Plug & Range

EVIQO 48A vs Grizzl-E

Two brands that sell the same thing very differently. EVIQO builds a connected 48-amp charger that hardwires in. Grizzl-E builds a metal box, sells the warranty as an option, and leaves a plug on the end.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

For most people the EVIQO 48A is the better buy, and it is the cheaper one: 48 amps instead of 40, a J1772 connector that fits every non-Tesla EV, an IP66 / NEMA 4 enclosure, and current adjustable from 6 to 48 amps in single-amp steps from the app. Buy the Grizzl-E Classic Connect instead if you already have a NEMA 14-50 outlet on the wall and do not want to pay an electrician to free the charger from it — or if a 5-year warranty is worth more to you than eight amps.

That is the whole matchup in two sentences, but the reason it is not closer is electrical rather than editorial. The EVIQO is hardwired only, and EVIQO publishes a 60-amp dedicated circuit as the requirement for its 48-amp output. The Grizzl-E Classic Connect ends in a NEMA 14-50 plug, which caps it at 40 amps because 80% of a 50-amp receptacle is 40 — so if the outlet already exists, the Grizzl-E is a weekend and the EVIQO is a quote.

There is a third unit in this comparison that people searching this matchup often do not know exists. Grizzl-E also builds the Ultimate 48A, hardwired, in the same metal Type 4 case — which answers the amperage argument directly. One catch, and it is a big one: the only Ultimate listing Amazon carries today is the NACS output-cable version, the Tesla connector. If you drive a Tesla that is a feature. If you do not, it means an adapter in the loop forever, and the EVIQO wins again.

How this is funded:we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, charging speed, electrical fit and value. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these chargers — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger

EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger

A lot of charger for the money. You get 48 amps, Wi-Fi scheduling, ENERGY STAR, and the longest usable reach in this group thanks to a 25 ft cable plus a 40-inch input lead. If Emporia is sold out or you want maximum cable, this is the value alternative to have in mind.

Best overall: 48 amps, J1772, and a 1-amp app slider
$449.99 · View on Amazon

$510.0012% off

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Grizzl-E Classic Connect

Grizzl-E Classic Connect

Grizzl-E retired the old no-app Classic and replaced it with this, and it kept the part that mattered: a metal case rated UL Type 4 for a spot with no shelter, published to keep operating down to -22F. What changed is that the electronics caught up — Wi-Fi, an app, and current you can dial from 40A down to 16A to fit a circuit you already have. It's the rugged pick that no longer asks you to give up scheduling to get it.

Best on an existing 14-50 outlet, and the 5-year warranty option
$349.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Grizzl-E Ultimate 48A

Grizzl-E Ultimate 48A

The Grizzl-E for people who wanted more than 40 amps. It keeps the metal UL Type 4 body and the published -22F floor that make the Classic Connect our exposed-install pick, then raises the ceiling to 48A and adds an OCPP radio on top of the Grizzl-E Connect app. Two catches: it is hardwire-only, so there is no unplugging it and taking it with you, and the SKU Amazon carries today is the NACS cable version, so a J1772 car needs an adapter permanently in the chain.

Best of the two if you drive a Tesla and want the metal box
$479.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall: 48 amps, J1772, and a 1-amp app slider

EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger

A lot of charger for the money. You get 48 amps, Wi-Fi scheduling, ENERGY STAR, and the longest usable reach in this group thanks to a 25 ft cable plus a 40-inch input lead. If Emporia is sold out or you want maximum cable, this is the value alternative to have in mind.

Strengths

  • 48A output with Wi-Fi scheduling at a value price
  • 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input lead — excellent reach
  • UL, ETL, FCC and ENERGY STAR listings

Trade-offs

  • The hardwired version needs a 60A circuit and an electrician
  • A smaller brand with a shorter track record than ChargePoint or Wallbox
Max output48 A
Power11.5 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL, ETL, FCC, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh, about 40 miles of range an hour.

Build note. Re-read from EVIQO's own page on 2026-10-04, which publishes more than the spec table above implies. The 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input cable is still among the longest total reach in class, and the current is adjustable two ways: 6-48 A in 1-amp increments from the app, and a hardware DIP switch that caps the maximum at 16, 32, 40 or 48 A. The same DIP block can raise the output to 50 A, which EVIQO says requires a 70 A circuit; the 48 A default needs a 60 A one. The enclosure is IP66 / NEMA-4 rated -22°F to 122°F, the warranty is 3 years and extendable to 4, and the app does remote start/stop, consumption and cost tracking, reminders, up to three schedules and over-the-air updates. No load management or load balancing is described anywhere on the page.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on October 4, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best on an existing 14-50 outlet, and the 5-year warranty option

Grizzl-E Classic Connect

Grizzl-E retired the old no-app Classic and replaced it with this, and it kept the part that mattered: a metal case rated UL Type 4 for a spot with no shelter, published to keep operating down to -22F. What changed is that the electronics caught up — Wi-Fi, an app, and current you can dial from 40A down to 16A to fit a circuit you already have. It's the rugged pick that no longer asks you to give up scheduling to get it.

Strengths

  • Metal case rated UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor, published from -22F to 122F
  • Current adjusts from 40A down to 16A, so it fits the circuit you already have
  • 25 ft cable — among the longest here — on a simple plug-in NEMA 14-50 install

Trade-offs

  • 40A caps its charging speed below the 48A units
  • Scheduling now runs through Wi-Fi and an account — the old Classic's nothing-to-update simplicity is gone
  • Grizzl-E publishes UL/cUL only for this model, not the ENERGY STAR listing the discontinued Classic carried
Max output40 A
Power9.6 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallNEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL/cUL listed (file E510712)

Our charging-speed math. At 40A (9.6 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh it adds roughly 34 miles of range an hour — more than enough to refill a daily commute overnight. Dial it down to 16A and you're at about 13.

Build note. A metal case rated UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor and published for -30C to +50C (-22F to 122F), with 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and current adjustable from 40A down to 16A.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best of the two if you drive a Tesla and want the metal box

Grizzl-E Ultimate 48A

The Grizzl-E for people who wanted more than 40 amps. It keeps the metal UL Type 4 body and the published -22F floor that make the Classic Connect our exposed-install pick, then raises the ceiling to 48A and adds an OCPP radio on top of the Grizzl-E Connect app. Two catches: it is hardwire-only, so there is no unplugging it and taking it with you, and the SKU Amazon carries today is the NACS cable version, so a J1772 car needs an adapter permanently in the chain.

Strengths

  • 48A / 11.5 kW in the same UL Type 4 metal case, published from -22F to 122F
  • Speaks OCPP as well as Grizzl-E's own app — rare on a home charger
  • 25 ft cable, and current can be dialed to 40, 32, 24 or 16 amps

Trade-offs

  • The live Amazon SKU is the NACS cable — a J1772 car needs an adapter to use it
  • Hardwire only — no plug, so it is not renter-friendly and not portable
  • 48A needs a 60-amp circuit, which is the install many older panels can't take
  • Grizzl-E publishes UL/cUL for this model but no ENERGY STAR listing
Max output48 A
Power11.5 kW
ConnectorNACS
InstallHardwired
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL/cUL listed (file E510712)

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh, roughly 40 miles of range an hour — about six more than the 40A Classic Connect, and it needs a 60-amp circuit to get there.

Build note. A metal case rated UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor, published for -30C to +50C (-22F to 122F), with 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi on an extended-range antenna, OCPP support and current selectable at 40, 32, 24 or 16 amps. Grizzl-E publishes the Ultimate 48A with a J1772 or a NACS output cable; the SKU Amazon lists today (GRS-077-W-HW-25N48-A-GB) is the NACS one, which is the connector our spec table records.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 21, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

Side by side, from the makers’ own pages

SpecEVIQO 48AGrizzl-E Classic ConnectGrizzl-E Ultimate 48A
Output48 A / 11.5 kW40 A / 9.6 kW48 A / 11.5 kW
Circuit required60 A dedicated (70 A for the 50 A DIP setting)50 A (NEMA 14-50 receptacle)60 A dedicated
InstallHardwired onlyPlug-in, NEMA 14-50Hardwired only
ConnectorJ1772J1772NACS (the live Amazon listing)
Current controlApp slider 6–48 A in 1 A steps, hardware DIP caps at 16/32/40/48 AAdjustable 40 A down to 16 AAdjustable, app
Cable25 ft, plus a 40 in input lead25 ft25 ft
EnclosureIP66 / NEMA 4UL Type 4 (NEMA 4), metalUL Type 4 (NEMA 4), metal
Temperature range−22°F to 122°F−22°F to 122°F−22°F to 122°F
CertificationUL, ETL, FCC, ENERGY STARUL/cUL file E510712 (no ENERGY STAR figure published)UL/cUL file E510712
Warranty3 years, extendable to 43 years, or 5 years as a purchase option3 years
Range added per hour (3.5 mi/kWh)about 40 milesabout 34 milesabout 40 miles

The eight amps, priced honestly

Forty-eight amps at 240 volts is 11.5 kW; forty is 9.6 kW. At a middle-of-the-road 3.5 miles per kWh that is roughly 40 miles of range an hour against 34 — six miles an hour, or sixty miles across a ten-hour night. For a driver doing 40 miles a day, both finish long before breakfast and the difference is invisible. For a household on one car doing 150 miles a day, or two EVs sharing one charger, it stops being invisible.

The honest way to read it is that you are not really choosing eight amps. You are choosing a circuit. The EVIQO needs a 60-amp dedicated circuit, because EV charging is a continuous load and the breaker is sized at 125% of the output — 48 × 1.25 = 60. The Grizzl-E needs a 50-amp circuit with a NEMA 14-50 receptacle on the end of it, which is the most common EV circuit in America and the one a lot of garages already have for a welder, a dryer or a previous car. If yours is one of them, the Grizzl-E is the cheaper install by the entire cost of the install. Our how many amps do I need guide works through that from your own panel outward.

Where the current limit lives

Both chargers let you turn the current down, and they do it in different places, which matters more than it sounds.

EVIQO publishes two layers. A hardware DIP switch inside the unit sets the maximum at 16, 32, 40 or 48 amps, and the app then slides anywhere from 6 amps up to that maximum in single-amp increments. That is the most granular control in our registry, and the hardware cap is the part worth paying for: once an electrician sets the DIP to match the circuit, no app setting and no firmware update can raise it past what the wire can carry.

Grizzl-E publishes an adjustable range of 40 A down to 16 A on the Classic Connect, and the Mini’s manual — the same company, the same mechanism — states the thing every charger owner should read once: the charger cannot detect the circuit amperage limit. It ships at a 40-amp factory default. If it goes on anything smaller than a 50-amp circuit, somebody has to set that number correctly, and nothing in the box will check the work. Our guide to setting your charger’s amperage covers how to get it right.

The box itself

This is where Grizzl-E earns its following. The Classic Connect and the Ultimate are metal, UL Type 4, made in Canada, and Grizzl-E publishes the UL file number (E510712) rather than the words “UL listed.” The Classic Connect’s enclosure is 10.25 × 6.25 × 3.75 in — a brick, deliberately.

EVIQO’s answer is IP66 / NEMA 4 with the same published temperature range, UL and ETL and FCC certification, and an ENERGY STAR listing the Grizzl-E does not carry. That ENERGY STAR line is not just a sticker: a number of utility rebate programs require it, so on a rebate application the EVIQO can be the cheaper charger by more than its price difference. Check your own utility’s list before you buy either — our rebates guide covers the certification box that decides most programs, and our ENERGY STAR roundup lists what qualifies.

The warranty, and the one thing only Grizzl-E sells

Both publish three years as standard. EVIQO sells a fourth year as an extension. Grizzl-E sells the Classic Connect with the warranty as a purchase option at checkout — three years or five. Nobody else in our registry does that, and five years is the longest term we can point at on any home charger we cover. If you rank reliability the way we do on our most reliable chargers page — on what a manufacturer will put in writing rather than on anecdotes — that option is the strongest card in this matchup.

The Tesla question, which decides the Ultimate

Grizzl-E’s Ultimate 48A removes the amperage argument: same metal Type 4 case, same UL file, 48 amps hardwired, 25 ft cable, three-year warranty, OCPP support and a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi app. On paper it is the Grizzl-E answer to the EVIQO.

What stops it being the default recommendation is the listing. Grizzl-E still builds the Ultimate with a J1772 or a NACS output cable, but the only child ASIN left live on Amazon is the NACS one, and every buy link on this site resolves to Amazon. For a Tesla driver that is exactly right and the Ultimate becomes a serious pick — see our NACS roundup. For anyone driving a J1772 car it means a NACS-to-J1772 adapter hanging off the connector permanently, which is a worse daily experience than a native plug and one more thing to lose.

The verdict

New circuit, non-Tesla car: buy the EVIQO 48A. If an electrician is coming anyway, the marginal cost of a 60-amp circuit over a 50-amp one is small, and you get the faster charger, the finer current control, the ENERGY STAR listing for your rebate paperwork, and the ability to buy a fourth year of warranty — at the lower price of the two.

Existing NEMA 14-50 outlet: buy the Grizzl-E Classic Connect. You keep 34 miles of range an hour, which covers almost everyone, and you skip the install entirely. You also get the metal box, the published UL file, and the 5-year warranty option. If the charger is going to live on an exposed wall for the next decade, that last one is the argument.

Tesla, and you want the Grizzl-E build: buy the Ultimate 48A. Native NACS, 48 amps, the same metal case, three years. Just go in knowing it is hardwired, needs the 60-amp circuit, and that choosing it is choosing the connector as much as the charger.

Frequently asked questions

Is EVIQO or Grizzl-E the better EV charger?

For a new install on a non-Tesla car, the EVIQO 48A — it is faster (48 A / 11.5 kW against 40 A / 9.6 kW), cheaper on the date on this page, carries an ENERGY STAR listing many rebates require, and offers the finest current control in our registry. For an existing NEMA 14-50 outlet, the Grizzl-E Classic Connect, because it plugs straight in and needs no electrician, and it is the only charger we cover that sells a 5-year warranty option.

Does the EVIQO 48A have to be hardwired?

Yes. EVIQO publishes the 48-amp unit as hardwired only, on a 60-amp dedicated circuit, with a 40-inch input lead for the electrician to terminate. There is no plug-in version of this SKU, which is the practical reason the Grizzl-E wins when a 14-50 receptacle already exists.

Why is the Grizzl-E only 40 amps?

Because it ends in a NEMA 14-50 plug. A 14-50 is a 50-amp receptacle, EV charging is a continuous load, and 80% of 50 amps is 40 — so every plug-in Level 2 charger on the US market stops there. Grizzl-E's own 48-amp answer is the hardwired Ultimate, which needs a 60-amp circuit like the EVIQO does.

Can I get the Grizzl-E Ultimate with a J1772 connector?

Grizzl-E builds it both ways, but the only Ultimate listing live on Amazon as of the date on this page is the NACS (Tesla) output-cable version, and every buy link here resolves to Amazon. If you need J1772 on a Grizzl-E, that is the Classic Connect at 40 amps, or the Mini. Running the NACS Ultimate on a J1772 car means a permanent adapter.

Is the Grizzl-E ENERGY STAR certified?

Not for the Classic Connect. Grizzl-E publishes UL/cUL file E510712 for this model and no ENERGY STAR figure, so we record ENERGY STAR as not published rather than guessing a yes — the older, discontinued no-app Classic carried a listing under a different model number, and that does not carry across. The EVIQO 48A does publish ENERGY STAR, which matters if your utility rebate requires it.

How much faster is 48 amps than 40 amps in practice?

About six miles of range an hour. Forty-eight amps at 240 V is 11.5 kW, roughly 40 miles an hour at a 3.5 mi/kWh reference; forty amps is 9.6 kW, roughly 34. Across a ten-hour overnight charge that is 400 miles against 340 — a difference almost nobody with a normal commute will ever notice, and one that a two-EV household on a single charger notices immediately.

Which one is better in a cold climate?

Neither, on the published numbers — both state an operating range of about −22°F to 122°F. The tie-breakers are the metal Type 4 enclosure on the Grizzl-E against the EVIQO's IP66 / NEMA 4 plastic, and the fact that a plug-in charger can be brought indoors between uses while a hardwired one cannot. If the wall is genuinely exposed and the winters are hard, our outdoor roundup ranks the Autel's −40°F figure above both of these.

Can I set the EVIQO to 50 amps?

EVIQO says you can, by changing internal DIP switches, and that doing so requires a 70-amp circuit rather than the 60-amp one the 48-amp default needs. That means the cover off and a configuration other than the one the unit is sold in, for about 1.7 extra miles of range an hour. Our 50-amp roundup works through why that is rarely worth engineering a house around.

Sources

  • EVIQO — Level 2 48 A hardwired charging station product page — Manufacturer page, fetched 2026-10-04: 48 A / 11.5 kW as standard with a 50 A output available by changing internal DIP switches (which it says requires a 70 A circuit), current adjustable 6-48 A in 1-amp increments from the app, and hardware DIP switches that set the maximum at 16, 32, 40 or 48 A. A 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input cable, an IP66 / NEMA-4 enclosure rated -22 °F to 122 °F, UL / ETL / FCC / ENERGY STAR certification, and a 3-year warranty extendable to 4. The app does remote start/stop, current setting, consumption and cost tracking, charging reminders, up to three custom schedules and over-the-air firmware updates. Hardwired only, and a 60 A dedicated circuit is stated for 48 A output. No load management or load balancing is described anywhere on the page (accessed October 4, 2026)
  • United Chargers — Grizzl-E Classic Connect product page — Manufacturer page, fetched 2026-10-05: a 40 A plug-in Level 2 EVSE, “Max power 40A 10kW”, a NEMA 14-50 plug, adjustable current stated as “40A - 16A”, a 25 ft (7.6 m) output cable, UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor protection, certification “UL/cUL E510712”, Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz) with the Grizzl-E Connect mobile application, an operating temperature of -30 °C to +50 °C (-22 °F to 122 °F) and a 10.25 x 6.25 x 3.75 in enclosure. Available with a J1772 or a NACS output cable, and the warranty is a purchase option on the page — 3 year or 5 year. Listed at $349.99 direct on the date fetched. The page also advertises Demand/Response utility-program participation through the app (accessed October 5, 2026)
  • United Chargers — Grizzl-E Mini / Mini Connect User Manual and Installation Guide (Rev. 2.0, April 30, 2026) — Manufacturer manual: ships four NEMA 14-50R adapters (5-15P, TT-30P, 14-30P, 6-50P); the factory default maximum current is 40A; the Wi-Fi current slider runs from 7A up to the DIP switch setting, the DIP switch sets 40, 32, 24 or 16A, and "the charger can not detect the circuit amperage limit"; only 80% of the circuit rating may be used (accessed September 15, 2026)
  • NFPA — Using the Latest NEC for EV Charger Installations — NFPA on NEC (NFPA 70) Article 625: EV charging is a continuous load, so circuits are sized to 125% of load (the 80% rule) (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • ENERGY STAR — Electric Vehicle Chargers — ENERGY STAR on EVSE efficiency: certified chargers use about 40% less energy in standby than non-certified units (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • SAE International — J3400 North American Charging System (NACS) — The SAE J3400 / NACS standard (the Tesla-derived connector) now being adopted industry-wide (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • UL Solutions — EV Charging Infrastructure Services — UL on EVSE safety certification: ANSI/UL 2594 is the Standard for Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • FuelEconomy.gov — Electric Vehicles: Learn More About the Label — DOE/EPA on EV efficiency: kWh per 100 miles and MPGe, accounting for AC charging losses (accessed July 19, 2026)

Keep reading