Plug & Range

EV Gifts Under $200

Everything on this site that a live price check puts under two hundred dollars today, ranked by how useful it is to unwrap. The list re-checks itself every day — nothing here is a guessed price.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

Two hundred dollars does not buy a Level 2 wall charger, and this page will not pretend it does. What it buys, in EV charging, is the small stuff that gets used daily: the adapter a Tesla driver keeps in the trunk, the Level 1 charger for someone who cannot install anything, the part that lets a non-Tesla car use a relative’s Tesla charger. Those are better gifts than they sound, because every one of them removes a small recurring problem.

The table below is built differently from most gift lists. Every product on this site has a price that comes from a daily retailer check, and this page filters on it: a product only appears here if that check put it under $200 on the day the page was built. If something has crept over the line, it drops off automatically rather than sitting here with a stale number next to it. If a price could not be verified at all today, only products we class as budget-tier stay on the list, and the button says “Check price on Amazon” rather than showing a figure.

As with every page on this site, we have not bench-tested any of these. We read the manufacturer’s published specs, cite them with the date, and say where a brand does not publish a figure. The order is by usefulness as a gift, not by price.

How this is funded:we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, charging speed, electrical fit and value. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these chargers — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Lectron J1772 to Tesla (NACS) Adapter, 80A

Lectron J1772 to Tesla (NACS) Adapter, 80A

The single most useful accessory a Tesla or NACS owner can keep in the trunk. Snap it onto any J1772 home charger and it plugs straight into a Tesla — so you can buy the charger that's actually the best value and let this bridge the connector. It's rated to 80A/240V and UL 2252 certified, so it isn't the weak link.

Best stocking stuffer — for any Tesla driver
$39.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 13, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Lectron Level 1 Charger, 15A

Lectron Level 1 Charger, 15A

The charger you buy when you can't install anything. It plugs into an ordinary 120V household outlet and pulls 15 amps — the top of what a standard circuit will give you — which makes it the fastest thing you can do with zero electrical work. It is genuinely slow next to a 240V unit, and we won't pretend otherwise. But for a plug-in hybrid, a short commute or a rented parking spot, slow-and-installed beats fast-and-impossible.

Best charger under the line — no install needed
$159.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 13, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Lectron Tesla (NACS) to J1772 Adapter, 48A

Lectron Tesla (NACS) to J1772 Adapter, 48A

The mirror image of the J1772-to-Tesla adapter, for the other kind of driver: it lets a non-Tesla (J1772) car pull power from a Tesla Wall Connector, Destination Charger or Mobile Connector. Handy if your home charger is a NACS unit, or a relative's Tesla charger is the one in the garage. It's capped at 48A and SGS-certified to UL 2251 — and it is not for Superchargers.

Best for a non-Tesla driver with Tesla hosts
$119.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 13, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Lectron Level 1 Charger, 12A (Wi-Fi)

Lectron Level 1 Charger, 12A (Wi-Fi)

Level 1 charging with a brain. It gives up three amps against the plain 15A version and gets back the Lectron app — live charging status, scheduled sessions, and a kWh cap so you can stop a charge at a set amount. On Level 1 that scheduling matters more than it sounds: a trickle charge runs for most of the night anyway, so being able to start it when your off-peak rate does is worth more than the amps you traded away.

Best Level 1 with off-peak scheduling
$169.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 13, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
Lectron Vortex Plus NACS to CCS Adapter

Lectron Vortex Plus NACS to CCS Adapter

The one adapter on this site that has nothing to do with home charging — it is for the road. It lets a CCS1 car whose maker has bought into the Tesla network plug into a Supercharger, at up to 500 amps and 1,000 volts. Lectron publishes it as the first NACS-to-CCS adapter certified to UL 2252, and it carries a mechanical interlock, which is the part that matters on a connector handling that much DC.

Best for a CCS car with Supercharger access
$199.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 13, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best stocking stuffer — for any Tesla driver

Lectron J1772 to Tesla (NACS) Adapter, 80A

The single most useful accessory a Tesla or NACS owner can keep in the trunk. Snap it onto any J1772 home charger and it plugs straight into a Tesla — so you can buy the charger that's actually the best value and let this bridge the connector. It's rated to 80A/240V and UL 2252 certified, so it isn't the weak link.

Strengths

  • Lets a Tesla or NACS car charge from any J1772 charger
  • Rated to 80A / 240V — never the bottleneck on a home circuit
  • UL 2252 certified and IP67-rated for water and dust

Trade-offs

  • One more thing to seat firmly and not lose
  • For AC home charging only — not a Supercharger or DC adapter
Max output80 A
PowerNot published
ConnectorNACS
InstallNot published
Cable lengthNot published
WarrantyNot published
WiFi + appNot published
CertificationsUL 2252 certified, IP67

Our charging-speed math. The adapter doesn't set the speed — the charger does. Rated to 80A, it simply passes through whatever your J1772 charger delivers (typically 40-48A / 9.6-11.5 kW at home).

Build note. Rated -22 to 122 degrees F; converts a J1772 connector to the Tesla/NACS (J3400) plug for AC home charging.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best charger under the line — no install needed

Lectron Level 1 Charger, 15A

The charger you buy when you can't install anything. It plugs into an ordinary 120V household outlet and pulls 15 amps — the top of what a standard circuit will give you — which makes it the fastest thing you can do with zero electrical work. It is genuinely slow next to a 240V unit, and we won't pretend otherwise. But for a plug-in hybrid, a short commute or a rented parking spot, slow-and-installed beats fast-and-impossible.

Strengths

  • Works from any standard 120V outlet — no electrician, no install
  • 15A is the practical ceiling for Level 1, so it's the fastest version of the slow option
  • IP65 weather resistance and a 16 ft cable at a budget price

Trade-offs

  • Level 1 is genuinely slow — plan in overnights, not hours
  • No app or scheduling on this version
  • Lectron doesn't publish a warranty term for it
Max output15 A
Power1.8 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallNEMA 5-15 plug (standard 120V outlet)
Cable length16 ft
WarrantyNot published
WiFi + appNo
CertificationsETL listed (UL 2594 / UL 2231)

Our charging-speed math. 15A at 120V is about 1.8 kW, so at 3.5 mi/kWh it adds roughly 6 miles of range an hour — call it 60-plus miles across a 10-hour overnight, before charging losses.

Build note. Lectron publishes 120V / 15A / 1.8 kW through a NEMA 5-15 plug, a 16 ft cable and an IP65-rated body with over-voltage, over-current and short-circuit protection.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best for a non-Tesla driver with Tesla hosts

Lectron Tesla (NACS) to J1772 Adapter, 48A

The mirror image of the J1772-to-Tesla adapter, for the other kind of driver: it lets a non-Tesla (J1772) car pull power from a Tesla Wall Connector, Destination Charger or Mobile Connector. Handy if your home charger is a NACS unit, or a relative's Tesla charger is the one in the garage. It's capped at 48A and SGS-certified to UL 2251 — and it is not for Superchargers.

Strengths

  • Lets a J1772 car use a Tesla Wall Connector or NACS home charger
  • 48A / 240V rating covers full-speed home AC charging
  • SGS certified to the UL 2251 standard

Trade-offs

  • Works with Tesla AC connectors only — not Superchargers (DC)
  • 48A ceiling, so it won't exceed a typical home circuit anyway
Max output48 A
Power11.5 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallNot published
Cable lengthNot published
WarrantyNot published
WiFi + appNot published
CertificationsSGS certified (UL 2251)

Our charging-speed math. At its 48A / 11.5 kW ceiling and 3.5 mi/kWh, about 40 miles of range an hour — assuming the Tesla source can supply that.

Build note. Converts a Tesla/NACS AC connector to J1772; works with Tesla Wall Connectors, Destination Chargers and Mobile Connectors, not Superchargers.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#4Best Level 1 with off-peak scheduling

Lectron Level 1 Charger, 12A (Wi-Fi)

Level 1 charging with a brain. It gives up three amps against the plain 15A version and gets back the Lectron app — live charging status, scheduled sessions, and a kWh cap so you can stop a charge at a set amount. On Level 1 that scheduling matters more than it sounds: a trickle charge runs for most of the night anyway, so being able to start it when your off-peak rate does is worth more than the amps you traded away.

Strengths

  • App gives real-time status, scheduling and a kWh charge limit
  • Same no-install 120V convenience as the plain model
  • ETL listing to the same UL 2594 / UL 2231 standards

Trade-offs

  • 12A instead of 15A — slower again than an already slow charging level
  • You're paying for an app on a charger that mostly runs unattended overnight
  • No published warranty term
Max output12 A
Power1.44 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallNEMA 5-15 plug (standard 120V outlet)
Cable length16 ft
WarrantyNot published
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsETL listed (UL 2594 / UL 2231)

Our charging-speed math. 12A at 120V is about 1.44 kW, so at 3.5 mi/kWh that's roughly 5 miles of range an hour — about 50 miles across a 10-hour overnight, before losses.

Build note. Lectron publishes 120V / 12A / up to 1.44 kW, a 16 ft cable, an IP65-rated control box, and a Lectron app that schedules sessions and caps a charge at a chosen number of kWh.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#5Best for a CCS car with Supercharger access

Lectron Vortex Plus NACS to CCS Adapter

The one adapter on this site that has nothing to do with home charging — it is for the road. It lets a CCS1 car whose maker has bought into the Tesla network plug into a Supercharger, at up to 500 amps and 1,000 volts. Lectron publishes it as the first NACS-to-CCS adapter certified to UL 2252, and it carries a mechanical interlock, which is the part that matters on a connector handling that much DC.

Strengths

  • 500A / 1,000V rating — it is not the bottleneck at a V3 or V4 Supercharger
  • Lectron publishes it as the first publicly available NACS-to-CCS adapter certified to UL 2252
  • Built-in interlock holds the connection during a high-voltage DC session

Trade-offs

  • Only works if your automaker has enabled Supercharger access for your car
  • Not compatible with Tesla vehicles, and not for AC charging at all
  • Costs multiples of an AC home-charging adapter
Max output500 A
PowerNot published
ConnectorNACS
InstallNot published
Cable lengthNot published
WarrantyNot published
WiFi + appNot published
CertificationsUL 2252 certified

Our charging-speed math. This is DC fast charging, so our 240V home math does not apply. Lectron publishes up to 150 miles in about 15 minutes, and states that the actual rate depends on the Supercharger generation and your car.

Build note. A NACS (SAE J3400) to CCS1 adapter rated 500A / 1,000V with a built-in interlock, certified to UL 2252. Lectron states it is for CCS1 EVs with automaker-granted Supercharger access, and is not compatible with Tesla vehicles or AC charging stations.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 12, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

How to read this list

Two facts about the recipient decide which of these is right. The first is the plug on their car: the compact Tesla-style connector, now standardized as NACS, or the J1772 connector on nearly every other EV. Adapters go one direction only, so this is the detail to get right. The second is where they park: a household socket means a Level 1 charger is the only charger that works with no installation, and everything faster needs a 240-volt outlet or an electrician. Our J1772 vs NACS explainer and our outlet types guide cover both with pictures.

One housekeeping note: the sections below describe every candidate for this list. If a product is described here but missing from the table above, it is because today’s price check put it over the line — it is still a good product, it is just not an under-$200 one today.

The candidates, in gifter terms

The J1772-to-Tesla adapter

The most reliable small EV gift there is. It lets any Tesla charge from any of the far more common J1772 chargers — workplaces, hotels, friends’ garages — and most Tesla drivers own exactly one, the one that came with the car. Lectron’s is rated to 80 amps and UL 2252 certified, so it is not the weak link. Who it suits: every Tesla or NACS-port driver. Check before buying: only that the car is a Tesla or has a NACS port. Our adapter review has the specs.

The Lectron Level 1 charger

The gift for someone who cannot install anything. It plugs into an ordinary 120-volt household socket and pulls 15 amps — the top of what a standard circuit will give — which makes it the fastest thing you can do with zero electrical work. It is slow, about six miles of range an hour, and we say so; for a plug-in hybrid or a short commute it is a full battery every morning. It carries an ETL listing and an IP65 rating; Lectron does not publish a warranty term for it. Who it suits: renters, plug-in hybrid drivers, anyone with only a wall socket. Check before buying: J1772 car. Our Level 1 review explains why the 15 amps matter.

The Tesla-to-J1772 adapter

The mirror image of the first pick: it lets a non-Tesla car charge from a Tesla Wall Connector, Destination Charger or Mobile Connector, capped at 48 amps and SGS-certified to UL 2251. It solves one specific problem — “we couldn’t charge at your parents’ house” — and solves it permanently. It costs more than its twin because it is doing the electrically harder job. Who it suits: J1772 drivers with Tesla-owning family or friends. Check before buying:the host’s charger is an AC Tesla unit, not a Supercharger. Our Tesla-to-J1772 review covers it.

The Lectron Level 1 Wi-Fi charger

Level 1 charging with an app. It gives up three amps against the plain 15-amp unit and gets scheduling, live status and a kWh cap in return. On Level 1 that scheduling matters more than it sounds, because a trickle charge runs most of the night anyway and starting it when the cheap overnight rate begins is worth more than the amps traded away. Who it suits: a Level 1 driver on a time-of-use electricity rate whose car cannot schedule its own charging. Check before buying: J1772 car, and Wi-Fi that reaches the parking spot. Our Level 1 Wi-Fi review weighs it against the plain version.

The NACS-to-CCS Supercharger adapter

The one candidate here that is about the road rather than the garage. It lets a non-Tesla car with a CCS port use Tesla Superchargers, at up to 500 amps, provided the car’s maker has been granted network access for that model. Lectron publishes it as UL 2252 certified with a mechanical interlock. It sits right at the edge of this page’s budget and will drop off on days it lists above the line. Who it suits: only drivers of CCS cars with automaker-granted Supercharger access. Check before buying: this one, ask first — the access condition is model-specific, and our NACS-to-CCS review explains how to check it.

Just over the line, and worth stretching for

Two products on this site sit close enough to the cap that a small stretch, or a sale, brings them in — and both are a bigger change to the recipient’s week than anything above. The ELEGRP 40A portable is the cheapest charger in our registry that publishes everything we want to check, with a 25-foot cable and an IP67 body, and the Lectron 40A portable is the least expensive honest route into real Level 2 charging we know of. Both plug into a four-prong 240-volt outlet and need no electrician. If the recipient has that outlet, either one is the gift that ends charging as a chore; our new-owner gift list explains how to find out.

Under $200 things we would not give

An extension cord “for the charger”.It is the most common cheap EV gift and the one we would skip: EV charging pulls the same current for hours, and a cord’s connections are where that goes wrong. Our extension cord guide has the long version. Any charger or adapter without a published safety listing. Every candidate above publishes a UL or ETL listing; the cheapest listings on any marketplace often do not, and on a part carrying 40 amps for hours that is not the place to save. Our cheap chargers guide explains what to look for on the box.

On waiting for a sale

Adapters and Level 1 chargers are inexpensive already, so the absolute saving from a holiday discount is small, and the honest reason to buy now is that a verified price today beats a guessed price in November. If you would rather wait, our Black Friday & Cyber Monday deals hub records what has actually discounted in this category in past years and posts real deals when they go live.

Frequently asked questions

Why does the list change from day to day?

Because it is filtered on a live price. Every product on this site gets a daily retailer price check with the date attached, and this page only lists a product if that check put it under $200 on the day the site was built. A product that drifts over the line drops off; one that comes back under reappears. The candidate write-ups below the table cover everything that has ever qualified, so nothing described here is a surprise.

Is there a real Level 2 charger under $200?

Not one we would put on this list on a typical day. The least expensive plug-in Level 2 chargers we cover sit a little above the line, and we would rather say so than stretch the definition. If the recipient has a four-prong 240V outlet, the ELEGRP 40A and Lectron 40A are the two to look at — either is a far bigger upgrade than anything under $200 and both need no electrician.

What is the safest pick if I know nothing about their car?

Find out one thing: is it a Tesla? If yes, the J1772-to-Tesla adapter fits every Tesla and gets used. If no, the Lectron Level 1 charger works from any household socket on any J1772 car. Both are inexpensive enough that a wrong guess costs little, and both need no installation.

Do adapters really matter, or are they a gimmick?

They matter more than most accessories, because the connector split between J1772 and NACS is real and will be for years. A Tesla driver without the adapter cannot use most public Level 2 chargers; a J1772 driver without the reverse adapter cannot use a relative's Tesla charger. Both adapters we list publish their current rating and safety certification, so they are not the weak link at any home charger's speed.

Are the prices on this page guaranteed?

No — they are verified, which is different. Each price carries the date of the retailer check it came from, and if a price cannot be verified the button says 'Check price on Amazon' instead of showing a number. Retail prices move, especially in the holiday season, so treat the figure as accurate for the date shown and check the listing before you buy.

Sources

Keep reading