Plug & Range

EVIQO NACS 48A vs Lectron NEXUS NACS

Both put a Tesla plug straight on the wall at 48 amps, both are ENERGY STAR, both are IP66, and they are about fifty dollars apart. One of them can be fitted to a circuit smaller than 60 amps. The other cannot, and does not say so.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

Get a load calculation first, then buy the EVIQO if it comes back under 60 amps and the Lectron if it comes back at 60 or above. That is the whole decision, and it is not about either brand’s quality. These two chargers are closer than almost any other pair we compare: 48 amps, 11.5 kW, native NACS connector, hardwired install, IP66 enclosure, ENERGY STAR certification, a three-year warranty, and roughly fifty dollars between them. What separates them is a single published spec, and it is one most buyers never think to check.

EVIQO publishes an adjustable current range; Lectron does not. EVIQO’s own FAQ for this charger describes two levels of control — internal DIP switches that set the maximum at 16, 32, 40 or 48 amps, and then an app slider that runs from 6 amps up to that maximum in 1-amp increments. Lectron’s page for the NEXUS NACS publishes no adjustable range anywhere: it is specified as up to 48 amps on a dedicated 240-volt circuit, full stop. So the EVIQO can be dialled down to fit a 40-amp circuit and the Lectron cannot be fitted to anything but a 60-amp one.

Everything else is a tiebreaker. Both deliver roughly 40 miles of range an hour at 48 amps and our 3.5 miles-per-kWh reference — about 400 miles across a ten-hour night, which is more than any Tesla needs overnight. The EVIQO has more cable and an app; the Lectron has no app at all, which for a Tesla owner is a more defensible position than it sounds. Below is each of those in turn, from each manufacturer’s own page.

How this is funded:we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, charging speed, electrical fit and value. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these chargers — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
EVIQO NACS 48A Level 2 Charger

EVIQO NACS 48A Level 2 Charger

The native-NACS charger that finally makes the Tesla-plug tax disappear. It is the same hardware as EVIQO's J1772 unit — 48 amps, 25 ft of cable, IP66, ENERGY STAR — with a Tesla plug on the end and, unlike either of the other hardwired NACS picks here, a published 6-48A adjustable range. That last spec is the one that lets it fit a panel that cannot carry a 60-amp circuit, which is the constraint that actually stops most 48-amp installs.

Better buy for a panel under 60 amps
$479.99 · View on Amazon

$510.996% off

Price as of October 5, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Lectron Nexus NACS (Tesla) Charger

Lectron Nexus NACS (Tesla) Charger

For a Tesla owner who doesn't want to babysit an adapter. The native NACS (J3400) connector goes straight into the car at a full 48 amps, with the safety listings you want to see. There's no app — but a Tesla schedules charging in the car anyway, so you're not really missing one.

Better buy if you have the 60-amp circuit
$429.99 · View on Amazon

$459.997% off

Price as of October 5, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Better buy for a panel under 60 amps

EVIQO NACS 48A Level 2 Charger

The native-NACS charger that finally makes the Tesla-plug tax disappear. It is the same hardware as EVIQO's J1772 unit — 48 amps, 25 ft of cable, IP66, ENERGY STAR — with a Tesla plug on the end and, unlike either of the other hardwired NACS picks here, a published 6-48A adjustable range. That last spec is the one that lets it fit a panel that cannot carry a 60-amp circuit, which is the constraint that actually stops most 48-amp installs.

Strengths

  • Adjustable 6-48A — the only hardwired NACS pick here that can be dialed down to fit a smaller circuit
  • 25 ft cable plus a 40 in input lead, the longest reach of the NACS group
  • UL, ETL, FCC and ENERGY STAR listings at the bottom of the 48-amp NACS price band
  • Published -22°F to 122°F operating range on an IP66 / NEMA-4 body

Trade-offs

  • Hardwired only — a licensed electrician and a 60A circuit to use the full 48 amps
  • A smaller brand than ChargePoint, with a shorter track record behind the app
  • A J1772 car needs a NACS-to-J1772 adapter to use it at all
Max output48 A
Power11.5 kW
ConnectorNACS
InstallHardwired
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL, ETL, FCC, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and our 3.5 mi/kWh reference, roughly 40 miles of range an hour into a Tesla or other NACS car.

Build note. EVIQO publishes 240V, 48A (50A max) and 11.5 kW through a hardwired connection on a 60A-or-greater circuit, a native NACS connector, a 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input lead, an IP66 / NEMA-4 enclosure, a -22°F to 122°F operating range, a current range adjustable from 6 to 48A in the app, Wi-Fi with scheduling, energy and cost tracking and over-the-air firmware updates, UL/ETL/FCC listings, ENERGY STAR certification, and a 3-year standard warranty (4 years extended).

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 25, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Better buy if you have the 60-amp circuit

Lectron Nexus NACS (Tesla) Charger

For a Tesla owner who doesn't want to babysit an adapter. The native NACS (J3400) connector goes straight into the car at a full 48 amps, with the safety listings you want to see. There's no app — but a Tesla schedules charging in the car anyway, so you're not really missing one.

Strengths

  • Native NACS connector — no J1772-to-Tesla adapter to keep track of
  • Full 48A output and a weather-rated IP66 body
  • UL/ETL safety listings plus ENERGY STAR

Trade-offs

  • No Wi-Fi app — you schedule in the Tesla app instead
  • Best for Tesla/NACS cars; other EVs need a NACS-to-J1772 adapter
Max output48 A
Power11.5 kW
ConnectorNACS
InstallHardwired
Cable length23 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appNo
CertificationsUL 2594/2231/2251 (ETL listed), ENERGY STAR, FCC

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh, about 40 miles of range an hour into a Tesla.

Build note. A native NACS (J3400) connector plugs straight into a Tesla with no adapter; a holster is included.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

The spec that decides it

Forty-eight amps of charging requires a 60-amp circuit. NEC Article 625 treats EV charging as a continuous load, so the breaker is sized to 125% of the draw: 48 x 1.25 = 60. That is a substantial circuit. On a full 100- or 125-amp service it often does not exist without a load calculation that says otherwise, a subpanel, or a service upgrade — which is the subject of our panel capacity guide and the reason our 100-amp panel roundup exists.

The EVIQO survives that conversation. Its DIP switch positions are 16, 32, 40 and 48 amps, which map onto 20-, 40-, 50- and 60-amp circuits respectively. Set the switch to 32 and you have a charger that fits a 40-amp circuit permanently, in hardware, where no app update or new household member can raise it. The app slider then moves anywhere from 6 amps up to that cap in single-amp steps, which is genuinely useful during peak-rate hours. One honest note on EVIQO’s own copy: a banner on the page reads “Easily set power (6-50A)” while the FAQ on the same page gives the DIP positions as 16/32/40/48. We cite the FAQ, because it is the specific statement, and we record the discrepancy rather than quietly picking the larger number.

The Lectron does not survive it. Lectron’s page for the NEXUS NACS states that it requires “professional hardwired installation by a licensed electrician on a dedicated 240V circuit”, and publishes 48 amps / 11.52 kW as the output. It does not publish an adjustable range, a DIP switch, selectable levels, or an app in which to change anything. That is not a criticism of the charger — it is a deliberately simple product, and we say so below — but it means the charger has exactly one electrical requirement and no way to negotiate it. If your panel cannot carry a 60-amp circuit, this charger is not a candidate, and nothing on the listing tells you that.

This is the same finding our Lectron NEXUS J1772 review leads with for the J1772 sibling, and it is why neither NEXUS appears on our 32-amp roundup. A charger’s maximum tells you nothing about its minimum.

Tiebreaker one: cable reach

The EVIQO publishes a 25 ft charging cable plus a 40-inch input lead, describing the cable as fourth-generation and including a fluorescent holster. The Lectron publishes 23 ft, with a wall-mount J-hook and plug holder, and — unusually — a cable thickness of 16.0 mm (±0.5 mm), which is a spec almost nobody publishes.

Two feet of cable sounds trivial and is not. The input lead matters more than the headline figure: 40 inches of flexible input cable means the charger body does not have to sit directly over the junction box, which gives an electrician real freedom about where the unit lands on the wall. If the car parks nose-in on the far side of a two-car garage, measure the actual path — around the car, not through it — before you decide either is enough. Our long-cable roundup is the page for when reach is the deciding spec, and it is a more common problem than buyers expect.

Tiebreaker two: the app, and whether a Tesla owner needs one

The EVIQO has a full app: pairing over 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, up to three charging schedules, live energy and cost tracking, remote amperage adjustment, and automatic over-the-air firmware updates. The Lectron NEXUS NACS has no app, no Wi-Fi and no account anywhere on its page.

For a Tesla, that gap is smaller than it looks, and this is the single most useful thing on this page if you drive one. The car already does the scheduling. A Tesla sets departure times, off-peak windows and a charge limit in the vehicle, with no reference to the charger at all — so the charger’s scheduler is a second place to configure the same behaviour, and two schedulers fighting each other is a genuine source of “why didn’t my car charge” confusion. Our smart versus basic comparison makes this argument in full: on a car that schedules itself, the feature that still earns a premium is wall-side measurement, not scheduling.

And wall-side measurement is the one thing the EVIQO app genuinely adds. The car reports energy that reached the battery; the charger reports energy that left the wall, and the gap between them is charging losses you are paying for. If you want to know your real cost per mile, or you are claiming a utility rebate that asks for kWh, that is worth something — see our energy monitoring guide. If you do not care, the Lectron’s absence of an app is a feature: nothing to pair, no account, no firmware, and no cloud service that can be discontinued in five years.

Tiebreaker three: certification and what each brand publishes

Both are ENERGY STAR certified, which is the listing most utility rebate programmes actually ask for — our rebates guide covers what administrators look at, and our ENERGY STAR roundup ranks the certified field.

Beyond that they publish differently. Lectron names its standards precisely: ETL listed to UL 2594, UL 2231 and UL 2251, plus FCC, with protection against overcurrent, overvoltage and ground faults. EVIQO states UL, ETL, FCC and ENERGY STAR without naming individual standards on the page, and adds an enclosure figure Lectron does not publish at all: a stated operating range of -22°F to 122°Fon the IP66 / NEMA-4 body. Both describe an IP66 enclosure; only EVIQO tells you how cold it is rated to work in, and an enclosure rating is about water and dust, not temperature. If the charger is going on an outside wall in a cold climate, that is a real difference — our outdoor roundup ranks on published temperature ranges for exactly this reason, and our cold-weather guide explains what the cold does to charging itself.

On warranty, both publish three years. EVIQO offers a four-year extension as a purchase option. Neither is a long warranty by the standards of the category — the Grizzl-E range offers five as an option — but three years is the norm.

What neither of them solves

Both of these chargers have a Tesla plug permanently attached, and that is a commitment. A J1772 car — which is every non-Tesla EV sold in North America until very recently — cannot use either one without a NACS-to-J1772 adapter hanging off the end of the cable. If your household has, or might have, one Tesla and one other EV, the honest recommendation is a J1772 charger plus a J1772-to-Tesla adapter for the Tesla, which is the argument our NACS roundup opens with and the reason our adapters page exists. A native NACS wall unit does not remove the adapter problem; it moves it onto whichever car in the household is not a Tesla.

The verdict

If your panel cannot comfortably carry a 60-amp circuit, buy the EVIQO NACS 48A. It is the only one of the two that can be installed at all under that constraint: cap it at 32 amps with the DIP switch for a 40-amp circuit, and you still get roughly 27 miles of range an hour, an app that measures what you are actually using, two extra feet of cable plus a 40-inch input lead, and a published cold-weather figure. The DIP switch also means the limit on the permit is the limit in the hardware.

If you already have, or are installing, a 60-amp circuit and you drive a Tesla, buy the Lectron NEXUS NACS. It is the cheaper of the two, it names its safety standards individually rather than in a bundle, and its lack of an app is the right trade on a car that schedules its own charging. There is nothing to pair, nothing to update and no account to lose — and on a charger that will be screwed to a wall for a decade, that is worth more than most buyers credit. Just confirm the circuit before you order, because this charger gives you no way to adapt to a smaller one.

Frequently asked questions

Which is better, the EVIQO NACS 48A or the Lectron NEXUS NACS?

It depends on one thing: whether your panel can carry a 60-amp circuit. Both are 48-amp, 11.5 kW native-NACS hardwired chargers with IP66 enclosures, ENERGY STAR certification and three-year warranties, about fifty dollars apart. The EVIQO publishes DIP switches at 16, 32, 40 and 48 amps plus an app slider from 6 amps up to that cap, so it can be fitted to a smaller circuit. Lectron publishes no adjustable range at all, so the NEXUS NACS is 48 amps on a 60-amp circuit or nothing.

Can the Lectron NEXUS NACS be turned down to fewer amps?

Not according to anything Lectron publishes. Its product page states up to 48 amps at 240 volts on a dedicated circuit installed by a licensed electrician, and names no adjustable range, no selectable levels, no DIP switch and no app in which to change the setting. We record that as a fixed 48-amp charger, which means a 60-amp circuit under the 125% continuous-load rule in NEC Article 625.

Do I need a 60-amp circuit for a 48-amp EV charger?

Yes. NEC Article 625 treats EV charging as a continuous load, so the circuit is sized to 125% of the charger's draw — 48 amps × 1.25 = 60 amps. That is a significant amount of capacity, and on an older 100- or 125-amp service it frequently is not available without a load calculation that says otherwise, a subpanel or a service upgrade. Get the load calculation before you choose between these two chargers, because it may make the choice for you.

Does either charger have an app?

The EVIQO does; the Lectron does not. EVIQO publishes pairing over 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, up to three charging schedules, live energy and cost tracking, remote amperage adjustment and automatic over-the-air firmware. Lectron's NEXUS NACS page mentions no app, Wi-Fi or account anywhere. On a Tesla that matters less than it sounds, because the car schedules its own charging — the thing the app genuinely adds is wall-side energy measurement, which the car cannot give you.

Which has the longer cable?

The EVIQO, at a published 25 ft plus a 40-inch input lead, against Lectron's published 23 ft with a wall-mount J-hook and plug holder. The input lead is the underrated part: 40 inches of flexible cable between the junction box and the charger body gives an electrician real freedom about where the unit lands on the wall. Measure the path the cable actually has to travel — around the car, not through it — before deciding either is enough.

Are both of these ENERGY STAR certified?

Both brands state ENERGY STAR certification on their own pages for these models, which is the listing most utility rebate programmes ask for. Lectron additionally names its safety standards individually — ETL listed to UL 2594, UL 2231 and UL 2251, plus FCC — where EVIQO states UL, ETL, FCC and ENERGY STAR without naming individual standards. EVIQO publishes one thing Lectron does not: an operating temperature range of -22°F to 122°F.

Should I buy a native NACS charger or a J1772 charger plus an adapter?

If every car in the household takes a Tesla plug, a native NACS charger is cleaner — nothing to seat, nothing to lose. If there is, or might be, a non-Tesla EV in the household, buy a J1772 charger and a J1772-to-Tesla adapter for the Tesla instead. A native NACS wall unit does not remove the adapter problem; it moves it onto whichever car is not a Tesla, and a NACS-to-J1772 adapter is the more awkward of the two to live with.

Sources

  • EVIQO — NACS 48 A hardwired home EV charger for Tesla product page — Manufacturer page, fetched 2026-10-05. The current control is published twice and the two statements differ: a banner reads “Easily set power (6-50A) for your home's capacity”, while the page's own FAQ is specific — “two levels of control. Hardware dip switch sets max amperage (16A / 32A / 40A / 48A). Then fine-tune with the app slider from 6A to your max in 1A increments.” We cite the FAQ. Also published: a native NACS connector, a 25 ft 4th-generation cable with a fluorescent holster, UL / ETL / FCC / ENERGY STAR certification, an IP66 / NEMA-4 enclosure rated -22 °F to 122 °F, 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi required for app features, up to 3 schedules with live energy and cost tracking and automatic over-the-air firmware, a 3-year standard warranty with a 4-year extended option, and a $480.99 direct price (from $599.00) on the date fetched. The page also carries third-party award and score claims we have not independently verified and do not repeat (accessed October 5, 2026)
  • Lectron — NEXUS Level 2 NACS (Tesla) 48 A hardwired charging station — Manufacturer page, fetched 2026-10-05: up to 48 A at 240 V (11.52 kW), a native NACS connector, hardwired installation that the page states “requires professional hardwired installation by a licensed electrician on a dedicated 240V circuit”, an IP66 automotive-grade enclosure, a 23 ft cable of 16.0 mm (±0.5 mm) thickness with a wall-mount J-hook and plug holder, ETL listing to UL 2594 / UL 2231 / UL 2251, ENERGY STAR and FCC certification, protection against overcurrent, overvoltage and ground faults, and a 3-year warranty. Listed at $399.99 direct (from $459.99) on the date fetched. Recorded as much for a negative finding: the page publishes NO adjustable current range and no app, Wi-Fi or account anywhere — the amperage is not a setting on this SKU (accessed October 5, 2026)
  • ENERGY STAR — Electric Vehicle Chargers — ENERGY STAR on EVSE efficiency: certified chargers use about 40% less energy in standby than non-certified units (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • NFPA — Using the Latest NEC for EV Charger Installations — NFPA on NEC (NFPA 70) Article 625: EV charging is a continuous load, so circuits are sized to 125% of load (the 80% rule) (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • SAE International — J3400 North American Charging System (NACS) — The SAE J3400 / NACS standard (the Tesla-derived connector) now being adopted industry-wide (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • SAE International — J1772 Conductive Charge Coupler — The SAE J1772 connector standard for AC Level 1 and Level 2 charging in North America (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • UL Solutions — EV Charging Infrastructure Services — UL on EVSE safety certification: ANSI/UL 2594 is the Standard for Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (accessed July 19, 2026)

Keep reading