Plug & Range

ELEGRP 40A vs Lectron 40A

Two budget plug-in chargers, the same 9.6 kW, the same NEMA 14-50 plug. One publishes five current levels, a sealing rating and nine more feet of cable. That is the whole comparison.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

Both of these do the same headline job: turn an existing NEMA 14-50 outlet into real Level 2 charging for about as little as it can honestly be done for. Both are 40 amps, both are 9.6 kW, both are ETL listed to UL 2594 and UL 2231, both are plug-in rather than hardwired, and neither has an app.

They diverge on three published specs, and one of the three is decisive. Adjustable current: the ELEGRP publishes five levels — 16, 20, 24, 32, 40 — and the Lectron is fixed at 40. Cable: 25 feet against 16. Enclosure: the ELEGRP publishes IP67 with a −21°F to 121°F range, and Lectron publishes no rating for the 40A at all, which our spec table records as unpublished rather than guessing.

How this is funded:we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, charging speed, electrical fit and value. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these chargers — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
ELEGRP 40A Portable Level 2 Charger (ECP24-40A0-01)

ELEGRP 40A Portable Level 2 Charger (ECP24-40A0-01)

The cheapest charger in this registry that still publishes everything you would want to check: 9.6 kW, five current levels from 16 to 40 amps, an IP67 body with a stated -21°F floor, ETL certification and a 2-year warranty. There is no Wi-Fi and no app — you get a 1-to-12-hour delay timer on the unit instead — and for a lot of households that is the correct amount of charger.

Better for almost everyone
$209.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Lectron 40A Portable Level 2 Charger

Lectron 40A Portable Level 2 Charger

The least-expensive honest route into real Level 2 charging. Plug it into a NEMA 14-50 outlet, pull a true 40A / 9.6 kW, and unplug it to throw in the trunk for a trip. The trade-offs for the price are no app and a shorter warranty — both fair at this cost.

Better only if it is cheaper on the day
$269.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Better for almost everyone

ELEGRP 40A Portable Level 2 Charger (ECP24-40A0-01)

The cheapest charger in this registry that still publishes everything you would want to check: 9.6 kW, five current levels from 16 to 40 amps, an IP67 body with a stated -21°F floor, ETL certification and a 2-year warranty. There is no Wi-Fi and no app — you get a 1-to-12-hour delay timer on the unit instead — and for a lot of households that is the correct amount of charger.

Strengths

  • Five current levels (16/20/24/32/40A) — it fits whatever circuit you have
  • IP67 with a published -21°F to 121°F range, and a carrying case in the box
  • 2-year warranty and full ETL certification at the bottom of the price band

Trade-offs

  • No Wi-Fi, no app and no energy monitoring — just an on-unit delay timer
  • Not ENERGY STAR listed, so it may not qualify for some utility rebates
  • 40 amps is the plug-in ceiling; a 48-amp unit needs hardwiring
Max output40 A
Power9.6 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallNEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length25 ft
Warranty2 years
WiFi + appNo
CertificationsETL certified

Our charging-speed math. Forty amps at 240V is 9.6 kW, and at 3.5 miles per kWh that is roughly 34 miles of range an hour. ELEGRP's own figure is 37 miles an hour, which assumes a slightly more efficient car than our reference.

Build note. ELEGRP publishes 240V, up to 9.6 kW, five selectable current levels of 16, 20, 24, 32 and 40 amps, a NEMA 14-50 plug, a 25 ft cable measured plug-end to connector, a J1772 connector, ETL certification with its PBE overheat protection, an IP67 rating with a -21°F to 121°F range, a 1-12 hour delayed start, a carrying case and a 2-year warranty.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Better only if it is cheaper on the day

Lectron 40A Portable Level 2 Charger

The least-expensive honest route into real Level 2 charging. Plug it into a NEMA 14-50 outlet, pull a true 40A / 9.6 kW, and unplug it to throw in the trunk for a trip. The trade-offs for the price are no app and a shorter warranty — both fair at this cost.

Strengths

  • A real 40A / 9.6 kW at a budget price
  • Plug-in and portable — no hardwiring, and it travels
  • ETL listed to the UL 2594 / UL 2231 safety standards

Trade-offs

  • No Wi-Fi or app on the base model — the smart version is a separate SKU
  • Shorter 16 ft cable and a 2-year warranty
  • The brand doesn't publish an outdoor/IP enclosure rating
Max output40 A
Power9.6 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallNEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length16 ft
Warranty2 years
WiFi + appNo
CertificationsETL listed (UL 2594 / UL 2231)

Our charging-speed math. At 40A (9.6 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh it adds roughly 34 miles of range an hour.

Build note. A portable plug-in unit — no hardwiring — and the base model carries no Wi-Fi or app.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

The decisive spec: what a fixed 40 amps costs you

A charger fixed at 40 amps can only be used on a circuit that supports 40 amps continuous — which, because NEC Article 625 treats EV charging as a continuous load, means a 50-amp circuit and nothing smaller. That sounds like a technicality until it decides your whole project.

At home, it decides whether you can install at all.If your panel cannot spare a 50-amp circuit today, a fixed-40 charger leaves you two options: a service upgrade, or a different charger. An adjustable charger gives you a third and much cheaper one — install on a smaller circuit, set the charger to match, and turn it up later if the electrical situation changes. Our panel capacity guide covers the calculation and our load management guide covers the alternatives to an upgrade.

On a 30-amp outlet, it rules the charger out entirely. A 14-30 or 10-30 receptacle supports 24 amps continuous. With an adjustable charger you fit a plug adapter, set 24 amps, and charge safely. With a fixed-40 charger there is no safe configuration, and an adapter does not create one. Our outlet types guide has the full receptacle table.

Away from home, it removes your safety margin.A 14-50 outlet at a holiday rental or a friend’s garage may be on wiring installed for an occasional welder cycle rather than for 40 amps for six hours straight. Being able to drop to 24 or 16 amps is how you charge conservatively when you cannot verify what is behind the wall. Our road-trip guide makes this the central spec for travel, and our RV park guide covers the pedestal case.

In short: the two chargers charge identically in the one situation where both work, and the ELEGRP works in several situations where the Lectron cannot be used at all.

Nine feet of cable

Twenty-five feet against sixteen. This is the difference people underestimate at purchase and regret afterwards.

The reach you need is from the unit to where the charge port sits when the car is parked — not to the bumper — plus slack so the cable hangs rather than stretches. Cars put the port in different places, garages put the outlet in the wrong corner, and reversing in is not always an option. Nine feet frequently decides whether the cable reaches at all.

It matters more than usual here because there is no acceptable workaround. An extension cord is the fix people reach for and it is the one that genuinely does not work, for reasons our guide sets out in detail. Measure the real route before you choose; our long-cable roundup covers the wider field if reach is your binding constraint.

Sealing, and reading an unpublished rating

ELEGRP publishes IP67 — dust-tight and rated for temporary immersion — along with a temperature range of −21°F to 121°F, and ships a carrying case. Lectron publishes no enclosure rating for the 40A, which our spec table records as “Not published”.

We want to be careful about what that means. Unpublished is not the same as unsealed; it means the manufacturer has not committed to a testable claim, so neither can we. The practical reading is that the Lectron is a fine charger for a sheltered garage and the weaker choice for an exposed wall, a carport or a boot — and that the ELEGRP has told you something specific you could hold it to. Our spec sheet guide covers why a blank field is itself information.

The warranty terms are the same — both publish two years — so this is not a case of one brand standing behind its product and the other not.

Where the Lectron holds its own

It is a genuinely decent charger and we are not going to pretend otherwise.

It is ETL listed to UL 2594 and UL 2231, which is the same third-party safety bar the ELEGRP meets and the only certification question that really matters at this price point — our guide on whether cheap chargers are safe explains why. It publishes a two-year warranty. It delivers the full 40 amps with no asterisk. And Lectron is a brand with a wide, well-supported range across adapters and Level 1 chargers, which counts for something if you are buying several things at once.

The one scenario where we would actively choose it: you already have a correctly-installed 50-amp circuit, the outlet is in the right place so 16 feet reaches comfortably, the charger will live in a dry garage, and on the day you are buying the Lectron is meaningfully cheaper. In that specific case you are paying less for capability you would not use. Prices move, so check both.

The verdict

Buy the ELEGRP unless the Lectron is clearly cheaper and every one of the conditions above holds. Five current levels, nine more feet of cable, a published IP67 rating with a temperature range, and a carrying case, at the same tier of the market and the same warranty term. The adjustable range alone makes it usable on circuits and at outlets the Lectron cannot serve, and that is capability rather than specification. Our full ELEGRP review has the detail.

Buy neitherif you want the charger to report what your charging actually cost at the wall — neither has an app, and the Emporia Level 2 is the sensible step up. Our smart versus basic comparison is the page to read if you are unsure whether you want that, and our 40-amp roundup puts both of these against the rest of the tier.

Frequently asked questions

Is the ELEGRP 40A faster than the Lectron 40A?

No. Both are 40 amps at 240 volts, which is 9.6 kW — roughly 34 miles of range per hour at our 3.5 miles-per-kWh reference. When both are usable, they charge identically. The difference is that the ELEGRP is usable in situations where the Lectron is not, because it can be set below 40 amps.

Why does adjustable current matter on a home charger?

Because it decouples the charger from the circuit. A fixed-40-amp charger requires a 50-amp circuit — NEC Article 625 treats EV charging as a continuous load, so the circuit is sized to 125% of the draw. An adjustable charger can go on a smaller circuit at a lower setting and be turned up later, which is often far cheaper than a service upgrade.

Can I use either of these on a 30-amp dryer outlet?

Only the ELEGRP, and only set to 24 amps. A 14-30 or 10-30 receptacle supports 24 amps continuous, so a charger fixed at 40 amps has no safe setting for it regardless of what adapter you fit. This is one of the clearest practical consequences of the adjustable-current difference between these two.

Does the shorter Lectron cable really matter?

Often, yes. Sixteen feet against twenty-five is nine feet of reach, and the distance that matters is from the unit to the car's charge port as parked, with slack. It is the most common reason people go looking for an extension cord, which is the one solution that does not work safely with an EV charger.

Are budget EV chargers like these safe?

Both publish ETL listings against UL 2594 and UL 2231, which is the same standards bar a UL listing certifies to — a different laboratory, not a lower standard. That listing is the specific thing to check on any low-cost charger, and it matters far more than the price. What you give up at this tier is app features and, on the Lectron, a published enclosure rating.

Sources

Keep reading