Plug & Range

Wallbox Pulsar Plus vs Emporia Level 2

Same 48 amps, same 25-foot cable, same enclosure rating, same warranty. Everything that decides this one is about the box itself and the panel behind it.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

On the numbers that usually settle a charger comparison, these two are almost identical. Both deliver 48 amps. Both publish a 25-foot cable. Both carry a NEMA 4 enclosure rating and a three-year warranty. Both are Wi-Fi connected with a real app. If you were choosing on the spec sheet alone you would flip a coin.

The differences are physical and electrical rather than numerical: the Wallbox is one of the smallest 48-amp chargers made and offers Power Boost load balancing, but it is hardwired only. The Emporia is a bigger box that can be plugged in or hardwired, is ENERGY STAR certified, and costs meaningfully less. Below we settle it on what actually differs, and name the buyer each one is for.

How this is funded:we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, charging speed, electrical fit and value. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these chargers — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

The value pick that never feels like one. You get the full 48 amps, an ENERGY STAR listing, real Wi-Fi energy tracking and a 25 ft cable for well under what the marquee brands charge. When someone asks us where to start, this is usually the first name out of our mouths.

Better value, and plug-in capable
$449.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Wallbox Pulsar Plus

Wallbox Pulsar Plus

The one to reach for when wall space is tight. It's among the smallest 48A chargers made, and Power Boost load balancing lets it share a circuit without tripping the main — which can save you a panel upgrade. It's a polished, premium unit, and the price says so.

Better where space or panel capacity is tight
$614.99 · View on Amazon

$699.9912% off

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Better value, and plug-in capable

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

The value pick that never feels like one. You get the full 48 amps, an ENERGY STAR listing, real Wi-Fi energy tracking and a 25 ft cable for well under what the marquee brands charge. When someone asks us where to start, this is usually the first name out of our mouths.

Strengths

  • 48A and ENERGY STAR at a genuinely value price
  • The app tracks energy use, not just an on/off toggle
  • Long 25 ft cable and a remote holster in the box

Trade-offs

  • 48A hardwired needs a 60A circuit; on a NEMA 14-50 plug it's capped at 40A
  • The app is less polished than ChargePoint's, and support is a smaller operation
Max output48 A
Power11.5 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired or NEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. Hardwired at 48A (11.5 kW), figure about 40 miles of range an hour at 3.5 mi/kWh. Drop to a 40A plug-in circuit and it's closer to 34.

Build note. Runs 48A hardwired, or 40A on a NEMA 14-50 outlet, with a 25 ft cable and a wall holster included.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Better where space or panel capacity is tight

Wallbox Pulsar Plus

The one to reach for when wall space is tight. It's among the smallest 48A chargers made, and Power Boost load balancing lets it share a circuit without tripping the main — which can save you a panel upgrade. It's a polished, premium unit, and the price says so.

Strengths

  • Genuinely compact for a 48A charger — easy to tuck in a tight spot
  • Power Boost load balancing can sidestep a panel upgrade
  • Bluetooth and Wi-Fi with a clean, modern app

Trade-offs

  • One of the pricier chargers in this group
  • Hardwired only — no plug-in option, so it's not renter-friendly
Max output48 A
Power11.5 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh, about 40 miles of range an hour — and Power Boost can throttle it down to protect a shared circuit.

Build note. One of the most compact 48A chargers in its class, carrying both Bluetooth and Wi-Fi.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

Charging speed: identical, and worth saying plainly

Both are 48-amp chargers. Forty-eight amps at 240 volts is about 11.5 kW, and at our standard reference of roughly 3.5 miles of range per kWh that is about 40 miles of range per hour for both — roughly 400 miles across a ten-hour overnight window.

There is no speed difference here at all, and there is no version of this comparison where paying more gets the car charged faster. Anyone suggesting otherwise is describing something that does not exist: amperage times voltage is the entire calculation, and both units also need the same 60-amp circuit under the National Electrical Code’s 125% continuous-load rule to reach it.

The one asterisk favors Emporia. On a NEMA 14-50 plug it runs at 40 amps rather than 48, because the receptacle is a 50-amp device — but the Wallbox cannot be plugged in at all, so that is an option Emporia has and Wallbox does not, rather than a limitation.

Size: the Wallbox’s actual differentiator

The Pulsar Plus is among the most compact 48-amp chargers you can buy, and that is not a cosmetic point. It matters in three specific situations.

A narrow garage. A charger on the wall of a single-car garage is something you walk past, squeeze around, and occasionally reverse toward. A smaller box is a genuinely better daily experience there.

Two chargers on one wall. If you are planning for two EVs, fitting two units side by side is much easier with a compact body. Our two-EV roundup covers the wider problem.

Awkward mounting.Between a window and a door, above a workbench, beside a panel — the places a charger actually has to go are often constrained, and a smaller unit gives the electrician more options about where the circuit lands.

If none of those describes your wall, size is a feature you are paying for and will not notice.

Load balancing versus energy monitoring

Both chargers have a signature software feature and they point in different directions.

Wallbox Power Boostis load balancing: the charger reduces its own draw so total household demand stays inside what the service can carry. That can be the difference between fitting a 48-amp charger onto an already-busy panel and being told you need a service upgrade — which is typically the largest single line on an EV charging quote. If your electrician has raised capacity concerns, this is the feature to price against the upgrade.

Emporia’s appis built around energy tracking and integrates with Emporia’s wider home energy monitoring platform. It tells you what charging is actually adding to your electricity bill rather than just when it happened. That is genuinely useful, and it is a different kind of useful: it informs you rather than solving an electrical constraint.

Note that Emporia also sells load management under the name PowerSmart, standard on the Emporia Proand available as an add-on, and that Emporia publishes it as requiring their Vue energy monitor — a second device. So if load management is the reason you are here, the honest comparison is Wallbox against the Emporia Pro, not against the standard Emporia on this page.

Hardwired only versus both

This is the difference most likely to decide the purchase, and it gets less attention than it deserves.

The Wallbox Pulsar Plus is hardwired only. There is no plug-in version. That means an electrician terminates it permanently, it stays with the house when you move, and replacing it outside warranty is a service call rather than a swap.

The Emporia is sold hardwired or with a NEMA 14-50 plug. That flexibility is worth real money to a renter, to anyone likely to move within a few years, and to anyone who would rather be able to replace the unit themselves. The cost is the capped 40 amps on the plug-in configuration.

Our hardwired vs plug-in comparison covers the trade in full. The short version: if you rent, this section ends the comparison in Emporia’s favor regardless of anything else on this page.

Certification, enclosure and the small print

Enclosure.Both publish NEMA 4 — sealed against windblown dust and hose-directed water, suitable for an outdoor wall. Neither is NEMA 4X; if you are near salt air, the Autel MaxiCharger is the unit that publishes corrosion resistance.

Certification. Emporia is UL listed against the ANSI/UL 2594 EV supply equipment standard and ENERGY STAR certified. Wallbox publishes ENERGY STAR certification. Both are legitimate, independently listed products; our guide to reading certifications explains what these marks do and do not tell you.

Cable and warranty.Both 25 feet, both three years. A wash on both counts — and 25 feet is at the top of the class, as our reach roundup covers.

The verdict, by buyer

Buy the Emporia Level 2 in most cases. It is the same charging speed, the same cable, the same enclosure rating and the same warranty for less money, plus the option to plug it in rather than wire it in. That last point alone makes it the right answer for renters and for anyone who expects to move. It is our value pick across the site for these reasons.

Buy the Wallbox Pulsar Plusif your wall is genuinely tight, if you are fitting two chargers side by side, or if Power Boost load balancing is what lets a 48-amp charger fit onto your panel at all. In that last case it is not a premium purchase — it is the cheaper alternative to a service upgrade, and it is the reason it leads our hardwired roundup.

Buy neither if your panel simply cannot take 48 amps with any amount of management: step down to a 40-amp charger on a 50-amp circuit and accept about six fewer miles of range per hour, as our 40A vs 48A comparison explains. And if you want adjustable amperage so the charger can follow whatever circuit you end up with, the ChargePoint Home Flex is the unit that does that.

Frequently asked questions

Is the Wallbox Pulsar Plus faster than the Emporia?

No. Both are 48-amp chargers, which works out to about 40 miles of range per hour at our standard 3.5 miles-per-kWh reference, and both need the same 60-amp circuit to reach it. There is no speed difference between them at all.

What is Wallbox Power Boost?

It is load balancing — the charger reduces its own current draw so that total household demand stays within what your electrical service can carry. It is the feature that can let a 48-amp charger fit onto a panel that would otherwise need a service upgrade, which is usually the largest cost in an EV charging install.

Can the Wallbox Pulsar Plus be plugged in?

No — the Pulsar Plus is hardwired only. The Emporia is sold in both hardwired and NEMA 14-50 plug-in versions, though on the plug it caps at 40 amps because the receptacle is a 50-amp device. If you rent or expect to move, that flexibility usually decides the comparison.

Which is better for a small garage?

The Wallbox. It is among the most compact 48-amp chargers made, which matters in a narrow single-car garage, when fitting two chargers on one wall, or when the only available mounting spot is between a window and a door.

Does Emporia offer load management too?

Yes, under the name PowerSmart — standard on the Emporia Pro and available as an add-on to the standard model. Emporia publishes that PowerSmart requires their Vue energy monitor, which is a separate device installed in the panel, so budget for both if load management is what you need.

Sources

Keep reading