Plug & Range

Emporia Pro vs Wallbox Pulsar Plus

Two 48-amp hardwired smart chargers sold on the same promise: charge fast without upgrading your service. Both deliver it, and both need an accessory to do it. The accessory is the comparison.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

The Emporia Pro is our pick here, and it is the cheaper charger of the two on the date on this page. Both brands make you buy a second device before their headline feature works — Emporia’s is a whole-home energy monitor that keeps being useful after the charger is installed, and Wallbox’s is a power meter that only feeds the charger. Choose the Wallbox Pulsar Plus if solar is the reason you are shopping, because that is the feature Wallbox documents best.

These two land in the same search for a reason: they are the two chargers most often recommended to somebody who has just been told their panel cannot take a 60-amp circuit. Both answer that the same way — watch what the rest of the house is drawing, and reduce charging current when the total gets close to the limit. Emporia calls it PowerSmart. Wallbox calls it dynamic load management. It is the single most useful feature in home charging, because it is the one that can turn a service upgrade into a purchase.

And in both cases it is sold separately. Emporia states that PowerSmart requires its Vue Home Energy Monitor plus a PowerSmart upgrade. Wallbox states that dynamic load management requires a Wallbox Power Meter. Neither charger does it out of the box, and the single most common way to be disappointed by either of these is to buy the charger, skip the accessory, and discover the feature you chose it for is greyed out.

How this is funded:we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, charging speed, electrical fit and value. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these chargers — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Emporia Pro with PowerSmart

Emporia Pro with PowerSmart

The answer to a full electrical panel. It's the same 48-amp, ENERGY STAR hardware as Emporia's standard charger, with PowerSmart load management added: paired with Emporia's own energy monitor, it watches what the rest of the house is drawing and dials the charger back instead of tripping the main. If an electrician has told you a charger means a service upgrade, this is the unit that can make that quote go away.

Best overall: the add-on does more than feed the charger
$599.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Wallbox Pulsar Plus

Wallbox Pulsar Plus

The one to reach for when wall space is tight. It's among the smallest 48A chargers made, and Power Boost load balancing lets it share a circuit without tripping the main — which can save you a panel upgrade. It's a polished, premium unit, and the price says so.

Best if solar charging is the reason you are buying
$699.00 · View on Amazon

$799.9913% off

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
ChargePoint Home Flex

ChargePoint Home Flex

If you'd rather buy a charger once and be done, this is the safe call. You set the current in the app anywhere from 16 to 50 amps, so it fits whatever your panel can spare today and still has room to grow if you upgrade the circuit later. The app is the most polished of the bunch and the warranty is long.

Best if you would rather just set a lower amperage and be done
$516.71 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall: the add-on does more than feed the charger

Emporia Pro with PowerSmart

The answer to a full electrical panel. It's the same 48-amp, ENERGY STAR hardware as Emporia's standard charger, with PowerSmart load management added: paired with Emporia's own energy monitor, it watches what the rest of the house is drawing and dials the charger back instead of tripping the main. If an electrician has told you a charger means a service upgrade, this is the unit that can make that quote go away.

Strengths

  • PowerSmart load management can avoid a panel or service upgrade
  • Full 48A, ENERGY STAR and a 25 ft cable, same as the standard model
  • The app adds peak-demand management on top of ordinary scheduling

Trade-offs

  • PowerSmart needs Emporia's Vue energy monitor — that's a second device to buy and install
  • You pay a clear premium over the standard Emporia for one feature
Max output48 A
Power11.5 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired (a NEMA 14-50 SKU is also sold)
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At the full 48A (11.5 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh, about 40 miles of range an hour — and PowerSmart will quietly reduce that when the rest of the house is drawing hard, which is the entire point of it.

Build note. Emporia publishes PowerSmart load management as dynamically adjusting charging speed to prevent overloading the panel; it requires the Emporia Vue energy monitor.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best if solar charging is the reason you are buying

Wallbox Pulsar Plus

The one to reach for when wall space is tight. It's among the smallest 48A chargers made, and Power Boost load balancing lets it share a circuit without tripping the main — which can save you a panel upgrade. It's a polished, premium unit, and the price says so.

Strengths

  • Genuinely compact for a 48A charger — easy to tuck in a tight spot
  • Power Boost load balancing can sidestep a panel upgrade
  • Bluetooth and Wi-Fi with a clean, modern app

Trade-offs

  • One of the pricier chargers in this group
  • Hardwired only — no plug-in option, so it's not renter-friendly
Max output48 A
Power11.5 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired
Cable length25 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and 3.5 mi/kWh, about 40 miles of range an hour — and Power Boost can throttle it down to protect a shared circuit.

Build note. One of the most compact 48A chargers in its class, carrying both Bluetooth and Wi-Fi.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best if you would rather just set a lower amperage and be done

ChargePoint Home Flex

If you'd rather buy a charger once and be done, this is the safe call. You set the current in the app anywhere from 16 to 50 amps, so it fits whatever your panel can spare today and still has room to grow if you upgrade the circuit later. The app is the most polished of the bunch and the warranty is long.

Strengths

  • Adjustable 16-50A fits a modest circuit now and a bigger one later
  • The most complete app here: scheduling, reminders and usage history
  • 3-year warranty and a generous 23 ft cable

Trade-offs

  • You pay a brand premium over value 48A units
  • Using the full 50A needs a 70A circuit most older panels can't spare
Max output50 A
Power12 kW
ConnectorJ1772
InstallHardwired (a plug-in NEMA 14-50 SKU is also sold)
Cable length23 ft
Warranty3 years
WiFi + appYes
CertificationsUL/cUL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. Run it at the full 50 amps (about 12 kW) and, at a middle-of-the-road 3.5 miles per kWh, it puts back roughly 42 miles of range an hour. Turn it down to 40A to live on a 50A circuit and you're at about 34.

Build note. The headline feature is app-adjustable amperage — anywhere from 16A up to 50A, in software.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

Side by side, from the makers’ own pages

SpecEmporia ProWallbox Pulsar Plus
Output48 A / 11.5 kW48 A / 11.5 kW (a 40 A variant is also sold)
Circuit required60 A dedicated at 48 A60 A dedicated at 48 A
InstallHardwired (a NEMA 14-50 SKU is also sold)Hardwired
ConnectorJ1772J1772
Cable25 ft25 ft
Load managementPowerSmart — requires the Vue monitor and a PowerSmart upgradeDynamic load management — requires a Wallbox Power Meter
Solar chargingListed, and also requires the Vue monitorListed; requires the Power Meter; not compatible with multi-charger installs or OCPP
Access controlInvite2Charge, described as multi-user access controlApp
EnclosureNEMA 4Not published on the maker’s page as of Oct 4, 2026
CertificationUL listed, ENERGY STARENERGY STAR
Warranty3 yearsNot published as of Oct 4, 2026 (3 years on our earlier read)
Range added per hour (3.5 mi/kWh)about 40 milesabout 40 miles

On raw charging performance these are the same charger. Forty-eight amps at 240 volts is 11.5 kW on both, roughly 40 miles of range an hour at our 3.5 miles-per-kWh reference, on the same 60-amp dedicated circuit — 48 × 1.25 = 60, because EV charging is a continuous load. Nothing in the speed column decides this.

What each accessory actually buys you

Emporia’s Vue Home Energy Monitor.It is a whole-home energy monitor first and a charger accessory second. Installed in the panel, it is the thing that lets PowerSmart see the house and back the charger off, and Emporia also requires it for solar charging integration — with the Vue added, Emporia says the charger “automatically charge[s] with your excess solar power.” The reason this is the stronger of the two add-ons is that it keeps earning after the charger is set up: it is monitoring your circuits whether or not the car is plugged in, which is useful on its own and is a real answer to “where is my power going.” Note the wording carefully though, because Emporia is specific: PowerSmart needs the Vue and a PowerSmart upgrade. Two line items, not one.

Wallbox’s Power Meter.It does the same job for the charger and only for the charger. Wallbox is clear about what it unlocks — dynamic load management (“maximize charging speed while staying within your home’s power limit. When overall energy consumption is high, charging speed drops. When it’s low, you’ll charge at maximum speed”) and solar charging. It is also clear about a limit worth knowing in advance: solar charging is not compatible with multiple-charger installations or with OCPP, so a two-car garage plan and a solar plan do not combine here.

Our load-management roundup compares every approach in our registry side by side, including the chargers that need nothing extra at all.

The one real difference in published durability

Emporia publishes a NEMA 4 enclosure, UL listing, ENERGY STAR and a three-year warranty. Wallbox, on the US Pulsar Plus page we re-read on October 4, 2026, published neither an enclosure rating nor a warranty term. Our registry carries NEMA 4 and three years for the Pulsar Plus from an earlier dated read and we still show those figures with the date attached, because deleting a sourced number is worse than carrying a dated one — but if the charger is going somewhere weather reaches it, only one of these two brands is currently telling you what it is rated for. Our most reliable chargers page ranks that column across the whole registry.

Where Wallbox wins outright

Solar. If your reason for shopping is “I want the car to charge off the roof, not the grid,” Wallbox documents that better than anyone else we cover: run on 100% solar or a blend of solar and grid, with the behavior described rather than implied. Emporia lists solar charging integration too and also gates it behind the Vue, but Wallbox’s description of what the charger actually does with mixed generation is the more specific of the two. If this is the deciding feature, read our solar charging roundup and the solar guide before you commit — the guide covers why the panels and the car so rarely line up in time, which is the thing that disappoints people after the install.

Second, smaller point: Wallbox sells a 40-amp variant, which is a cheaper entry on an existing 50-amp circuit. Emporia’s equivalent move is the NEMA 14-50 version of the Pro, which caps at 40 amps on a plug for the same reason every plug-in charger does.

The third option, which is often the right one

Both pages above assume you want the house watched. There is a cheaper answer to a tight panel that needs no accessory at all: buy a charger with a wide adjustable range and set it to a number the panel can live with permanently.

That is what the ChargePoint Home Flex is on this page for. Six app-selectable steps — 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 or 50 amps — and ChargePoint’s own datasheet states the 125% breaker rule with a worked example. Set it to 32 amps and it lives happily on a 40-amp circuit, which many panels can spare without a load calculation turning into a service upgrade; you give up speed rather than money. Be clear about what you are notgetting: ChargePoint’s own Power Management FAQ names only its commercial CT4000 and CPF50 station families, and the Home Flex is not mentioned anywhere on it, so there is no whole-house monitoring here at all. A fixed, lower amperage is the whole feature. Our panel capacity guide and 100-amp panel roundup cover that route in detail.

The verdict

Buy the Emporia Pro. Same 48 amps, same 60-amp circuit, same 25 ft cable, cheaper on the date on this page, and the accessory you have to buy to get PowerSmart is a whole-home energy monitor rather than a single-purpose meter. Add up both line items (the Vue and the PowerSmart upgrade) before you compare prices, because that is the real cost of the feature.

Buy the Wallbox Pulsar Plus if solar is the point.It is the better documented solar charger of the two, and the Power Meter is non-negotiable if you want either solar charging or load management. Do not plan a second charger around it — Wallbox says solar charging is not compatible with multi-charger installs.

And if you are only here because the panel is tight, consider skipping both accessories. A ChargePoint Home Flex set to 32 or 40 amps solves the same problem with no second device, no subscription and nothing to configure — at the cost of charging speed you probably were not going to use. That is a perfectly good outcome, and it is cheaper than either of the alternatives on this page.

Frequently asked questions

Is the Emporia Pro or the Wallbox Pulsar Plus the better charger?

The Emporia Pro, for most buyers — the same 48 amps and 25 ft cable for less money, with a published NEMA 4 enclosure, UL listing, ENERGY STAR and a three-year warranty. Wallbox's advantage is solar charging, which it documents more specifically than anyone else we cover. Both require a separately sold accessory before their load-management feature works at all.

Does Emporia PowerSmart need the Vue energy monitor?

Yes, and Emporia is specific that it needs two things: the Vue Home Energy Monitor and a PowerSmart upgrade. The Vue is what lets the charger see the rest of the house and reduce current when total demand is high. Emporia also requires the Vue for its solar charging integration, so if either feature is why you are buying, the monitor is part of the purchase, not an optional extra.

Does the Wallbox Pulsar Plus need the Power Meter?

For dynamic load management and for solar charging, yes — Wallbox states that both features need a separately sold Wallbox Power Meter. The charger itself works without it. Wallbox also states that solar charging is not compatible with multiple-charger installations or with OCPP, which rules out combining it with a two-charger garage.

Which accessory is better value, the Emporia Vue or the Wallbox Power Meter?

The Vue, in our reading, because it is a whole-home energy monitor in its own right: it keeps reporting on your circuits whether or not the car is charging. The Wallbox Power Meter exists to feed the charger. Both are genuine costs on top of the charger and both should be in your price comparison from the start.

Do I need load management at all?

Only if a load calculation says your service cannot carry a full-output charger. If it can, load management is a convenience rather than a requirement. If it cannot, the cheapest alternative is often not an accessory but a lower amperage — a charger with a wide adjustable range set to 32 or 40 amps lives on a smaller circuit permanently, with nothing to configure and nothing extra to buy.

Does the ChargePoint Home Flex have load management?

Not for a home. ChargePoint's own Power Management FAQ states that the CT4000 and CPF50 station families support Power Management with the appropriate cloud plan — both commercial families — and the residential Home Flex is not named anywhere on that page. What the Home Flex gives you instead is six app-selectable current steps from 16 to 50 amps, which solves a tight panel by setting a lower number rather than by watching the house.

Can either of these charge two cars?

Not simultaneously from one unit — no home charger does. Both brands approach two EVs differently: Wallbox explicitly says its solar charging does not work in multiple-charger installations, while Autel is the brand in our registry that publishes charger-to-charger load balancing with no extra hardware. Our best chargers for two EVs roundup covers every option, including the honest answer that two cars usually means two circuits or a lot of patience.

What size breaker do both of these need?

A 60-amp dedicated circuit for 48-amp output, on either unit. EV charging is a continuous load, so the breaker is sized at 125% of the charger's output and 48 × 1.25 = 60. Wallbox's 40-amp variant and Emporia's NEMA 14-50 version both drop to 40 amps on a 50-amp circuit. Our breaker-size guide has the full table.

Sources

  • Emporia Energy — EV Chargers (Classic and Pro) — Manufacturer page: the Classic and the Pro both list Solar Charging Integration, and both require the Vue Home Energy Monitor for it — with the Vue added, the charger 'automatically charge[s] with your excess solar power'. PowerSmart load management on the Pro requires the Vue plus the PowerSmart upgrade; Emporia also lists Invite2Charge, described as 'multi-user access control for EV chargers' (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • Wallbox — Pulsar Plus EV Charger (US) — Manufacturer page: solar charging lets the Pulsar Plus run on 100% solar or a mix of solar and grid, and requires a separately sold Wallbox Power Meter; solar charging is not compatible with multiple-charger installations or OCPP; the same power meter enables dynamic load management (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • Wallbox — Pulsar Plus product page (energy-management section) — Manufacturer page, fetched 2026-10-04 for the load-management wording specifically. It describes dynamic load management as “maximize charging speed while staying within your home's power limit. When overall energy consumption is high, charging speed drops. When it's low, you'll charge at maximum speed”, and states that the energy-management features — load management and solar charging — need a Wallbox Power Meter to unlock. The charger is listed in 40 A and 48 A variants up to 11.5 kW with a 25 ft cable. As fetched on this date the page does not use the name “Power Boost”, and states no enclosure rating or warranty term (accessed October 4, 2026)
  • ChargePoint — Home Flex datasheet — Manufacturer datasheet: output adjustable in the app to 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 or 50 A (up to 12 kW); the dedicated dual-pole breaker must be rated for 125% of the maximum load (its example: a 50 A breaker for 40 A output) (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • ChargePoint — Power Management FAQ — ChargePoint's own FAQ for its Power Management feature, which allocates a circuit's capacity across stations. Fetched 2026-10-04: it states that “currently, the CT4000 and CPF50 station families support Power Management with the appropriate cloud plan” — both commercial station families. The residential Home Flex is not named anywhere on the page, and no home hardware requirement, home power-sharing behavior or whole-house panel monitoring is described (accessed October 4, 2026)
  • NFPA — Using the Latest NEC for EV Charger Installations — NFPA on NEC (NFPA 70) Article 625: EV charging is a continuous load, so circuits are sized to 125% of load (the 80% rule) (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • ENERGY STAR — Electric Vehicle Chargers — ENERGY STAR on EVSE efficiency: certified chargers use about 40% less energy in standby than non-certified units (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • FuelEconomy.gov — Electric Vehicles: Learn More About the Label — DOE/EPA on EV efficiency: kWh per 100 miles and MPGe, accounting for AC charging losses (accessed July 19, 2026)

Keep reading