Plug & Range

Emporia vs ChargePoint Home Flex

The best-selling value charger against the category’s safest default. They are closer than the price gap suggests — and one specific feature decides it.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

This is the most common shortlist in home EV charging, and for good reason: the Emporia Level 2 and the ChargePoint Home Flex are both excellent, both outdoor-rated, both ENERGY STAR certified, both carry three-year warranties, and both are fast enough that the difference will not change your life. What separates them is one hardware feature, one software difference, and a price gap.

The short version: Emporia gives you a fixed 48 amps, a 25-foot cable and a real energy-tracking app for meaningfully less money. ChargePoint gives you output adjustable anywhere from 16 to 50 amps, the most mature app in the category, and the reassurance of a large company that will still exist in ten years. Below, we settle it on published specs rather than impressions, and name the winner for each kind of buyer.

How this is funded:we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, charging speed, electrical fit and value. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these chargers — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

The value pick that never feels like one. You get the full 48 amps, an ENERGY STAR listing, real Wi-Fi energy tracking and a 25 ft cable for well under what the marquee brands charge. When someone asks us where to start, this is usually the first name out of our mouths.

Better value
$449.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
ChargePoint Home Flex

ChargePoint Home Flex

If you'd rather buy a charger once and be done, this is the safe call. You set the current in the app anywhere from 16 to 50 amps, so it fits whatever your panel can spare today and still has room to grow if you upgrade the circuit later. The app is the most polished of the bunch and the warranty is long.

Better if your circuit is uncertain
$494.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Better value

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

The value pick that never feels like one. You get the full 48 amps, an ENERGY STAR listing, real Wi-Fi energy tracking and a 25 ft cable for well under what the marquee brands charge. When someone asks us where to start, this is usually the first name out of our mouths.

Strengths

  • 48A and ENERGY STAR at a genuinely value price
  • The app tracks energy use, not just an on/off toggle
  • Long 25 ft cable and a remote holster in the box

Trade-offs

  • 48A hardwired needs a 60A circuit; on a NEMA 14-50 plug it's capped at 40A
  • The app is less polished than ChargePoint's, and support is a smaller operation
Max output48 A
Power11.5 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired or NEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. Hardwired at 48A (11.5 kW), figure about 40 miles of range an hour at 3.5 mi/kWh. Drop to a 40A plug-in circuit and it's closer to 34.

Build note. Runs 48A hardwired, or 40A on a NEMA 14-50 outlet, with a 25 ft cable and a wall holster included.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Better if your circuit is uncertain

ChargePoint Home Flex

If you'd rather buy a charger once and be done, this is the safe call. You set the current in the app anywhere from 16 to 50 amps, so it fits whatever your panel can spare today and still has room to grow if you upgrade the circuit later. The app is the most polished of the bunch and the warranty is long.

Strengths

  • Adjustable 16-50A fits a modest circuit now and a bigger one later
  • The most complete app here: scheduling, reminders and usage history
  • 3-year warranty and a generous 23 ft cable

Trade-offs

  • You pay a brand premium over value 48A units
  • Using the full 50A needs a 60A circuit most older panels can't spare
Max output50 A
Power12 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired (a plug-in NEMA 14-50 SKU is also sold)
Cable length23 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL/cUL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. Run it at the full 50 amps (about 12 kW) and, at a middle-of-the-road 3.5 miles per kWh, it puts back roughly 42 miles of range an hour. Turn it down to 40A to live on a 50A circuit and you're at about 34.

Build note. The headline feature is app-adjustable amperage — anywhere from 16A up to 50A, in software.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

Charging speed: effectively a tie

ChargePoint publishes 50 amps at the top of its adjustable range; Emporia publishes 48. In power terms that is about 12 kW against about 11.5 kW, and at our standard reference of roughly 3.5 miles of range per kWh it works out to about 42 miles of range per hour against about 40.

Two miles an hour is inside the noise of how efficiently your particular car drives on a particular day. Across a ten-hour overnight window it is twenty miles of range, on a charge that has already delivered four hundred. Treat this as a tie and decide on something else.

There is a catch worth naming on the ChargePoint side: reaching 50 amps requires a 60-amp circuit under the National Electrical Code’s 125% continuous-load rule, and so does Emporia’s 48. If your panel cannot spare 60 amps, both chargers land at 40 amps in practice — and then the comparison is entirely about the other differences.

The one feature that actually separates them: adjustable amperage

This is the real difference, and it is worth more than the spec sheet makes it look. The Home Flex sets its output in software anywhere from 16 amps up to 50. The Emporia is a 48-amp charger that runs at 48 amps hardwired, or 40 amps on a NEMA 14-50 plug.

Why adjustability matters: you are buying a charger against a circuit you may not have yet. If the electrician comes back and says your panel can spare 40 amps but not 60, the ChargePoint is set to 32 or 40 and everything is fine; you can raise it later if you upgrade the service or move. The Emporia in the same situation is a 48-amp charger permanently running below its rating — not broken, but you paid for headroom you cannot use, and you have no way to see or control what it is doing.

The reverse case matters too. If your panel is comfortably large and you already know your circuit, adjustability is a feature you will set once and never touch, and paying for it is paying for optionality you have no use for. Our how many amps guide is the fastest way to find out which of those two people you are, and it is genuinely the thing to settle before you compare anything else.

The apps

Both are real apps rather than remote on/off switches, which already puts them ahead of the no-app chargers in this category.

ChargePointhas the most mature software in home charging: scheduling, reminders, session history, and — the part that is hard to replicate — a company large enough and old enough that the app is very likely to still be maintained in five years. It also connects to ChargePoint’s public network, which is convenient if you use it.

Emporiatracks energy use rather than just charging status, and integrates with Emporia’s wider home energy monitoring platform. If you already run Emporia energy monitoring, or you want a genuine view of what charging is adding to your electricity bill, that integration is worth real money to you. The app is less polished than ChargePoint’s and Emporia is a smaller operation with smaller support behind it.

The honest framing: if you want the app you are least likely to have to think about, take ChargePoint. If you want the app that tells you the most about your electricity, take Emporia. If you plan to schedule from the car and ignore both apps — which is what many owners actually do — this section does not decide anything and you should buy on price.

Hardware: cable, enclosure and install

Cable.Emporia publishes 25 feet, ChargePoint 23. Two feet sounds trivial and occasionally is not — it can be the difference between parking nose-in and having to reverse every night if your charge port is on the far side. Our guide to measuring cable reach covers how to work out whether it matters for your garage.

Enclosure.Emporia publishes NEMA 4; ChargePoint publishes NEMA 3R. NEMA 4 is the tougher rating — it adds windblown dust and hose-directed water to the rain, sleet and ice that 3R covers. If the charger lives inside a garage, neither rating will ever be tested and this does not matter. If it lives on an exposed exterior wall, Emporia has the edge, and if the wall is genuinely hostile, neither is the right answer — our outdoor roundup covers the NEMA 4X options.

Install.Both are sold in hardwired and plug-in forms, which is unusual and useful — most 48A-class chargers are hardwired only. Note that on a NEMA 14-50 plug, Emporia caps at 40 amps, because the receptacle is a 50-amp device and the continuous-load rule takes 20% off. Our hardwired vs plug-in comparison covers that decision.

Certification and warranty. Both are UL listed against the ANSI/UL 2594 EV supply equipment standard and both are ENERGY STAR certified for standby efficiency. Both carry three-year warranties. There is no meaningful safety or support-term gap between them.

What the price gap actually buys

Strip it down and the ChargePoint premium buys three things: adjustable amperage, a more mature app, and the confidence of a larger company. It does not buy charging speed, a better enclosure, or a longer cable — Emporia wins or ties on all three.

That is a genuinely reasonable set of things to pay for, and it is also a set of things a lot of buyers do not need. Which is why our answer here is not “the expensive one is better” or “the cheap one is a bargain,” but a question about your panel.

The verdict, by buyer

Buy the Emporia if you know what circuit you are getting, your panel can take it, and you would rather spend the difference on the installation or a longer cable run. It is the better value, it has the tougher enclosure and the longer cable, and its app does the one thing an app should do. It is our value pick on the Level 2 roundup for those reasons.

Buy the ChargePoint Home Flexif your circuit is uncertain, your panel is tight, or you expect to move or upgrade — adjustable amperage is the hedge, and it is the single best reason to pay the premium. Also buy it if app longevity genuinely matters to you, which is a fair thing to care about on a device you are bolting to a wall for a decade.

Buy neither if your panel is full: a charger with dynamic load management, like the Emporia Pro, may save you a service upgrade that costs more than both of these chargers put together. And if you drive a Tesla, settle the connector question first — our Tesla charger guide covers whether to go native NACS or use a J1772 charger with an adapter.

Frequently asked questions

Is the ChargePoint Home Flex worth the extra over the Emporia?

Only for adjustable amperage and app maturity. The Home Flex sets its output anywhere from 16 to 50 amps, which is a real hedge if you do not yet know what circuit your panel can spare. If you already know your circuit and it is generous, the Emporia gives you the same practical charging speed, a longer cable and a tougher enclosure for less.

Which is faster, Emporia or ChargePoint Home Flex?

ChargePoint by about two miles of range per hour — roughly 42 against 40 at our standard 3.5 miles-per-kWh reference, from 50 amps against 48. That is inside the noise of your own car's efficiency, and both need a 60-amp circuit to reach their top figure at all.

Which has the longer cable?

Emporia, at 25 feet against ChargePoint's 23. Two feet can matter if your charge port is on the far side of the car from where the charger mounts, which is exactly the situation people underestimate when they measure in a straight line.

Which is better for outdoor installation?

Emporia, on the published rating: NEMA 4 against ChargePoint's NEMA 3R. NEMA 4 adds windblown dust and hose-directed water to what 3R covers. For a charger inside a garage the difference never gets tested; for a genuinely exposed wall, neither is as tough as a NEMA 4X unit.

Do both work with a Tesla?

Both are J1772 chargers, so a Tesla needs a J1772-to-Tesla adapter — which is inexpensive, certified to UL 2252 in the version we recommend, and never limits charging speed. ChargePoint also sells a factory NACS version of the Home Flex if you would rather have no adapter at all.

Sources

Keep reading