Plug & Range

WOLFBOX E48 vs Emporia Level 2

Same 48 amps, same 11.5 kW, same 25 feet of cable, same enclosure class, same three-year warranty, roughly the same money. What separates them is what each brand can actually prove.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

These two land in the same place on a shopping list: a full 48 amps, 11.5 kW, a 25-foot cable, a J1772 connector, a weather-rated enclosure, a scheduling app and a three-year warranty, at a price well under what ChargePoint or Wallbox ask for the same speed. If you have decided you want 48 amps and you do not want to pay a marquee premium, this is the choice you are making.

This page used to compare the Emporia against the WOLFBOX WE48, and it was a comparison about disclosure — the WE48 published a tougher enclosure and very little else. Amazon stopped carrying the WE48 in September 2026, so the WOLFBOX in this comparison is now the E48, which is a different product with a considerably fuller spec sheet. The disclosure gap has mostly closed. What is left is narrower and more interesting: a certification claim that does not check out, against a display that does not need the internet.

How this is funded:we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, charging speed, electrical fit and value. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these chargers — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

The value pick that never feels like one. You get the full 48 amps, an ENERGY STAR listing, real Wi-Fi energy tracking and a 25 ft cable for well under what the marquee brands charge. When someone asks us where to start, this is usually the first name out of our mouths.

Better for most buyers
2
WOLFBOX E48 Level 2 Charger, 48A

WOLFBOX E48 Level 2 Charger, 48A

The 48-amp WOLFBOX you can actually buy, and the more forthcoming of the two: unlike the WE48 it replaces, the E-series spec table publishes 11.5 kW, the five current steps, the enclosure rating, the Wi-Fi band and a 36-month EV-charger warranty. You also get a 4.3-inch screen on the unit itself, which reports voltage, temperature and session totals without reaching for the app. The one number still missing is an operating-temperature range, and the one claim we could not confirm is ENERGY STAR.

Better if you want the readout on the wall

The picks in full

#1Better for most buyers

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

The value pick that never feels like one. You get the full 48 amps, an ENERGY STAR listing, real Wi-Fi energy tracking and a 25 ft cable for well under what the marquee brands charge. When someone asks us where to start, this is usually the first name out of our mouths.

Strengths

  • 48A and ENERGY STAR at a genuinely value price
  • The app tracks energy use, not just an on/off toggle
  • Long 25 ft cable and a remote holster in the box

Trade-offs

  • 48A hardwired needs a 60A circuit; on a NEMA 14-50 plug it's capped at 40A
  • The app is less polished than ChargePoint's, and support is a smaller operation
Max output48 A
Power11.5 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired or NEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. Hardwired at 48A (11.5 kW), figure about 40 miles of range an hour at 3.5 mi/kWh. Drop to a 40A plug-in circuit and it's closer to 34.

Build note. Runs 48A hardwired, or 40A on a NEMA 14-50 outlet, with a 25 ft cable and a wall holster included.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Better if you want the readout on the wall

WOLFBOX E48 Level 2 Charger, 48A

The 48-amp WOLFBOX you can actually buy, and the more forthcoming of the two: unlike the WE48 it replaces, the E-series spec table publishes 11.5 kW, the five current steps, the enclosure rating, the Wi-Fi band and a 36-month EV-charger warranty. You also get a 4.3-inch screen on the unit itself, which reports voltage, temperature and session totals without reaching for the app. The one number still missing is an operating-temperature range, and the one claim we could not confirm is ENERGY STAR.

Strengths

  • Publishes what the WE48 did not: 11.5 kW, five current steps from 16 to 48 amps, and a warranty term
  • 4.3-inch LCD on the unit reports voltage, temperature and session totals with no app open
  • IP66 / NEMA 4 housing, 25 ft cable, OTA firmware updates, RFID card and plug-and-charge

Trade-offs

  • WOLFBOX's spec table claims ENERGY STAR, but the ENERGY STAR certified-EVSE database lists only the E40 and E50 — not this 48-amp configuration
  • Its 36-month warranty is published as the wolfbox.com default; WOLFBOX's own policy says coverage on other platforms may vary, so confirm the term with the Amazon seller
  • Still no operating-temperature range, which is the spec that decides a cold-climate install
  • Hardwired only on a 60-amp circuit, so it needs an electrician and stays with the house
Max output48 A
Power11.5 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsCSA certified, FCC, stated to meet UL 2594 (WOLFBOX also prints ENERGY STAR, but no 48A model is on the ENERGY STAR certified list)

Our charging-speed math. WOLFBOX publishes up to 11.5 kW, and 48 amps at 240V is about 11.5 kW, so the arithmetic agrees for once: at our 3.5 miles-per-kWh reference that is roughly 40 miles of range an hour, or about 400 miles across a ten-hour overnight window. WOLFBOX's Amazon listing claims 46 miles an hour, which assumes a more efficient car than our reference — plan around 40.

Build note. WOLFBOX publishes up to 11.5 kW at 200-240 V AC, current output selectable at 16, 24, 32, 40 and 48 amps, a 60A-or-greater circuit breaker, hardwired connection with a 23-inch input cord, a J1772 connector on a 25-foot cable, an IP66 / NEMA 4 protection rating, a 12.68 x 7.46 x 4.76 in wall-mount body, 2.4 GHz 802.11 b/g/n Wi-Fi with over-the-air firmware updates, a 4.3-inch LCD showing charge rate, time, voltage and energy, RFID card or app start, Alexa and Google Assistant control, and a 36-month manufacturer warranty for EV chargers. One inconsistency worth flagging: the Amazon bullet copy says "NEMA 4X", while both the Amazon title and WOLFBOX's own spec table say NEMA 4 / IP66 for this 48-amp model — we record the spec table's figure.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on September 4, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

Where they are identical

Get this out of the way, because it is now most of the spec sheet.

Both deliver 48 amps, which at 240 volts is about 11.5 kW— roughly 40 miles of range per hour at our 3.5 miles-per-kWh reference, or around 400 miles across a ten-hour overnight window. Both carry a 25-foot cable and a J1772 connector. Both publish a NEMA 4 enclosure. Both publish a three-year warranty. Both have a phone app that schedules charging. Both require a 60-amp circuit, because NEC Article 625 treats EV charging as a continuous load and sizes the circuit to 125% of the draw.

There is no meaningful charging-speed difference between them and there is no scenario in which one fills a battery faster than the other. Anyone telling you otherwise is describing marketing, not physics. And before you commit to either, check that your car can actually accept 11.5 kW — our onboard charger limits guidecovers how to find your vehicle’s own ceiling, and our 40A versus 48A comparison covers whether you need this tier at all.

One genuine difference in shape: the Emporia is sold in both hardwired and NEMA 14-50 plug-in configurations, while the WOLFBOX E48 is hardwired only. If you rent, or expect to move, that alone may settle it — a hardwired charger stays with the house. Our hardwired versus plug-in comparison covers the trade. Note that WOLFBOX does sell the same chassis as a 40-amp plug-in unit, but that is a different purchase at a different speed.

The enclosure is a tie now, and that matters

If you have read our older WOLFBOX coverage, the headline was NEMA 4X against NEMA 4 — the X denoting additional corrosion resistance on top of the water and dust protection both classes provide. That was the WE48. It does not carry over.

WOLFBOX’s own E-series spec table gives NEMA 4X only for the 40-amp Tesla-connector version; the 48-amp model is listed as NEMA 4, IP66, which is what Amazon’s product title says too. The bullet copy on the same Amazon listing says “NEMA 4X”, and we do not think that inconsistency should be resolved in the seller’s favour. We record the spec table’s figure. Emporia publishes NEMA 4. Same class, no advantage either way.

Both are silent on operating temperature range, which is the enclosure spec that actually decides a cold-climate install — a sealed box and a cable that stays flexible at −20°F are different claims. If you are somewhere genuinely cold, neither of these is the right answer and our outdoor roundup covers the units that do publish a range. Our cold-weather guide explains why the cable matters more than the box.

Certification: Emporia wins, and it is the reason to read this page

Both brands print a certification list. Only one of them survives being checked against the certifier.

ENERGY STAR.Emporia carries the certification. WOLFBOX prints “CSA / FCC / Energy Star” in the safety-certifications row of its E-series spec table — but the ENERGY STAR certified-EVSE list contains exactly two WOLFBOX entries, the E40 at a 40-amp nameplate rating and the E50at 50 amps. There is no 48-amp WOLFBOX entry, and Amazon’s own item model number for this charger is “E50(48)”. A certification is granted to a model at a tested rating, and a rebate administrator checks the list for a model number rather than reasoning about which chassis a variant came from.

The direct energy saving is small — ENERGY STAR reports certified chargers use about 40% less energy in standby — but a number of utility rebate programs name the certification as an eligibility condition, and that can be worth more than the entire price difference between these two. Our ENERGY STAR roundup and rebates guide cover it. If a rebate is in your budget, this is not a close call.

The safety listing. Emporia is UL listed. WOLFBOX is CSA certified and states that it meetsUL 2594 standards. CSA is a recognized third-party certification body, so this is not a case of one being certified and the other not — but “meets UL standards” is a conformance statement rather than a UL listing, and precision matters here. Our guide on whether cheap chargers are safe covers reading certification language carefully.

The warranty, with a footnote. Both publish three years. WOLFBOX publishes 36 months for EV chargers in its warranty policy, but the table is headed as the default for purchases on wolfbox.com and the same policy says coverage on other official or authorized platforms may vary. Our buy links go to Amazon. Emporia publishes three years without a channel qualifier. In practice that is a small edge rather than a decisive one, but it is an edge.

Where WOLFBOX genuinely pulls ahead

Two things, and neither is nothing.

The screen on the unit. The E48 has a 4.3-inch LCD reporting charge rate, elapsed time, voltage, internal temperature and energy delivered, with an LED strip that colour-codes the charging stage. Almost every smart charger at this price puts its status behind an app, an account and a network connection, and all three of those are things that fail: a router change, a firmware update, a brand that loses interest in its software. A display wired to the same board as the contactor is still telling you what the charger is doing in year eight. Our smart versus basic comparison covers our general skepticism about charger apps, and this is the shape of answer we like.

Published current steps.WOLFBOX lists 16, 24, 32, 40 and 48 amps. That looks like a footnote and it is the line that decides whether the charger fits a house that cannot spare a 60-amp circuit — set it to 32 on a 40-amp breaker and it is still a usable charger, with the top setting available later if the service is upgraded. Emporia does not publish an equivalent step list for this unit, so we cannot record one. Our panel capacity guide walks the load calculation that makes this matter.

Where Emporia genuinely pulls ahead

Wall-side energy monitoring.Emporia’s app reports measured energy at the charger. WOLFBOX describes real-time charging data and cost estimates, which is a figure derived from a tariff rather than a measurement. The distinction sounds pedantic and is not: the car’s own figure is battery-side and the charger’s is wall-side, and the gap between them is the charging loss you are paying for but not driving on. Our energy monitoring guide explains it, and it is the single app feature we think is worth paying for.

The plug-in option.Emporia sells the same charger in a NEMA 14-50 configuration. It is capped at 40 amps continuous in that form, because a 14-50 receptacle is a 50-amp device — but it means one product line covers both the “wire it in properly” buyer and the renter who needs the charger to come with them.

The verdict

Buy the Emporiaunless you have a specific reason not to. Same speed, same cable, same enclosure class, same warranty term — plus a UL listing, an ENERGY STAR listing you can find on the certified list, measured energy reporting, and the option of a plug-in version that moves house with you. That is a longer list of things you can hold someone to, at comparable money. Our Emporia review covers it in full, and our 48-amp roundup shows where it sits against the premium field.

Buy the WOLFBOX E48 if you want the readout on the wall rather than in an app, or if the published step-down range is what makes the charger fit your panel. Both are real reasons and neither is exotic. Go in knowing that the ENERGY STAR line on its spec table is not one you should plan a rebate around, and that the three-year warranty comes with a channel caveat worth confirming with the seller. Our WOLFBOX E48 review has the full spec picture.

Buy neither if your car cannot accept 11.5 kW or your panel cannot spare a 60-amp circuit. Both are common, and both mean you are paying for a hardwired install you cannot use. Read our panel capacity guide and our 40-amp roundup before committing.

Frequently asked questions

Is the WOLFBOX E48 faster than the Emporia Level 2?

No. Both are 48-amp chargers and both publish 11.5 kW, which at our 3.5 miles-per-kWh reference is roughly 40 miles of range per hour. Charging speed is set by amperage and by your car's onboard charger, not by the brand. Any claimed difference between them comes from different marketing assumptions about the reference vehicle, not from the hardware.

Which has the better warranty?

Both publish three years, so this is closer than it used to be. The edge is Emporia's, on wording rather than length: WOLFBOX's warranty policy gives 36 months for EV chargers as the default for purchases on wolfbox.com and says coverage on other official or authorized platforms may vary, while Emporia publishes three years without that qualifier. Since our buy links resolve to Amazon, confirm the WOLFBOX term with the seller if the warranty is how you are deciding.

Is the WOLFBOX E48 ENERGY STAR certified?

We could not confirm it, and we would not plan a rebate around it. WOLFBOX prints ENERGY STAR in the safety-certifications row of its E-series spec table, but the ENERGY STAR certified-EVSE database lists only two WOLFBOX products — the E40 at 40 amps and the E50 at 50 amps. There is no 48-amp entry, and Amazon's item model number for this charger is 'E50(48)'. Emporia's listing is on the certified list. If a utility rebate requiring ENERGY STAR is part of your budget, that difference is the whole comparison.

What happened to the WOLFBOX WE48?

Amazon stopped carrying it. We re-checked the listing on 4 September 2026 and it returns 'Currently unavailable' with no live listing for the same SKU, so we took it off our recommendation lists and replaced it in this comparison with the E48. WOLFBOX still sells the WE48 on its own site, but every buy link on this site resolves to Amazon. Our WE48 review stays online for reference, with no buy link on it. The practical difference between the two: the WE48 had a NEMA 4X enclosure and published almost nothing else; the E48 has a NEMA 4 / IP66 enclosure, a screen on the unit and a full spec table.

Is NEMA 4 good enough for an outdoor install?

Yes, for most installs. NEMA 4 and IP66 both mean sealed against dust and hose-directed water, which covers an exterior wall, a carport or an unheated detached garage. The step up is NEMA 4X, where the X denotes additional corrosion resistance — worth paying for in coastal salt air or an agricultural or industrial setting, and unlikely to ever show in a sheltered suburban garage. Both chargers on this page are NEMA 4.

Can either of these be plugged in rather than hardwired?

The Emporia is sold in both hardwired and NEMA 14-50 plug-in configurations. The WOLFBOX E48 is hardwired only, though WOLFBOX sells the same chassis as a separate 40-amp plug-in model. Note that a plug-in charger is limited to 40 amps continuous regardless of the unit, because a 14-50 receptacle sits on a 50-amp circuit — so the plug-in Emporia is a 40-amp proposition, not a 48-amp one.

Do I actually need 48 amps?

Often not. The ceiling is usually the car's onboard charger, and on many EVs and essentially every plug-in hybrid that ceiling is at or below 9.6 kW — at which point a 48-amp charger delivers exactly what a 40-amp one would. Check your vehicle's figure first; if it is 9.6 kW or lower, a plug-in 40-amp charger saves you the hardwired install entirely.

Sources

Keep reading