Plug & Range

Autel MaxiCharger vs Wallbox Pulsar Plus

Two premium hardwired smart chargers, and the comparison turns on what each brand is willing to publish. One states a temperature range, an enclosure rating and a circuit requirement. The other states that its best features need a second box.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

The Autel MaxiCharger is our pick in this matchup, and it is the cheaper of the two on the date on this page. It publishes more: 50 amps adjustable from 16, an IP65 / NEMA 4X shell, and an operating range of −40°F to 131°F — the widest any manufacturer in our registry commits to in print. Choose the Wallbox Pulsar Plus if you specifically want Wallbox’s app ecosystem, or if you are buying into solar charging and dynamic load management and have already accepted that both need a Wallbox Power Meter on top of the charger.

Both are hardwired, both are J1772, both ship a 25 ft cable, and both are sold as the brand’s flagship home unit, so the specs that separate them are not the ones on the front of the box. The decisive ones are: how much current you can actually get, what the manufacturer says about weather, and how many of the advertised features arrive in the box you paid for.

One finding we have to report before the picks, because it shapes the whole page. When we re-read wallbox.com’s own US Pulsar Plus page on October 4, 2026, it published neither an enclosure rating nor a warranty term. Our registry carries NEMA 4 and three years for the Pulsar Plus from an earlier dated read, and we still show those figures with that date attached — but on a page that settles a matchup using what each maker publishes, a brand that has stopped publishing two of the four durability specs cannot win on them.

How this is funded:we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, charging speed, electrical fit and value. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these chargers — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Autel MaxiCharger Home

Autel MaxiCharger Home

Built for the driveway that takes the full brunt of the weather. The NEMA 4X shell is rated to keep charging through brutal cold and heat, it delivers a full 50 amps, and the app is genuinely capable. If your charger will live fully exposed, this is the one to shortlist.

Best overall: 50 amps, and the widest published weather range
$499.00 · View on Amazon

$568.0012% off

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Wallbox Pulsar Plus

Wallbox Pulsar Plus

The one to reach for when wall space is tight. It's among the smallest 48A chargers made, and Power Boost load balancing lets it share a circuit without tripping the main — which can save you a panel upgrade. It's a polished, premium unit, and the price says so.

Best if you want Wallbox's app and accept the Power Meter
$699.00 · View on Amazon

$799.9913% off

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger

EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger

A lot of charger for the money. You get 48 amps, Wi-Fi scheduling, ENERGY STAR, and the longest usable reach in this group thanks to a 25 ft cable plus a 40-inch input lead. If Emporia is sold out or you want maximum cable, this is the value alternative to have in mind.

Best value alternative: 48 amps with no accessory to buy
$449.99 · View on Amazon

$510.0012% off

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall: 50 amps, and the widest published weather range

Autel MaxiCharger Home

Built for the driveway that takes the full brunt of the weather. The NEMA 4X shell is rated to keep charging through brutal cold and heat, it delivers a full 50 amps, and the app is genuinely capable. If your charger will live fully exposed, this is the one to shortlist.

Strengths

  • NEMA 4X enclosure rated for very cold and very hot conditions
  • Full 50A output paired with a 25 ft cable
  • Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and a capable app

Trade-offs

  • 50A means a 70A circuit and, usually, a hardwired install
  • The app and ecosystem are younger than ChargePoint's
Max output50 A
Power12 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsCSA certified, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At its 50A ceiling (about 12 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh, roughly 42 miles of range an hour.

Build note. Re-read from Autel's own page on 2026-10-04: 12 kW / 50 A with the output adjustable 16-50 A, 208/240 V AC, hardwired, a 70 A circuit required for full output, a 25 ft J1772 cable, an IP65 / NEMA 4X enclosure with a -40 to 131°F (-40 to 55°C) operating range, Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, Ethernet, CAN and RS485 connectivity, app / AutoStart / RFID-card authentication (cards sold separately) and a 3-year warranty. On load management the page is unusually specific, and it is two different features: it "supports both Adaptive Load Management (ALM) and charger-to-charger Dynamic Load Balancing (DLB)", with "ALM requir[ing] compatible additional hardware, while DLB works between chargers without additional hardware". Autel does not name the ALM hardware on this page, so we do not either.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on October 4, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best if you want Wallbox's app and accept the Power Meter

Wallbox Pulsar Plus

The one to reach for when wall space is tight. It's among the smallest 48A chargers made, and Power Boost load balancing lets it share a circuit without tripping the main — which can save you a panel upgrade. It's a polished, premium unit, and the price says so.

Strengths

  • Genuinely compact for a 48A charger — easy to tuck in a tight spot
  • Power Boost load balancing can sidestep a panel upgrade
  • Bluetooth and Wi-Fi with a clean, modern app

Trade-offs

  • One of the pricier chargers in this group
  • Hardwired only — no plug-in option, so it's not renter-friendly
Max output48 A
Power11.5 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh, about 40 miles of range an hour — and Power Boost can throttle it down to protect a shared circuit.

Build note. One of the most compact 48A chargers in its class, carrying both Bluetooth and Wi-Fi.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best value alternative: 48 amps with no accessory to buy

EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger

A lot of charger for the money. You get 48 amps, Wi-Fi scheduling, ENERGY STAR, and the longest usable reach in this group thanks to a 25 ft cable plus a 40-inch input lead. If Emporia is sold out or you want maximum cable, this is the value alternative to have in mind.

Strengths

  • 48A output with Wi-Fi scheduling at a value price
  • 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input lead — excellent reach
  • UL, ETL, FCC and ENERGY STAR listings

Trade-offs

  • The hardwired version needs a 60A circuit and an electrician
  • A smaller brand with a shorter track record than ChargePoint or Wallbox
Max output48 A
Power11.5 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL, ETL, FCC, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh, about 40 miles of range an hour.

Build note. Re-read from EVIQO's own page on 2026-10-04, which publishes more than the spec table above implies. The 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input cable is still among the longest total reach in class, and the current is adjustable two ways: 6-48 A in 1-amp increments from the app, and a hardware DIP switch that caps the maximum at 16, 32, 40 or 48 A. The same DIP block can raise the output to 50 A, which EVIQO says requires a 70 A circuit; the 48 A default needs a 60 A one. The enclosure is IP66 / NEMA-4 rated -22°F to 122°F, the warranty is 3 years and extendable to 4, and the app does remote start/stop, consumption and cost tracking, reminders, up to three schedules and over-the-air updates. No load management or load balancing is described anywhere on the page.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on October 4, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

Side by side, from the makers’ own pages

SpecAutel MaxiCharger AC Elite HomeWallbox Pulsar Plus
Output50 A / 12 kW, adjustable 16–50 A48 A / 11.5 kW (40 A and 48 A variants sold)
Circuit required70 A for full output (60 A at 48 A)60 A dedicated at 48 A
InstallHardwiredHardwired
ConnectorJ1772J1772
Cable25 ft25 ft
EnclosureIP65 / NEMA 4XNot published on the maker’s page as of Oct 4, 2026
Temperature range−40°F to 131°FNot published
Load managementCharger-to-charger DLB with no extra hardware; whole-home ALM requires unnamed additional hardwareDynamic load management requires a Wallbox Power Meter
Solar chargingNot published as a featureYes, requires the Power Meter; not compatible with multi-charger installs or OCPP
Access controlApp, AutoStart and RFID cards (cards sold separately)App
ConnectivityBluetooth, Wi-Fi, Ethernet, CAN, RS485Wi-Fi and Bluetooth
Warranty3 yearsNot published as of Oct 4, 2026 (3 years on our earlier read)
Range added per hour (3.5 mi/kWh)about 42 miles at 50 Aabout 40 miles at 48 A

The amperage difference is smaller than it looks

Autel’s 50 amps against Wallbox’s 48 is two amps, which is 480 watts, which at our 3.5 miles-per-kWh reference is about 1.7 miles of range an hour. That is not a reason to choose anything.

What is a reason is the circuit behind each number. EV charging is a continuous load, so the breaker is sized at 125% of output. Forty-eight amps lands on a 60-amp circuit. Fifty amps lands on 62.5, which rounds up to a 70-ampbreaker — and Autel states that 70-amp requirement plainly on its own product page, which we count in its favor rather than against it. If your panel can only give 60 amps, the Autel simply runs at 48 like the Wallbox does and nothing is lost; it is adjustable from 16 amps up. Our 50-amp roundup works through why 50 amps is worth having as a setting and rarely worth building a house around, and our breaker-size guide has the full amperage-to-breaker table.

The accessory tax, on both sides

This is the most useful thing on the page, because both brands have a version of it and almost nobody notices until after the install.

Wallbox.Two of the Pulsar Plus’s headline energy features — solar charging and dynamic load management — require a separately sold Wallbox Power Meter. Wallbox describes the load management itself clearly (“maximize charging speed while staying within your home’s power limit. When overall energy consumption is high, charging speed drops”), and that is genuinely the feature that can turn a “you need a service upgrade” quote into a charger purchase. It is just not in the box. Wallbox also states that solar charging is not compatible with multiple-charger installations or with OCPP, which is worth knowing before you plan a two-car garage around it.

Autel.Autel splits load management in two and is specific about which half is free. Charger-to-charger Dynamic Load Balancing — two Autel chargers sharing one circuit — “works between chargers without additional hardware.” Whole-home Adaptive Load Management “requires compatible additional hardware,” and Autel does not name the hardware on that page. So: do not buy the Autel expecting whole-house load management to work out of the box, and do buy it if the plan is two Autels on one circuit for two cars. Our load-management roundup compares every approach in our registry, and best chargers for two EVs covers the two-car case directly.

Weather, which is where this stops being close

Autel publishes IP65 / NEMA 4X and −40°F to 131°F. That is a specific, testable commitment at both ends, and 4X adds corrosion resistance — which matters within reach of road salt or coastal air.

Wallbox, on the page we read on October 4, 2026, published no enclosure rating and no temperature range. Our registry records NEMA 4 from an earlier read and we continue to show it with its date, because deleting a sourced figure would be worse than carrying a dated one. But if the charger is going on an exposed wall, there is only one of these two whose manufacturer has told you where its limits are. Our outdoor and cold-weather roundup ranks that constraint properly, and the Autel is near the top of it for exactly this reason.

Where Wallbox still wins

Three honest points in its favor. It is the brand with the clearest solar story in our registry — Wallbox will let the charger run on 100% solar or a blend of solar and grid, and it documents that, while Autel’s page does not list solar charging as a feature at all. It is sold in both a 40-amp and a 48-amp variant, so there is a cheaper entry point on a 50-amp circuit. And it is a genuinely small unit for a 48-amp charger, which is why it sits in our “compact smart” slot on the homepage — relevant if the wall space is in a tight garage corner rather than an open bay. Our solar charging roundup is the page to read if that first point is the deciding one.

The verdict

Buy the Autel MaxiCharger. It is cheaper on the date on this page, it goes to 50 amps and down to 16, and it is the only one of the two whose maker currently publishes an enclosure rating, a temperature range and a warranty term. Add the RFID-card option if other people can reach the charger, skip it otherwise, and do not buy it for whole-home load management unless Autel can name the hardware that enables it.

Buy the Wallbox Pulsar Plus if the plan involves solar.That is the one thing it documents and the Autel does not. Budget for the Power Meter at the same time — without it, solar charging and load management are both features you have paid for and cannot use.

And if neither argument is yours, the EVIQO 48A does the core job for less. Forty-eight amps, IP66 / NEMA 4, −22°F to 122°F, a 1-amp app slider with a hardware cap behind it, ENERGY STAR for the rebate paperwork, three years extendable to four, and no accessory required to make any of it work. Our EVIQO vs Grizzl-E comparison is the next page if that is where you have landed.

Frequently asked questions

Is the Autel MaxiCharger better than the Wallbox Pulsar Plus?

On published specifications, yes — and it is cheaper on the date on this page. Autel publishes 50 amps adjustable from 16, an IP65 / NEMA 4X enclosure, a −40°F to 131°F operating range and a 3-year warranty. When we re-read Wallbox's own US page on October 4, 2026, it published no enclosure rating and no warranty term. Wallbox's advantage is solar charging, which Autel does not list at all.

Does the Wallbox Pulsar Plus need a Power Meter?

For its two headline energy features, yes. Wallbox states that both solar charging and dynamic load management require a separately sold Wallbox Power Meter. The charger works fine without it — you just do not get the features many buyers are choosing it for. Wallbox also states solar charging is not compatible with multiple-charger installations or with OCPP.

Does the Autel MaxiCharger do whole-house load management?

Only with extra hardware. Autel distinguishes two things: charger-to-charger Dynamic Load Balancing, which it says works between chargers with no additional hardware, and Adaptive Load Management for the whole home, which it says 'requires compatible additional hardware' without naming it. So two Autels sharing a circuit is a documented, in-the-box capability; watching your whole panel is not.

What size breaker do these chargers need?

The Pulsar Plus at 48 amps needs a 60-amp dedicated circuit. The Autel at its full 50 amps needs a 70-amp circuit, which Autel states on its own product page, because a continuous load is sized at 125% and 50 × 1.25 = 62.5 rounds up to the next standard breaker. Run the Autel at 48 amps instead and it lives on the same 60-amp circuit as the Wallbox.

Which is better for an outdoor install?

The Autel, clearly. IP65 / NEMA 4X with corrosion resistance and a published −40°F to 131°F range is the widest weather commitment in our registry. As of our last read, Wallbox publishes no enclosure rating or temperature range for the Pulsar Plus at all, so there is nothing to compare it against — which is itself the answer for an exposed wall.

Is the Wallbox Pulsar Plus still sold in the US?

Yes. As of the date on this page, Wallbox's US site still lists the Pulsar Plus with no discontinuation notice, in J1772 and NACS versions and in 40-amp and 48-amp variants. We re-check this on every content audit, because the thing that most often makes a charger the wrong recommendation is not a spec changing — it is the model quietly leaving the lineup.

Do either of these work with a Tesla?

Both of the units compared here are J1772, which charges a Tesla through the adapter Tesla supplies with the car, or a third-party NACS adapter. Wallbox also sells a NACS version of the Pulsar Plus. If you want a native Tesla connector with no adapter in the loop, our NACS roundup covers the chargers built that way.

Which has the better app?

We do not rank apps, because we cannot test them without owning both units, and app quality changes with every release. What we can compare is connectivity and what the app is required for: Autel publishes Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, Ethernet, CAN and RS485 plus RFID-card authentication, which is an unusually deep set for a home charger. Wallbox publishes Wi-Fi and Bluetooth, and ties its best features to the Power Meter rather than to the app.

Sources

  • Autel — MaxiCharger AC Elite Home 50 A product page — Manufacturer page: 12 kW / 50 A with the output adjustable 16-50 A, a 70 A circuit required for full output, 208/240 V AC, hardwired, a 25 ft SAE J1772 cable, IP65 / NEMA 4X, an operating range of -40 to 131 °F (-40 to 55 °C), a 3-year warranty, and Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, Ethernet, CAN and RS485 connectivity with app, AutoStart and RFID-card authentication (cards sold separately). On load management it states that the charger “supports both Adaptive Load Management (ALM) and charger-to-charger Dynamic Load Balancing (DLB) for more flexible home energy management” and that “ALM requires compatible additional hardware, while DLB works between chargers without additional hardware” (accessed October 4, 2026)
  • Wallbox — Pulsar Plus EV Charger (US) — Manufacturer page: solar charging lets the Pulsar Plus run on 100% solar or a mix of solar and grid, and requires a separately sold Wallbox Power Meter; solar charging is not compatible with multiple-charger installations or OCPP; the same power meter enables dynamic load management (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • Wallbox — Pulsar Plus product page (energy-management section) — Manufacturer page, fetched 2026-10-04 for the load-management wording specifically. It describes dynamic load management as “maximize charging speed while staying within your home's power limit. When overall energy consumption is high, charging speed drops. When it's low, you'll charge at maximum speed”, and states that the energy-management features — load management and solar charging — need a Wallbox Power Meter to unlock. The charger is listed in 40 A and 48 A variants up to 11.5 kW with a 25 ft cable. As fetched on this date the page does not use the name “Power Boost”, and states no enclosure rating or warranty term (accessed October 4, 2026)
  • EVIQO — Level 2 48 A hardwired charging station product page — Manufacturer page, fetched 2026-10-04: 48 A / 11.5 kW as standard with a 50 A output available by changing internal DIP switches (which it says requires a 70 A circuit), current adjustable 6-48 A in 1-amp increments from the app, and hardware DIP switches that set the maximum at 16, 32, 40 or 48 A. A 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input cable, an IP66 / NEMA-4 enclosure rated -22 °F to 122 °F, UL / ETL / FCC / ENERGY STAR certification, and a 3-year warranty extendable to 4. The app does remote start/stop, current setting, consumption and cost tracking, charging reminders, up to three custom schedules and over-the-air firmware updates. Hardwired only, and a 60 A dedicated circuit is stated for 48 A output. No load management or load balancing is described anywhere on the page (accessed October 4, 2026)
  • NFPA — Using the Latest NEC for EV Charger Installations — NFPA on NEC (NFPA 70) Article 625: EV charging is a continuous load, so circuits are sized to 125% of load (the 80% rule) (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • ENERGY STAR — Electric Vehicle Chargers — ENERGY STAR on EVSE efficiency: certified chargers use about 40% less energy in standby than non-certified units (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • SAE International — J1772 Conductive Charge Coupler — The SAE J1772 connector standard for AC Level 1 and Level 2 charging in North America (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • FuelEconomy.gov — Electric Vehicles: Learn More About the Label — DOE/EPA on EV efficiency: kWh per 100 miles and MPGe, accounting for AC charging losses (accessed July 19, 2026)

Keep reading