Plug & Range

Autel MaxiCharger vs Grizzl-E Classic Connect

Two chargers with a genuine reputation for surviving weather. The spec that separates them is not the one most buyers look at.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

If your charger is going on an outside wall — a driveway, a carport, the gable end of a detached garage — these two units come up again and again, and for once the reputation is earned on both sides. Both publish real outdoor enclosure ratings. Both are built like they expect to be rained on.

But they are not the same charger, and the difference is bigger than the ten amps between them. One is a hardwired 50-amp unit with the coldest published operating temperature we have found on any home charger. The other is a 40-amp charger that plugs into a NEMA 14-50 outlet and can come off the wall in five minutes. Which of those two facts matters more to you settles this comparison completely.

How this is funded:we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, charging speed, electrical fit and value. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these chargers — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Autel MaxiCharger Home

Autel MaxiCharger Home

Built for the driveway that takes the full brunt of the weather. The NEMA 4X shell is rated to keep charging through brutal cold and heat, it delivers a full 50 amps, and the app is genuinely capable. If your charger will live fully exposed, this is the one to shortlist.

Better for extreme cold
$499.00 · View on Amazon

$568.0012% off

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Grizzl-E Classic Connect

Grizzl-E Classic Connect

Grizzl-E retired the old no-app Classic and replaced it with this, and it kept the part that mattered: a metal case rated UL Type 4 for a spot with no shelter, published to keep operating down to -22F. What changed is that the electronics caught up — Wi-Fi, an app, and current you can dial from 40A down to 16A to fit a circuit you already have. It's the rugged pick that no longer asks you to give up scheduling to get it.

Better for renters and easy installs
$349.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Better for extreme cold

Autel MaxiCharger Home

Built for the driveway that takes the full brunt of the weather. The NEMA 4X shell is rated to keep charging through brutal cold and heat, it delivers a full 50 amps, and the app is genuinely capable. If your charger will live fully exposed, this is the one to shortlist.

Strengths

  • NEMA 4X enclosure rated for very cold and very hot conditions
  • Full 50A output paired with a 25 ft cable
  • Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and a capable app

Trade-offs

  • 50A means a 60A circuit and, usually, a hardwired install
  • The app and ecosystem are younger than ChargePoint's
Max output50 A
Power12 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsCSA certified, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At its 50A ceiling (about 12 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh, roughly 42 miles of range an hour.

Build note. A NEMA 4X weatherproof enclosure rated for operation down to around -40 degrees F.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Better for renters and easy installs

Grizzl-E Classic Connect

Grizzl-E retired the old no-app Classic and replaced it with this, and it kept the part that mattered: a metal case rated UL Type 4 for a spot with no shelter, published to keep operating down to -22F. What changed is that the electronics caught up — Wi-Fi, an app, and current you can dial from 40A down to 16A to fit a circuit you already have. It's the rugged pick that no longer asks you to give up scheduling to get it.

Strengths

  • Metal case rated UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor, published from -22F to 122F
  • Current adjusts from 40A down to 16A, so it fits the circuit you already have
  • 25 ft cable — among the longest here — on a simple plug-in NEMA 14-50 install

Trade-offs

  • 40A caps its charging speed below the 48A units
  • Scheduling now runs through Wi-Fi and an account — the old Classic's nothing-to-update simplicity is gone
  • Grizzl-E publishes UL/cUL only for this model, not the ENERGY STAR listing the discontinued Classic carried
Max output40 A
Power9.6 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallNEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL/cUL listed (file E510712)

Our charging-speed math. At 40A (9.6 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh it adds roughly 34 miles of range an hour — more than enough to refill a daily commute overnight. Dial it down to 16A and you're at about 13.

Build note. A metal case rated UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor and published for -30C to +50C (-22F to 122F), with 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and current adjustable from 40A down to 16A.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

The specification that actually decides an outdoor install

Nearly every buyer shopping outdoor chargers compares enclosure ratings, and nearly every buyer is comparing the wrong number. An enclosure rating tells you about ingress— dust and water getting in. It tells you nothing at all about what happens at −15°F.

Autel publishes a NEMA 4X enclosure and an operating range down to around −40°F. Grizzl-E publishes UL Type 4 and, for the Classic Connect, an operating range down to −22°F. Both are genuine outdoor ratings; the “X” on the Autel adds corrosion resistance, which is a real consideration within reach of road salt or coastal air.

Eighteen degrees sounds like a technicality until you look at where it lands. A typical January in Minneapolis, Fargo or northern Maine goes below −22°F in a cold snap most winters. If that is your climate, the Autel is operating inside its published envelope and the Grizzl-E is outside it. If your winters bottom out around zero — which covers most of the United States — both units are comfortably within spec and this difference is worth nothing to you.

That is the honest read: this is a threshold, not a gradient. You are either in the small band of climates where it matters or you are not. Our cold-weather charging guide covers what else changes when it gets genuinely cold, and why the car, not the charger, is usually the thing that slows down.

Install type: the difference you will feel every other day

The Autel MaxiCharger is hardwired. The Grizzl-E Classic Connect has a NEMA 14-50 plug.

That single fact carries most of the practical consequences. The Grizzl-E works today if a 14-50 outlet already exists near the car, with no electrician at all. It comes with you if you move. If it fails outside warranty you unplug it and plug in a replacement. And if you rent, it is one of the very few real Level 2 options you can put in without a conversation with your landlord about their wiring — see our renters and apartments roundup for the rest of that picture.

The Autel needs a circuit run and terminated by an electrician, and once it is on the wall it is effectively part of the building. What you buy for that inconvenience is 50 amps — and a hardwired connection has no plug and receptacle in the path, which is one fewer thing to heat up and degrade over years of drawing full current for hours at a time. Our hardwired vs plug-in comparison works through that trade properly.

Speed: 50 amps against 40

The Autel is rated at 50 amps (about 12 kW) and the Grizzl-E Classic Connect at 40 amps (about 9.6 kW). At our standard reference of 3.5 miles per kWh, that is roughly 42 miles of range per hour against 34.

Eight miles an hour is a real difference on paper and almost never a real difference in a driveway. Both units replace a normal day’s driving several times over in an overnight window. The case where it matters is the genuinely long day — you came home on 15% and you leave at six — and even then you are talking about the difference between full at 2am and full at 3am.

The more important consequence is the circuit. Fifty amps of continuous draw needs a 60-amp circuitunder the NEC’s 125% continuous-load rule; 40 amps needs a 50-amp circuit. On a tight panel that is the difference between a straightforward install and a service upgrade that can cost more than the charger several times over. Run your own numbers with our panel capacity guide and our how many amps do you need guide before you let the amperage decide this for you.

Certification and rebates

Autel publishes CSA certification and an ENERGY STAR listing. Grizzl-E publishes UL/cUL listing (file E510712) and no ENERGY STAR listing for the Classic Connect.

Both are properly certified for safety — CSA and UL are both accredited testing laboratories, and either satisfies an inspector. The ENERGY STAR gap is the practical one, because a number of utility rebate programs require ENERGY STAR certification by model number. If your utility offers a few hundred dollars back on a qualifying charger, that requirement can quietly reverse the price difference between these two. Check your own utility’s terms first; our rebates and tax credits guide explains what these programs typically ask for, and our ENERGY STAR roundup lists which of our picks actually publish a listing.

Where they are level

Cable. Both publish 25 feet, which is the long end of this class and enough for most realistic garage and driveway geometry. Warranty. Three years each. Connector.Both J1772, so both fit every non-Tesla EV sold in North America, and a Tesla with the adapter that came with the car — our J1772 vs NACS explainer covers where that stands now.

Smart features. Both are Wi-Fi connected with scheduling in an app. Neither app is a reason to buy either charger, for the reason we keep coming back to: your car can already schedule its own charging, for free, with a schedule that travels with the vehicle instead of the parking space. We argue that case in full in our smart vs basic comparison.

The verdict, by buyer

Buy the Autel MaxiChargerif your winters genuinely go below −22°F, if the charger will be within reach of road salt or sea air, or if you are hardwiring anyway and simply want the faster of the two on a panel that can carry 60 amps. The NEMA 4X shell and the −40°F published range are the most weather-capable combination we cover.

Buy the Grizzl-E Classic Connectif you rent, if you might move, if a 14-50 outlet already exists near the car, or if your panel is tight enough that a 50-amp circuit is comfortable and a 60-amp one is not. In an ordinary cold climate — which is nearly all of them — it is just as weatherproof in practice and considerably easier to live with.

Look elsewhere if the wall is sheltered. Both of these carry a weather premium in build and price that a garage install simply does not use. Our main roundup covers the field, and our outdoor roundup ranks specifically on the ratings discussed here.

Frequently asked questions

Which is better for a cold climate, the Autel MaxiCharger or the Grizzl-E Classic Connect?

The Autel, if your winters are genuinely severe. Autel publishes an operating range down to around -40F against Grizzl-E's -22F for the Classic Connect. That is a threshold rather than a gradient: below -22F the Autel is in spec and the Grizzl-E is not, but if your coldest nights are around zero, both are comfortably within their published range and the difference is worth nothing.

Is NEMA 4X better than UL Type 4?

For corrosion, yes. Type 4 and 4X both cover windblown dust and hose-directed water; the X adds corrosion resistance, which matters within reach of road salt or coastal air. Neither rating tells you anything about cold — that is the operating temperature range, which is a separate published figure and the one that actually decides a winter install.

Does the extra 10 amps on the Autel matter?

Rarely. Fifty amps is about 42 miles of range per hour at our 3.5 mi/kWh reference against roughly 34 for the Grizzl-E's 40 amps. Both refill a normal day's driving many times over overnight. What matters more is the circuit: 50 amps of continuous draw needs a 60-amp circuit, while 40 amps needs a 50-amp one, and on a tight panel that difference can decide whether you need a service upgrade.

Can I install the Grizzl-E Classic Connect myself?

If a NEMA 14-50 outlet already exists on an appropriately sized and protected circuit, it plugs in like any other appliance. Installing the outlet itself is electrical work that should be done by a licensed electrician and is generally permitted and inspected. We are not electricians and nothing here is electrical advice.

Which one qualifies for utility rebates?

Autel publishes an ENERGY STAR listing; Grizzl-E does not publish one for the Classic Connect. Many utility rebate programs require ENERGY STAR certification by model number, so if your utility offers one, that requirement can outweigh the sticker difference. Confirm your exact model in the ENERGY STAR product finder and read your utility's terms before counting on it.

Sources

Keep reading