour. Turn it down to 40A to live on a 50A circuit and you're at about 34.

Build note. The headline feature is app-adjustable amperage — anywhere from 16A up to 50A, in software.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

Enclosure and cold: the Autel’s case

Autel publishes a NEMA 4X enclosure. ChargePoint publishes NEMA 3R. Those are two meaningfully different commitments.

NEMA 3R covers falling rain, sleet and external ice formation — the assumption is a wall that gets weather but not a beating. Type 4 adds windblown dust and hose-directed water. The X in 4X adds corrosion resistance, which is the specification you want near salted winter roads or coastal air. That is a real distinction rather than a marketing letter: road salt spray is what actually kills hardware mounted low on a driveway wall.

The figure we would shop on, though, is temperature, because an enclosure rating tells you about water and dust and says nothing about January. Autel publishes an operating floor of around −40°F. Very few home chargers publish a low-temperature figure at all, and it is a separate qualification from the enclosure rating. Cold is its own engineering problem — plastics get brittle, seals shrink, and electronics that behave at 40°F can behave differently at −20°F. A brand that publishes a number has committed to it. Our cold-weather guide covers this distinction in depth, and our outdoor roundup ranks the whole field on it.

If your charger lives inside a closed garage, ignore this entire section. Neither rating will ever be tested, and paying for 4X is paying for a specification that will spend a decade doing nothing.

Adjustable amperage: the ChargePoint’s case

The Home Flex’s headline feature is that its output is set in software, anywhere from 16 to 50 amps. That sounds like a convenience and is actually a financial hedge, because of how EV circuits are sized.

NEC Article 625 treats EV charging as a continuous load, so the circuit is rated to 125% of the draw. Fifty amps needs a 60-amp circuit. Forty amps needs 50. Thirty-two amps needs 40. If an electrician tells you the panel can spare 40 amps and not 60, a fixed 50-amp charger is simply the wrong purchase — whereas the Home Flex gets installed at 32 amps today and turned up in software if you ever upgrade the service.

That matters most when you are buying before anyone has run a load calculation, which is the order most people actually do it in. Our panel capacity guide walks the calculation, and our how many amps guideturns the answer into a shortlist. The Autel is not inflexible in the same way — but the Home Flex’s range is the widest and best-documented on the market, and that is the specific thing you are buying.

Where they are effectively tied

Speed.Both reach 50 amps, about 12 kW, roughly 42 miles of range per hour at our reference efficiency. Over a ten-hour overnight window, about 420 miles. Neither will ever be your constraint. Note the standard caveat: if your car’s onboard AC charger is rated below 12 kW, both units will deliver the same lower figure, because the charger is the ceiling and never the floor.

The 60-amp circuit. Getting the full 50 amps out of either one requires a 60-amp circuit, which is the install many older panels cannot take. This is the cost that dominates both purchases, and our installation cost guide covers what drives the quote. Our 40A vs 48A comparison makes the case that most households should be shopping a tier below both of these.

Certification.Both carry third-party safety certification against the EV supply equipment standard — ChargePoint UL/cUL listed, Autel CSA certified, which sits on the same footing in North America — and both publish ENERGY STAR listings. That last point matters for rebates, since a number of utility programs require ENERGY STAR by model number; see our ENERGY STAR roundup and rebates guide.

Install type.Both are hardwired in their headline configuration. ChargePoint also sells a plug-in NEMA 14-50 SKU, which caps at 40 amps like anything on a 14-50 — useful if you rent or might move. Our hardwired vs plug-in comparison covers what that changes.

Cable. Autel publishes 25 feet, ChargePoint 23. Two feet decides nothing; if reach is genuinely your problem, our long-cable roundup has better answers than either.

The app, honestly

Both connect over Wi-Fi and both have competent apps. ChargePoint’s is the more mature product with the longer track record, and it is integrated with ChargePoint’s public charging network, which is genuinely convenient if you use public charging regularly — one account, one app, home and away. Autel adds Bluetooth alongside Wi-Fi, which makes initial pairing and local control more reliable in a detached garage where Wi-Fi is weak. If that describes your garage, it is not a trivial advantage; our Wi-Fi setup guide covers why.

The honest framing on apps generally: the one genuinely valuable function is scheduling around a cheaper overnight rate, and every modern EV can already do that from the car, for free, with a schedule that travels with the vehicle. Energy measured at the wall rather than estimated by the car is real but narrower. Our smart charger roundup covers which features actually earn their keep.

The verdict, by buyer

Buy the Autel MaxiCharger if the charger is going on an exterior wall with no shelter, in a climate with real winters or near salted roads or the coast. The NEMA 4X body plus a published low-temperature figure is a combination almost nothing else at this amperage offers, and Bluetooth is a practical bonus in a detached garage.

Buy the ChargePoint Home Flexif your electrical situation is not settled, or you suspect the panel is tight. Adjustable 16-to-50-amp output means you install for the circuit you have and turn it up later, which is the single best hedge available. Also buy it if you use ChargePoint’s public network and want one app, or if you need the plug-in SKU because you might move.

Buy neitherif you are inside a closed garage on a normal panel and simply want a good charger for less money. Both of these are premium units justified by specific constraints — absent those constraints, the Emporia Level 2 or EVIQO 48A give you 48 amps and an ENERGY STAR listing for less, and the difference in charging speed is about two miles an hour. Our main roundup covers the full field.

Frequently asked questions

Is the Autel MaxiCharger better than the ChargePoint Home Flex?

For an exposed outdoor install in a cold or coastal climate, yes — its NEMA 4X corrosion-resistant enclosure and published operating floor of around -40F are a real step above ChargePoint's NEMA 3R. For an unsettled electrical panel, no — ChargePoint's software-adjustable 16-50A output lets you install for the circuit you have today and raise it later.

Which one charges faster?

Neither. Both reach 50 amps, about 12 kW, which is roughly 42 miles of range per hour at our standard 3.5 miles-per-kWh reference. Both also need a 60-amp circuit to deliver it, and both will be limited to a lower figure if your car's onboard AC charger is rated below 12 kW.

What does NEMA 4X actually protect against that 3R doesn't?

NEMA 3R covers falling rain, sleet and external ice formation. Type 4 adds windblown dust and hose-directed water, and the X adds corrosion resistance — which is the specification that matters near salted winter roads or coastal air. If the charger lives in a closed garage, none of it will ever be tested.

Do both work with a Tesla?

Both are J1772 chargers, so a Tesla or other NACS car needs a J1772-to-Tesla adapter — a well-established, certified accessory that costs a small fraction of either charger. ChargePoint also sells a factory NACS version of the Home Flex if you would rather have the native plug.

Can either be plugged in rather than hardwired?

ChargePoint sells a plug-in NEMA 14-50 SKU of the Home Flex, which is useful if you rent or expect to move — though on a 14-50 receptacle it is capped at 40 amps rather than 50, because the receptacle is a 50-amp device and the continuous-load rule applies. The Autel MaxiCharger in the configuration we cover is hardwired.

Sources

Keep reading