Plug & Range

Grizzl-E Mini vs Classic Connect

Same company, same UL file, same 40 amps, same published cold-weather floor. The Mini costs noticeably more and gives you a shorter cable — so the only question that matters is which outlets you are ever going to plug into.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

Buy the Classic Connect unless you will actually use the Mini’s four outlet adapters. That is the verdict, and it is unusual for a comparison on this site because the cheaper unit is also the better charger for the common case. Both are 40-amp Grizzl-E units, both carry United Chargers’ UL file E510712, both are metal-cased and rated UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor, and both publish the same -22°F to 122°F operating range. The Classic Connect has the longer cable, the larger enclosure and the lower price. The Mini costs more, and what the premium buys is a bag of adapters and the ability to put the whole thing in a trunk.

So this is not a specification contest. On charging speed they are identical: 40 amps at 240 volts is 9.6 kW, roughly 34 miles of range an hour at our 3.5 miles-per-kWh reference, and about 340 miles across a ten-hour night, from either unit, on the same NEMA 14-50 plug. United Chargers rounds the Classic Connect’s figure to “40A 10kW” on its own page; our arithmetic gives 9.6 kW, and we show both rather than picking the flattering one.

Where they genuinely diverge is three places: what is in the box (four NEMA adapters versus none), cable length (24 ft against 25 ft, and the sourcing of that number is worth reading), and how the current limit is enforced— the Mini publishes a hardware DIP switch, and the Classic Connect publishes a range without naming a switch. One of those three will decide this for you. None of them is speed.

How this is funded:we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, charging speed, electrical fit and value. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these chargers — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Grizzl-E Classic Connect

Grizzl-E Classic Connect

Grizzl-E retired the old no-app Classic and replaced it with this, and it kept the part that mattered: a metal case rated UL Type 4 for a spot with no shelter, published to keep operating down to -22F. What changed is that the electronics caught up — Wi-Fi, an app, and current you can dial from 40A down to 16A to fit a circuit you already have. It's the rugged pick that no longer asks you to give up scheduling to get it.

Better buy for a fixed garage install
$349.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 5, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Grizzl-E Mini 40A Portable Charger (J1772)

Grizzl-E Mini 40A Portable Charger (J1772)

The only charger on our dryer-outlet page that can grow past one. It is a UL-certified 40-amp portable on a NEMA 14-50 plug, and United Chargers puts a NEMA 14-30P adapter in the box alongside 6-50P, TT-30P and 5-15P adapters — so it runs at 24 amps on your dryer outlet today and at 40 the day an electrician fits a 14-50. The catch is the one that matters most here: it ships set to 40 amps, United Chargers' current Mini manual says outright that the charger cannot detect a circuit's amperage limit, and turning it down before the first session is your job.

Better buy if you need the outlet adapters
$479.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 5, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Better buy for a fixed garage install

Grizzl-E Classic Connect

Grizzl-E retired the old no-app Classic and replaced it with this, and it kept the part that mattered: a metal case rated UL Type 4 for a spot with no shelter, published to keep operating down to -22F. What changed is that the electronics caught up — Wi-Fi, an app, and current you can dial from 40A down to 16A to fit a circuit you already have. It's the rugged pick that no longer asks you to give up scheduling to get it.

Strengths

  • Metal case rated UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor, published from -22F to 122F
  • Current adjusts from 40A down to 16A, so it fits the circuit you already have
  • 25 ft cable — among the longest here — on a simple plug-in NEMA 14-50 install

Trade-offs

  • 40A caps its charging speed below the 48A units
  • Scheduling now runs through Wi-Fi and an account — the old Classic's nothing-to-update simplicity is gone
  • Grizzl-E publishes UL/cUL only for this model, not the ENERGY STAR listing the discontinued Classic carried
Max output40 A
Power9.6 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallNEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL/cUL listed (file E510712)

Our charging-speed math. At 40A (9.6 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh it adds roughly 34 miles of range an hour — more than enough to refill a daily commute overnight. Dial it down to 16A and you're at about 13.

Build note. A metal case rated UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor and published for -30C to +50C (-22F to 122F), with 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and current adjustable from 40A down to 16A.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Better buy if you need the outlet adapters

Grizzl-E Mini 40A Portable Charger (J1772)

The only charger on our dryer-outlet page that can grow past one. It is a UL-certified 40-amp portable on a NEMA 14-50 plug, and United Chargers puts a NEMA 14-30P adapter in the box alongside 6-50P, TT-30P and 5-15P adapters — so it runs at 24 amps on your dryer outlet today and at 40 the day an electrician fits a 14-50. The catch is the one that matters most here: it ships set to 40 amps, United Chargers' current Mini manual says outright that the charger cannot detect a circuit's amperage limit, and turning it down before the first session is your job.

Strengths

  • Three-year warranty and a UL certification from an established North American brand
  • The NEMA 14-30P adapter comes in the box from the manufacturer, not as a third-party add-on
  • A DIP switch inside can cap it at 24 amps in hardware, and no Wi-Fi setting can exceed that cap
  • Runs at a full 40 amps on a NEMA 14-50 if the outlet is upgraded later

Trade-offs

  • Ships set to 40 amps and cannot detect the circuit — on a 14-30 it must be turned down before first use
  • Setting the hardware cap means unplugging it and removing the front cover to reach the switch
  • By a wide margin the most expensive pick, for capacity a dryer outlet will never let you use
  • The adapter adds a plug-and-socket joint that a native 14-30 cord does not have
  • The Amazon J1772 listing describes browser-based Wi-Fi settings, not the Grizzl-E Connect app the newer Mini Connect uses
Max output40 A
Power9.6 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallNEMA 14-50 plug, with 14-30P, 6-50P, TT-30P and 5-15P adapters included
Cable length24 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL certified (United Chargers UL file E510712)

Our charging-speed math. On a NEMA 14-30 dryer outlet it must run at 24 amps: 24A at 240V is 5.76 kW, which at our 3.5 miles-per-kWh reference is roughly 20 miles of range an hour, or about 200 miles across a ten-hour overnight window. On a NEMA 14-50 at its full 40 amps (9.6 kW), it is roughly 34 miles an hour.

Build note. United Chargers publishes a 40A / 9.6 kW maximum on a 50A circuit with the output adjustable down to 7A at 240V (and 7-12A at 120V, which the charger detects automatically), a NEMA 14-50 input plug on an 18-inch lead, four NEMA 14-50R adapters in the box (5-15P, TT-30P, 14-30P and 6-50P), a UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor rating, a -22°F to 122°F operating range, a 6.9 x 3.1 x 2.4 in body weighing 9.8 lb, built-in GFCI, UL file E510712 and a 3-year warranty. Two lines decide how it belongs on a dryer outlet: both Mini manuals give the factory default maximum as 40A, and the current Mini Connect manual adds that the charger "can not detect the circuit amperage limit" (the automatic detection both manuals describe is of 120V versus 240V, not of the circuit's amperage). The limit can be lowered on the Wi-Fi settings page, or capped in hardware with a four-position DIP switch at 40, 32, 24 or 16A; the Wi-Fi setting can never exceed the DIP switch. On cable length, grizzl-e.com lists 25 ft for the current Mini Connect, while this Amazon J1772 listing and United Chargers' original Mini manual both say 24 ft, so we record the lower figure.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on September 15, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

What is actually the same

It is worth being explicit about this, because it removes most of the usual reasons to agonise. From United Chargers’ own product pages for the two units, both published:

  • 40 amps maximum on a NEMA 14-50 plug. Both are plug-in rather than hardwired, both want a 50-amp circuit for full output under the 125% continuous-load rule in NEC Article 625, and both therefore top out at the plug-in ceiling of 9.6 kW.
  • A metal case rated UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor. Not a plastic shell with an IP claim — the same cast-metal design philosophy that put the Grizzl-E name on our outdoor roundup in the first place.
  • A published operating range of -30°C to +50°C (-22°F to 122°F). Identical, and published, which is rarer than it should be. Most brands state an enclosure rating and no temperature range at all, and an enclosure rating is about water and dust, not cold.
  • UL file E510712, and Wi-Fi with the Grizzl-E Connect app. Same certification, same software, same three-year baseline warranty. The Classic Connect page additionally offers the warranty as a purchase choice between three and five years, and advertises participation in utility demand-response programs through the app.

Two chargers this closely related is unusual, and it means you are not trading away ruggedness, certification or charging speed in either direction. You are choosing a form factor.

Difference one: what is in the box

This is the real reason to pay the Mini premium, and the only one we would call decisive.

The Mini ships on a NEMA 14-50 plug with four manufacturer-supplied adapters: 5-15P, TT-30P, 14-30P and 6-50P. In plain terms, that is a standard household 120-volt socket, a 30-amp RV pedestal, a four-prong dryer outlet and a welder outlet — four of the five places a 240-volt or 120-volt circuit already exists in an ordinary American garage or campsite. The adapters are named in United Chargers’ own manual, under the same UL file as the charger, which is a meaningfully different thing from an unbranded adapter that names no safety lab. Our cheap chargers guide explains why we draw that line hard: the adapter becomes the hottest joint in a circuit carrying hours of continuous current.

The Classic Connect ships with a mounting kit and the EasyEvPlug, and no outlet adapters. It is a 14-50 charger for a 14-50 outlet.

So: if the outlet you are charging from is a 14-50, the adapters are worth nothing to you and you are paying for them anyway. If it is a dryer outlet, a welder outlet or an RV pedestal — or if you want the charger to come on road trips and work at whatever a relative’s garage happens to have — the adapters are the product, and the Mini is the only Grizzl-E that has them. That is exactly why the Mini leads our NEMA 6-50 roundup and is a pick on our dryer-outlet roundup.

Difference two: cable, and a number worth sourcing

The Classic Connect’s cable is published at 25 ft (7.6 m). The Mini’s is where it gets interesting, and we record the conservative figure deliberately: grizzl-e.com lists 25 ft for the current Mini Connect, while the Amazon J1772 listing we link and United Chargers’ original Mini manual both state 24 ft. We publish 24 ftbecause when a manufacturer’s own sources disagree, the lower number is the one that cannot leave you short at the car.

Either way the practical conclusion is the same: the Classic Connect gives you at least as much reach as the Mini, and possibly a foot more. If you were expecting the wall-mounted unit to be the compromise on cable, it is not. The Mini is also physically tiny — 6.9 x 3.1 x 2.4 inches and 9.8 lb against the Classic Connect’s 10.25 x 6.25 x 3.75 inch enclosure — which is the point of a unit designed to travel, and irrelevant on a garage wall. Our long-cable roundup covers the cases where reach is the deciding spec.

Difference three: how the limit is enforced

Both can be turned down. They publish it differently, and if your circuit is smaller than 50 amps, this is the paragraph that matters.

The Minipublishes two mechanisms: a four-position internal DIP switch at 40, 32, 24 or 16 amps, and a Wi-Fi current slider that runs from 7 amps up to whatever the DIP switch allows and can never exceed it. That is a hardware cap — once set, no app, account or firmware update gets past it. It comes with a warning we repeat everywhere we mention this charger, because it is from United Chargers’ own manual: the Mini ships with a factory default of 40 amps and the manual states the charger “can not detect the circuit amperage limit”. On anything smaller than a 50-amp circuit, turning it down before the first session is your job, and nothing will do it for you. Our Mini review opens on that line.

The Classic Connectpublishes an adjustable current of “40A - 16A” on its product page, set through Wi-Fi and the Grizzl-E Connect app. United Chargers does not name a DIP switch or a hardware cap for this model on that page, and it does not publish the individual steps within the range — so we record a published range and no published hardware enforcement, which is not the same as saying there is none. If a hardware-enforced limit is a requirement for your install, that uncertainty is itself a reason to choose the Mini, or to choose a charger that publishes the switch explicitly — our 32-amp roundup ranks on exactly this.

One extra capability only the Mini has: United Chargers publishes 7-12 amps at 120 volts with automatic voltage detection, so the Mini doubles as a Level 1 charger on an ordinary household socket using the included 5-15P adapter. The Classic Connect is a 240-volt charger. For a household that wants one cord to cover both, that is a genuine point for the Mini — see our Level 1 vs Level 2 comparison for what 12 amps at 120 volts is actually worth.

One difference that is not about either charger

The Classic Connect is available with a J1772 or a NACS output cable, as a choice on United Chargers’ page. The Mini listing we link is J1772. If you drive a Tesla or another NACS car and you want a native plug with no adapter hanging off the end, that is a reason to look at the Classic Connect specifically — though check availability of the exact variant, because connector options on these pages change and our live price and stock come from the J1772 Amazon listings. Our J1772 vs NACS explainer covers which connector your car actually has, and our NACS roundup is the page for wall-mounted native-NACS units.

The verdict

Buy the Grizzl-E Classic Connect if the charger is going on a wall next to a NEMA 14-50 and staying there. It is the cheaper unit, it has at least as much cable, it has the larger enclosure, it offers a five-year warranty as a purchase option, and it gives up nothing on certification, build or cold-weather rating. The Mini’s premium is for adapters you will never open and a portability you will never use.

Buy the Grizzl-E Mini if the outlet is not a 14-50, or if the charger needs to travel. Four manufacturer-supplied adapters covering a dryer outlet, a welder outlet, an RV pedestal and a household socket is a real product, not a bundled accessory — it is the difference between charging tonight and booking an electrician. Add a hardware DIP cap and 120-volt capability, and for anyone whose charging situation is not a clean 14-50 in their own garage, the Mini is worth every dollar of the difference. Set the DIP switch before you plug it in.

Frequently asked questions

What is the difference between the Grizzl-E Mini and the Classic Connect?

Form factor and what is in the box, not performance. Both are 40-amp, 9.6 kW plug-in chargers on a NEMA 14-50, both metal-cased and rated UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor, both published for -22°F to 122°F, both under UL file E510712 with the same Grizzl-E Connect app. The Mini is a small portable that ships with 5-15P, TT-30P, 14-30P and 6-50P adapters and publishes a hardware DIP switch; the Classic Connect is a larger wall unit with a 25 ft cable, no adapters, a J1772-or-NACS cable choice and a lower price.

Is the Grizzl-E Mini or the Classic Connect faster?

Neither. Both are 40 amps at 240 volts, which is 9.6 kW — roughly 34 miles of range an hour at our 3.5 miles-per-kWh reference, or about 340 miles across a ten-hour night. United Chargers rounds the Classic Connect's figure to 10 kW on its own page; the arithmetic gives 9.6. If you need more than 40 amps from a Grizzl-E, that means the hardwired Ultimate and a 60-amp circuit, not either of these.

Which Grizzl-E has the longer cable?

The Classic Connect, at a published 25 ft. The Mini's figure depends on the source: grizzl-e.com lists 25 ft for the current Mini Connect, while the Amazon J1772 listing and United Chargers' original Mini manual both state 24 ft. We publish 24 ft because when a manufacturer's own sources disagree, the lower number is the one that cannot leave you short at the car.

Can the Grizzl-E Mini charge from a dryer outlet?

Yes, with the NEMA 14-30P adapter included in the box, and with one mandatory step first. A 14-30 is a 30-amp circuit, which allows 24 amps of charging, and the Mini ships set to 40 amps. United Chargers' current Mini manual states the charger "can not detect the circuit amperage limit", so you must cap it at 24 amps — on the Wi-Fi settings page, or in hardware with the internal DIP switch — before the first session. Our dryer-outlet roundup covers the alternatives, including chargers whose factory plug is already a 14-30.

Does the Classic Connect have a DIP switch like the Mini?

United Chargers does not publish one for it. The Classic Connect's product page states an adjustable current of "40A - 16A" set through Wi-Fi and the Grizzl-E Connect app, and names no hardware switch or individual steps. That is a published range with no published hardware enforcement, which is not proof that there is none — but if a hardware-enforced limit is a requirement for your install, the Mini publishes one explicitly and the Classic Connect does not.

Can the Grizzl-E Mini be used as a Level 1 charger?

Yes, and the Classic Connect cannot. United Chargers publishes 7-12 amps at 120 volts for the Mini with automatic voltage detection, so with the included NEMA 5-15P adapter it works from an ordinary household socket — slowly, at roughly 4 to 5 miles of range an hour, but usable. The Classic Connect is a 240-volt charger only.

Is the Grizzl-E Mini worth the extra money?

Only if you will use the adapters or the portability. On a wall next to a NEMA 14-50 the Classic Connect is cheaper, has at least as much cable and gives up nothing on build, certification or cold-weather rating, so the Mini's premium buys nothing. If your 240-volt outlet is a dryer or welder receptacle, if you charge at campgrounds or relatives' houses, or if you want one cord that also works on 120 volts, the adapters are the product and the premium is justified.

Sources

  • United Chargers — Grizzl-E Mini product page — Manufacturer page (now listing the Mini Connect): up to 40 A / 9.6 kW, adjustable 7-40 A, NEMA 14-50 plug with four adapters included, Type 4 indoor/outdoor rating, -30 C to +50 C (-22 F to 122 F) operating range, 6.9 x 3.1 x 2.4 in enclosure, UL E510712, Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz) with the Grizzl-E Connect mobile app, 3-year default warranty, made in Canada; lists a 25 ft output cable where the Amazon J1772 listing states 24 ft (accessed September 20, 2026)
  • United Chargers — Grizzl-E Mini / Mini Connect User Manual and Installation Guide (Rev. 2.0, April 30, 2026) — Manufacturer manual: ships four NEMA 14-50R adapters (5-15P, TT-30P, 14-30P, 6-50P); the factory default maximum current is 40A; the Wi-Fi current slider runs from 7A up to the DIP switch setting, the DIP switch sets 40, 32, 24 or 16A, and "the charger can not detect the circuit amperage limit"; only 80% of the circuit rating may be used (accessed September 15, 2026)
  • United Chargers — Grizzl-E Classic Connect product page — Manufacturer page, fetched 2026-10-05: a 40 A plug-in Level 2 EVSE, “Max power 40A 10kW”, a NEMA 14-50 plug, adjustable current stated as “40A - 16A”, a 25 ft (7.6 m) output cable, UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor protection, certification “UL/cUL E510712”, Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz) with the Grizzl-E Connect mobile application, an operating temperature of -30 °C to +50 °C (-22 °F to 122 °F) and a 10.25 x 6.25 x 3.75 in enclosure. Available with a J1772 or a NACS output cable, and the warranty is a purchase option on the page — 3 year or 5 year. Listed at $349.99 direct on the date fetched. The page also advertises Demand/Response utility-program participation through the app (accessed October 5, 2026)
  • NFPA — Using the Latest NEC for EV Charger Installations — NFPA on NEC (NFPA 70) Article 625: EV charging is a continuous load, so circuits are sized to 125% of load (the 80% rule) (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • UL Solutions — EV Charging Infrastructure Services — UL on EVSE safety certification: ANSI/UL 2594 is the Standard for Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • SAE International — J1772 Conductive Charge Coupler — The SAE J1772 connector standard for AC Level 1 and Level 2 charging in North America (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • SAE International — J3400 North American Charging System (NACS) — The SAE J3400 / NACS standard (the Tesla-derived connector) now being adopted industry-wide (accessed July 19, 2026)

Keep reading