Plug & Range

Best Gifts for EV Owners

Six charging gifts that get used every day, from a stocking-stuffer adapter to the wall charger they keep meaning to buy — each explained for the person doing the giving, not the driving.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

The best gift for someone who drives an EV is almost never a gadget for the cabin. It is something that makes charging — the one chore an electric car adds to a household — quicker, easier or possible in a place it wasn’t. That is a strange category to shop in if you have never owned an EV, because everything in it is electrical and comes with a spec sheet.

So this list is written for the gifter. Every pick is a product we have already researched for the drivers themselves — the same units, the same reasoning from the manufacturer’s published specs — re-explained in terms of who it suits, why it lands, and the single thing to check before you order. We have not bench-tested any of them, and we say so on every page; what we have done is read the spec sheets carefully so you do not have to.

The list runs from small to large. If you know nothing about their setup, start at the adapter and Level 1 end, where a wrong guess costs little. If you know they have a big 240-volt outlet in the garage, the plug-in Level 2 picks are the gift that changes their week. And if you are buying the wall charger outright, read the “before you buy” section first — that is the gift that occasionally needs an electrician, and it is better to know that before it is unwrapped.

How this is funded:we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, charging speed, electrical fit and value. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these chargers — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

The value pick that never feels like one. You get the full 48 amps, an ENERGY STAR listing, real Wi-Fi energy tracking and a 25 ft cable for well under what the marquee brands charge. When someone asks us where to start, this is usually the first name out of our mouths.

Best overall gift — the one they'd buy themselves
$449.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 13, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Lectron 40A Portable Level 2 Charger

Lectron 40A Portable Level 2 Charger

The least-expensive honest route into real Level 2 charging. Plug it into a NEMA 14-50 outlet, pull a true 40A / 9.6 kW, and unplug it to throw in the trunk for a trip. The trade-offs for the price are no app and a shorter warranty — both fair at this cost.

Best Level 2 gift with no electrician
$269.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 13, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Lectron J1772 to Tesla (NACS) Adapter, 80A

Lectron J1772 to Tesla (NACS) Adapter, 80A

The single most useful accessory a Tesla or NACS owner can keep in the trunk. Snap it onto any J1772 home charger and it plugs straight into a Tesla — so you can buy the charger that's actually the best value and let this bridge the connector. It's rated to 80A/240V and UL 2252 certified, so it isn't the weak link.

Best stocking stuffer for a Tesla driver
$39.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 13, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Lectron Level 1 Charger, 15A

Lectron Level 1 Charger, 15A

The charger you buy when you can't install anything. It plugs into an ordinary 120V household outlet and pulls 15 amps — the top of what a standard circuit will give you — which makes it the fastest thing you can do with zero electrical work. It is genuinely slow next to a 240V unit, and we won't pretend otherwise. But for a plug-in hybrid, a short commute or a rented parking spot, slow-and-installed beats fast-and-impossible.

Best if they only have a wall socket
$159.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 13, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
ChargePoint Home Flex

ChargePoint Home Flex

If you'd rather buy a charger once and be done, this is the safe call. You set the current in the app anywhere from 16 to 50 amps, so it fits whatever your panel can spare today and still has room to grow if you upgrade the circuit later. The app is the most polished of the bunch and the warranty is long.

Best splurge
$528.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 13, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

6
Lectron Tesla (NACS) to J1772 Adapter, 48A

Lectron Tesla (NACS) to J1772 Adapter, 48A

The mirror image of the J1772-to-Tesla adapter, for the other kind of driver: it lets a non-Tesla (J1772) car pull power from a Tesla Wall Connector, Destination Charger or Mobile Connector. Handy if your home charger is a NACS unit, or a relative's Tesla charger is the one in the garage. It's capped at 48A and SGS-certified to UL 2251 — and it is not for Superchargers.

Best for the non-Tesla driver with Tesla friends
$119.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 13, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall gift — the one they'd buy themselves

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

The value pick that never feels like one. You get the full 48 amps, an ENERGY STAR listing, real Wi-Fi energy tracking and a 25 ft cable for well under what the marquee brands charge. When someone asks us where to start, this is usually the first name out of our mouths.

Strengths

  • 48A and ENERGY STAR at a genuinely value price
  • The app tracks energy use, not just an on/off toggle
  • Long 25 ft cable and a remote holster in the box

Trade-offs

  • 48A hardwired needs a 60A circuit; on a NEMA 14-50 plug it's capped at 40A
  • The app is less polished than ChargePoint's, and support is a smaller operation
Max output48 A
Power11.5 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired or NEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. Hardwired at 48A (11.5 kW), figure about 40 miles of range an hour at 3.5 mi/kWh. Drop to a 40A plug-in circuit and it's closer to 34.

Build note. Runs 48A hardwired, or 40A on a NEMA 14-50 outlet, with a 25 ft cable and a wall holster included.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best Level 2 gift with no electrician

Lectron 40A Portable Level 2 Charger

The least-expensive honest route into real Level 2 charging. Plug it into a NEMA 14-50 outlet, pull a true 40A / 9.6 kW, and unplug it to throw in the trunk for a trip. The trade-offs for the price are no app and a shorter warranty — both fair at this cost.

Strengths

  • A real 40A / 9.6 kW at a budget price
  • Plug-in and portable — no hardwiring, and it travels
  • ETL listed to the UL 2594 / UL 2231 safety standards

Trade-offs

  • No Wi-Fi or app on the base model — the smart version is a separate SKU
  • Shorter 16 ft cable and a 2-year warranty
  • The brand doesn't publish an outdoor/IP enclosure rating
Max output40 A
Power9.6 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallNEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length16 ft
Warranty2 years
WiFi + appNo
CertificationsETL listed (UL 2594 / UL 2231)

Our charging-speed math. At 40A (9.6 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh it adds roughly 34 miles of range an hour.

Build note. A portable plug-in unit — no hardwiring — and the base model carries no Wi-Fi or app.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best stocking stuffer for a Tesla driver

Lectron J1772 to Tesla (NACS) Adapter, 80A

The single most useful accessory a Tesla or NACS owner can keep in the trunk. Snap it onto any J1772 home charger and it plugs straight into a Tesla — so you can buy the charger that's actually the best value and let this bridge the connector. It's rated to 80A/240V and UL 2252 certified, so it isn't the weak link.

Strengths

  • Lets a Tesla or NACS car charge from any J1772 charger
  • Rated to 80A / 240V — never the bottleneck on a home circuit
  • UL 2252 certified and IP67-rated for water and dust

Trade-offs

  • One more thing to seat firmly and not lose
  • For AC home charging only — not a Supercharger or DC adapter
Max output80 A
PowerNot published
ConnectorNACS
InstallNot published
Cable lengthNot published
WarrantyNot published
WiFi + appNot published
CertificationsUL 2252 certified, IP67

Our charging-speed math. The adapter doesn't set the speed — the charger does. Rated to 80A, it simply passes through whatever your J1772 charger delivers (typically 40-48A / 9.6-11.5 kW at home).

Build note. Rated -22 to 122 degrees F; converts a J1772 connector to the Tesla/NACS (J3400) plug for AC home charging.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#4Best if they only have a wall socket

Lectron Level 1 Charger, 15A

The charger you buy when you can't install anything. It plugs into an ordinary 120V household outlet and pulls 15 amps — the top of what a standard circuit will give you — which makes it the fastest thing you can do with zero electrical work. It is genuinely slow next to a 240V unit, and we won't pretend otherwise. But for a plug-in hybrid, a short commute or a rented parking spot, slow-and-installed beats fast-and-impossible.

Strengths

  • Works from any standard 120V outlet — no electrician, no install
  • 15A is the practical ceiling for Level 1, so it's the fastest version of the slow option
  • IP65 weather resistance and a 16 ft cable at a budget price

Trade-offs

  • Level 1 is genuinely slow — plan in overnights, not hours
  • No app or scheduling on this version
  • Lectron doesn't publish a warranty term for it
Max output15 A
Power1.8 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallNEMA 5-15 plug (standard 120V outlet)
Cable length16 ft
WarrantyNot published
WiFi + appNo
CertificationsETL listed (UL 2594 / UL 2231)

Our charging-speed math. 15A at 120V is about 1.8 kW, so at 3.5 mi/kWh it adds roughly 6 miles of range an hour — call it 60-plus miles across a 10-hour overnight, before charging losses.

Build note. Lectron publishes 120V / 15A / 1.8 kW through a NEMA 5-15 plug, a 16 ft cable and an IP65-rated body with over-voltage, over-current and short-circuit protection.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#5Best splurge

ChargePoint Home Flex

If you'd rather buy a charger once and be done, this is the safe call. You set the current in the app anywhere from 16 to 50 amps, so it fits whatever your panel can spare today and still has room to grow if you upgrade the circuit later. The app is the most polished of the bunch and the warranty is long.

Strengths

  • Adjustable 16-50A fits a modest circuit now and a bigger one later
  • The most complete app here: scheduling, reminders and usage history
  • 3-year warranty and a generous 23 ft cable

Trade-offs

  • You pay a brand premium over value 48A units
  • Using the full 50A needs a 60A circuit most older panels can't spare
Max output50 A
Power12 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired (a plug-in NEMA 14-50 SKU is also sold)
Cable length23 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL/cUL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. Run it at the full 50 amps (about 12 kW) and, at a middle-of-the-road 3.5 miles per kWh, it puts back roughly 42 miles of range an hour. Turn it down to 40A to live on a 50A circuit and you're at about 34.

Build note. The headline feature is app-adjustable amperage — anywhere from 16A up to 50A, in software.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#6Best for the non-Tesla driver with Tesla friends

Lectron Tesla (NACS) to J1772 Adapter, 48A

The mirror image of the J1772-to-Tesla adapter, for the other kind of driver: it lets a non-Tesla (J1772) car pull power from a Tesla Wall Connector, Destination Charger or Mobile Connector. Handy if your home charger is a NACS unit, or a relative's Tesla charger is the one in the garage. It's capped at 48A and SGS-certified to UL 2251 — and it is not for Superchargers.

Strengths

  • Lets a J1772 car use a Tesla Wall Connector or NACS home charger
  • 48A / 240V rating covers full-speed home AC charging
  • SGS certified to the UL 2251 standard

Trade-offs

  • Works with Tesla AC connectors only — not Superchargers (DC)
  • 48A ceiling, so it won't exceed a typical home circuit anyway
Max output48 A
Power11.5 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallNot published
Cable lengthNot published
WarrantyNot published
WiFi + appNot published
CertificationsSGS certified (UL 2251)

Our charging-speed math. At its 48A / 11.5 kW ceiling and 3.5 mi/kWh, about 40 miles of range an hour — assuming the Tesla source can supply that.

Build note. Converts a Tesla/NACS AC connector to J1772; works with Tesla Wall Connectors, Destination Chargers and Mobile Connectors, not Superchargers.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

The three things to find out before you buy any of these

A charging gift goes wrong in exactly three ways, and all three are avoidable with information you can get from a casual question or a look in their garage.

Which plug is on their car.Nearly every non-Tesla EV sold in North America uses a connector called J1772. Teslas, and a growing number of new EVs from other brands, use the smaller connector Tesla designed, now standardized as NACS. Chargers and adapters are sold with one or the other on the car end, and the wrong one simply does not fit. If you cannot ask, a photo of the plug they use today settles it — our J1772 vs NACS explainer has both side by side.

What outlet they have where the car parks.A normal household socket means the only gift that works with no installation is a Level 1 charger. A large four-prong 240-volt outlet, the kind an electric dryer or an RV uses, means a plug-in Level 2 charger works the day it arrives. Nothing but a wall means a Level 2 charger comes with an electrician’s bill attached. Our outlet types guide has photos of each so you can match what you see.

Whether they already have a Level 2 charger. If there is a box on the garage wall with a cable coiled on it, they do. In that case buy for the road, not the garage: an adapter, or a portable unit for trips. Our road-tripper gift list covers that case.

The picks, in gifter terms

The one they would buy themselves: Emporia Level 2

When drivers ask us where to start, this is usually the first charger we name, and that is what makes it the safest big gift on the list. It delivers the full 48 amps a home charger can reasonably use, carries an ENERGY STAR listing and a UL safety listing, has a 25-foot cable so it reaches a car parked at an awkward angle, and comes with an app that tracks what the charging actually costs. The gifter’s reason to pick it over fancier units is that it does not ask the recipient to pay for a brand name.

Why it lands:it turns an overnight charge from “maybe enough” into “full by morning” for basically any EV. Who it suits: a homeowner, or anyone with permission to install on the wall. Check before buying: the plug on the car (this is the J1772 version), and whether they have a 240-volt outlet. Emporia sells it for either a plug-in or a hardwired install; without an existing outlet, the hardwired route needs an electrician, and it is worth saying so in the card. Our full Emporia review has the spec table.

Level 2 with nothing to install: Lectron 40A portable

This is the gift for the driver who has a big 240-volt outlet in the garage and is still charging off a household socket because a wall charger felt like a project. It plugs into that outlet, pulls a genuine 40 amps, and unplugs to go in the trunk for a trip. There is no app and the warranty is shorter than the wall units above — both fair trades at the price, and neither is something a recipient tends to miss.

Why it lands: real Level 2 speed on the day it is unwrapped, with zero electrical work. Who it suits: renters, anyone with an RV-style outlet already in place, and drivers who move between two homes. Check before buying:that the outlet is a NEMA 14-50 — the four-prong 240-volt one — and that the car is J1772 (a Tesla driver wants the NACS version instead). Our Lectron 40A review covers the rest.

The stocking stuffer: J1772-to-Tesla adapter

Every Tesla driver eventually meets a J1772 charger — at a friend’s house, a hotel, a workplace — and either has this adapter in the car or does not charge. It is small enough to wrap in a minute, rated to 80 amps and UL 2252 certified, so it is not the weak link in the chain. Most Tesla owners have exactly one, the one that came with the car, and losing it is a common story.

Why it lands: it removes a recurring small annoyance, and a spare is genuinely useful. Who it suits: any Tesla or NACS-port driver. Check before buying: only that the car is a Tesla or has a NACS port; a J1772 car cannot use it. Full details in our adapter review.

For the driver with only a wall socket: Lectron Level 1

Not everyone can install anything — a rented parking spot, a condo, a detached garage with one outlet. This charger plugs into an ordinary 120-volt household socket and pulls 15 amps, the most a standard circuit will give, which makes it the fastest thing you can do with no electrical work at all. It is slow next to a 240-volt unit, and we will not pretend otherwise: roughly six miles of range an hour. For a plug-in hybrid or a short commute, that is enough to wake up full every morning.

Why it lands: it is charging where charging was impossible. Who it suits:renters, plug-in hybrid drivers, and anyone who has said “I can’t install a charger.” Check before buying: that the car is J1772, and that the socket they will use is a grounded outdoor-rated one if it is outside. Our Level 1 review explains why 15 amps matters here.

The splurge: ChargePoint Home Flex

If you want to buy the charger once and be done, this is the one. Its defining feature for a gifter is flexibility: the current is set in the app anywhere from 16 to 50 amps, so it fits whatever the recipient’s electrical panel can spare today and can be turned up later if that changes. The app is the most polished in the category and the warranty is three years. It costs more than the Emporia for a similar outcome, which is why it is the splurge rather than the default.

Why it lands: it is the charger most drivers have heard of and few have bought for themselves. Who it suits: a homeowner planning a hardwired install. Check before buying:J1772 or NACS — ChargePoint sells a factory-NACS versionfor Tesla drivers — and be clear that the standard unit is hardwired, so an electrician is part of this gift. Our Home Flex review has the full picture.

The other adapter: Tesla-to-J1772

The mirror image of the stocking stuffer, for the other kind of driver. It lets a non-Tesla car charge from a Tesla Wall Connector or Mobile Connector — the situation where a relative or a rental has a Tesla charger in the garage and the visiting car cannot use it. It is capped at 48 amps and SGS-certified to UL 2251. Two cautions: it is not for Tesla Superchargers, and it is more expensive than its J1772-to-Tesla twin because it is doing the electrically harder job.

Why it lands:it solves a specific, memorable problem (“we couldn’t charge at your parents’ place”). Who it suits: a J1772-car driver with Tesla-owning family or friends. Check before buying:that the recipient’s car is J1772 and that the charger they want to use is an AC Tesla unit, not a Supercharger. Our Tesla-to-J1772 review covers what it can and cannot do.

Gifts we would skip, and why

A charger for someone whose panel is full.If they have ever mentioned that an electrician quoted them a service upgrade, a 48-amp charger is not a gift, it is a reminder of an unsolved problem. The kinder move is a plug-in unit that can be turned down, or a conversation first — our 100-amp panel roundup explains the whole situation.

Extension cords for charging.They come up as a “practical” gift and they are the one accessory we would not give: EV charging pulls the same current for hours, and the connections on an ordinary cord are where that goes wrong. Our extension cord guide has the long version.

Anything without a safety listing. Every pick above is from a brand that publishes a UL or ETL listing for the product, and we note where a brand does not publish a warranty. The very cheapest chargers on any marketplace often skip the listing entirely. Our cheap chargers guide explains what to look for on the box.

On price, and on waiting for a sale

Every price on this page comes from a daily retailer check and carries the date it was verified, and when a price cannot be verified the button says “Check price on Amazon” instead of showing a number. If you are shopping in the run-up to the holidays, our Black Friday & Cyber Monday deals hub records what has actually gone on sale in this category in past years, which types of charger have been worth waiting for, and what has not moved much. We post real deals there when they go live and nothing before that.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best gift for an EV owner who already has a home charger?

Buy for the road rather than the garage. A J1772-to-Tesla adapter for a Tesla driver, a Tesla-to-J1772 adapter for a non-Tesla driver with Tesla-owning family, or a portable Level 2 charger for the trunk all get used and none of them duplicate the box on the wall. Our road-tripper gift list covers those in more detail.

How do I find out which plug their car uses without asking?

Look at the charging cable they use now — the Tesla-style NACS connector is small and rounded, the J1772 connector is larger with a boxy top. Almost every Tesla is NACS; almost every other EV on the road today is J1772, though newer models from other brands increasingly ship with NACS ports. If you can see the car's charge-port door, the shape of the socket tells you the same thing.

Can I give a Level 2 charger to someone who rents?

Yes, if it is a plug-in unit and they have (or can get permission for) a 240V outlet. Plug-in chargers like the Lectron 40A leave with the tenant and need no permanent wiring beyond the outlet itself. A hardwired charger is a landlord conversation first. Our apartments and renters roundup goes through the options.

Is a charger that needs an electrician still a good gift?

It can be, as long as everyone knows that going in. A hardwired 48-amp charger is the best long-term setup for a homeowner, but the install is a dedicated circuit, usually a permit, and often a few hundred dollars of labor. Pair the gift with that conversation — or, if you would rather it just work on the day, choose a plug-in unit for an existing 240V outlet.

Are the adapters safe at full charging speed?

The two home-charging adapters we list publish their safety certification and their current rating — 80 amps and UL 2252 for the J1772-to-Tesla unit, 48 amps and SGS-to-UL 2251 for the Tesla-to-J1772 unit — so neither is the limiting part at any home charger's speed. Neither is for DC fast charging or Superchargers; that is a different adapter and a different job.

Do you actually test these chargers?

No, and we say so on every page. We read the manufacturer's published specs — amps, connector, cable length, enclosure rating, warranty, safety listing — cite the source with the date we read it, and reason from those. Prices come from a daily retailer check with the date attached. Our methodology page explains exactly what that involves and what it cannot tell you.

Sources

Keep reading